125 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus

SUSalaskanbunny
post May 2 2010, 08:19 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

dont waste your time studying biotech... so far 90% of the ppl taking it are forced by their parents... job prospects are so bad..
zstan
post May 2 2010, 11:45 AM

15,856 posts

yea...food science seems much more better...
happy_pink
post May 2 2010, 01:00 PM

153 posts

well i will really think about it.

Added on May 2, 2010, 1:16 pmwell i will really think about it.

Added on May 3, 2010, 12:30 amsunway monash got provide accommodations?

i will study in monash soon july intake

where to get place to stay
how much is it?

Added on May 3, 2010, 12:32 am
QUOTE(photatat @ Apr 3 2010, 01:36 AM)
i got single room in lagoon view
pm if interested
tq
u said u have single room?

how much is it?

girls or guys?

This post has been edited by happy_pink: May 3 2010, 12:32 AM
Grimm
post May 5 2010, 08:56 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

I think it would be better for you if you called the landlords directly and not go through third parties.

Also, I would encourage you to go and look at the room for yourself, and see how far the walking distance is from uni.

You wouldn't want to be having a long, long walk alone in the dark back from uni, trust me. Especially in notorious Sunway.
zstan
post May 5 2010, 11:22 PM

15,856 posts

yea...snatch thefts who murder in cold blood are everywhere..

but u have to be prepared to pay a hefty sum for those rooms which are really close to the uni...
Grimm
post May 6 2010, 01:05 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

Anyway, exam timetables are out.

Mine's on the 15th and 16t, both 2.30pm at the Caulfield Racecourse.

Howz ya'lls?
happy_pink
post May 6 2010, 01:33 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ May 5 2010, 07:56 PM)
I think it would be better for you if you called the landlords directly and not go through third parties.

Also, I would encourage you to go and look at the room for yourself, and see how far the walking distance is from uni.

You wouldn't want to be having a long, long walk alone in the dark back from uni, trust me. Especially in notorious Sunway.
can u tell me how much u spend one month there?

i know it depends

but can juv tell me roughly?

rental and meals

Grimm
post May 6 2010, 01:59 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

I spend about RM800-RM1k a month, inclusive of everything from paying for my toilet entries to shopping =)

Some months, you spend only 600 due to assignment periods, others, prolly 1200 especially after exams. So I would say, I spent 800-1k per month, on average.

Not sure of the prices now. That was in 2007/2008
nokia2003
post May 6 2010, 02:59 PM

5,786 posts

i can definitely give the typical and minimum amount required by myself (on a monthly basis) and i'm staying off-campus.

1. AUD110 for my mobile phone tariff and iPhone 3GS repayments (AUD50 and AUD60 respectively)
2. AUD27.50 for my broadband and phone rental.
3. AUD120 for my dinner (we cater from a malaysian couple and it is delivered to our place on a daily basis)
4. AUD50 for my electricity (on average) and water is inclusive
5. AUD20 for transportation via metlink (on average)
happy_pink
post May 6 2010, 06:28 PM

153 posts

well
very good advice
thanks grimm and nokia

Added on May 6, 2010, 6:32 pm
QUOTE(Grimm @ May 6 2010, 12:59 PM)
I spend about RM800-RM1k a month, inclusive of everything from paying for my toilet entries to shopping =)

Some months, you spend only 600 due to assignment periods, others, prolly 1200 especially after exams. So I would say, I spent 800-1k per month, on average.

Not sure of the prices now. That was in 2007/2008
1 k is alot

u spend a lot on entertainment?

haha

This post has been edited by happy_pink: May 6 2010, 06:32 PM
nokia2003
post May 6 2010, 07:07 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(happy_pink @ May 6 2010, 06:28 PM)
well
very good advice
thanks grimm and nokia

Added on May 6, 2010, 6:32 pm
1 k is alot

u spend a lot on entertainment?

haha
not that i'm proclaiming that i'm spend-thrift, but Grimm's a grand of expenditure per month isn't astronomically at all.

look at mine; even at bare minimum and necessity (not including leisure, groceries, eating and the out of the ordinary), i have accumulated a total of AUD327.50 (approximately MYR982.50)
zstan
post May 6 2010, 08:20 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ May 6 2010, 07:07 PM)
i can definitely give the typical and minimum amount required by myself (on a monthly basis) and i'm staying off-campus.

1. AUD110 for my mobile phone tariff and iPhone 3GS repayments (AUD50 and AUD60 respectively)
3. AUD120 for my dinner (we cater from a malaysian couple and it is delivered to our place on a daily basis)
ermm...i think she's asking about the sunway campus monash..why r u guys giving her aussie currency?hmm.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: May 6 2010, 08:21 PM
baoz
post May 6 2010, 09:09 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ May 6 2010, 01:05 PM)

Howz ya'lls?
Mine starts on 10th and end on 18th. Very unhappy as I can't even get a full swot vac to study and they cram 3 papers into 1 week. I'd rather have a short winter break than to cram like this.
ostangel
post May 6 2010, 09:21 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ May 6 2010, 01:05 PM)

Howz ya'lls?
You only have 2 exams?

I have papers on the 15th, 22nd, 23rd and 29th. not too bad, actually. all 2.30pm @ caulfield racecourse
Grimm
post May 6 2010, 10:20 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

oi nokia, she's talking about sunway campus punya laaa! biggrin.gif

1k isn't really a lot. I mean, thats what my parents give me. Really depends how much you spend on what.

Some people shop every week. Some people treat themselves to delicacies and fine dining frequently. Some people read a lot, and spend a lot on books. Some people go to the movies like 3-4 times a week. Some people spend a lot on pool and foosball. Some people club a lot. Some people drink a lot. And then there are some like me, who game a lot (Asia Cafe robbed me off I think 4 figures already =X

Sooo... it really depends on your lifestyle.

Basic expenditure in Sunway area

RM450-800 for accomodation depending on type and location
RM200-300 for good food (please don't starve yourselves, go get some good food... KL air is already a killer, don't kill your body anymore by eating sucky and unhealthily cheap food all the time.
RM100 for entertainment? drinking, movies, whatever...
RM50 for misc spending, books, clubs and societies, parties, birthday presents, etc.

I don't think RM800-1k is a lot... this is Sunway/Subang area we're talking about, not like other colleges punya area where you can get like RM150 for a single room =.= no such rates here, unfortunately =/

Grimm
post May 6 2010, 10:24 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

I drool at the AUD120 for daily meals for an entire month. WTF?

AUD120 for 30 meals ah? Summore CATERED? I think thats a damn good deal. I mean, even though we cook, after dividing, its about RM80 per person per month. I wouldn't mind paying 40 more, and no need to waste time cooking =D

But then, my cooking skills improved tremendously during my time here ;D

ohya, I have 2 papers only because

1) its my last sem, i only have 3 subs (thanks to me having taken a summer in sunway in my 1st year)
2) out of the 3 subjects, one of my electives (Money Market Operations AFF3301) is a 100% internal assessment - without any final paper
3) so i'm left with 2 ;D but unfortunately, they HAD to be back to back mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
zstan
post May 6 2010, 11:34 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ May 6 2010, 10:20 PM)
oi nokia, she's talking about sunway campus punya laaa! biggrin.gif

1k isn't really a lot. I mean, thats what my parents give me. Really depends how much you spend on what.

Some people shop every week. Some people treat themselves to delicacies and fine dining frequently. Some people read a lot, and spend a lot on books. Some people go to the movies like 3-4 times a week. Some people spend a lot on pool and foosball. Some people club a lot. Some people drink a lot. And then there are some like me, who game a lot (Asia Cafe robbed me off I think 4 figures already =X

Sooo... it really depends on your lifestyle.

Basic expenditure in Sunway area

RM450-800 for accomodation depending on type and location
RM200-300 for good food (please don't starve yourselves, go get some good food... KL air is already a killer, don't kill your body anymore by eating sucky and unhealthily cheap food all the time.
RM100 for entertainment? drinking, movies, whatever...
RM50 for misc spending, books, clubs and societies, parties, birthday presents, etc.

I don't think RM800-1k is a lot... this is Sunway/Subang area we're talking about, not like other colleges punya area where you can get like RM150 for a single room =.= no such rates here, unfortunately =/
rm100 where got enough for entertainment..go club one night all gone... unsure.gif
happy_pink
post May 6 2010, 11:56 PM

153 posts

y monash don provide place for ppl to stay
if they provide they can earn some more
haha
now i gotta find it myself.

troublesome
zstan
post May 7 2010, 12:09 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(happy_pink @ May 6 2010, 11:56 PM)
y monash don provide place for ppl to stay
if they provide they can earn some more
haha
now i gotta find it myself.

troublesome
yes..they are building two new apartments next to the uni..ready by next yr or this year..forgotten..

i also wan complain..why they dun have badminton court... cry.gif cry.gif
happy_pink
post May 7 2010, 12:54 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ May 6 2010, 11:09 PM)
yes..they are building two new apartments next to the uni..ready by next yr or this year..forgotten..

i also wan complain..why they dun have badminton court... cry.gif  cry.gif
ya lo
must join koko ?
like those local u or secondary school?

125 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:00 AM