120 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

Lipyueng
post Apr 18 2009, 03:46 AM

442 posts

thn i think wait for more si fu reply n help... because i m planning to own a macbook pro... but... since is a bit pricey... so need to know more n consider well be4 the purchasing is done...
Timber
post Apr 18 2009, 09:32 AM

484 posts

RAM capability is limited by the hardware itself, not the OS. MacPro can support RAM up to 8GB running the same OS.
longfang
post Apr 18 2009, 09:46 AM

APO
532 posts

QUOTE(Wyldemdd @ Apr 18 2009, 03:44 AM)
Macbook pro use DDR3.OS-X have 2 version same as windows too.32bit and 64bit.You can check from Apple website.
There is only 1 version of OS X Leopard, and it has a 32-bit kernel. The reason why Macs can still currently support up to 32GB of ram is because Apple has implemented PAE in the os. Also the reason why windows can only see 3.3GB of ram is because of MMIO an intel issue. Apple has simply mapped the address space for MMIO to the upper bands of however much ram that its chipset currently supports. eg. on santa rosa chipsets it maps it to the upper 8GB range vs windows which has hardcoded it to the upper 4GB range.
prasys
post Apr 18 2009, 09:46 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

OSX 10.5 runs in 64-bit automatically if you have a 64-bit enabled CPU (That is why in my Hackint0sh it would automatically address my 4GB fully and it shows that its running in 64-bit mode). This applies both to PowerPC G5 and Intel Macs with EM64T enabled

In other words , if you have new macbook/macbook pro , yes it could see 4GB of RAM And it could detect up to 8GB as well !

Added on April 18, 2009, 9:47 am
QUOTE(longfang @ Apr 18 2009, 09:46 AM)
There is only 1 version of OS X Leopard, and it has a 32-bit kernel. The reason why Macs can still currently support up to 32GB of ram is because Apple has implemented PAE in the os. Also the reason why windows can only see 3.3GB of ram is because of MMIO an intel issue. Apple has simply mapped the address space for MMIO to the upper bands of however much ram that its chipset currently supports. eg. on santa rosa chipsets it maps it to the upper 8GB range vs windows which has hardcoded it to the upper 4GB range.
My friend

Leopard has a 64-bit kernel and not a 32-bit kernel. If it runs on 32-bit kernel , there is no way on earth on how I did manage to compile 64-bit applications with it tongue.gif

This post has been edited by prasys: Apr 18 2009, 09:47 AM
longfang
post Apr 18 2009, 10:01 AM

APO
532 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Apr 18 2009, 09:46 AM)
OSX 10.5 runs in 64-bit automatically if you have a 64-bit enabled CPU (That is why in my Hackint0sh it would automatically address my 4GB fully and it shows that its running in 64-bit mode). This applies both to PowerPC G5 and Intel Macs with EM64T enabled

In other words , if you have new macbook/macbook pro , yes it could see 4GB of RAM And it could detect up to 8GB as well !

Added on April 18, 2009, 9:47 am
My friend

Leopard has a 64-bit kernel and not a 32-bit kernel. If it runs on 32-bit kernel , there is no way on earth on how I did manage to compile 64-bit applications with it tongue.gif
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension

http://macguild.org/wwdc/wwdc06.html#Kernel

ASAP
post Apr 18 2009, 10:05 AM

1,645 posts

Hi all,

I have a question about RAID 5 in Mac Pro. Currently my HDD setup is

1 x 320gb
3 x 1.5 Tera HDDs

Using Software RAID 5

I am thinking the following setup.

1. I will use the 320gb as Mac OS + Windows because of the bootcamp partition so I cannot use this drive for RAID 5. True? What if I get another 1.5 tera for the Mac OS X + Windows (so it becomes 4 x 1.5 tera), can I partition this drive even in RAID 5?

2. If I use 3 or 4 HDDs for RAID 5 software, will it be combine into only 1 drive? Can I further partition into several drives?

3. If let say I use 3 x 1.5 Tera, what will be the final capacity of the drive?

4. I am using software RAID 5 on 3 drive, will it be slower than normal individual HDDs? I heard software RAID 5 will reduce the speed performance significantly but I dont know whether still better than individual drives?

Please advise. Thank you.
prasys
post Apr 18 2009, 10:16 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(longfang @ Apr 18 2009, 10:01 AM)
Well you're right. Pfft , I overlooked , the kernel is still 32-bit - however some parts of OSX are 64-bit tongue.gif. We will have to wait till snow leopard

CODE
Chess: Mach-O universal binary with 4 architectures
Chess (for architecture ppc): Mach-O executable ppc
Chess (for architecture ppc64): Mach-O 64-bit executable ppc64
Chess (for architecture i386): Mach-O executable i386
Chess (for architecture x86_64): Mach-O 64-bit executable x86_64

CODE

/mach_kernel: Mach-O universal binary with 2 architectures
/mach_kernel (for architecture i386): Mach-O executable i386
/mach_kernel (for architecture ppc): Mach-O executable ppc

sets84
post Apr 18 2009, 12:52 PM

383 posts

anybody knows where I can get Mushkin or Crucial rams locally?
cRazYee
post Apr 19 2009, 08:52 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(ASAP @ Apr 18 2009, 10:05 AM)
Hi all,

I have a question about RAID 5 in Mac Pro. Currently my HDD setup is

1 x 320gb
3 x 1.5 Tera HDDs

Using Software RAID 5

I am thinking the following setup.

1. I will use the 320gb as Mac OS + Windows because of the bootcamp partition so I cannot use this drive for RAID 5. True? What if I get another 1.5 tera for the Mac OS X + Windows (so it becomes 4 x 1.5 tera), can I partition this drive even in RAID 5?

2. If I use 3 or 4 HDDs for RAID 5 software, will it be combine into only 1 drive? Can I further partition into several drives?

3. If let say I use 3 x 1.5 Tera, what will be the final capacity of the drive?

4. I am using software RAID 5 on 3 drive, will it be slower than normal individual HDDs? I heard software RAID 5 will reduce the speed performance significantly but I dont know whether still better than individual drives?
Please advise. Thank you.
RAID 5 is definitely faster that single Drive
best all around, lowest failure rate

Added on April 19, 2009, 8:53 amanyone into SSD world?
i'm very tempting
but no money to get fast and reasonable capacity one

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Apr 19 2009, 08:53 AM
zenix
post Apr 19 2009, 01:31 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

i have an old imac classic where to get it reformatted and upgraded without breaking the bank? sad.gif
ASAP
post Apr 19 2009, 08:02 PM

1,645 posts

Even using software RAID 5? Thanks
cRazYee
post Apr 19 2009, 10:00 PM

2,642 posts

i dont understand what do you mean by software RAID 5
but as long as you have 4 HDD and above you can do RAID 5
SAfe, fast, incredible!!!

How i wish i can do it as well........

Looks like you have full range of sony DSLR, but why A900? it really good?

Added on April 20, 2009, 5:23 amguys, you guys have any idea for repairing New wireless keyboard?

there are alot in ebay, thinking making something out from it.

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Apr 20 2009, 05:23 AM
ASAP
post Apr 20 2009, 08:09 AM

1,645 posts

How can I setup RAID 5 in Mac? Thanks.

Currently I am using Sony Alpha. So far so good, I have no complaint especially A900. Thanks.
cRazYee
post Apr 21 2009, 02:57 AM

2,642 posts

i think RAID utility will help

you can find inside mac
ASAP
post Apr 21 2009, 07:29 AM

1,645 posts

I try to use the RAID utility but it needs the RAID before it starts.

Added on April 21, 2009, 9:54 amPossible to recommend any RAID card for Mac Pro in Malaysia? Thanks

This post has been edited by ASAP: Apr 21 2009, 09:54 AM
wei
post Apr 21 2009, 05:42 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

I can get them, what's your budget?
RAID component is not cheap.
ace888
post Apr 21 2009, 10:22 PM

68 posts

Hello Ppl,
Anyone knows when i can buy RAM for the latest Quad/8Core MacPros?
Appreciate any help...

Thanks biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
durfzstonez
post Apr 21 2009, 10:28 PM

340 posts

the machine sunway
ace888
post Apr 21 2009, 10:35 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(durfzstonez @ Apr 21 2009, 10:28 PM)
the machine sunway
Thanks for the reply. Forgot to mention, Looking for 3rd party Ram !!

cRazYee
post Apr 22 2009, 12:20 AM

2,642 posts

3rd party, Still need ECC ram, wont be cheap

you can try OWC.com

120 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:50 PM