Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

feez98
post Jun 11 2015, 11:55 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Jun 11 2015, 10:59 PM)
The thing about my MBP is that the fan keeps spinning in a very high speed and sometimes the computer is slow. Do you reckon that changing the SSD and blow out all the dust from the fan will help?
Your Macbook needs to be cleaning inside especially your fan. Macbook greatest enemy is DUST. Send your Macbook to your nearest service centre and have it clean or you can DIY yourself.
buncho89
post Jun 12 2015, 08:36 AM

282 posts

Just to share. I recently inherited a 13" MBP late 2011. Decided to change out the HDD to a SSD. Bought a Samsung Evo 850 250gb. The laptop works pretty good with no issues. Like brand new. Would highly recommend Sansung Evo 850..
Mac Man @ LYF
post Jun 12 2015, 01:46 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Jun 11 2015, 10:59 PM)
The thing about my MBP is that the fan keeps spinning in a very high speed and sometimes the computer is slow. Do you reckon that changing the SSD and blow out all the dust from the fan will help?
When its spinning at a high speed, open your Activity Monitor (under Utilities) and see which program % CPU is very high. Upgrading to SSD will speed up the processing and loading tough. Try cleaning the fan and see if its help, if the fan is faulty just get it replace. Its a lot cheaper to replace a faulty fan than get a over heat board (chip) repair/replace.

PeeEl
post Jun 12 2015, 03:30 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(buncho89 @ Jun 12 2015, 08:36 AM)
Just to share. I recently inherited a 13" MBP late 2011. Decided to change out the HDD to a SSD. Bought a Samsung Evo 850 250gb. The laptop works pretty good with no issues. Like brand new. Would highly recommend Sansung Evo 850..
Kindly advise where you got the SSD, how much and where did you get it replaced? And how much did it cost you to reinstall the OSX? TQ.
Mac Man @ LYF
post Jun 12 2015, 05:23 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jun 12 2015, 03:30 PM)
Kindly advise where you got the SSD, how much and where did you get it replaced? And how much did it cost you to reinstall the OSX? TQ.
You can buy at any shop that selling pc hardware, price is around RM500++.

Installation guide you can find at iFixit - https://www.ifixit.com/

OS installation - if have cd, load back the os.
PeeEl
post Jun 13 2015, 10:22 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(Mac Man @ LYF @ Jun 12 2015, 05:23 PM)
You can buy at any shop that selling pc hardware, price is around RM500++.

Installation guide you can find at iFixit - https://www.ifixit.com/

OS installation - if have cd, load back the os.
Thanks for your input.

Since you are in this line, how much do you charge for doing it? TQ.
sumtuckieeeee
post Jun 13 2015, 09:31 PM

889 posts

Hi all,

MY MBP has been acting weird lately. It'll automatically turn off after unplugging the magsafe even though it's fully charged. According to Coconut Battery, I still have 74% of battery capacity. Can anyone help me on this?

kuekwee
post Jun 19 2015, 10:04 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

Need help here. I am planning to get wireless keyboard for my MBAr. Must i use back apple keyboard or i can use other brand? Mac not cheap.
kasey1314
post Jun 24 2015, 12:08 AM

奇人异士
720 posts

MacBook Pro 15 intel core i7 2.2GHZ 1gb HD Graphic
intel QUAD CORE Processor
Intel Core i7 2.2ghz
4GB DDR3 ram (can upgrade to 8gb ADD RM 290)
UPGRADE TO 16GN ADD RM580
500GB Hard Disk
Dual Graphic GPU
Ati Radeon HD 1 GB Graphic
super drive DVD rw
One Thunderbolt port (up to 10 Gbps)
one FireWire 800 port (up to 800 Mbps)
USB port
Wifi, bluetooth
Built-in battery
Mac OSX

or

MBP 13inch

Intel core i5 2.5ghz turbo boots to 3.1ghz processor
intel hd 1GB Graphic
4gb 1600mhz DDR III ram
500gb hdd
High Spee USB 3.0
hd face time camera
super drive

both gap only about RM 200, which in mid 2.5k-2.7k used unit. Intend to bought 1 for learning purpose.

After bought will upgrade ram to 8gb or 16gb and will replace the optical disk drive to SSD.

but there is few question to go

1)I wanted to play FFXIV, do I need to install dual boot camp for Windows or Parallel Desktop? or I can try use Steam for MAC to play FFXIV?

2)Intel HD 1GB Graphic is better than Dual Graphic GPU Ati Radeon HD 1 GB Graphic? I scare cant run FFXIV and DOTA 2.

3)I will using for Minor Video Editing , CODA 10 , which I wanted to learn bootstrap to coding.Photoshop .

Any sifus can advise?

This post has been edited by kasey1314: Jun 24 2015, 12:09 AM
feez98
post Jun 25 2015, 04:03 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(kasey1314 @ Jun 24 2015, 12:08 AM)
MacBook Pro 15 intel core i7 2.2GHZ 1gb HD Graphic
intel QUAD CORE Processor
Intel Core i7 2.2ghz
4GB DDR3 ram (can upgrade to 8gb ADD RM 290)
UPGRADE TO 16GN ADD RM580
500GB Hard Disk
Dual Graphic GPU
Ati Radeon HD 1 GB Graphic
super drive DVD rw
USB port
Wifi, bluetooth
Built-in battery
Mac OSX

or

MBP 13inch

Intel core i5 2.5ghz turbo boots to 3.1ghz processor
intel hd 1GB Graphic
4gb 1600mhz DDR III ram
500gb hdd
High Spee USB 3.0
hd face time camera
super drive

both gap only about RM 200, which in mid 2.5k-2.7k used unit. Intend to bought 1 for learning purpose.
After bought will upgrade ram to 8gb or 16gb and will replace the optical disk drive to SSD.

but there is few question to go

1)I wanted to play FFXIV, do I need to install dual boot camp for Windows or Parallel Desktop? or I can try use Steam for MAC to play FFXIV?

2)Intel HD 1GB Graphic is better than Dual Graphic GPU Ati Radeon HD 1 GB Graphic? I scare cant run FFXIV and DOTA 2.

3)I will using for Minor Video Editing , CODA 10 , which I wanted to learn bootstrap to coding.Photoshop .

Any sifus can advise?
Since you cant get Windows out of your head and you like gaming so much I strongly suggest gaming laptop like illegear or Alienware. Or you can build yourself a powerful Hackintoch IMHO smile.gif

This post has been edited by feez98: Jun 25 2015, 09:16 PM
kasey1314
post Jun 25 2015, 08:54 PM

奇人异士
720 posts

QUOTE(feez98 @ Jun 25 2015, 04:03 PM)
Since you cant get Windows out of your head and you like gaming so much I strongly suggest gaming laptop like illegear or Alienware. Of you can build yourself a powerful Hackintoch IMHO smile.gif
but i require to coding for website. which is CODA 10 in my courses..which only available for OSX, that why my head is pening.

currently owning MSI GX60 destroyer, can do above my stuff..

if take 2 laptop quite troublesome. so intend to make it into 1....
denzel88
post Jun 27 2015, 05:02 PM

Let's Bring it On!
1,432 posts

Guys, I'm thinking to extend my iMac 27" 2015 to an Hdmi external monitor.
Can you guys recommend me a good cable?

Been looking at those rm30 display port to Hdmi cable but I am not sure if those works. perfectly . Need your opinions smile.gif

This post has been edited by denzel88: Jun 27 2015, 05:04 PM
kEazYc
post Jul 2 2015, 11:51 AM

1,314 posts

Has anyone tried to upgrade their SSD/Flash Memory on their Macbook Pro Retina 13 inch Late 2013 model?

If yes, which model of SSD/Flash Memory you are using and how does it performs? Looking to upgrade it to 512GB since it is on 256GB.

This post has been edited by kEazYc: Jul 2 2015, 11:53 AM
feez98
post Jul 2 2015, 01:02 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ May 26 2015, 11:25 AM)
is it possible to upgrade the iMac (21.5-inch, Mid 2014) memory ourself? Like the 27 inch, it has memory slot at the back screen. I tried to search, tutorial changing the memory mostly showing 2012-2013, is this the same method to do with Mid 2014 version?
Take note: All 21.5" iMac version (slim) has no access doors for RAM upgrading. You have to remove the LCD panel in order to access your RAM slots. Oh yeah, the 21.5" has only 2 RAM slots. tongue.gif
elfreakz
post Jul 11 2015, 12:57 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(feez98 @ Jul 2 2015, 01:02 PM)
Take note: All 21.5" iMac version (slim) has no access doors for RAM upgrading. You have to remove the LCD panel in order to access your RAM slots. Oh yeah, the 21.5" has only 2 RAM slots.  tongue.gif
thanks bro for the answer... it sound trouble to upgrade the ram on 21.5"...
Mac Man @ LYF
post Jul 11 2015, 02:08 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Jul 11 2015, 12:57 PM)
thanks bro for the answer... it sound trouble to upgrade the ram on 21.5"...
Yes and it uses tape to stick, not screw, many work involve. Usually at least half day needed just to change those ram.

Installation charges nearly as the ram price. tongue.gif
Mavik
post Aug 6 2015, 04:44 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(kEazYc @ Jul 2 2015, 11:51 AM)
Has anyone tried to upgrade their SSD/Flash Memory on their Macbook Pro Retina 13 inch Late 2013 model?

If yes, which model of SSD/Flash Memory you are using and how does it performs? Looking to upgrade it to 512GB since it is on 256GB.
I am looking something from OWC. Not too sure if there are local ones which are as fast.
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/OWC/Air...-Internal-Flash
Jay Chua CC
post Aug 8 2015, 01:42 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

Looking for guides on maintaining macbooks battery since it is unremovable.
So you guys use your macs plugged with charger all the time or unplugged it when it is full?
And yeah,how much does it usually cost to change mba battery>? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: Aug 8 2015, 01:42 PM
willi_chs
post Aug 22 2015, 09:20 AM

202 posts

Hi guys,

Is there really SSD upgrade for MacBook Air 13" (Early 2014) build?

I heard that there's no market here selling PCIe-based flash storage SSD...

I wanna upgrade the storage from 128gigs to 256 gigs...

Any suggestions?
BRY7
post Aug 22 2015, 06:36 PM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

QUOTE(willi_chs @ Aug 22 2015, 09:20 AM)
Hi guys,

Is there really SSD upgrade for MacBook Air 13" (Early 2014) build?

I heard that there's no market here selling PCIe-based flash storage SSD...

I wanna upgrade the storage from 128gigs to 256 gigs...

Any suggestions?
yes, you're right about PCIe-based flash storage not available from 3rd party manufacturers

120 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 >Top

0.0304sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:46 PM