University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus

SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 27 2009, 11:49 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(martin_howe0430 @ Dec 27 2009, 10:12 PM)
Hi, i'm new to this thread and i hav some questions regarding Monash Sunway Campus.

I'm currently doing Diploma in Mechanical Engineering in Inti, and thinking of doing degree in Monash Malaysia.
By that time i will be staying at Damansara Perdana if i decide to study in Monash.

My questions are:
1. Is it compulsory for me to study at least 3 yrs to get a degree in mechanical engineering? As i heard people says in Malaysia a diploma holder will need to do at least 3 yrs in a Malaysia university to complete a degree program. I've asked the Monash University representative at 1 Educational Fair and he says that it all depends on my credit transfer. What if all my credits can be transfered which allows me to complete degree program in 2 yrs, is that possible?

2. I saw some replies saying that lots of good mechanical lecturer left the faculty. So how is it now?

3. Is there any bus service (Monash campus bus or rapid kl) go to Monash campus or places near by. I'm not very familiar with Bandar Sunway.

Thx for ur help.
1) it depends on ur cgpa and as well as ur subjects, the course coordinator will walk u through... for mechanical i believe it is teoh kok su... i got friends doing 3 1/2 years, i got some doing 2 1/2 after their diploma... contact lawrencehan999@yahoo.com .. tell him charles send u.. he's from inti too, now doing masters @ monash.. maybe he can provide u more info
2) yes, in fact a lot ^^ probably cut cost cause old lecturers cost a lot
3) yes, there's feeder bus... rapid kl? not that i know off... d nearest if from SP... usually it is feeder bus / cab... most monash students drive.. so....

no probs ^^ glad 2 help ^^

QUOTE(C-Note @ Dec 27 2009, 10:18 PM)
Is it possible for me to do 3 years here and 1 year in Clayton or 2 years here and 2 years in Clayton for engineering courses? Or should I do all 4 years here? Is the final cert same regardless of where or number of years I do?

Also, whats the difference between doing ONE year Master of Aerospace AFTER I got my Bachelor of Mechanical engineering , AND ALL 4  years of Bachelor of Aerospace engineering in Clayton?

3 years here and 1 year clayton is under the exchange program in ur 3rd year... 2 years here and 2 years there is a transfer program... all 4 years here is what i did... it is slightly diff... because not all classes are offered... the campus wont be stated by.. it is something like this...

4 years in msia, bachelors of eng. (majoring in mec)... clayton... bachelors of mec eng. ... so just d diff title i guess

i dont get ur question in bold
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 28 2009, 08:51 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(martin_howe0430 @ Dec 28 2009, 08:03 PM)
Thx for the info once again, so the feeder bus is from Monash to which place? If go to Monash campus by walking from Sunway Pyramid, how long does it takes? If there's no convenient public transport to Monash campus, i guess i'll hav to buy a car, sad...
yeaps.. it is best to drive.. although parking is another problem to ponder
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 3 2010, 02:00 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Dec 29 2009, 10:26 AM)
Finally a graduand of Monash !  biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif
lol... too bad poor selrahc cant add u whistling.gif

QUOTE(pumpkinn @ Dec 30 2009, 12:41 PM)
congrats.... i still have one more sem to go sad.gif
got picta... mayb i know u

QUOTE(lemonade90 @ Jan 2 2010, 10:53 PM)
HI, i am a prospective monash student.

I did science for my a levels. Now i decide to do business and commerce at monash. Will it be difficult for me? Will they start from the basic? How r the lecturers there? R they friendly and approachable? Generally what u think about this course offered by monash. Ur comment is greatly appreciated.
ermm... nope... just that u must know how 2 play their game..yea... basic but in d end all gotta read..monash business is good... so far only 1 complain
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 9 2010, 04:05 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Jan 9 2010, 11:20 AM)
Hi there to Monash(Sunway Campus) students, I've got 2 rooms to let at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1286324

contact me if interested ya, thanks
i doubt that's ur avatar right?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 14 2010, 11:54 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(110 @ Jan 14 2010, 09:43 PM)
I'm just curious

How come the parking is not free like other universities?
I haven't seen other universities with paid parking

It's paid parking and damn congested
u have not been overseas...zzz

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jan 14 2010, 10:23 PM)
if one can complete his/her initial tertiary years (and recognised) and subsequently transfer, i fail to see how it is not a university?

i'm only answering your question. you asked...
you said none; i just gave you one.

in fact to fulfill your desires, i will give you another one more - IMU
degree factory?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 20 2010, 09:31 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

its exchange or transfer... dun think got twinning
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 21 2010, 11:11 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(charles2690 @ Feb 20 2010, 11:06 PM)
I am in 2nd year, 1st sem of Medical Bioscience smile.gif add me to the list smile.gif
sry.. ts is gone for holiday.. will be back in a few years time biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ostangel @ Feb 21 2010, 10:23 AM)
No, Monash has a foundation program that is offered in Sunway University College called MUFY i.e. Monash University Foundation Year

The main difference between MUFY and SAM is that your scope will be narrowed down a lot if you choose MUFY. For example, by taking SAM, you can go to any university in Australia that accepts your results. If you take MUFY, most universities do not recognize the program except for Monash.

Unless you are absolutely sure you want to go to Monash, I don't suggest doing MUFY.
that's what d guy said.. sunway... lol

anyway i recommend sam.. mufy overpriced.. syllabus not so good n also results not so nice to see n get scholarship
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 6 2010, 09:45 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

waaa.. so stupid er they shut it down... should have both mer... lol
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 2 2010, 08:19 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

dont waste your time studying biotech... so far 90% of the ppl taking it are forced by their parents... job prospects are so bad..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 18 2010, 11:45 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

lol... probably the ghost of those that commited suicide... laggon view some guy just off the condo and hit head hit the side of the pool... part of the brain went into the pool...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 19 2010, 04:37 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

the difference is too wide... would you even want to enter? you might struggle..
SUSalaskanbunny
post Dec 30 2010, 11:09 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(sky@1013 @ Dec 30 2010, 10:04 AM)
erm...although i knw the reuquirement for chem eng is 86 for ausmat.bt i juz got 81.15...==..
juz wan to ask whether i still got a little possible can enter the course?!!
its a very huge gap, probably with conditional offer.... but i heard now monash is very very strict... this is to maintain a certain standard though... you dont want weak classmates right?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 4 2011, 11:42 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Jan 4 2011, 08:10 PM)
Okay, I'm in! So, for accommodations, I'm thinking Sun-U Apartments, four sharing, anyone with any experience with the four-sharing rooms? Will it get too crowded/noisy?
4 ppl in 1 room shocking.gif studying or bangla worker?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 5 2011, 11:10 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(bluespot @ Jan 5 2011, 05:35 PM)
I just got my ausmat result and wanted to pursue engineering course in Monash but my ATAR didnt reach the requirement, so how???! :'(

i really wan to enter into Monash as my sis is studying phd there n she also encourage me too..but i got 82.95 and i check tat Monash need 87,can i appeal or any other way?
u can, but prepare to suffer once in.... thank god i grad flex.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 8 2011, 11:30 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(hadoupening @ Jan 6 2011, 12:22 AM)
A newcomer BEng here, what do you mean, suffer?  sweat.gif Is the workload going to be too much? Or do you mean that the syllabus is going to be quite hard to understand?

At any rate, better get myself mentally prepared then.
4 damn years of hardwork... didnt really enjoy my time there...

for me actually the workload is fine... just that u really need to balance ur time...

syllabus are fine if u do ur homework..

prepared for the worse... hehehee
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 9 2011, 09:34 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(zeeyang @ Jan 8 2011, 10:39 PM)
Hi guys, have a burning desire to ask many questions, since I am a lazy-bum to read through 60 pages, excuse me tongue.gif

1. In Monash, is there a student exchange programme to other campus in Australia? Like the one in Nottingham?
If there is, is it limited and extremely competitive?

2. Engineering question:
In my recent visit to an Australia education fair, the Australia universities are using a different system with those in Malaysia. (I gathered the resources from U.Sydney and U.Melbourne, hence I assume it is the same as Monash). There, they are offering 3 years of Bachelor in Sciences and either 2 years of Master in Engineering OR they invite you for 1 years of honours. In monash sunway, the engineering degree offered is a 4-year courses. Does that means in monash sunway you automatically get a degree in Engineering (honours) if you complete the course?

3. According to above, if a students transfer from monash sunway to Australia, we will be studying under a different system of Australia? Will it still be a 4-year engineering course so as to be accredited by BEM?

4. Is it uncommon for students to transfer from Monash Sunway to Monash in Australia? Will it be hard to cope?
Lets assume that money is not a problem, is it recommended to transfer during my 2nd or 3rd year?
Thanks guys  thumbup.gif
1. yes, there's exchange not only to their own campus but other universities as well, try MIT ^^ and dont forget, u r paying monash msia fees.. hehehee and there's another which is transfer

2. for engineering 4 years... comes with honours if results is good enough, for science, business, etc etc.. it is 3 years + 1 year hons

3. same system, a little diff in the subjects. as for engineering, yes... same

4. there are students transfer and those that stay... typically around 20% transfers... for engineering, 3rd year will do

QUOTE(coolingwater @ Jan 9 2011, 01:56 AM)
Hi guys, I just started studying in Monash Uni (clayton campus) in the 2nd semester, im a first year student doing bachelor of science.

I was wondering if I can apply for credit transfer to Melbourne Uni once I completed my first year in Monash, if that is even possible.

Thanks in advance.
yes, in theory you can.... being part of group of 8 gives you that advantage, however total credit transfer is a diff story
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jan 17 2011, 11:37 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(ferrari2win @ Jan 17 2011, 12:23 PM)
Hi there, i also will be joining monash sunway this feb for engineering...just wanted to ask the seniors whether engineering coursework will be tough for the first year?

Will it be hard to find parking on campus since many people will be driving everyday?
1st year is the easiest... after that... its downhill... so score as good as possible during the 1st year
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 7 2011, 04:34 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 7 2011, 02:30 PM)
waaaaaaaaaa....

if my class 9am what time should i reach to get a parking?  sad.gif
8.15, go early and have breakfast ^^ no harm... make sure to sleep early
SUSalaskanbunny
post Feb 28 2011, 11:29 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

haih... u guys pampered kids... year 1 already complain n kpkb so much...
SUSalaskanbunny
post Mar 1 2011, 11:54 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

zzzz... monash's name was spoiled... they gave najib a honorary degree

0.0471sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:39 AM