58 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

MacOS X Parallels Desktop, VMware Fusion & Bootcamp, Discussion MultiOS digest guide MAC Only

brucesss
post Jul 16 2011, 11:59 AM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
2,266 posts

does pd6 actually spoils the computer??
some fellar from smack in bangsar, a apple store in tropicana mall oso said that pd6 will spoil the processor esp using prog like corel draw
is that true
wiraone
post Jul 16 2011, 12:09 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

@brucesss .. not true ..

Or they probably jokingly referring to this photo :

http://www.cultofmac.com/apple-com-shows-u...net-port/104778

This post has been edited by wiraone: Jul 16 2011, 12:12 PM
dvlzplayground
post Jul 16 2011, 02:31 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Jul 16 2011, 11:59 AM)
does pd6 actually spoils the computer??
some fellar from smack in bangsar, a apple store in tropicana mall oso said that pd6 will spoil the processor esp using prog like corel draw
is that true
lol that's ridiculous. just remember being an apple reseller staff doesnt necessarily mean that person knows a lot about macs. dont be surprised if some dont even know how to use one
cloudjc
post Jul 17 2011, 03:12 AM

79 posts

hey I am a gamer, wish to buy a MBP considering the fact it can run windows
just a question, if i play game in bootcamp(for let's say window 7), will I able to run it
in a native speed? (like run in a PC), and will it utilize any ATI/Nvidia video card?

llsphinxll
post Jul 17 2011, 09:55 AM

debt that all men pay..
2,197 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 12 2011, 08:54 PM)
Short answer, YES.

Added on July 15, 2011, 8:39 amFor anyone looking for PD6 for a discount .. check the Mac Superbundle again..

http://macsuperbundle.com/

And it expires July 27, 2011 .. so act fast!
hey bro

im interested in downloading the bundle, but among the country to choose is onlye Canada/US? Can purchase it with a Malaysia Debit/Credit Card? hmm.gif
wiraone
post Jul 17 2011, 12:43 PM

3,892 posts

The last time I bought it, I believe I was using my paypal account. But looking at the latest superbundle, you're right. It requires that we have a US billing address. What you can do is, try to use any US address that you can find on the net, but pay using paypal we the hope they don't check for US issued paypal account. I don't need this bundle, so I'm skipping this.. but you can try it out.
BRY7
post Jul 21 2011, 08:25 AM

Siri: I'm your humble personal assistant
7,924 posts

good to know thats its safe to use parallels.
i also heard them saying it spoils the processor because of the workload its doing.
thanks for the clarification
alexyeoh
post Jul 23 2011, 05:19 PM

35 posts

Wanna ask a silly question, if i use PD6 to play dota+flying spaghetti monster only is it ok? would it consume a lot of memory or stresses the hardware of my macbookpro 15'. coz you guys said bootcamp is better for gaming. But dota is an old old game rite?

This post has been edited by alexyeoh: Jul 23 2011, 05:20 PM
deadman8836
post Jul 24 2011, 11:46 AM

464 posts

Guys my Parallels Desktop is not starting up after o update to version 6.0.29910 or something,the latest one, after installing Lion. It just refused to start up and it says can't connect to the server. Help!
mikeymic
post Jul 24 2011, 02:08 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Jul 17 2011, 09:55 AM)
hey bro

im interested in downloading the bundle, but among the country to choose is onlye Canada/US? Can purchase it with a Malaysia Debit/Credit Card? hmm.gif
Do you guys think if I get someone to purchase it from US and would I be able to download and activate the bundled software??
Old Seaman
post Jul 25 2011, 01:26 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(deadman8836 @ Jul 24 2011, 11:46 AM)
Guys my Parallels Desktop is not starting up after o update to version 6.0.29910 or something,the latest one, after installing Lion. It just refused to start up and it says can't connect to the server. Help!
I have experienced a similar problem plus my macbook pro 15 was no longer able to boot up through bootcamp on windows 7. My vmware fusion 3 was also no longer working. So beware for those who want to upgrade to mac os x lion!
wiraone
post Jul 25 2011, 01:45 PM

3,892 posts

No problem for me, if you've problem, uninstall and reinstall your vm application. VMWare 3.1.3 works great on Lion too.
ShuUemura
post Jul 25 2011, 10:25 PM

239 posts

Harlow. I have tried Parallels Desktop 6 trial for few weeks. Quite satisfied. May i ask how much a retail box cost in Malaysia? And how long is the membership? Is it only valid to one Mac? Can i use it for the iMac that i want to purchase in the future?
Old Seaman
post Jul 25 2011, 10:56 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(wiraone @ Jul 25 2011, 01:45 PM)
No problem for me, if you've problem, uninstall and reinstall your vm application. VMWare 3.1.3 works great on Lion too.
I have uninstall and reinstall my vmware fusion 3 thrice but still not working. Technician from Apple support suggested to erase and reinstall bootcamp with new windows. I have done it too but still my vmware fusion 3 does not work. Any more idea to make it work under Mac OS X lion?
dvlzplayground
post Jul 25 2011, 11:07 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(ShuUemura @ Jul 25 2011, 10:25 PM)
Harlow. I have tried Parallels Desktop 6 trial for few weeks. Quite satisfied. May i ask how much a retail box cost in Malaysia? And how long is the membership? Is it only valid to one Mac? Can i use it for the iMac that i want to purchase in the future?
here you go: http://store.apple.com/my/product/H2481Z/A?mco=MTY3ODQ5OTY

it's not a membership. it's a one time pay to get 1 licence of the software. u can use it as long as u want, as long as it's version 6. if got version 7, mebe u can just get a discount to upgrade.

yes u can use for ur imac in the future
abrak
post Jul 26 2011, 11:07 AM

408 posts

why most of the people here talking about paid vm solution? how about virtualbox?

i tried it yesterday on my lion mba 13" works great.
wiraone
post Jul 26 2011, 11:19 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(abrak @ Jul 26 2011, 11:07 AM)
why most of the people here talking about paid vm solution? how about virtualbox?

i tried it yesterday on my lion mba 13" works great.
Why can't we? smile.gif Good that it works for you. Or probably you want to know why we're not discussing about virtualbox as an alternative of the commercial applications? Since you've started it, do let us know why we need to go for virtualbox. Probably for those who haven't bought any vmware could be persuaded to go the free one. Do share!
dry75
post Jul 28 2011, 03:08 PM

212 posts

May i ask after install windows 7 and respective drivers via bootcamp , to save some space, can i uninstall the whole bunch of window driver package found at windows os? These are the setup file for driver or the driver itself?

PaeseSono
post Jul 28 2011, 10:00 PM

51 posts

Just bought my mbp few days ago.
I got 2 ssd installed to my mbp.
When i try to install win7 via bootcamp.
It just won't boot the disc.
Blank screen, blinking underscore.
wait for half hour still same.
I even try using refit, boot using usbstick,
boot using optical drive.
What else can i do?

I want to install 2 os in two diffrent ssd.
i even try to put back the optical drive to the mbp
and direct install windows 7 into the blank ssd.
after that i put back the win7 ssd back to the optibay, so do the mac os ssd.
i choose the windows7 ssdrive when boot up but what i got just a question mark in the folder rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by PaeseSono: Jul 29 2011, 01:00 AM
macfreak87
post Jul 30 2011, 12:50 PM

Im a designer student n need to use AutoCAD n 3D max for my study in future so basically need PC to run 3Dmax.

But i dun want to purchase PC. I feel like get a MBP to run Bootcamp or others SW so that i still can use 3Dmax in MBP.

So my question: is it stable for me to use MBP to run those SW?

Thanks,
Dan

58 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:14 PM