120 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

pmsoo
post May 5 2009, 03:51 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(sets84 @ May 5 2009, 02:01 AM)
Just upgraded 4gb mushkin ddr 3 rams.
Got it from a forumer, his thread is here for those of you who are interested
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=908762&hl=
he sells ddr3 as well, though the topic only posts the availability of ddr2 rams
I dont understand. What is the diff between his memory and the one available outside?
Kingston sold by Viewnet,LY is RM104 for 2gb DDR3 1066mhz

This dude is selling;
MUSHKIN XP2 DDR2-1066MHZ(8500) 4GB KIT(2GBx2)-RM360 ?

How much did u pay for yours?

friends
post May 5 2009, 04:21 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 4 2009, 12:56 PM)
You can have 2x 500GB inside your MacBook by removing the optical drive if you don't need it or occasionally need it.
Wow... really ? didn't know of that....
is it hard to DIY on taking out the SuperDrive ?

old MacBook (Not ALU) also can ?
wei
post May 5 2009, 04:53 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ May 5 2009, 03:51 PM)
I dont understand. What is the diff between his memory and the one available outside?

This dude is selling;
MUSHKIN XP2 DDR2-1066MHZ(8500) 4GB KIT(2GBx2)-RM360  ?

Bro, you sure you pasted the right info? You're saying DR2 vs DDR3 up there, they're pretty different.

QUOTE(friends @ May 5 2009, 04:21 PM)
Wow... really ? didn't know of that....
is it hard to DIY on taking out the SuperDrive ?

old MacBook (Not ALU) also can ?
Can, if you know how to open a MacBook, many guides out there. Difficulty is medium.
sets84
post May 5 2009, 05:16 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ May 5 2009, 03:51 PM)

This dude is selling;
MUSHKIN XP2 DDR2-1066MHZ(8500) 4GB KIT(2GBx2)-RM360  ?

I got mine for 238 + shipping
that's 2 pieces of 2gb ddr3 sodimm rams.
I'm not too sure about kvr rams, as there are reports of some people having problems with them. However, the mushkins I bought were running fine so far.
d@odao
post May 5 2009, 11:30 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(sets84 @ May 5 2009, 05:16 PM)
I got mine for 238 + shipping
that's 2 pieces of 2gb ddr3 sodimm rams.
I'm not too sure about kvr rams, as there are reports of some people having problems with them. However, the mushkins I bought were running fine so far.
Kingston KVR 2gb x 2 ddr3 in the mac mini 2009...no problem so far for about 1 month...

Masamune
post May 9 2009, 05:10 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Hey..using a macbook alu 24GHz with 250GB HDD..
Is it ok if i upgrade it to 500GB and then use the 250GB as an external drive?
What brand will be advisable?
WD?Seagate?
pmsoo
post May 10 2009, 07:25 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(wei @ May 5 2009, 04:53 PM)
Bro, you sure you pasted the right info? You're saying DR2 vs DDR3 up there, they're pretty different.
Can, if you know how to open a MacBook, many guides out there. Difficulty is medium.
Sorry, it was presumptuous of me to assume 1066mhz was DDR3. I didn't realised it was DDR2. You are right, they are very different.

Added on May 10, 2009, 7:40 am
QUOTE(Masamune @ May 9 2009, 05:10 PM)
WD?Seagate?
Yes and Yes.

Choose 7200rpm if you dont mind the slight battery drain. I remember reading an article somewhere the battery life dropped by 10 minutes or so. I cant be sure of that article because i cant see any difference in my mb or mbp.

I'm using WD for the 5 years warranty although they had never failed on me (I mean my other 3.5" or externals). I dont really think there is a "certified safe" brand but WD and SG are usually a safe bet. I usually go with the longer warranty Hdd.

Regards/Soo

This post has been edited by pmsoo: May 10 2009, 07:41 AM
n20nine
post May 10 2009, 10:40 AM

909 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ May 9 2009, 05:10 PM)
WD?Seagate?
ya you can do that...i personally like hitachi drives. very very quiet and reliable. as far as i am concern, a hard disk in a laptop has to be very quiet, minimal/no vibrations and not produce too much heat.

the hitachi drives do all the above. i looked at the wd scorpio black and blue and the hitachi 7k320 and 5k500.b drives. i didnt want to go seagate as some of my friends who had seagate drives has had some kind of problems, of course many others out there would have had a perfect one, but i guess its something personal.

wd drives..they are ok, but some of the ones i have used are a bit noisy for my liking. my alubook already came with a hitachi drive and i was impressed by it, so i looked up the 7k320 and the 5k500.b drive. the 7k320 is a 7200rpm drive and the 5k500.b is a 5400rpm drive.

i wanted performance but i was not ready to sacrifice on heat and noise. after lots of advice and reading, i decided on the 5k500.b drives. these drives are supposed to be as fast as the 7200rpm drives and in some case, outperforms them. they're really quiet too. check them out, you wont regret it.

This post has been edited by n20nine: May 10 2009, 10:41 AM
ron4
post May 11 2009, 07:27 PM

1,123 posts

Hi guys

Any issue if upgrade my 1st Gen intel iMac from Tiger to Leopard OSX?, is it suitable for my current spec, (intel Core Duo 1.83ghz, Ati Mobility Redeon X1600, 2GB RAM)?.

What about driver with my current hardware, already include in Leopard?, any discount for this upgrade or i need to buy with new price.

Or if i buy Leopard retail disc, is it ok? http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/929716

This post has been edited by ron4: May 11 2009, 07:35 PM
Masamune
post May 12 2009, 06:46 AM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ May 10 2009, 02:25 AM)
Sorry, it was presumptuous of me to assume 1066mhz was DDR3. I didn't realised it was DDR2. You are right, they are very different.

Added on May 10, 2009, 7:40 am

Yes and Yes.

Choose 7200rpm if you dont mind the slight battery drain. I remember reading an article somewhere the battery life dropped by 10 minutes or so. I cant be sure of that article because i cant see any difference in my mb or mbp.

I'm using WD for the 5 years warranty although they had never failed on me (I mean my other 3.5" or externals). I dont really think there is a "certified safe" brand but WD and SG are usually a safe bet. I usually go with the longer warranty Hdd.

Regards/Soo
Thanks for the advice. Will look at it soon.

QUOTE(n20nine @ May 10 2009, 05:40 AM)
ya you can do that...i personally like hitachi drives. very very quiet and reliable. as far as i am concern, a hard disk in a laptop has to be very quiet, minimal/no vibrations and not produce too much heat.

the hitachi drives do all the above. i looked at the wd scorpio black and blue and the hitachi 7k320 and 5k500.b drives. i didnt want to go seagate as some of my friends who had seagate drives has had some kind of problems, of course many others out there would have had a perfect one, but i guess its something personal.

wd drives..they are ok, but some of the ones i have used are a bit noisy for my liking. my alubook already came with a hitachi drive and i was impressed by it, so i looked up the 7k320 and the 5k500.b drive. the 7k320 is a 7200rpm drive and the 5k500.b is a 5400rpm drive.

i wanted performance but i was not ready to sacrifice on heat and noise. after lots of advice and reading, i decided on the 5k500.b drives. these drives are supposed to be as fast as the 7200rpm drives and in some case, outperforms them. they're really quiet too. check them out, you wont regret it.
So hitachi it is?Easily available in lowyat i suppose?Around how much for the 5k500?
Anyway after i install i just have to insert my leopard disc that came with the MB right?
New in mac..just clarifying..
n20nine
post May 12 2009, 10:38 AM

909 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ May 12 2009, 06:46 AM)
Thanks for the advice. Will look at it soon.
So hitachi it is?Easily available in lowyat i suppose?Around how much for the 5k500?
Anyway after i install i just have to insert my leopard disc that came with the MB right?
New in mac..just clarifying..
i am not sure about availability in lowyat, but i think they should have it. i paid 120aud for mine - 320gb version.
after u install the hard disk, you should boot up from your leopard disc, then go to utilities -> disk utility and reformat the drive as Mac OS X Extended (Journaled). after that, reinstall OS X and you are good to go.
Masamune
post May 12 2009, 11:49 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

QUOTE(n20nine @ May 12 2009, 05:38 AM)
i am not sure about availability in lowyat, but i think they should have it. i paid 120aud for mine - 320gb version.
after u install the hard disk, you should boot up from your leopard disc, then go to utilities -> disk utility and reformat the drive as Mac OS X Extended (Journaled). after that, reinstall OS X and you are good to go.
Alright..thanks for the advice.. smile.gif
I will hunt for the hardisk in lowyat..
Hopefully got sell la..i don't want to have to go to SG to hunt..
Can't wait to go back Malaysia now.. tongue.gif
sonnettech-asia
post May 15 2009, 10:04 AM

602 posts

I have hitachi 7200RPM 320GB HDD for macbook/macbook pro.

nimrod323
post May 15 2009, 10:26 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(ron4 @ May 11 2009, 07:27 PM)
Hi guys

Any issue if upgrade my 1st Gen intel iMac from Tiger to Leopard OSX?,  is it suitable for my current spec, (intel Core Duo 1.83ghz, Ati Mobility Redeon X1600, 2GB RAM)?.

What about driver with my current hardware, already include in Leopard?, any discount for this upgrade or i need to buy with new price.

Or if i buy Leopard retail disc, is it ok?  http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/929716
You use Xp and upgrade to Vista also no discount wat,since when anyone give discount one shakehead.gif ? Just get the retail disc,should be 499 and duh of course all the drivers are already provided by Apple, even if you are on selected popwerpc compatible macs doh.gif

gengstapo
post May 15 2009, 10:53 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

I wonder why there is no VGA in this tread? Should be included also as Apple got optional VGA upgrade kit hmm.gif
pgf501
post May 20 2009, 06:40 PM

154 posts

is there anyone knows what's the price ram upgraded for iBook G4. i'm using 2007 model (512mb). still in good condition but a little bit slowly....
ujoewong
post May 20 2009, 08:00 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(n20nine @ May 10 2009, 10:40 AM)

I am using Western Digital Scorpio Black 320GB 7200RPM Hard Disk Drive on my Macbook Alu 2.4 now.

After changing only I know that the default HDD which is a FUJITSU still beat my new WD Scorpio Black in terms of vibration. The WD will have more vibration because it is running 7200RPM not 5400RPM. Not that it is very serious, is just that you can feel it when you are placing your hands on the palm area of the MacBook Alu. When I was using the Fujitsu HDD, I cannot feel anything.

Well, of course I know that nothing is perfect in this world.

Apart from that, my startup speed with the WD Scorpio Black is now 25 seconds while the Fujitsu was around 30++ seconds, applications are more snappier when I clicked on them.

If you think you can sacrifice some battery life (which I don't think is a lot) and doesn't mind about the vibration, by all means go ahead and buy that drive.

Can anyone give some feedback on the WD Scorpio Blue 500GB WD5000BEVT on a MacBook Alu? Interested in trying it on my MacBook. But, after intensive googling, I found out that the WD5000BEVT model will cause some beeping sound. Really hope someone with this HDD on a MacBook Alu can clarify this.

P/S:
There are 2 versions on the Scorpio Black. Make sure you get the (WDxxxx"BEKT") version of Scorpio Black as this does not have the free-fall sensors in it. The MacBook may cause some beeping sound if you have one with the free-fall sensors (WDxxxx"BJKT") included in the HDD while it conflicts with the sensors that is in the MacBook.

Regards,
Joe

This post has been edited by ujoewong: May 20 2009, 08:32 PM
^prion^
post May 20 2009, 08:26 PM

33 posts

I'm using WD Scorpio Blue 500GB for about 3 months already. I can feel some vibration, but less than the original fujitsu. Anyway i don think i feel the difference in speed. No beeping sound though. Happy using it so far.
cRazYee
post May 20 2009, 10:21 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ May 15 2009, 10:53 AM)
I wonder why there is no VGA in this tread? Should be included also as Apple got optional VGA upgrade kit hmm.gif
to be honest, for technology today VGA is for loser.
hold on you meant VGA port or GPU (graphic processor unit)? no why to upgrade just like that, everything build on borad

Added on May 20, 2009, 10:21 pm
QUOTE(gengstapo @ May 15 2009, 10:53 AM)
to be honest, for technology today VGA is for loser.
hold on you meant VGA port or GPU (graphic processor unit)? no why to upgrade just like that, everything build on borad

This post has been edited by cRazYee: May 20 2009, 10:21 PM
esssymanex
post May 21 2009, 12:21 AM

596 posts

QUOTE(^prion^ @ May 20 2009, 09:26 PM)
I'm using WD Scorpio Blue 500GB for about 3 months already. I can feel some vibration, but less than the original fujitsu. Anyway i don think i feel the difference in speed. No beeping sound though. Happy using it so far.
Mine only used it 1 month on 500GB WD Scorpio Blue. Got problem on wake up after sleep. Check on service they said hard disk problem. Already change to Seagate 500GB but i still like using WD than Seagate.

120 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0247sec    1.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:09 AM