125 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Bottom

University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus

hadoupening
post Feb 14 2011, 05:44 PM

476 posts

Hey, erm, quick question here for BEng seniors, when do we choose our major? Is it when we have to choose our 2nd year subjects? Or do we have to choose right away when we start out first sem?

Also, are there quotas for certain majors? Eg, we (as in everyone from the same year) can't all choose Chem Eng?

Thanks!
tygerprinz
post Feb 14 2011, 06:18 PM

31 posts

Anyone taking arts or communications at Monash? Are they any good?
Iliveunderwater
post Feb 14 2011, 06:59 PM

599 posts

I am going to, seems like they have films script writing classes.
munkeyflo
post Feb 14 2011, 07:03 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 14 2011, 04:25 PM)
shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

need reach at 8am a?? waaaaaaaaaaaa gonna appreciate my beauty sleep these last few days
Depends la. If you don't mind parking right at the back and walk for few minutes under hot sun then 8.30 or 8.45am reach also can lor. tongue.gif

Steel Up
post Feb 14 2011, 07:44 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 7 2011, 11:44 AM)
orientation schedule is out.

http://www.monash.edu.my/Student-services/...es-program.html

buahaha my registration is at 10.45am. don't need early early go there avoid jam. XD problem now is finding parking........... hmm.gif
Thanks for the link. Hmm, I don't really see anything crucial in the timetable. As far as the systems go, they've already taught us about WES and Allocate+ around 2 weeks ago. Unless I missed something else here, could someone highlight to me what is so important about the orientation?

Seems like it's mostly about briefings and workshops, and based on my experience of past orientations, I tend to forget all that within weeks. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Steel Up: Feb 14 2011, 07:53 PM
Aar0nY
post Feb 14 2011, 08:37 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Granger @ Feb 14 2011, 05:18 PM)
If i'm gonna major in mechanical engineering later, izzit better to take physics for engineering or process system analysis?
Physics is definitely better for you cause it used to be a recommended subject before this coming semester.
If you intend to major in Chemical Engineering, PSA is a HIGHLY recommended subject.

Added on February 14, 2011, 8:41 pm
QUOTE(hadoupening @ Feb 14 2011, 05:44 PM)
Hey, erm, quick question here for BEng seniors, when do we choose our major? Is it when we have to choose our 2nd year subjects? Or do we have to choose right away when we start out first sem?

Also, are there quotas for certain majors? Eg, we (as in everyone from the same year) can't all choose Chem Eng?

Thanks!
No, if you are entering Monash this coming semester, you will only have to choose your major by September.
There's usually not quota.
But from what I heard, if you intend to major in Electrical and Computer System, you must pass Maths and Electrical.

By the way, I have some Year 1 books which you guys might want to check out =D

This post has been edited by Aar0nY: Feb 14 2011, 08:41 PM
Iliveunderwater
post Feb 14 2011, 09:07 PM

599 posts

im doing an intercampus student exchange thing to aussieland , im from monash sunway going to monash aussie for either 6 months or 1 year, I wanna live there for free for 6 months can ar? Anybody know anyway I can get a free place to stay? Any friends here willing to let me sleep in their room for free? lol. the accomodation is just expensive. Im not even transferring.
Aar0nY
post Feb 14 2011, 09:11 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Feb 14 2011, 09:07 PM)
im doing an intercampus student exchange thing to aussieland , im from monash sunway going to monash aussie for either 6 months or 1 year, I wanna live there for free for 6 months can ar? Anybody know anyway I can get a free place to stay? Any friends here willing to let me sleep in their room for free? lol. the accomodation is just expensive. Im not even transferring.
So you are transferring to Australia for a semester or two? hmm.gif
I assume you are a Business student?
Well, you can rent a room near Monash, my seniors are doing that biggrin.gif
Kennynoob
post Feb 14 2011, 09:20 PM

110 posts

Any 1 know how much will it cost to study degree in mechanic or mechatronic enginnering in aus monash ?
Aar0nY
post Feb 14 2011, 09:28 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Kennynoob @ Feb 14 2011, 09:20 PM)
Any 1 know how much will it cost to study degree in mechanic or mechatronic enginnering in aus monash ?
It costs roughly RM480k.
Kennynoob
post Feb 14 2011, 09:40 PM

110 posts

DO u know where can i get d info on9 regrading d fee structure and campus that provide both degree ?
Aar0nY
post Feb 14 2011, 09:44 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Kennynoob @ Feb 14 2011, 09:40 PM)
DO u know where can i get d info on9 regrading d fee structure and campus that provide both degree ?
google monash university and go thru their website. biggrin.gif
You can also ask education agents who will give you brochures to various universities.
Iliveunderwater
post Feb 14 2011, 10:22 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(Aar0nY @ Feb 14 2011, 09:11 PM)
So you are transferring to Australia for a semester or two? hmm.gif
I assume you are a Business student?
Well, you can rent a room near Monash, my seniors are doing that  biggrin.gif
rent a room is already like $500-600 man right??? expensive
Aar0nY
post Feb 14 2011, 11:42 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Feb 14 2011, 10:22 PM)
A$200 per week in melb city.
maybe you can get around that price?
It's only for 1 semester or 1 year,right?
go for it!!
mind if I ask what course are you taking?
zstan
post Feb 14 2011, 11:54 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Feb 14 2011, 07:03 PM)
Depends la. If you don't mind parking right at the back and walk for few minutes under hot sun then 8.30 or 8.45am reach also can lor. tongue.gif
then i'd rather sleep for 15 more minutes and walk under the hot sun then. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Steel Up @ Feb 14 2011, 07:44 PM)
Thanks for the link. Hmm, I don't really see anything crucial in the timetable. As far as the systems go, they've already taught us about WES and Allocate+ around 2 weeks ago. Unless I missed something else here, could someone highlight to me what is so important about the orientation?

Seems like it's mostly about briefings and workshops, and based on my experience of past orientations, I tend to forget all that within weeks.  sweat.gif
well, you can use this opportunity and make new friends.
Iliveunderwater
post Feb 15 2011, 12:20 AM

599 posts

QUOTE(Aar0nY @ Feb 14 2011, 11:42 PM)
A$200 per week in melb city.
maybe you can get around that price?
It's only for 1 semester or 1 year,right?
go for it!!
mind if I ask what course are you taking?
I'm from business, but this year actually I change to bachelor of arts cuz I failed the business subjects. Why ar?

This post has been edited by Iliveunderwater: Feb 15 2011, 12:21 AM
munkeyflo
post Feb 15 2011, 10:27 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Feb 14 2011, 10:22 PM)
The price is like that. That's why not everyone can afford to study overseas la. Food and lodging is gonna be expensive. Don't think you can get any free place to stay unless you have relatives living there. But then it will depend which campus you will be studying as well cause some of them are quite far from the city area. It's only gonna be one or two semester, just pay la nonit to look here look there to save up cause can't really save much one.

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 14 2011, 11:54 PM)
then i'd rather sleep for 15 more minutes and walk under the hot sun then.  biggrin.gif
well, you can use this opportunity and make new friends.
Haha. Me too. Sometimes I sleep even longer that's why always end up late lol. Best to reach before 9.30am la. Cause by then sure full edi. This was last year la, hopefully this year less ppl drive to uni. Hehe.
Aar0nY
post Feb 15 2011, 12:03 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Feb 15 2011, 12:20 AM)
I'm from business, but this year actually I change to bachelor of arts cuz I failed the business subjects. Why ar?
just curious. whistling.gif
ryan18
post Feb 15 2011, 12:37 PM

2,406 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Feb 15 2011, 10:27 AM)
The price is like that. That's why not everyone can afford to study overseas la. Food and lodging is gonna be expensive. Don't think you can get any free place to stay unless you have relatives living there. But then it will depend which campus you will be studying as well cause some of them are quite far from the city area. It's only gonna be one or two semester, just pay la nonit to look here look there to save up cause can't really save much one.
Haha. Me too. Sometimes I sleep even longer that's why always end up late lol. Best to reach before 9.30am la. Cause by then sure full edi. This was last year la, hopefully this year less ppl drive to uni. Hehe.
is 500-600 sharing room or single?
Iliveunderwater
post Feb 15 2011, 02:01 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Feb 15 2011, 10:27 AM)
Actually, I do have a somebody I know there that can gimme free place to stay or student price actually, Hes an australian citizen that I met that came to sunway for a while, hehe thats why I asking for a free place to stay, just that the prob is that guy is not white australian he is turkish australian, sweat.gif. lol. My parents would freak out if they hear I living at his house. But anyway, I think I just gonna get a room on campus easier.

Clayton vs Caulfied, which one better??

Clayton is bigger but is it abit tougher there in terms of academics?? I scared d, cuz I failed here. Cuz I remember the requiremnets to enter there is higher than other aussie campus. If hard then I go caulfield. What is caulfield like? is it some kampung area blink.gif

Added on February 15, 2011, 2:04 pm
QUOTE(Aar0nY @ Feb 15 2011, 12:03 PM)
just curious. whistling.gif
U know me is it? haha come find me la in sunway campus. I need more friends LOL.

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Feb 15 2011, 12:37 PM)
is 500-600 sharing room or single?
That one I count by "per month" actually. Should be around 150 per week. I still tak biasa with their system counting per week. blink.gif

Added on February 15, 2011, 2:18 pmAny arts students here btw?? Communication??

This post has been edited by Iliveunderwater: Feb 15 2011, 02:18 PM

125 Pages « < 73 74 75 76 77 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:59 PM