120 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

nas06
post May 21 2009, 09:43 AM

♫..the sexy side of House..♪
549 posts

hi guys, need help..
yesterday while cleaning up the office, i found an Apple iBook G4 notebook..
my boss gave it to me for my office usage..

now the problem is, how to update the MAC OS X to the latest version?
i tried using software update, but still dunno how..
also, the Safari version is 1.3.2 (v312.6)
even the IE version is 5.2.
as they require the latest version of MAC OS X..

i really2 dunno how to use this iBook..
help guys.. icon_question.gif
ujoewong
post May 21 2009, 01:19 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(esssymanex @ May 21 2009, 12:21 AM)
Mine only used it 1 month on 500GB WD Scorpio Blue. Got problem on wake up after sleep. Check on service they said hard disk problem. Already change to Seagate 500GB but i still like using WD than Seagate.
Can u elaborate more on the "after waking up from sleep" problem? So it is the HDD problem??
esssymanex
post May 21 2009, 04:09 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(ujoewong @ May 21 2009, 02:19 PM)
Can u elaborate more on the "after waking up from sleep" problem? So it is the HDD problem??
The problem is after upgrade my macbook with 4GB ram and 500GB WD hard disk. I left the macbook without doing anything so after a few minute it will goes to sleep mode and display. After 2 hour left it, then come back to used it again. It wont wake up, it froze like nothing happen and same time the power still on. Need to hard reset using on/off button. I was sent to Machines to check it. I thought it was logic board problem, so their call me and inform that hard disk problem. I ask why ? He only said hard disk problem, just change the hard disk it will be okay. Other reason their given, it third party hard disk so we cannot change it. That all. mad.gif mad.gif

I change to seagate hard disk and disable put hard disk on sleep mode. It working for now i think. blush.gif blush.gif
cRazYee
post May 22 2009, 10:32 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(nas06 @ May 21 2009, 09:43 AM)
hi guys, need help..
yesterday while cleaning up the office, i found an Apple iBook G4 notebook..
my boss gave it to me for my office usage..

now the problem is, how to update the MAC OS X to the latest version?
i tried using software update, but still dunno how..
also, the Safari version is 1.3.2 (v312.6)
even the IE version is 5.2.
as they require the latest version of MAC OS X..

i really2 dunno how to use this iBook..
help guys.. icon_question.gif
what you can do is update to 10.4.11
then use office 2005

sonnettech-asia
post May 22 2009, 10:37 AM

602 posts

are you connected to internet? if yes. all you need to do is to click on software updates and let it runs
nas06
post May 22 2009, 04:32 PM

549 posts

@crazyee
i see..how should i do dat..?

@sonnettech
yes i did connected to the internet..
i've run the software update but the version still 10.3.9

i wanna use this notebook for office, photoshop, flash, music n vid editing..
what should i upgrade n install?
wei
post May 22 2009, 05:17 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

You can't get upgrade to 10.4 magically from 10.3, you need the full installer.
nas06
post May 22 2009, 07:52 PM

549 posts

so...where can i get the full installer then..?
perhaps the 10.5 version..?
i really2 dunno..huhu..XD
wei
post May 22 2009, 07:57 PM

6,496 posts

for ibook g4 that came with 10.3.9 you better upgrade to 10.4 and stay on it.
nas06
post May 22 2009, 08:12 PM

549 posts

i see...
alright..where can i get it then..?
i wanna use this notebook for work..
prasys
post May 22 2009, 09:22 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(nas06 @ May 22 2009, 08:12 PM)
i see...
alright..where can i get it then..?
i wanna use this notebook for work..
Ask wei if he has any old copies of Tiger DVD/CDs

Anyhow , Leopard is a bit slow for G4 systems. It works fine , provided you max out your RAM !
nas06
post May 22 2009, 10:21 PM

549 posts

ouh...okay
well, the processor speed is 933 MHz and 640 MB DDR RAM
is there any suggestion?
sonnettech-asia
post May 22 2009, 10:55 PM

602 posts

yes. you need a copy of Tiger and update it to 10.4.11
nas06
post May 23 2009, 06:33 PM

549 posts

okay..does anyone have the disc..?
ashrin
post Jun 2 2009, 12:16 AM

hi guys,

wondering if you could help a noobie here regarding RAM. i'm planning to upgrade the ram of my mbp 2.5ghz(early 2008) from 1gb to 2gb each...

1. i have to find 2 gb DDR2-667 SDRAM right? or what would you guys recommend?

2. what brand should i buy,kingston, mushkin or corsair or any other brand?

3. i do a lot of photo editing, video....so is 4 gb(2 gb each) enough or i should find 6 gb(3gb each)?

4. can you tell me which shop in LYP that can give me a good price and good service?

Tq in advance.

nimrod323
post Jun 2 2009, 08:51 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(ashrin @ Jun 2 2009, 12:16 AM)
hi guys,

wondering if you could help a noobie here regarding RAM. i'm planning to upgrade the ram of my mbp 2.5ghz(early 2008) from 1gb to 2gb each...

1. i have to find 2 gb DDR2-667 SDRAM right? or what would you guys recommend?

2. what brand should i buy,kingston, mushkin or corsair or any other brand?

3. i do a lot of photo editing, video....so is 4 gb(2 gb each) enough or i should find 6 gb(3gb each)? 

4. can you tell me which shop in LYP that can give me a good price and good service?

Tq in advance.
1 dude your mac can only support DDR2 667 cannot put any other specification

2 any brand would do,even kingston value rams

3 theres no such thing as a 3GB memory module its 1,2 and 4Gb,go with the 2x2GB configuration.

4 again just get the ram and DIY,can get the manual from ifixit or apple.com,easy.

wei
post Jun 2 2009, 09:14 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Jun 2 2009, 08:51 AM)
1 dude your mac can only support DDR2 667 cannot put any other specification

2 any brand would do,even kingston value rams

3 theres no such thing as a 3GB memory module its 1,2 and 4Gb,go with the 2x2GB configuration.

4 again just get the ram and DIY,can get the manual from ifixit or apple.com,easy.
FYI, my MBP is running 2x 2GB DDR2 800MHz. Which supposed to be 667MHz only. Just that it won't run at 800Mhz, but still works.

This post has been edited by wei: Jun 2 2009, 09:15 AM
sonnettech-asia
post Jun 2 2009, 10:12 AM

602 posts

QUOTE(nas06 @ May 23 2009, 06:33 PM)
okay..does anyone have the disc..?
I have the disk. PM me if you need help.
your ram may not be sufficient to rune OS10.4

ashrin
post Jun 2 2009, 09:43 PM

Wei and nimrod,

Thank you for your help. I really appreciate it a lot.
gengstapo
post Jun 3 2009, 10:38 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ May 20 2009, 10:21 PM)
to be honest, for technology today VGA is for loser.
hold on you meant VGA port or GPU (graphic processor unit)? no why to upgrade just like that, everything build on borad
Im referring to graphic card, not vga port
The onboard GPU kinda weak compared to the add-on, thats why I prefer the upgradeable one laugh.gif

120 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0166sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:06 AM