You must have left it under heat. The rubber lining melted and stick on the lower housing.
Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues
Jul 9 2019, 11:11 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
6,496 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kota Damansara |
You must have left it under heat. The rubber lining melted and stick on the lower housing.
Aug 13 2019, 10:38 PM
241 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
I’m looking repairing my MacBook Pro 15 mid 2010.
Generally it’s working well except when you use the graphic card instead of the integrated graphics. I’ll get a Kernel panic I’m wondering whether anyone can repair the logic board by replacing the capacitor C9560. From the internet this is the solution. If yes how much would this cost. |
Aug 13 2019, 10:51 PM
Here is the link showing the problem.
https://youtu.be/iKBzrxSGwlo This post has been edited by limkj: Aug 13 2019, 10:51 PM |
Aug 31 2019, 04:01 AM
35 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Hello Sifu's
Looking for reasonable and good quality shop for my upgrade of below MBP. Model : A1278 (Macbook Pro) Trackpad, Battery, RAM (8GB), SSD (500GB), Charger. Appreciate the reply! Cheers! |
Sep 5 2019, 02:18 PM
401 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Rightslash @ Jun 1 2019, 12:04 AM) I did this even when my warranty period was over not eligible but just called the apple helpline and told them the truth. The guy helped me to get an appointment with apple repair centre and they agreed to replace it since it was not my fault. |
Sep 6 2019, 09:21 PM
719 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
iMAC 27" GPU died, before it died managed to use disk util to backup the whole HDD to a .dmg file to a 1TB Hard disk. Before that, though was OS issue proceed to reinstall but it failed a few times then I erase the hard disk iMac is back after GPU repaired and they install High Sierra. Took back and tried to restore from recovery disk utility but after restore it won't boot. What can I do? In High Sierra, I can view the content of the .dmg files that I back up and even do a migration when I mount it but not all software is compatible with the new OS. How can I restore the .dmg files to the older version os? thanks. |
Sep 8 2019, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(jackdon @ Sep 6 2019, 09:21 PM) Hi, What version are you on before repair?iMAC 27" GPU died, before it died managed to use disk util to backup the whole HDD to a .dmg file to a 1TB Hard disk. Before that, though was OS issue proceed to reinstall but it failed a few times then I erase the hard disk iMac is back after GPU repaired and they install High Sierra. Took back and tried to restore from recovery disk utility but after restore it won't boot. What can I do? In High Sierra, I can view the content of the .dmg files that I back up and even do a migration when I mount it but not all software is compatible with the new OS. How can I restore the .dmg files to the older version os? thanks. This post has been edited by wei: Sep 10 2019, 03:02 PM |
Sep 8 2019, 10:30 PM
354 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: sarawak |
have touchpad problem. arrow becoming erratic. is it sensor problem or virus? using MBP 13" 2011
Sep 9 2019, 12:56 AM
Sep 10 2019, 09:59 AM
Oct 8 2019, 10:11 AM
2,173 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Hey guys/mac gurus,
Just would like to ask, I'm planning to sell off my old macbook pro and before that I would delete off my old files/format and re-install a fresh MacOS. For security purposes, is it possible for the new owner to actually retrieve/recover my old files that has been deleted/formatted? Thanks. |
Oct 8 2019, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Oct 8 2019, 10:11 AM) Hey guys/mac gurus, Yes, if they have the tool and skill. Deleted files can be retrieved. But it is subjective, not all recovered data will be in working form, some are partial or corrupted, but yes, can be recovered. If you are paranoid, you can do secure wipe with Disk Utility before installing the fresh MacOS. Before you click "Erase" button there's another button on the left that says "Security Options...", then you can select how many pass of zero-ing you want to do for the erase. The more zero write, the harder to recover your data. But this will also drastically increase the wear to your storage drive. As the process will write dummy data to fill up the whole storage, over-writing the previous record. Erase and repeat (should you select the more secure option). More write = more wear.Just would like to ask, I'm planning to sell off my old macbook pro and before that I would delete off my old files/format and re-install a fresh MacOS. For security purposes, is it possible for the new owner to actually retrieve/recover my old files that has been deleted/formatted? Thanks. This post has been edited by wei: Oct 8 2019, 04:48 PM |
Oct 8 2019, 11:56 AM
2,173 posts Joined: May 2010 |
QUOTE(wei @ Oct 8 2019, 11:22 AM) Yes, if they have the tool and skill. Deleted files can be retrieved. But it is subjective, not all recovered data will be in working form, some are partial or corrupted, but yes, can be recovered. If you are paranoid, you can do secure wipe with Disk Utility before installing the fresh MacOS. Before you click "Erase" button there's another button on the right that says "Security Options...", then you can select how many pass of zero-ing you want to do for the erase. The more zero write, the harder to recover your data. But this will also drastically increase the wear to your storage drive. As the process will write dummy data to fill up the whole storage, over-writing the previous record. Erase and repeat (should you select the more secure option). More write = more wear. Awesome, will try out this tip before I install the fresh OS. Thanks a lot buddy. |
Dec 2 2019, 03:32 PM
5,093 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Land of make believe |
Anyone knows if there are any recommended shops/ services with reasonable pricing without the need to replace the whole mobo (i.e. just replace the RAM chips) for a MBA?
Dec 19 2019, 09:27 PM
14,899 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur & Selangor |
QUOTE(UserU @ Dec 2 2019, 03:32 PM) Anyone knows if there are any recommended shops/ services with reasonable pricing without the need to replace the whole mobo (i.e. just replace the RAM chips) for a MBA? I've been trying to find such shop but to no avail. Let me know if you come across one.Anyone with the ability to do so should be able to upgrade the RAM memory. |
Dec 20 2019, 12:49 AM
5,093 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Land of make believe |
QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 19 2019, 09:27 PM) I've been trying to find such shop but to no avail. Let me know if you come across one. As some repair centers have advice, not worth it. Replacement costs nearly the same price as a new unit and those temporary fixes start from at least a few hundred.Anyone with the ability to do so should be able to upgrade the RAM memory. This post has been edited by UserU: Dec 20 2019, 12:50 AM |
Jan 30 2020, 08:30 AM
1,910 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Anyone can good apple service centre in kl/selangor?
Jan 30 2020, 08:31 AM
1,910 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Anyone can good apple service centre in kl/selangor?
Jan 31 2020, 11:52 AM
193 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(blibala @ Jan 30 2020, 08:30 AM) MecNote https://www.facebook.com/mecnote/I went there for 2 times repair. Quite friendly staff and professional advice. Their inspection is free. |
Jan 31 2020, 01:05 PM
QUOTE(blibala @ Jan 30 2020, 08:30 AM) Depends what device and for warranty claim or not, you can use this link to check which are the nearest Apple Service Provider for you:https://getsupport.apple.com/?caller=grl&locale=en_MY |
| Change to: | 0.0180sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:38 PM |