Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

TSwei
post Nov 11 2020, 04:12 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(Charlton @ Nov 11 2020, 03:52 PM)
I keep getting this. I’ve no idea what’s going on and I can’t login at all. Any idea?
This is call Kernel Panic. If your unit is newer than 2013 you can power on the unit and press "D" and run the test it report anything.
Charlton
post Nov 11 2020, 04:14 PM

316 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 11 2020, 04:12 PM)
This is call Kernel Panic. If your unit is newer than 2013 you can power on the unit and press "D" and run the test it report anything.
Ok, running the diagnostic yielded this. RAM is faulty?

This post has been edited by Charlton: Nov 11 2020, 07:10 PM

TSwei
post Nov 12 2020, 02:49 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Charlton @ Nov 11 2020, 04:14 PM)
Ok, running the diagnostic yielded this. RAM is faulty?
Yes.
limkj
post Nov 17 2020, 04:35 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(hamsapchai @ Nov 7 2020, 02:49 PM)
Macbook Pro 15' 2017, battery bloated when to service centre (Sabah), they asked for Rm2700++ for the battery replacement , almost had a heart attack on the spot. told me they need to change the battery with the metal plate. and the cycle count is around 309, any options but to replace myself? any suggestions are welcome, thank you!

https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2019/06/impo...book-pro-units/

Suggest you call Apple Malaysia
1800-80-3638

TSwei
post Nov 17 2020, 08:16 PM

6,496 posts

The recall is for 2015 model. Not 2017.
limkj
post Nov 21 2020, 07:24 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 17 2020, 08:16 PM)
The recall is for 2015 model. Not 2017.
I had my MacBook Pro 15” battery replaced before by Apple FOC. I had only had to pay for labour. After calling Apple, inform them of the battery requiring service and my battery within low cycles count of less than 400, they offered me a new battery replacement without charge but pay for labour. They then gave me a case ID and I went to an Apple Service Provider to get the battery changed.
TSwei
post Nov 23 2020, 10:05 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(limkj @ Nov 21 2020, 07:24 AM)
I had my MacBook Pro 15” battery replaced before by Apple FOC. I had only had to pay for labour. After calling Apple, inform them of the battery requiring service and my battery within low cycles count of less than 400, they offered me a new battery replacement without charge  but pay for labour. They then gave me a case ID and I went to an Apple Service Provider to get the battery changed.
Good info, what model exactly?
hamsapchai
post Nov 23 2020, 12:12 PM

*limkj, should I just call apple for battery replacement, any prove I need to send for them to verify the battery is bad with low cycles count.

1.any steps to follow
2. which number to call

thx all for helping!
RM2700 for battery, RM150 for inspection, RM200 for labor
Total cost RM3050 for 2017 macbook pro 15 battery replacement rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by hamsapchai: Nov 23 2020, 12:16 PM
ILV
post Nov 24 2020, 05:11 PM

85 posts

Hi Guys,
i am using MBP13, 2018.
the touch panel is no responding and can't function at all.
any idea on how to troubleshoot this? or i need to send the service center to fix this?

thanks for all the reply and help.
sorry if there is any thread on this, perhaps you can direct me to there.

TSwei
post Nov 25 2020, 09:40 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(ILV @ Nov 24 2020, 05:11 PM)
Hi Guys,
i am using MBP13, 2018.
the touch panel is no responding and can't function at all.
any idea on how to troubleshoot this? or i need to send the service center to fix this?

thanks for all the reply and help.
sorry if there is any thread on this, perhaps you can direct me to there.
You meant the TouchBar is not responding to touch?
If you have active AppleCare you should send it back to Apple.
ILV
post Nov 25 2020, 01:47 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 25 2020, 09:40 AM)
You meant the TouchBar is not responding to touch?
If you have active AppleCare you should send it back to Apple.
yup the touchbar..touch but no response at all.
i worry that i press something wrong or anything else that i can reset to make it function again.

yup, i have applecare and is under warranty. is this a common issue? thanks.
TSwei
post Nov 25 2020, 04:46 PM

6,496 posts

You can try reset SMC and PRAM and see it recover.

Uncommon, just send back to service centre and see what they say.
hamsapchai
post Nov 30 2020, 10:00 PM

Update:
ordered a spare battery from shopee, installed this weekend, everythings running fine. hope it will last a while before replacing another new one. thumbsup.gif

battery cost about RM260, a set of screwdrivers from my local computer store. managed to replace the battery around 3hrs, cleaning the adhesive took the longest time,
just be patient eventually you'll get it done. saved me about RM3000 thumbup.gif is the battery original? who knows but I'm not gonna paid that insane amount of money
for just the battery. shakehead.gif

as you can see, all the cells are very bloated and dusty, the fans need cleaning also.
rae0724
post Dec 2 2020, 07:27 PM

684 posts

hi anyone know where can i change the keyboard? My "Tab" key seems weird
moosset
post Dec 17 2020, 02:52 PM

1,917 posts

This morning when I woke up, the screen suddenly becomes like this?

Why?? sad.gif

TSwei
post Dec 18 2020, 09:14 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 17 2020, 02:52 PM)

Why??  sad.gif

What is the issue?
moosset
post Dec 18 2020, 02:09 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Dec 18 2020, 09:14 AM)
What is the issue?
sorry, just realised you guys can't see it via screenshots.

There are horizontal lines appearing on the screen. Lines, separated by maybe 1mm, from top to bottom. I think it could be the connection problem between the screen and the motherboard.

I'm using MBP touchbar 2018.
TSwei
post Dec 18 2020, 02:47 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 18 2020, 02:09 PM)
sorry, just realised you guys can't see it via screenshots.

There are horizontal lines appearing on the screen. Lines, separated by maybe 1mm, from top to bottom. I think it could be the connection problem between the screen and the motherboard.

I'm using MBP touchbar 2018.
Send to check, display issue is best capture by photo or video, not screenshot.
moosset
post Dec 21 2020, 05:35 PM

1,917 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Dec 18 2020, 02:47 PM)
Send to check, display issue is best capture by photo or video, not screenshot.
after checking (paid RM120), they said display issue, charge RM 2300.
And because I dropped my MBP once, they said possibly unable to fix the casing, so may need to change, charge another RM2300.

If like that, I might as well get a new laptop or iPad?

but I think the display should be the flex gate issue, that fix also RM2300? sad.gif
frossonice
post Dec 21 2020, 05:39 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Dec 17 2020, 02:52 PM)

Why??  sad.gif

CMD+OPT+CTRL+8

98 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 96 > » Top

0.0398sec    1.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:20 AM