University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus

nokia2003
post Mar 23 2009, 07:48 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Mar 22 2009, 02:50 AM)
btw guys how do we handle the visa to aus? cause i want to transfer this july but it seems by then only can get the offer letter to process the student visa
the department of immigration and citizenship of australia should be sending you a letter consisting your COE numbers shortly. with that set of numbers, you can then proceed to their website and summit your application online (be sure to have a credit card in hand).

shortly after completion, you will be asked to choose one of the panel health care centres (which have been pre-approved by the department).

anymore question? please be sure to ask!
nokia2003
post Mar 24 2009, 09:32 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Mar 24 2009, 01:45 PM)
yeaa... lol... no ler.. depends on individual also... but in general that's the case... when u talk to a counsellor, and u mention u have bad results for spm, usually they recommend CIMP...  laugh.gif
so it is like a NSW foundation year... like MUFY...  biggrin.gif
from my experience... usually they would send you to the head of school/program and u guys will have a chat. u have to bring ur results and also syllabus outline. then u guys will discuss on how 2 proceed. i would suggest you do it earlier, as this might take sometime. recently they are quite lenient on entry, lack of funds...lol... they let u in, if u dont meet their standard after 1st year then they kick you out.
is it that lenient? from what i have heard (personally from the school of business), you have to achieve at least an average of 60% (spread across the 4 units) without failing any, for the first semester for an automatic and non-negotiable entry i.e. unconditional offer, to proceed to the next semester.

anything less than that, you might have talk/butter your way through (or getting your favourite personal tutors/lecturers to support your claim). basically a lot of justifications to work around. a bit leceh la of course. hence the prescribed result above, will sort of like guarantee your progress to the next semester.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 24 2009, 09:33 PM
nokia2003
post Apr 5 2009, 08:51 PM

5,786 posts

mann... i didn't know that my knowledge of monash is so bad
nokia2003
post Apr 7 2009, 07:34 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(choyster @ Apr 6 2009, 11:08 PM)
wow scary  shocking.gif
yup. to think that i patronise that building almost on a daily basis.

dah-lah
the buildings in clayton are not as gorgeous looking as caulfield's...

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Apr 7 2009, 07:40 PM
nokia2003
post Apr 8 2009, 01:34 PM

5,786 posts

here is some useful information to those who have close relatives/siblings studying/planning to study in australian monash campuses (the sunway campus is not applicable AFAIK).

mine has just been approved today. in this case scenario, the one who is paying the higher tuition fees, will automatically receive a 10% discount of the total tuition fees.

nokia2003
post Apr 12 2009, 11:14 PM

5,786 posts

@ Iliveunderwater and SeLrAhC,

alright enough is enough. this is a dedicated monash thread in a bid to help current and prospective monash students. what you guys are doing, is merely generalising malaysian students (both in private and public institutions) into one big lump of category.

however, if you still insist on carrying out this "massacre", i do suggest a brand new thread, away from this one.

anyway i'm in no way affiliated to SeLrAhC, but you are clearly picking on him (from where i'm staying right now). he was just replying to a very simple question i.e. "hows the quality of students there? lol", in which he said "much higher than most other colleges in msia". now why on earth did you even attempt to bring in public universities into the picture?

on the other hand, i do publicly acknowledge that the malaysian sunway campus has still a lot of catching up to do. having studied in the uk before (and now in clayton), i can distinctively observe the marked differences between sunway campus and the australian one. FYI, i did a year in sunway before transferring over to clayton.

one may argue that the sunway campus is still new (bla bla bla) and we ought to give her time to mature and flower et cetera, but at the end of the day, the sunway campus is still supposed to be a (enormous) money making machine for both the sunway group and monash. having said that, not many parents/guardians can afford to splurge that amount of money to send their beloved children to monash (even to the so-called local "version"). needlessly to say, monash sunway has to figure out a way to generate wealth, even if it means that sunway has to accept these crappy students (as described by you guys).

however at the end of the day, only the fittest will survive (or in this case, graduate). hence what is the actual point of debating the caliber/standard of the students being introduced by monash sunway in the first place?
nokia2003
post Apr 13 2009, 12:33 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(hwui88 @ Apr 13 2009, 12:24 AM)
huh? if i m not mistaken we only have 4 subjects each sem ... in the case of double majors..
4 units per semester is the typically recommended combination. however only under special circumstances, one may apply for underload or overload.

Added on April 13, 2009, 12:50 am
QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Apr 13 2009, 12:33 AM)
why not choose double major? Still pay same fees right? Still thinking on wat to study if I got admitted...
you may be paying the equal amount of fees, but towards the final year, you may be bogged down with the third year level units (leaving no room to breathe). this may indirectly affect your overall GPA/average marks with you attempting to juggle between the two majors (especially if they are of a tough nature).

it is a bit of risk management decision. let's say for instance, you wanna be an accountant and you are aiming to work in a top firm (in which, they usually stipulate a minimum GPA of 3.0). therefore in this case, there is clearly no incentive for you, to complete a double major degree; you may as well attempt to take up relatively (note relatively) easier units to boost up your chances of securing those requirements.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Apr 13 2009, 12:50 AM
nokia2003
post Apr 24 2009, 07:18 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(BabyBeez @ Apr 23 2009, 04:14 AM)
Hey, is anyone here taking or have taken Islamic banking before?

I was thinking maybe I wanna take it as 1 of my electives since it is a first year subject.

How do you find the subject? Easy?
i took that unit and got a D biggrin.gif

pretty straightforward and if you have anymore questions, you can PM me directly.
nokia2003
post May 9 2009, 08:13 PM

5,786 posts

man... i have a lot of friends coming over from sunway this upcoming semester.

no more lonely nights alone? LOL!
nokia2003
post May 10 2009, 03:36 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ May 10 2009, 06:25 AM)
when u r lonely... use ur right hand  thumbup.gif

dont u have other friends there? making new friends is part of education..
joking only! i'm staying at a private accommodation where majority of the tenants are malaysians and singaporeans.

Added on May 10, 2009, 5:54 pm
QUOTE(Massa @ May 10 2009, 06:28 AM)
Hi people.
Can I ask here, if somebody knows how much is Monash Degree in Mass Comm fees, pls?
Thanks. smile.gif
in malaysia or australia?

This post has been edited by nokia2003: May 10 2009, 05:54 PM
nokia2003
post May 13 2009, 10:43 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ May 12 2009, 10:09 AM)
What the ......
Nonetheless, a good piece of advice from SeLrAhC big bro !
Exams less than a month to go, shucks  sweat.gif
yup. it is especially bad with mid term results and assignments coming back!

ayoi mate. you of all people should know that i sudah ada training from the uk days!

fitting into australia is just a stroll in the park (joking!) whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by nokia2003: May 13 2009, 03:23 PM
nokia2003
post May 13 2009, 03:24 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ May 13 2009, 01:42 PM)
hey tryin to enroll into monash uni....just want to know how much the tuition fees are for the sunway to momash pre-U.....cos I went to sunway website and there is no link nor info regarding this....
the monash university in sunway is dealing exclusively with tertiary studies.

it doesn't deal with pre-university courses i.e. in your case, MUFY.
nokia2003
post May 23 2009, 10:21 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(edennature @ May 22 2009, 05:49 PM)
any law offers in malaysia campus
nope. they do not offer law in the sunway campus. reason cited is due to the expensive cost to stock up law books and materials.

they only offer business law as a major to the business and commerce degree.

as for the australian counterpart, law is primarily offered in the clayton campus.
nokia2003
post May 24 2009, 03:29 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ May 23 2009, 10:39 PM)
iz der any engineering course offered by monash msia that twin with the one in clayton? somthg like 2+2...etc?
the word twinning, is not applicable to monash; it is either a transfer or an exchange.

so there is no such nonsense as 2 + 2 et cetera
nokia2003
post May 30 2009, 10:46 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ May 29 2009, 12:12 AM)
Already applied for bachelor in commerce (Econs & business law) thru credit transfer..Hope they let me in thru 2nd year la..Aih..T.T
bachelor of commerce? that means you are coming over to clayton? biggrin.gif

Added on May 30, 2009, 10:53 pm
QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ May 28 2009, 05:30 PM)
erk.. well! we shouldn't do the comparison between rich or poor kids. The background doesn count so much. It is abt ther personality and attitude of the person! so no matter you are from rich or poor background, only yourself can make a difference! no argue abt the financial background

Added on May 28, 2009, 5:32 pm

wow, hostel ar? quite costly wor... better u take some time to survey and find yr room within sunway resident area smile.gif

well, for the food science courses, the mark allocation and exam and so on, u may log onto monash website and check the subjects offered for yr major. Diff sub diff condition smile.gif

Added on May 28, 2009, 5:36 pm

i dun think np is applied for 1st or 2nd yr student. Indeed jst for 3rd yr student. Monash in M'sia is really funny. They seem overwrite the rules of Monash in Aus.

I heard my friend from aussie saying that Monash Australia does apply NP for 1-3 yr students. However, Monash M'sia has changed to applicable only to 3rd yr student.

I would suggest u to visit yr school office to check out on this matter!
i second the underlined statement. the hostel provided by the sunway group is a total rip off i have to say.

furthermore, i loathed the idea of sharing the room with someone else (or in some cases, 4); almost non-existence privacy.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: May 30 2009, 10:53 PM
nokia2003
post May 31 2009, 01:21 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ May 31 2009, 12:35 AM)
No..Sunway punya..Not sure of the course name I applied but related to Economics la..

If can accept me into year 2 then Ill be very happy...haha
oh i see. are you majoring in economics or an independent degree itself i.e. bachelor of economics?

because as far i know, bachelor of economics is only offered in clayton (can someone verify my statement?)

but since you mentioned bachelor of commerce, it is likely that you are planning to major in it?

nokia2003
post May 31 2009, 01:49 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ May 31 2009, 01:46 AM)
Yea..Two majors..Economics and Business Law..Submitted the application the form last week..And no its not Clayton..haha
oic. it is called bachelor of business and commerce (BBusCom) in sunway by the way! laugh.gif

good luck!

Added on June 3, 2009, 1:59 pmgot this e-mail from monash this morning. maybe useful for prospective monash international students.

Special $100 Offer by Custom House for Monash International Students

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 3 2009, 01:59 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 21 2009, 02:59 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Jun 21 2009, 11:02 AM)
Guys, do you have any idea how I can defer one of my exam papers?
if you are business student, go to the business school and there is a form to fill up.

however you really need a good reason to defer it.
nokia2003
post Jun 21 2009, 06:03 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(CyberTroop @ Jun 21 2009, 04:58 PM)
Alright, thanks for your help.

On a side note, any Business Law students here?

Any idea where we can get the sample solutions for the various pass year questions? Especially 2004 and 2005.

mann... i cannot remember where are my notes already. i passed it to a friend and she said she lost track of it.

but it has all the solutions and those mind maps pointing to the correct common law cases/statutes for each unique scenario

you should be hanging out in the library closer towards the examination date, and approach random students who are currently taking the unit as well.

i compiled most of my notes by doing that.
nokia2003
post Jul 5 2009, 06:19 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Polar @ Jul 5 2009, 05:56 PM)
Hey guys. Once you finish your degree do you plan to take up Honours? What do you get from having an Hons qualification?
honours is looked upon more highly in australia.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0419sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:15 PM