Hardware [Guide]  Mac Purchase Guide , Mac Products Ownership

wei
post Jun 2 2009, 01:42 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Jun 2 2009, 12:35 PM)
i m looking for a macbook alu 2.0ghz after days of research i found 1 of our forumer hav a very attractive price offer so i planning to get from him
tongue.gif  can i know wat is the checklist option must i check when i COD with him?
for example :
1) make sure the box is sealed
2) make sure the model number exactly
3) blah blah blah?
and how is the warranty for macbook? iizzit same with warranty as sony laptop only start counting when u first time login to the laptop and register it online?
Get the serial# and check if it's valid for warranty here: https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do
If seller agree to open the box for you, check the contents against the manual page 2-3 where they they you what's in the box.
Check for dead pixels on LCD.

Most important is warranty valid.
wei
post Oct 1 2009, 06:17 PM

6,496 posts

24" lcd get my vote. Not to mention the extra workspace when doing editing.
wei
post Oct 1 2009, 08:13 PM

6,496 posts

More money to spend. That depends on your budget.
Don't forget you have to spend $ to get the mini display out adapter. Then if you work on external screen, you might need a keyboard n mouse. More money to spend.
wei
post Oct 19 2009, 09:44 PM

6,496 posts

Pls. Don't just buy a book cause the cover is pretty. Makesure you gonna make use and happy with what it can do for you.

If you ask such question on a Mac centric section. Answer going to be bias. LOL.
wei
post Nov 2 2009, 02:03 AM

6,496 posts

Not as attractive compared to oversea. At lease I can say local retailer promo don't catch my attention to buy. But some of them seems to have promo all year round.
Maybe you should check with them what they going to have or already having.
wei
post Nov 11 2009, 06:53 PM

6,496 posts

Keep the saving and buy AppleCare together with the MacBook. I always encourage buyer to get ACPP together when they buy their Macs. Include that into your budget instead of going all the way max for the spec and etc.

4GB module is still expensive. By the time the prices fall to acceptable level, you might most likely on the way to get a newer Mac.
wei
post Nov 11 2009, 09:26 PM

6,496 posts

To have FireWire is good. But to pay RM700 extra to get that feature is another question. Also don't forget FW casing/drive also cost more, unless you already have large collection of FW devices, otherwise it's not really a big concern compared to the savings.

If someone gotta deal with lot's of large file (>10GB average), I would suggest them get the higher end models instead.

This post has been edited by wei: Nov 11 2009, 09:26 PM
wei
post Dec 29 2009, 09:10 PM

6,496 posts

For best Apple product listing, go to Apple.com or store.apple.com/my

i7 iMac is not stock spec. You have to custom order it, we call it BTO (Built to Order) or CTO (Customized to Order).

Here's the link:
http://store.apple.com/my/configure/MB953Z...mco=MTM3ODE3Njg

I have few client already using i7 iMac.
wei
post Dec 29 2009, 10:44 PM

6,496 posts

shakehead.gif link already given still want to ask...
wei
post Jan 26 2010, 03:59 PM

6,496 posts

This might better than words: http://barefeats.com/imi7.html
wei
post Mar 29 2010, 11:40 AM

6,496 posts

- Photoshop <-- You need to purchase Mac version with different licensing from Windows version.
- Illustrator <-- You need to purchase Mac version with different licensing from Windows version.
- Printer <-- Get the model & google if there's Mac driver or is it listed here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3669
- Any cable <-- What cable?? USB? Network??
- I have no idea <-- Then get some: http://www.apple.com/findouthow/mac/

Or simply hire some professional to evaluate your company's need.

This post has been edited by wei: Mar 29 2010, 11:41 AM
wei
post Aug 9 2010, 05:07 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Aug 9 2010, 04:58 PM)
*snip* Else keep waiting for the latest and greatest... by the time Apple releases new MBPs, I bet you'll hear rumors of even newer better models... so you'll just keep waiting until either Apple tapau, or you tapau...
*snip*
This sound awkwardly familiar, LOL.

wait lar, wait.... wait till Apple release implant Mac to your brain, no need to upgrade anymore, cause Apple control human species by then. hahaha... just kidding ya.
wei
post Oct 6 2010, 04:31 PM

6,496 posts

eh... I have a client that's using MacBook for rendering... where budget concerned. It's a matter of minutes and seconds vs hundreds and thousands ringgit. So go with which you can afford wink.gif
wei
post Jun 17 2011, 12:05 PM

6,496 posts

For example:

MBP 2011 15" 2.2GHz i7 BTO SSD + Anti-glare HD

Ordered 1st March.
Shipment notification received on 5th March.
Received parcel on 10th March.

You can cut short the timing by doing self-pickup by calling DHl as soon as it item reach KL customs.
wei
post Jun 17 2011, 03:03 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(wannabe1988 @ Jun 17 2011, 02:45 PM)
Thank you wei. How do we self-collect from dhl centre? Give them a call to request for it or contact apple? Which centre should I go to should I just to self-collect as soon as it reaches Malaysia? Also does dhl works on sat?

Thank you for all the reply. Really appreciate it!
Call them as soon as you get the Shipment Notification from Apple, give them the parcel code (not your Apple order#). Make the arrangement with DHL not Apple. You can go to KLIA DHL office or any dispatch center near to you. Just make the arrangement with DHL, their hotline is 24-hour I last recall. Call them, they are very helpful. If needed they can even revert the parcel to new destination, but that would require more paperwork, and extra charges.
wei
post Jun 18 2011, 09:56 PM

6,496 posts

@wannabe1988, I can't answer that, but 3-5 days is the normal time frame for BTO units.
wei
post Jul 2 2011, 07:19 PM

6,496 posts

Are we getting this kind of topic every time someone buy a CTO Mac online?
wei
post Jul 2 2011, 09:01 PM

6,496 posts

I'm not the one that's controlling the Mac Purchase Guide topic.
wei
post Jul 2 2011, 09:02 PM

6,496 posts

Buy online:
Brown shipping box sealed before the white Apple packaging box. The white box should be protected by a plastic bag and some protection cartons.

Buy from resellers:
White Apple packaging box only.

Everything should be sealed tight.

This post has been edited by wei: Jul 2 2011, 09:02 PM
wei
post Jul 18 2011, 03:05 PM

6,496 posts

You have to do that when you order the iMac. Call AppleCare if you want to do it after buying and open the unit. You have to ask their help if they willing to do the exchange for you. In my experience you can, since your unit is within a week. But usually local reseller won't bothered with such request. So long you paid and walk off the store, you basically on your own. That's what I hate about local Apple Authorized resellers.

0.0232sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:58 AM