butter cookies
1,536 posts

btw, the new white MacBook can run 8GB of RAM
xjukie
post Nov 11 2009, 08:05 PM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 11 2009, 06:53 PM)
Keep the saving and buy AppleCare together with the MacBook. I always encourage buyer to get ACPP together when they buy their Macs. Include that into your budget instead of going all the way max for the spec and etc.

4GB module is still expensive. By the time the prices fall to acceptable level, you might most likely on the way to get a newer Mac.
such a good idea wei, thanks

QUOTE(itanium @ Nov 11 2009, 07:34 PM)
MBP has FW, Macbook dont. Budgetting ACPP with your purchase is the BEST advice. 4GB is plenty enuff for either one. If you need anything more then the 13" would be a wrong choice for you - you should be looking at the 15 instead.
Dont worry about the lack of ALU on the macbook, its unibody construction and solid build is still light years ahead in rigidity compared to those x86 ones on the market. You certainly wont hear this one creaking left and right.
sorry mates what is FW? plus no backlit for the keyboard rite? nice opinion bro

QUOTE(chypher @ Nov 11 2009, 07:38 PM)
To be honest. I was in the same situation as you and I have chose the white macbook and upgrade it to 4GB of ram.

I have never looked at aluminium since then, it is cheaper and I am still using Mac. Afterall, it is still a machine tht I use to get my work done.
U give me some space to breath bro, tq

QUOTE(ezinger @ Nov 11 2009, 07:47 PM)
btw, the new white MacBook can run 8GB of RAM
R u sure sir? looking at the spec on the website saying only up to 4GB

anton_sq
post Nov 11 2009, 08:05 PM

nope, it only support 4gb of RAM
SUSitanium
post Nov 11 2009, 08:18 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

FW = firewire....not a neccesity but you'll be glad when your external storage supports FW and when your transfering large data.
xjukie
post Nov 11 2009, 08:38 PM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

QUOTE(anton_sq @ Nov 11 2009, 08:05 PM)
nope, it only support 4gb of RAM
thanks mate for the clarification

QUOTE(itanium @ Nov 11 2009, 08:18 PM)
FW = firewire....not a neccesity but you'll be glad when your external storage supports FW and when your transfering large data.
oh firewire i forgot that, yeah thats another advantages when dealing with external hard drive

wei
post Nov 11 2009, 09:26 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

To have FireWire is good. But to pay RM700 extra to get that feature is another question. Also don't forget FW casing/drive also cost more, unless you already have large collection of FW devices, otherwise it's not really a big concern compared to the savings.

If someone gotta deal with lot's of large file (>10GB average), I would suggest them get the higher end models instead.

This post has been edited by wei: Nov 11 2009, 09:26 PM
chingwooi
post Nov 11 2009, 09:32 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

If you're comparing the old MacBook white( not unibody version) with MBP, no doubt I'll say MBP is btr, yet since now MacBook white has gone unibody as well, IMO I'd rather get the MacBook white instead of the MBP~

1) Apple is original white~ Man, I love this word xD
2) Cheaper of coz, with not much diff in term of specs
3) Firewire and SD slot, ask urself do u really need it.
4) the old version of white the palm resting place gets dirty easily, but the new one it seems they had changed it to glossy surface, very nice indeed, still if you get the white, the maintenance will b harder than the MBP.
5) There's no optical in the new white, not sure whether the pro has it or not.

This post has been edited by chingwooi: Nov 11 2009, 09:36 PM
dragonkiat
post Nov 11 2009, 09:34 PM

240 posts

This is what I saw from website ,

and also quoted by the website : " Oh, and that gloss-plastic that scratches so easily up top? Yeah, it's just as wimpy on the sides -- we've maybe plugged one or two things into this USB port and it's already dented up. In fact, the more we used the MacBook, the more disheveled it got -- the unibody build might make it stronger internally, but on the outside it's soft white plastic, and it shows right away. "

Is it a serious problem ?
xjukie
post Nov 11 2009, 09:55 PM

Blogger photographer
1,238 posts

maybe that guy didnt plugged it softly

dvlzplayground
post Nov 11 2009, 10:12 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

if TS dont need firewire port then go for macbook white. sure firewire is good, but drives with firewire are expensive. if u move large files only once in a while, juz be patient a bit. target disk mode is a very handy feature but its not like we use it every month (if at all). since the screen of the MB is the same as the 13" MBP, i'd say get the MB

in my opinion, invest with protection stuff (casing, screen protectors, invisible shield) BEFORE getting ACPP. ACPP can wait 1 year, doesnt make a difference if u buy now or 11 months later. but in that 1 year, u might get scratches or blemishes. the technical parts are already under warranty when u buy it, but no one's gonna do anything if u get scratches. so protect the stuff that isn't protected yet tongue.gif
SUSitanium
post Nov 11 2009, 10:25 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

QUOTE(dragonkiat @ Nov 11 2009, 09:34 PM)
This is what I saw from website ,

and also quoted by the website : " Oh, and that gloss-plastic that scratches so easily up top? Yeah, it's just as wimpy on the sides -- we've maybe plugged one or two things into this USB port and it's already dented up. In fact, the more we used the MacBook, the more disheveled it got -- the unibody build might make it stronger internally, but on the outside it's soft white plastic, and it shows right away. "

Is it a serious problem ?
Now this is what i call cucuk buta notworthy.gif
Neslo[#^PenG^#]
post Nov 12 2009, 08:31 PM

471 posts

think of getting 1 quad core 27-inch IMac , do u guys think is a good deal for the specs that it offers ?

27-inch: 2.66GHz
2.66GHz Intel Core i5
2560 x 1440 resolution
4GB memory
1TB hard drive1
8x double-layer SuperDrive
ATI Radeon HD 4850 graphics with 512MB

RM6,999
r47z
post Nov 12 2009, 08:55 PM

686 posts

i assume this would be the i5. If you need the performance (photo/graphics/encoding/etc) then yea go for it man. good price, however if you deal with alot of video editing, I would suggest u go for the i7 quad core as it have hyper-threading. More info here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyper-threading
Eithanius
post Nov 12 2009, 08:57 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(r47z @ Nov 12 2009, 08:55 PM)
i assume this would be the i5. If you need the performance (photo/graphics/encoding/etc) then yea go for it man. good price, however if you deal with alot of video editing, I would suggest u go for the i7 quad core as it have hyper-threading. More info here
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyper-threading
That is IF the software supports HT at all...
dvlzplayground
post Nov 12 2009, 09:05 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Neslo#^PenG^# @ Nov 12 2009, 08:31 PM)
think of getting 1 quad core 27-inch IMac , do u guys think is a good deal for the specs that it offers ?

2.66GHz Intel Core i5
2560 x 1440 resolution
4GB memory
1TB hard drive1

RM6,999
yes yes yes biggrin.gif of course the i7 is faster but the i5 is already very capable. with that radeon HD 4850 pumping nice graphics for that 27-inch, who can say no??

unless got no money like me lah heheh
JasonKid
post Nov 12 2009, 09:59 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Neslo#^PenG^# @ Nov 12 2009, 08:31 PM)

2.66GHz Intel Core i5
2560 x 1440 resolution
4GB memory
1TB hard drive1

RM6,999
i think it's a good deal, somemore if you buy with student price, got discount rm400, it's RM6,599.
with 2560x1440 resolution, not many LCD on market have such high resolution, so far i only see sony and dell selling.
led lcd, is quite new technology, samsung selling rm1xxx for 24" ...

i also waiting for the new iMac arrive malaysia store, MacStudio told me still need to wait 1 month.

This post has been edited by JasonKid: Nov 12 2009, 10:00 PM
SUSitanium
post Nov 12 2009, 10:41 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

Thats an IPS panel there, color gamut would definately be better than the average common brand using TN panels.
synzo
post Nov 13 2009, 09:03 AM

314 posts

student price valid for high school & college students ?
SUSitanium
post Nov 13 2009, 09:50 AM

I brake very late.
762 posts

QUOTE(synzo @ Nov 13 2009, 09:03 AM)
student price valid for high school & college students ?
Affirmative - you might want to check online now or your nearest authorised apple reseller to see what kind of document they would need. I cant confirm yet but due to recent student transaction at the apple online store the procedures has been OR are in the process of being ammended.
Jing-leBelle
post Nov 16 2009, 12:53 AM

Very New Member
2,003 posts

just purchased my first Macbook white ystd! haha..
love the design and i think shud take quite a long time to get used with it >.<
hehe i'll definitely love it!

72 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.1815sec    1.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:35 AM