hey guys anybody knows what I need to get in Taylor's Business Foundation to apply to Monash in Australia?
University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus
Aug 11 2009, 12:18 AM
4,541 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
hey guys anybody knows what I need to get in Taylor's Business Foundation to apply to Monash in Australia?
Aug 11 2009, 10:42 PM
370 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Hello guys, this is a self-indulgent/confused/worried post. Any form of sensible answer will be greatly appreciated
So the story goes as this, im currently doing sam in taylors and my internal results aren't exactly the greatest thing on earth. Then again, its not all doom and gloom. Um, I would say slightly above average, what are four Bs and a C account for these days anyway? Regardless, monash has always been top of my list as i prefer staying in malaysia for a few more years with the option of moving abroad if i meet the criteria. and after much research and stuff, its still quite confusing no? i mean as in the requirements and stuff to enter uni. im heading towards the placement center this friday so i'd like to prepare a few things before i meet the counselor. I know it is written that 75% is the minimum requirement for entrance but what would be the minimal tertiary score to "more or less" safely guarantee acceptance? Also, are there any form of special requirements such as an A in English, or a B in Math? i know it all comes down to choice of course but lets keep it general. Also, when should i submit my application? Sorry, if the post annoyed anyone. My trials are due next month and im a worried sock right now. Thanks in advance for anyone who's willing to give a heads up |
Aug 11 2009, 11:04 PM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
you are not going to get any sensible answer without specifying the course of study you want...........the cut offs varies significantly from course to course........
Aug 13 2009, 02:02 AM
14 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: Castle in the clouds :D |
Aug 15 2009, 10:03 AM
2 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
HI i am from singapore and i would like to apply for monash malaysia's engineering. i hv a dip from sg wif a gpa of 2.9. will they accept me? will i be exempted from yr 1 and be able to proceed to yr 2 onwards. and also, issit possible to transfer to the clayton campus on the third yr? meaning like totally transferring into AU and getting the same cert as them.
how will the cert and transcripts look like after graduating from sunway's campus? issit the same as the ones in clayton? thanks so much for ur help. |
Aug 16 2009, 06:28 PM
718 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(Ice_Milo @ Aug 15 2009, 10:03 AM) HI i am from singapore and i would like to apply for monash malaysia's engineering. i hv a dip from sg wif a gpa of 2.9. will they accept me? will i be exempted from yr 1 and be able to proceed to yr 2 onwards. and also, issit possible to transfer to the clayton campus on the third yr? meaning like totally transferring into AU and getting the same cert as them. Call monash would be easier.how will the cert and transcripts look like after graduating from sunway's campus? issit the same as the ones in clayton? thanks so much for ur help. |
Aug 18 2009, 07:14 PM
310 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
QUOTE(Ice_Milo @ Aug 15 2009, 10:03 AM) HI i am from singapore and i would like to apply for monash malaysia's engineering. i hv a dip from sg wif a gpa of 2.9. will they accept me? will i be exempted from yr 1 and be able to proceed to yr 2 onwards. and also, issit possible to transfer to the clayton campus on the third yr? meaning like totally transferring into AU and getting the same cert as them. Not sure about the entrance qualification, but if you can make it you might be able to be exempted for some units in year 1. you can transfer any time you want actually, as long as you meet the academic qualifications, which isn't that high lah i think.how will the cert and transcripts look like after graduating from sunway's campus? issit the same as the ones in clayton? thanks so much for ur help. This post has been edited by Makakeke: Aug 18 2009, 07:15 PM |
Aug 24 2009, 11:05 PM
2 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
is there lots of drop outs? coz after viewing previous threads on monash there seem to hv lots of comments of pple dropping out. i tink tats really scary. any idea wads the percentile of students dropping out for engine?
Aug 25 2009, 02:39 PM
630 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Hi Im currently doing pre-med A levels now, results are so-so only.
Do I have to struggle for a place lets say I wanna do business and I only meet the minimum requirement? Is monash really strict about these? |
Aug 25 2009, 08:23 PM
40 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
hi everyone, I'm looking IT - Network Security courses. So i don't know Monash Uni is good with this courses? and...if i want go to monash campus form KLCC, how can i go?
Thanks. |
Aug 25 2009, 11:44 PM
282 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
i wish to enter bachelor of pharmacy that was offered by monash university. is monash university malaysia campus offered twinning programme for pharmacy or i have to finish the entire programme in malaysia?
This post has been edited by minshuen: Aug 25 2009, 11:44 PM |
Aug 26 2009, 11:31 AM
9,270 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere out there |
QUOTE(liptonpc @ Aug 25 2009, 08:23 PM) hi everyone, I'm looking IT - Network Security courses. So i don't know Monash Uni is good with this courses? and...if i want go to monash campus form KLCC, how can i go? Personally I don't think that Network security related courses are suitable at the undergrad level, as such type of work involved revolves mainly around working experience with networks. And there's no way that its possible to cram enough content into a 3 year degree for such specializations. Hence its better to take something more fundamental for your undergrad degree, then look for professional certifications for the specializations.Thanks. From KLCC, I guess you can take the LRT to Kelana Jaya, then switch to the feeder bus that'll drop you off at the Pyramid. Correct me if I'm a bit off on this though, as I've not taken the feeder bus in years. Added on August 26, 2009, 11:32 am QUOTE(minshuen @ Aug 25 2009, 11:44 PM) i wish to enter bachelor of pharmacy that was offered by monash university. is monash university malaysia campus offered twinning programme for pharmacy or i have to finish the entire programme in malaysia? Monash Malaysia is a full campus, hence the term 'twinning programme' does not really apply. However for courses that are offered in multiple campuses, you do have the option to transfer between campuses. But check with the relevant school for details on this, as each school will have different requirements in order for you to do the transfer.Added on August 26, 2009, 11:34 am QUOTE(Ice_Milo @ Aug 15 2009, 10:03 AM) HI i am from singapore and i would like to apply for monash malaysia's engineering. i hv a dip from sg wif a gpa of 2.9. will they accept me? will i be exempted from yr 1 and be able to proceed to yr 2 onwards. and also, issit possible to transfer to the clayton campus on the third yr? meaning like totally transferring into AU and getting the same cert as them. On the getting into Monash and the exemptions, you'll need to give the engineering school a call and ask them yourself. how will the cert and transcripts look like after graduating from sunway's campus? issit the same as the ones in clayton? thanks so much for ur help. The cert and transcripts are the same regardless of which campus you're from. This post has been edited by fyire: Aug 26 2009, 11:34 AM |
Aug 27 2009, 10:34 PM
28 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
MONI!! 1st yr 1st SEM
Business Double major. Sunway Campus!! Reporting in! haha QUOTE(liptonpc @ Aug 25 2009, 08:23 PM) hi everyone, I'm looking IT - Network Security courses. So i don't know Monash Uni is good with this courses? and...if i want go to monash campus form KLCC, how can i go? I suggest u rent a room if u dont wanna travel so far.Thanks. N theres an IT course here, Check to web for mroe info.. wanna know more? come over haha.. now theres a free shuttle bus going around sunway pyramid to monash to the sunway hospital. |
Aug 27 2009, 10:59 PM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
QUOTE(fyire @ Aug 26 2009, 11:31 AM) Personally I don't think that Network security related courses are suitable at the undergrad level, as such type of work involved revolves mainly around working experience with networks. And there's no way that its possible to cram enough content into a 3 year degree for such specializations. Hence its better to take something more fundamental for your undergrad degree, then look for professional certifications for the specializations. not sure how it works for the engineering school (but i can safely assume that it is the same across all schools).From KLCC, I guess you can take the LRT to Kelana Jaya, then switch to the feeder bus that'll drop you off at the Pyramid. Correct me if I'm a bit off on this though, as I've not taken the feeder bus in years. Added on August 26, 2009, 11:32 am Monash Malaysia is a full campus, hence the term 'twinning programme' does not really apply. However for courses that are offered in multiple campuses, you do have the option to transfer between campuses. But check with the relevant school for details on this, as each school will have different requirements in order for you to do the transfer. Added on August 26, 2009, 11:34 am On the getting into Monash and the exemptions, you'll need to give the engineering school a call and ask them yourself. The cert and transcripts are the same regardless of which campus you're from. yes, the certificate and transcript may print "monash university", but name of the degree and unit codes will give away your campus origins with ease. i will quote my school and degree as an example. in sunway, the business degree is called bachelor of business and commerce and its units are denoted by AFW, BTW et cetera. over in clayton, commanding a slightly higher entry requirement, the equivalent is, bachelor of commerce and its unit are represented by AFC, BTC et cetera. i was in at a career seminar, organised by monash university itself, not long ago and a few reputable firms came to present talks and due to recessions, one of them, for the first time, is actually distinguishing applicants by campuses. This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 27 2009, 11:11 PM |
Aug 28 2009, 12:54 AM
9,270 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere out there |
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Aug 27 2009, 10:59 PM) not sure how it works for the engineering school (but i can safely assume that it is the same across all schools). The business school was one huge mess before, with each campus having their own differences. So far for FIT, its a bit easier, especially for Comp Sci, where the subjects are exactly the same, with the same subject code as well as in Clayton.yes, the certificate and transcript may print "monash university", but name of the degree and unit codes will give away your campus origins with ease. i will quote my school and degree as an example. in sunway, the business degree is called bachelor of business and commerce and its units are denoted by AFW, BTW et cetera. over in clayton, commanding a slightly higher entry requirement, the equivalent is, bachelor of commerce and its unit are represented by AFC, BTC et cetera. i was in at a career seminar, organised by monash university itself, not long ago and a few reputable firms came to present talks and due to recessions, one of them, for the first time, is actually distinguishing applicants by campuses. |
Aug 28 2009, 01:48 AM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
QUOTE(fyire @ Aug 28 2009, 12:54 AM) The business school was one huge mess before, with each campus having their own differences. So far for FIT, its a bit easier, especially for Comp Sci, where the subjects are exactly the same, with the same subject code as well as in Clayton. i was actually replying in context of Ice_Milo's post i.e school of engineering. |
Aug 30 2009, 03:07 AM
599 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(alwin @ Aug 27 2009, 10:34 PM) MONI!! 1st yr 1st SEM Hey dude, are u in my class? August intake hereBusiness Double major. Sunway Campus!! Reporting in! haha I suggest u rent a room if u dont wanna travel so far. N theres an IT course here, Check to web for mroe info.. wanna know more? come over haha.. now theres a free shuttle bus going around sunway pyramid to monash to the sunway hospital. Btw, anybody know how to join the Monash Music Club and other clubs in monash? And was wondering how can i get a tutor at Monash to teach me the subjects im taking? This post has been edited by Iliveunderwater: Aug 30 2009, 03:46 AM |
Aug 30 2009, 09:50 AM
51 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
QUOTE(Ice_Milo @ Aug 15 2009, 10:03 AM) HI i am from singapore and i would like to apply for monash malaysia's engineering. i hv a dip from sg wif a gpa of 2.9. will they accept me? will i be exempted from yr 1 and be able to proceed to yr 2 onwards. and also, issit possible to transfer to the clayton campus on the third yr? meaning like totally transferring into AU and getting the same cert as them. how will the cert and transcripts look like after graduating from sunway's campus? issit the same as the ones in clayton? thanks so much for ur help. 1) monash will ask you for your diploma units syllabus, in this case. they'll see if they can exempt you from any one or more subjects. but i had a case with a family friend's daughter who also came into monash for degree after her diploma. she had to start from year 1 like everyone else though because they didn't find her units syllabus up to their standard. so you see, it varies. for what unit(s) you get exempted from, you'll have to wait and see what monash says. 2) yes, it is possible to transfer to clayton campus for third year. many of my classmates did that. however, the units required for malaysian and australian campuses to undertake can be quite different. so you'll have to check and see if in your second year here, you're required to take a different set of subjects from the others. some subjects may be a prerequisite to a unit down under, but not here in malaysia. if you're intending to change campus later on, be forewarned and be prepared. 3) the certs are the same. they don't write campus name there. as for academic transcripts, the format is the same, but i cant remember if they write the campus names there. QUOTE(zacktan @ Aug 25 2009, 02:39 PM) Hi Im currently doing pre-med A levels now, results are so-so only. Do I have to struggle for a place lets say I wanna do business and I only meet the minimum requirement? Is monash really strict about these? as long as you meet the minimum requirement, monash will take you in. they're more business minded than quality conscious. but if you're under minimum requirement (but not too far away), most likely you'll be put on probation for 1 semester which you must score distinction average to continue. this was back in my time. i don't know what's the requirement now. but the probation thing is still on. |
Sep 2 2009, 01:32 AM
2,030 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Melbourne |
Apani, Monash GG liao? Week 7. Week of doom for business/commer/busines and commer students.
Sep 2 2009, 06:35 PM
1,344 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
Anyone taking Accounting Theory? Up to now, I still don't understand what's going on heh
| Change to: | 0.0181sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:52 AM |