98 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Bottom

Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

Jarod
post Mar 1 2020, 01:10 PM

556 posts

My iMac 2010 (EMC2390) won't start up. I think it's not able to load the OS as it's stuck at the Apple logo. Tried to do a recovery but it failed as well. All I got was a blank white screen with a folder with a question mark logo.

Is it a corrupted disk issue? Can I replace the HDD (or with SSD)?

This post has been edited by Jarod: Mar 1 2020, 01:16 PM
TSwei
post Mar 2 2020, 10:17 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Flashing folder meaning the Mac can't find a bootable OS to load.
It could be corrupted macOS or it could also due to fault on HDD.

You can troubleshoot it by booting to a USB/FireWire drive.

SSD replacement are much better option nowadays.
EatFriesEggs
post Mar 8 2020, 11:15 PM

91 posts

I just changed my speakers on my 2012 rMBP 15 because the old speaker has cracked

Just wondering, are both sides meant to sound the same?

It seems that Right speaker has more tone than the Left speaker.
TSwei
post Mar 9 2020, 09:48 AM

6,496 posts

For retina models, both sides should be equal.
EatFriesEggs
post Mar 9 2020, 04:55 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Mar 9 2020, 09:48 AM)
For retina models, both sides should be equal.
Okay... I'll send it back to get it redone then...
Icehart
post Apr 17 2020, 03:41 PM

14,897 posts

Any good repair shop around Puchong to do Mac repair services? My Macbook Pro speaker is toasted! Need it for my work from home arrangement currently.

This post has been edited by Icehart: Apr 17 2020, 03:41 PM
jordanchooi P
post Apr 18 2020, 06:57 AM

Probation

I tried checking my service and support coverage status and I was asked to validate my product's purchase date. However, I'm unable to validate it. Anyone knows how to do this? confused.gif

https://pictr.com/images/2020/04/18/5tjf4x.md.png
TSwei
post Apr 18 2020, 07:11 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(jordanchooi @ Apr 18 2020, 06:57 AM)
I tried checking my service and support coverage status and I was asked to validate my product's purchase date. However, I'm unable to validate it. Anyone knows how to do this? :confused:
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2020/04/18/5tjf4x.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2020/04/18/5tjf4x.md.png </a>
Call AppleCare.
ryderpat
post May 11 2020, 11:35 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(jordanchooi @ Apr 18 2020, 06:57 AM)
I tried checking my service and support coverage status and I was asked to validate my product's purchase date. However, I'm unable to validate it. Anyone knows how to do this? confused.gif
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2020/04/18/5tjf4x.md.png' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2020/04/18/5tjf4x.md.png </a>
Hai..Bro..! how are you.
...what the price now for Mac Pro 08' early DDR2 800mhz FB ECC (4GB x 2 ) ...?
jordanchooi P
post May 12 2020, 03:04 AM

Probation

QUOTE(ryderpat @ May 11 2020, 11:35 PM)
Hai..Bro..! how are you.
...what the price now for Mac Pro 08' early DDR2 800mhz FB ECC (4GB x 2 ) ...?
If you mean Mac Pro, I found 1 on Mudah.
https://www.mudah.my/Mac+pro+2+8-79696861.htm
ryderpat
post May 12 2020, 02:28 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(jordanchooi @ May 12 2020, 03:04 AM)
If you mean Mac Pro, I found 1 on Mudah.
https://www.mudah.my/Mac+pro+2+8-79696861.htm
Thanks Bro.....

This post has been edited by ryderpat: May 12 2020, 02:29 PM
moonsatelite
post Jun 4 2020, 11:13 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(Awang Awang @ Jun 2 2020, 11:45 AM)
My MacBook Pro (13-inch, 2016, Four Thunderbolt 3 Ports) screen and touch bar are slowly dying. The screen having flickering issues and also shadows of other applications. The touch bar sometimes just doesn't show up at all. It won't respond when I touch it.

Anyone knows how much is it to replace both them?
Your MacBook is a gold mine, go and report that you have the 2016 Display Backlight issues to claim a display for free and go and report that some of your keyboard keys are sticky/duplicate presses or something, if you're lucky, you'll get a free display and keyboard replaced for free. Essentially a new MacBook
TSwei
post Jun 10 2020, 01:40 PM

6,496 posts

The recall for display are for no backlit & curtain effects.
https://support.apple.com/13-inch-macbook-p...cklight-service

You can try. But likely not eligible.

Keyboard recall:
https://support.apple.com/keyboard-service-...r-mac-notebooks

Also take note the recall are for 4 years from the first retail of the model. Which make 2016 model very close to borderline. I suggest you contact Apple soonest before it expire.
SUSLord Randall Voldemort
post Jun 15 2020, 01:20 AM

38 posts

Can this be repaired? Or I will need to change the screen entirely? Lol

TSwei
post Jun 15 2020, 09:30 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Lord Randall Voldemort @ Jun 15 2020, 01:20 AM)
Can this be repaired? Or I will need to change the screen entirely? Lol

Yes. The is screen damaged. Whether you need the whole screen or the panel alone depends on model. There are too much risk replacing naked panel. So you will likely get a quote for whole display replacement.
SUSLord Randall Voldemort
post Jun 15 2020, 12:22 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jun 15 2020, 09:30 AM)
Yes. The is screen damaged. Whether you need the whole screen or the panel alone depends on model. There are too much risk replacing naked panel. So you will likely get a quote for whole display replacement.
Any idea how much it roughly cost? :/
Nickfury2
post Jun 18 2020, 06:31 PM

103 posts

I need to change my MacBook pro screen.. 2012 model non retina.. 13”..

Can I know estimated cost for this?
celciuz
post Jun 21 2020, 05:01 PM

14,033 posts

Initially right speaker started to make crackling sound, then I adjusted to play with left speaker only and then now both is broken producing crackling sound.

May I know what is the estimated cost for the speaker replacement?

15" rMBP late 2013
limkj
post Jun 21 2020, 10:01 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 21 2020, 05:01 PM)
Initially right speaker started to make crackling sound, then I adjusted to play with left speaker only and then now both is broken producing crackling sound.

May I know what is the estimated cost for the speaker replacement?

15" rMBP late 2013
If you get it replaced at Apple Service Centre it’s around RM450.
celciuz
post Jun 21 2020, 10:31 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(limkj @ Jun 21 2020, 10:01 PM)
If you get it replaced at Apple Service Centre it’s around RM450.
Ahh, if third party repair... significantly cheaper? or more or less similar?

98 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:37 AM