Just wondering does 100plus has more benefit than bad?
Its still carbonated drink rite?
half bottle of 1.5litre during 2 hours my badminton session for 2days/week is acceptable?
Diets & Supplements 100plus = good > bad ?
Mar 23 2009, 10:53 PM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,963 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
Just wondering does 100plus has more benefit than bad?
Its still carbonated drink rite? half bottle of 1.5litre during 2 hours my badminton session for 2days/week is acceptable? |
Mar 23 2009, 10:56 PM
3,649 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Somewhere over the rainbow |
Questions first:
Why do you drink 100+? |
Mar 23 2009, 11:17 PM
Mar 23 2009, 11:35 PM
869 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Research shown that isotonic drink does not give/restore energy, it is just water with a bit of other nutrients and most of all, it tastes good.
Mar 23 2009, 11:38 PM
Mar 23 2009, 11:39 PM
2,816 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Mar 23 2009, 11:40 PM
4,234 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Only use it when you are dehydrated (usually from a severe vomit or diarrhea)
Mar 23 2009, 11:43 PM
Mar 23 2009, 11:58 PM
1,846 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
I get the feeling that you guys need a small lesson in something called chemistry.
1,916 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Petaling Jaya |
faster to restore your stamina maybe
malaysiaPotato : sabar, sabar.
Mar 24 2009, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Mar 23 2009, 11:39 PM) They're not supposed to "give energy", the idea is rehydration and replacement of lost electrolytes. QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Mar 23 2009, 11:43 PM) Erm more or less the same?Less dehydrate = more energy? So does it do more good than bad? Will my tummy get bigger? |
Mar 24 2009, 12:39 AM
4,350 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 23 2009, 10:53 PM) Just wondering does 100plus has more benefit than bad? 2 days a week is absolutely no problem.Its still carbonated drink rite? half bottle of 1.5litre during 2 hours my badminton session for 2days/week is acceptable? Good :- It replaces the electrolytes that you lose when playing Badminton. The sugar shouldn't be a problem since Badminton, being is a strenuous game, should burn off easily. Indirectly it contributes to your energy and stamina. Bad:- It's carbonated. |
Mar 24 2009, 12:40 AM
589 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: The Reality Known As Hell |
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 24 2009, 12:02 AM) Erm more or less the same? Less dehydrate = more energy? So does it do more good than bad? Will my tummy get bigger? 100+ is good when your body are dehydrated, thats all Its not a miracle cure/weight loss drink or something.... some people just drink it because it tasted good, not because it will boost their strength |
Mar 24 2009, 01:00 AM
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 24 2009, 12:02 AM) Erm more or less the same? No, not more or less the same.Less dehydrate = more energy? So does it do more good than bad? Will my tummy get bigger? Dehydration... Simply put, it's about water, dehydration is the loss of water. 100plus is designed to rehydrate you more quickly than plain water would, it also replaces lost electrolytes which you lose when you sweat. If you want a more detailed explanation on sports drinks, energy drinks, energy... wikipedia(I know alot of people say it's not necessarily credible) can give you a general idea. Does it do more good than bad? Depends. If you need to rehydrate yourself, it's good. If you don't, it's a waste of money. Each can contains a certain amount of sugar, which = calories. If you're fat, and not doing anything, then those calories will add to your fat. Will your tummy get bigger... Calories in vs calories out I suppose. Most people get along fine just drinking plain water for rehydration. This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Mar 24 2009, 01:02 AM |
Mar 24 2009, 01:02 AM
The more I read the forums here, the more I think we'll need some sort of nutrition FAQ out.
This week so damn busy. Will do one general one next week. |
Mar 24 2009, 01:16 AM
5,227 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Anchorage, Alaska |
i think 1.5L is too much... would recommend taking 1L and 1L of water.. for a 2 hour badminton session.. too much salt in ur body might cause high blood pressure.
Mar 24 2009, 01:22 AM
9,495 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Mar 24 2009, 01:16 AM) i think 1.5L is too much... would recommend taking 1L and 1L of water.. for a 2 hour badminton session.. too much salt in ur body might cause high blood pressure. I really don't think it's directly salt per say. I can't totally remember what's it but it's something like 10% sugars and electrolytes in the form of sodium, potassium, chloride, and bicarbonate. Can't be THAT much sodium in a 1.5L bottle right? Anyway, the amount of sweat one can generate in a 2 hour badminton session is MAJOR |
Mar 24 2009, 01:29 AM
A simple way to describe electrolytes is a substance with some sort of charge in it. Either positive or negative.
The sodium, potassium, chloride and bicarbonate could be calculated in one element e.g. sodium Na or with the charge, Na+. In chemistry terms, they are known as salts because when they dissolve in water, e.g. NaCl, they dissolve into components known as electrolytes i.e. with charges of Na+ and Cl-. Table salt is NaCl. But like I said, the chemistry definition is somewhat different when it comes to salts. This is probably a layman explaination. For details, you would have to look up chemistry links. I could have some loopholes somewhere coz this is Form 4 chemistry which was like so long ago. |
Mar 24 2009, 02:07 AM
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 24 2009, 01:22 AM) I really don't think it's directly salt per say. I can't totally remember what's it but it's something like 10% sugars and electrolytes in the form of sodium, potassium, chloride, and bicarbonate. Can't be THAT much sodium in a 1.5L bottle right? Anyway, the amount of sweat one can generate in a 2 hour badminton session is MAJOR errr... salt as in metal salts not cooking salt.. they are still the electrolytes we are describing right? doesnt have to be sodium... agreed.in 2 hours of badminton it is usually recommended 2 L of fluid, however i still think 1.5L of 100+ is too much. i jog 100 minutes everyday and usually my intake is a light mixture of ribena with cooking salt around 1L. before my fitness jogs i take 1L for every 1 hour and the intake lessen now. the good thing about these drinks nowadays is vit C. oh, i am wondering is there gatorade here in msia? every1 in the states seems to be crazy over it. |
Mar 24 2009, 02:46 AM
1,299 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Mar 24 2009, 02:07 AM) errr... salt as in metal salts not cooking salt.. they are still the electrolytes we are describing right? doesnt have to be sodium... agreed. i'll agree with plain fluid intake...in 2 hours of badminton it is usually recommended 2 L of fluid, however i still think 1.5L of 100+ is too much. i jog 100 minutes everyday and usually my intake is a light mixture of ribena with cooking salt around 1L. before my fitness jogs i take 1L for every 1 hour and the intake lessen now. the good thing about these drinks nowadays is vit C. oh, i am wondering is there gatorade here in msia? every1 in the states seems to be crazy over it. and to answer the TS' question, i guess 100+ is okay after strenous exercise..but not okay if one drinks for leisure.... n yes, i worked for gatorade once about 5 years back, during my schol's sports day...distributing free gatorade....but i dont see their drinks in stalls...strange... |
Mar 24 2009, 10:03 AM
4,234 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Mar 23 2009, 11:43 PM) I personally would not want to rely on 100+ for my replenishing after an exercise. It's too sweet to be good.The reason why I only use it for diarrhea or vomit is because....let's face it, we'd rather really not drink water + cooking salt. In this case, the hundred plus with it's sweet taste will aid your appetite to chug it down. |
Mar 24 2009, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Mar 24 2009, 02:07 AM) errr... salt as in metal salts not cooking salt.. they are still the electrolytes we are describing right? doesnt have to be sodium... agreed. You didn't read properly. TS said half of 1.5L for 2 hrs of badminton.in 2 hours of badminton it is usually recommended 2 L of fluid, however i still think 1.5L of 100+ is too much. i jog 100 minutes everyday and usually my intake is a light mixture of ribena with cooking salt around 1L. before my fitness jogs i take 1L for every 1 hour and the intake lessen now. the good thing about these drinks nowadays is vit C. oh, i am wondering is there gatorade here in msia? every1 in the states seems to be crazy over it. |
Mar 24 2009, 12:22 PM
3,348 posts Joined: May 2006 From: The Matrix |
wat ever la.. half or full 1.5l for 2 hour badminton training.. jus biasa nia la.. not like u gonna die of hypothermia.. drink as much as u can.. but not in 1 go.. water will cos ur tummy in chinese cal "man chang" .. drink lightly but frequently.. too much fluid during training will jus make u feel slow..
Mar 24 2009, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Mar 24 2009, 10:03 AM) I personally would not want to rely on 100+ for my replenishing after an exercise. It's too sweet to be good. Sports drinks are designed for athletes who push their bodies alot harder than the typical active person. Maybe it's too sweet to be good for you, but the small amount of carbohydrates provided seems to work for athletes, look at gatorade.The reason why I only use it for diarrhea or vomit is because....let's face it, we'd rather really not drink water + cooking salt. In this case, the hundred plus with it's sweet taste will aid your appetite to chug it down. This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Mar 24 2009, 12:42 PM |
Mar 24 2009, 01:00 PM
87 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
the main different between isotonic drink and plain water is its salt content (form 5 biology
if u wan to avoid carbonated drink, try to use Gatorade.... its non-carbonated isotonic drink |
Mar 24 2009, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Mar 24 2009, 12:22 PM) wat ever la.. half or full 1.5l for 2 hour badminton training.. jus biasa nia la.. not like u gonna die of hypothermia.. drink as much as u can.. but not in 1 go.. water will cos ur tummy in chinese cal "man chang" .. drink lightly but frequently.. too much fluid during training will jus make u feel slow.. wat ever la.. half or full 1.5l for 2 hour badminton training.. jus biasa nia la.. not like u gonna die of hypothermia.. |
Mar 24 2009, 02:45 PM
482 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
if you want to build up your body ... just drink water
when your body is stressed .. it'll adapt itself and become stronger there's also debate similiar to this, but it's about taking vit.c before exercise to cut down oxidization of cell, since vit.c is an anti-oxidant some say yes, some say no ... for no, is becoz when body produce lactic acid while exercising due to lack of oxygen (which badminton ussually do), the body get stressed and becomes tired, but in doing so, the body get stronger the next day (after recovering) enough say, the more you stress, and tax your body, the stronger it gets but keep in mind, recovering is a part of exercise as well, the more you stress, the more recovering time is need in case of Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness (go google) tip: the more sweat you drop, means the less salt content in your blood tip: depending to the body activity & job , site workers has more salt content than office ppl, keep in mind not to exceed/decrease salt intake for health |
Mar 24 2009, 02:51 PM
901 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Promised Land |
i think 100+ is just a drink to refresh you. Not really give energy.
Mar 24 2009, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 24 2009, 11:34 AM) oh, my bad... if it is 0.75L meaning a small bottle, then i think it is fine.QUOTE(Ryeeson @ Mar 24 2009, 02:51 PM) 100+ is an isotonic drink not energy drink. u r right. |
Mar 24 2009, 07:49 PM
15,182 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Heights |
Thin fellas will always say it's good, and fat fellas will always say it's bad.
Mar 24 2009, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 24 2009, 07:49 PM) And the inbetween people will always say something in between.It's really subjective isn't it. Some people will notice a difference because they're at a point where that little difference matters, some people won't and will do just as well with plain water. |
Mar 24 2009, 10:08 PM
829 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: ☆柔弗洲 to 沙巴★ Status: Dori Dori |
whenever i have diarrhoea doctor will recomend 100 plus without gas.
Mar 24 2009, 10:39 PM
At the end of the day, it's all about personal choice too.
The thing with bodybuilders is that normal nutrition rules do not necessarily apply to them in all cases. That's what I gather from malaysianPotato. I suspect that the answer may lie in one of the many bodybuilding.com posts. The short time I had to glance too it, it had a lot of good information, including the mistakes to avoid that I'm currently seeing. When you guys want to argue, argue with a bit more facts lah. |
Mar 24 2009, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(myremi @ Mar 24 2009, 10:39 PM) At the end of the day, it's all about personal choice too. Wasn't pointing towards bodybuilders specifically. More in the general direction of athletes. Guys who push alot harder than the average active person for longer periods.The thing with bodybuilders is that normal nutrition rules do not necessarily apply to them in all cases. That's what I gather from malaysianPotato. I suspect that the answer may lie in one of the many bodybuilding.com posts. The short time I had to glance too it, it had a lot of good information, including the mistakes to avoid that I'm currently seeing. When you guys want to argue, argue with a bit more facts lah. |
Mar 24 2009, 11:30 PM
Mar 24 2009, 11:59 PM
152 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 24 2009, 02:33 PM) wat ever la.. half or full 1.5l for 2 hour badminton training.. jus biasa nia la.. not like u gonna die of hypothermia.. ROFL hypothermia is the artifical reduction of body heat to lower down metabolism. AKA sub normal body temperature Anyways back to topic. I'm not from Chemistry background nor Nutritional Science, but from what i know, Isotonic drinks contain electrolytes and ions Isotonic drinks are carbonated and have relatively high contents of sugar I put isotonic drinks in the same basket with soda/pop like Coke, Pepsi and the likes. In my humble opinion, these drinks should be drunk as little as possible due to the sugar contents in it. If i am not wrong, there are about 9 tea spoons worth of sugar in one can of soda. Does isotonic drink quench thirst better? I don't know Does isotonic drink get absorbed quicker? I don't know Mainly it is the sugar content (and price) of the isotonic drink versus normal boiled water. Lastly a poster mentioned about water retention. I'm not sure of drinking alot of water causes water retention. Water retention usually happens mostly in women. I still am not fully knowledagable enough to say that water intake promotes it, but i don't think so. Reasons are that each day we need to drink about 9 cups was it? of water to clean our system from toxins. (in not so many words, drink until your pee is white in color) hence i don't think that drinking a lot of water results in water retention. |
Mar 25 2009, 12:19 AM
Mar 25 2009, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(Tatsumaki @ Mar 24 2009, 11:59 PM) ROFL hypothermia is the artifical reduction of body heat to lower down metabolism. AKA sub normal body temperature The concept behind sports drinks are that they provide a carbohydrate(energy source) boost while rehydrating you better than normal water(sodium) would and help to maintain your electrolyte level(cause water intoxication sucks). Anyways back to topic. I'm not from Chemistry background nor Nutritional Science, but from what i know, Isotonic drinks contain electrolytes and ions Isotonic drinks are carbonated and have relatively high contents of sugar I put isotonic drinks in the same basket with soda/pop like Coke, Pepsi and the likes. In my humble opinion, these drinks should be drunk as little as possible due to the sugar contents in it. If i am not wrong, there are about 9 tea spoons worth of sugar in one can of soda. Does isotonic drink quench thirst better? I don't know Does isotonic drink get absorbed quicker? I don't know Mainly it is the sugar content (and price) of the isotonic drink versus normal boiled water. Lastly a poster mentioned about water retention. I'm not sure of drinking alot of water causes water retention. Water retention usually happens mostly in women. I still am not fully knowledagable enough to say that water intake promotes it, but i don't think so. Reasons are that each day we need to drink about 9 cups was it? of water to clean our system from toxins. (in not so many words, drink until your pee is white in color) hence i don't think that drinking a lot of water results in water retention. Not all isotonic drinks are carbonated and they usually have abit less sugar than coke, pepsi, etc. So it's not really the sugar content that makes them different in comparison to normal water, it's the total package and the way it's formulated for specific users(lot's of different kinds of sports drinks with different nutritional values). This post has been edited by malaysianPotato: Mar 25 2009, 01:22 AM |
Mar 25 2009, 09:52 AM
87 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
if u wan to boost your energy, y dont u try to eat BANANA? it full of simple carbohydrate and easy to be digested.
i use them when i go for hiking. i also saw Rafael Nadal eat them in tennis tournaments. |
Mar 25 2009, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(Tatsumaki @ Mar 24 2009, 11:59 PM) ROFL hypothermia is the artifical reduction of body heat to lower down metabolism. AKA sub normal body temperature If you read my posts carefully you would notice that what I posted was Sarcasm. I was just re-quoting the same 'hypothermia' sentence mentioned by someone else. |
Mar 25 2009, 02:10 PM
60 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
i think anything if u take too much ..
than u will meet heaven soon |
Mar 25 2009, 05:04 PM
3,348 posts Joined: May 2006 From: The Matrix |
QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 25 2009, 10:35 AM) If you read my posts carefully you would notice that what I posted was Sarcasm. I was just re-quoting the same 'hypothermia' sentence mentioned by someone else. well r u referring to me then? i m being sarcastic to another guy also.. asking drink to much will it do harm to us.. |
Mar 26 2009, 12:53 PM
3,092 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: |{µð£ð £µmPµ® |
100plus during workouts day is fine. else, lotsa' mineral water will be just fine during the rest day.
Mar 26 2009, 03:23 PM
657 posts Joined: May 2006 |
what's so hard to take water after sports?
Mar 26 2009, 03:43 PM
83 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
No good for health... plain water better...
Mar 26 2009, 04:09 PM
1,466 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Wherever you're |
i used to drink alot of 100plus when i got fever.
This post has been edited by ahcheap: Mar 26 2009, 04:09 PM |
Apr 17 2009, 11:53 PM
148 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Malaysia |
Why not try Gatorade instead of 100+?
Non-carbonated isotonic drink |
Apr 18 2009, 09:53 AM
i would say 100+ is good during sports, prevent dehydration, cramps and many more problems if you just drink plain water.
Apr 18 2009, 10:03 AM
63 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: kajang selangor |
QUOTE(yngwie @ Mar 26 2009, 01:53 PM) 100plus during workouts day is fine. else, lotsa' mineral water will be just fine during the rest day. i agree with u...electrolite balance most importance..if not balance ..as result will show negative feed back from our body.. ex: calcium.. if we take so much calsium..when our body cant absorb it anymore then it will become full in our blood..as result we will get joint pain and body ache p/s sory for my bad english language..huhu |
Apr 18 2009, 10:11 AM
4,249 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
so conclusion?
100+ is better den water? If so hw does either one compare to gatorade? or livita? This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Apr 18 2009, 10:11 AM |
Apr 18 2009, 10:32 AM
49 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
gatorade is just like 100+ lor. i dont know the difference.
i used to take livita b4 exams coz i burn mid night oil T.T personally, i dont take 100+ or any similar sort of drink. i only take plain water coz my concern is always about sugar . i dont wanna be a diabetic next time -.- |
Apr 18 2009, 11:40 AM
349 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
during training, dun drink 100plus. After training, only drink 100plus, because 100plus cool down ur body and make u relaxed
Apr 18 2009, 11:56 AM
2,691 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 18 2009, 10:11 AM) 100+ is better than water only when you are doing excersise or have sweat a lot. if your not sweating excessively its better to drink water. when comparing 100+ to gatorade.... im not sure because even though gatorade is not carbonated.... it probably has the same amount of sugar and what not. comparing 100+ and gatorade to....livita? livita is an energy drink. i dun think you wanna drink that before sports...i guess some would. thats basically all sugar and caffiene. just my dua sen. |
Apr 18 2009, 03:21 PM
474 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
so many 100 Plus product LIKE in the market, Plain Water is still the best...otherwise you end up with diabetes after few years if drink lot of 100+
Apr 18 2009, 03:30 PM
83 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: puchong,selangor |
100 plus is good if u were havin fever... if in sports.. u need to take isomax...lolx
Apr 18 2009, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(tanling26 @ Apr 18 2009, 03:21 PM) so many 100 Plus product LIKE in the market, Plain Water is still the best...otherwise you end up with diabetes after few years if drink lot of 100+ Plain water isn't actually always the best, it depends on the purpose and situation. No, you don't end up with diabetes after a few years of drinking 100+, and "alot" is subjective. |
Apr 18 2009, 06:57 PM
864 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
warm 100plus would be alright.
as i know quite many doctors introduce patients to take 100plus when they r heaty. anyway, any food with excess intake would be a toxic, so, agak agak lar XD |
Apr 19 2009, 12:37 AM
improve performance? gives you energy? |
Apr 19 2009, 06:58 AM
326 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
I doubt you need the 'energy' or 'electrolytes' from any energy drink unless you train more than 1 hour everyday. Like maybe 1-2 hours then you only need 1 energy drink. If only exercising <1 hour then plain water is good enough. If you just workout a short while then drink all the sugar from an energy drink all your effort is wasted for nothing.
Apr 19 2009, 12:34 PM
4,256 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
anyone heard of Sportade.. the strwberry taste is really good.
Apr 19 2009, 03:08 PM
4,503 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The Far Away Venus Status: Being Insua-fied |
I m curious.I heard a lot of people suggesting drink more 100 plus if you sick(fever, flu, etc).What's the relevant?
Apr 19 2009, 04:10 PM
2,425 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
It helps replace the electrolites. You aren't getting enough from food (since you can't eat much).
And to prevent dehydration. This thread tak habis-habis. Go read the label of 100Plus... then come and ask more specific questions. --- All these people... one fine day, some fellas are gonna ask --> Eat rice good or not? Eat chicken good or not? Drink water good or not? Eat fruits good or not? Eat protein good or not? |
Apr 19 2009, 05:03 PM
4,382 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Apr 19 2009, 04:10 PM) It helps replace the electrolites. You aren't getting enough from food (since you can't eat much). Eat good or not.And to prevent dehydration. This thread tak habis-habis. Go read the label of 100Plus... then come and ask more specific questions. --- All these people... one fine day, some fellas are gonna ask --> Eat rice good or not? Eat chicken good or not? Drink water good or not? Eat fruits good or not? Eat protein good or not? |
Apr 19 2009, 08:51 PM
2,425 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Eat not gooooooood!
Can die one. Better don't eat. Starve is a better choice. Woahahahahahah! =P |
Apr 19 2009, 09:16 PM
Drink tea or plain liquid during workout.
Those posers good for them, drink more ice lemon tea, get more fats around the waist area. Hahahahahaha! |
Apr 19 2009, 09:24 PM
60 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
As an isotonic drink, 100+ will replace any electrolytes you may lose from excessive sweating etc. But at the end of the day, it is still a calorie packed sugary soda drink which you should avoid if you're trying to lose weight as it will add on to your calorie count
Basically, drink 100+ moderately but drink water more. I tried Pocari Sweat today (Jap version of 100+) still prefer 100+ |
Apr 20 2009, 11:56 AM
4,256 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
how much is 100+
Apr 20 2009, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(fearz @ Apr 19 2009, 06:58 AM) I doubt you need the 'energy' or 'electrolytes' from any energy drink unless you train more than 1 hour everyday. Like maybe 1-2 hours then you only need 1 energy drink. If only exercising <1 hour then plain water is good enough. If you just workout a short while then drink all the sugar from an energy drink all your effort is wasted for nothing. well..wat abt when i run me long runs, say 20km? or bike like 120km+ to 160km+ ??or when i do brick training? i guess i do qualify for energy drinks then.. This post has been edited by d3vilzzzz: Apr 20 2009, 01:47 PM |
Apr 20 2009, 02:53 PM
Plain liquid will do, as long you keep yourself hydrated all time.
Like my stomach already get used to it whenever I do cardio, after I jog or sprint for 5 mins, I'll drink 100ml of water, then after 3 mins I jog again. No problem, I don't feel pain in stomach. Cardio for 30minutes straight without water, you sure won't do your best. |
Apr 20 2009, 03:01 PM
Yea I definetely get dehydrated after jogging/running 45-60mins without drinking any water. After I finish I drink like 4-6 glasses water immediately to quench thirst. And some lowfat milk for some protein.
If you can stomach it, eat a banana instead of an energy drink. Those professional tennis players eat bananas in between sets to get an energy surge from the fructose, prevent muscle cramps from the potassium, and it has less than 100 calories in it. |
Apr 20 2009, 03:18 PM
938 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: where I belong to.... |
1 thing for sure, if ur body feels hot, drink 100plus
Apr 20 2009, 11:19 PM
WATER IS THE BEST!!!
Apr 21 2009, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(fearz @ Apr 20 2009, 03:01 PM) Yea I definetely get dehydrated after jogging/running 45-60mins without drinking any water. After I finish I drink like 4-6 glasses water immediately to quench thirst. And some lowfat milk for some protein. And they don't drink plain water. Look at the bottles, alot of the times they're filled with coloured fluids, probably gatorade?If you can stomach it, eat a banana instead of an energy drink. Those professional tennis players eat bananas in between sets to get an energy surge from the fructose, prevent muscle cramps from the potassium, and it has less than 100 calories in it. |
Apr 21 2009, 12:21 AM
Apr 21 2009, 03:39 AM
Apr 21 2009, 08:16 AM
2,850 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Stellar Nursery |
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 23 2009, 10:53 PM) Just wondering does 100plus has more benefit than bad? Carbonated sugar drinks suck. 100+ reminds me of the green goo in Idiocracy.. because it's got electrolytes!Its still carbonated drink rite? half bottle of 1.5litre during 2 hours my badminton session for 2days/week is acceptable? |
Apr 21 2009, 08:52 AM
When I see questions like these, I think it's time to update this link :
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/350964 There's always a danger of quoting someone else's work and not maintaining it well, especially when nutrition information changes every few months. |
Apr 21 2009, 05:21 PM
381 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: KL/Cheras |
QUOTE(s0ts0tdandelii0n @ Apr 18 2009, 06:57 PM) warm 100plus would be alright. ya.. i agree with u eventhough u are sick or not many doctor will recommend their patient to drink 100plus, not even adult but children too. oh ya, one more thing is drink it with salt when u have a sore throat its very good as i know quite many doctors introduce patients to take 100plus when they r heaty. anyway, any food with excess intake would be a toxic, so, agak agak lar XD |
Apr 22 2009, 09:50 AM
733 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Ipoh,Malaysia |
avoid from drinking too much 100+..
can cause diabetes...>< |
Apr 22 2009, 06:08 PM
energy drinks are not very good, it will make ur heart pump faster and can cause heart failure if u treat it as 100 plus
Apr 22 2009, 06:12 PM
381 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: KL/Cheras |
Aug 26 2015, 04:44 PM
161 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL, Sarawak |
What type of sugar in it? Sucrose? Fructose? High fructose corn syrup? Or glucose.
Because sugar type matters. Might no be glucose. Because 100 plus is sweet. |
Aug 26 2015, 06:38 PM
6,914 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(abcxyz @ Aug 26 2015, 04:44 PM) What type of sugar in it? Sucrose? Fructose? High fructose corn syrup? Or glucose. implying glucose is not sweet? what logic is this? Because sugar type matters. Might no be glucose. Because 100 plus is sweet. it is very hard to know what type of sugar as there is such thing called ingredient list on every bottle/ can that people find very hard to turn the item around and read it |
Aug 26 2015, 06:47 PM
8,635 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Jeonju/Jeollabuk-do |
Evening
Bad. Gassy. Too sweet. Eat it after meal, stomach discomfort. I changed to Gatorade; but now stopping that too. This post has been edited by Raikkonen: Aug 26 2015, 06:48 PM |
Aug 29 2015, 09:35 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(slimey @ Aug 26 2015, 06:38 PM) implying glucose is not sweet? what logic is this? maybe I dont finish my statement yet. Most manufacturer dont put details what kind of sugar they use. Considering profit/efficiency for companies nowadays, they likely use high fructose corn syrupit is very hard to know what type of sugar as there is such thing called ingredient list on every bottle/ can that people find very hard to turn the item around and read it (fructose alone is 1.7 sweeter than glucose -thus need less to produce more). In nature, fructose come together with Sucrose and Fibre. but nowadays they manage to extract fructose alone. Fructose is foreign to our body sugar absorption system, and it takes Liver to do the hardwork to metabolize it. Once Liver is overloaded with processing fructose, it lost its vitality. some kind of stress substance, such as ALT rises. I think government/FDA should make it mandatory for manufacturer to put in what kind of sugar source they use. I should say before 100 plus is too sweet. Not just sweet hope this clarifies. This post has been edited by abcxyz: Aug 29 2015, 09:41 PM |
Aug 29 2015, 09:36 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Aug 26 2015, 06:47 PM) Evening Now Gatorade own by Pepsi. A name synonymous with sweet drinks.Bad. Gassy. Too sweet. Eat it after meal, stomach discomfort. I changed to Gatorade; but now stopping that too. For me plain/mineral water is the best. This post has been edited by abcxyz: Aug 29 2015, 09:41 PM |
Aug 29 2015, 11:07 PM
726 posts Joined: Nov 2014 From: Southern Uganda |
Guys, how about so called healthy drink such as horlicks, milo, vico, etc?
Aug 29 2015, 11:18 PM
12,573 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Aug 31 2015, 08:39 AM
466 posts Joined: Feb 2013 From: Jesselton, North Borneo |
just don't consume too much.. plain water always the best
| Change to: | 0.0472sec