Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc
dvlzplayground
Nov 25 2012, 10:23 AM
question regarding HDD formatting
i have paragon NTFS installed. it enables me to format an ext/usb drive to NTFS in diskutil. seemed like no problem until i insert the drive into a win PC, which it cant read and prompted me to format the drive.
anyone encounter this problem before? how's tuxera or any other NTFS enabler software?
This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Nov 25 2012, 10:23 AM
D.Sync
Nov 25 2012, 05:11 PM
I always try to use Windows machine to format to NTFS as it is the native file system in Windows. I'm using Tuxera NTFS and it works charmingly without any problem. Added on November 25, 2012, 5:18 pmQUOTE(carbonfibre @ Nov 23 2012, 01:09 AM) Hey guys anyone to recommend to change my mid2012 MBP15" to 16GB ram kit ? like lowyat forum members besides our veteran wei? thanks Added on November 23, 2012, 12:02 pmFor rams like mushkin there are normal laptop DDR3 1600mhz and Apple Certified i realized the non apple one runs at 1.35v where the apple certified one is 1.5v a problem here ? I'm also trying to find a quality 16GB RAM. So far I'm seeing good and bad reviews about Corsair, and not much about Kingston. Mushkin seemed to have a reputable image but it is hard for me to find it in Taiwan. Perhaps I will just go for Kingston and it only cost around RM160 here for 16GB. In regards to the memory voltage, I believe it is common for MBP to use 1.5v, but it will accept 1.35v (DDR3L) as well without any problem. To be safe, 1.5v is recommended if you own MBP released before 2012. This post has been edited by D.Sync: Nov 25 2012, 05:18 PM
sookk
Nov 25 2012, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Nov 25 2012, 10:23 AM) question regarding HDD formatting i have paragon NTFS installed. it enables me to format an ext/usb drive to NTFS in diskutil. seemed like no problem until i insert the drive into a win PC, which it cant read and prompted me to format the drive. anyone encounter this problem before? how's tuxera or any other NTFS enabler software? There seems to be some compatibility issue with NTFS which you format on the Mac .... always format NTFS using a windows machine so that you won't run into this problem ....
b48753
Nov 30 2012, 02:53 AM
I'm in dilemma whether to spend on extra RAM or go for SATA-3 SSD. Anyone here ever test their mac to max on this?
BRY7
Nov 30 2012, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(b48753 @ Nov 30 2012, 02:53 AM) I'm in dilemma whether to spend on extra RAM or go for SATA-3 SSD. Anyone here ever test their mac to max on this? get SSD first, you will not feel the difference for RAM if you do not maximize the use of it
dvlzplayground
Nov 30 2012, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(b48753 @ Nov 30 2012, 02:53 AM) I'm in dilemma whether to spend on extra RAM or go for SATA-3 SSD. Anyone here ever test their mac to max on this? definitely SSD first.
ic-klass
Dec 1 2012, 01:43 PM
Planning to install Parallels8. Should i format the windows part to fat32 or ntfs? Or isit not necessary?
static
Dec 1 2012, 02:49 PM
Might not be the correct thread, but do you guys use Magic Mouse or some other mouse? I don't like MM, looking for good Bluetooth mouse, recommendations?
dvlzplayground
Dec 1 2012, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(ic-klass @ Dec 1 2012, 01:43 PM) Planning to install Parallels8. Should i format the windows part to fat32 or ntfs? Or isit not necessary? with parallels u'll are installing a virtual machine. there's no formatting involved  cheers QUOTE(static @ Dec 1 2012, 02:49 PM) Might not be the correct thread, but do you guys use Magic Mouse or some other mouse? I don't like MM, looking for good Bluetooth mouse, recommendations? i'm using razer orochi for 2 or 3 years now, very satisfied. its a bluetooth mouse but u can connect it with a cable to save battery. the texture gets sticky after a while though. a new 2013 version just came out!
carbonfibre
Dec 3 2012, 11:58 PM
Laptop RAM Corsair Value DDR3 1600MHz 4GB RM 89 [ CMSO4GX3M1A1600C11 , DDR3 1600MHz , 4GB , 1 x 4GB DIMM , Unbuffered 11-11-11-30 , 1.5V ]
Corsair Value DDR3 1600MHz 8GB RM 140 [ CMSO8GX3M1A1600C11 , DDR3 1600MHz , 8GB , 1 x 8GB DIMM , Unbuffered 11-11-11-30 , 1.5V ]
can this be used for MacBook Pro ? the mid 2012 spec
D.Sync
Dec 4 2012, 01:52 PM
From what I have read, it is recommended to use memory module with 9-9-9 timing.
dvlzplayground
Dec 4 2012, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(D.Sync @ Dec 4 2012, 01:52 PM) From what I have read, it is recommended to use memory module with 9-9-9 timing. they're also more expensive hehe. not so much improvement too, correct me if im wrong
D.Sync
Dec 4 2012, 06:58 PM
I just installed KVA 8GB x2 recently and it ran superbly well until now. I even stress test the RAM by running memtest and no problem whatsoever.
I suppose this will be my last upgrade option for my MBP 2011 down the road now. I see no more room for improvement except a higher HDD capacity :-)
ic-klass
Dec 4 2012, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(D.Sync @ Dec 4 2012, 06:58 PM) I just installed KVA 8GB x2 recently and it ran superbly well until now. I even stress test the RAM by running memtest and no problem whatsoever. I suppose this will be my last upgrade option for my MBP 2011 down the road now. I see no more room for improvement except a higher HDD capacity :-) How bout SSD?
D.Sync
Dec 4 2012, 11:09 PM
SSD is actually the first thing that I upgraded. No regret whatsoever.
xproc
Dec 5 2012, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(ic-klass @ Dec 1 2012, 01:43 PM) Planning to install Parallels8. Should i format the windows part to fat32 or ntfs? Or isit not necessary? not necessary, i tried pd8, not my cup of tea, installed W7 in Bootcamp to support some of my native software, feels great W7 sp1 x86 = 10GB diskspace, 2.71 GB ram usable W7 sp1 x64 = 15GB diskspace, 4.00 GB ram usable
andrew9292
Jan 29 2013, 06:57 AM
What is the best 7200rpm drive to get for Macbook 3.1 (2007 White)? From what I saw online, WD Scorpio Black 500GB seems good. Got many positive reviews about it, also got negative remarks (OS stuttering/lag which can never be fix) But Seagate seems worse... Anyone got personal experience upgrading MB3.1 2007 White HDD? Advice needed...
feins
Jan 29 2013, 08:42 AM

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jan 29 2013, 06:57 AM) What is the best 7200rpm drive to get for Macbook 3.1 (2007 White)? From what I saw online, WD Scorpio Black 500GB seems good. Got many positive reviews about it, also got negative remarks (OS stuttering/lag which can never be fix) But Seagate seems worse... Anyone got personal experience upgrading MB3.1 2007 White HDD? Advice needed...  So far. Before this I use seagate momentous 500gb before so far till now even after I sold it to my fren n still using without any complain. Its the MacBook white 2007.
andrew9292
Jan 29 2013, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(feins @ Jan 29 2013, 08:42 AM) So far. Before this I use seagate momentous 500gb before so far till now even after I sold it to my fren n still using without any complain. Its the MacBook white 2007. Seems like quite alot of mixed reviews, headache already... thanks for sharing May I ask, Did you just pull out the old drive, plug in the new seagate drive and reinstall OS X from DVD / Bootable USB? Or did you copy a disk image of your old drive (image backup/restore)? Or, plug out old drive, install OSX to the new HDD thru a USB 2.5'' HDD adapted? Then only plug in the new HDD into the bay? Any do/don't advice? This post has been edited by andrew9292: Jan 29 2013, 01:43 PM
feins
Jan 29 2013, 02:30 PM

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jan 29 2013, 01:42 PM) Seems like quite alot of mixed reviews, headache already... thanks for sharing May I ask, Did you just pull out the old drive, plug in the new seagate drive and reinstall OS X from DVD / Bootable USB? Or did you copy a disk image of your old drive (image backup/restore)? Or, plug out old drive, install OSX to the new HDD thru a USB 2.5'' HDD adapted? Then only plug in the new HDD into the bay? Any do/don't advice?  I've did all of the above before except install on an external hdd case. The best is just plug the new hdd and remove the 160gb stock. Restore from time machine fastest method.