Life Sciences The PHARMACY Thread, everything you need to know/ask

cckkpr
post Feb 9 2012, 10:29 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 4 2012, 12:30 AM)
Monash's intake for this year dropped a lot. Apparently many people couldnt make the grade.... Either their pre u results or ielts can't make it... Of course competition from other places makes things more difficult as well..
I thought there are only 50 places and the final numbers should be close to that with "last minutes".
zstan
post Feb 9 2012, 11:44 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(worrying @ Feb 7 2012, 01:03 PM)
I am really interested with pharmacy course but with my alvls result i am not eligible to get into IMU, UCSI,AIMST... i am only eligible to go MAHSA, Manipal..can i get more info about mahsa?is their pharmacy course is recognised by MOH?I saw a post said that mahsa pharmacy course is not good..is it true??or should i think of other course instead of Pharmacy?
What you pay is what you get. Maybe you should reconsider doing pharmacy.

QUOTE(remixmania @ Feb 9 2012, 10:09 AM)
hi

which IPTS the government give JPA schoolarship for pharmacy course,?
UCSI ?

since ucsi is already listed in malaysia pharmacy board,
None.

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 9 2012, 10:29 PM)
I thought there are only 50 places and the final numbers should be close to that with "last minutes".
As of now the current numbers are less than 50....
nialjq
post Feb 10 2012, 04:06 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 9 2012, 11:44 PM)
As of now the current numbers are less than 50....
issit really that bad? Is monash hard to get in? Are they very strict about your results?

Added on February 10, 2012, 4:41 pm
QUOTE(lotsatuna @ Dec 13 2011, 02:27 AM)
hello all, i'm in a pickle and i need some help...

first, let me establish that my main goal is to leave the country and work elsewhere, preferably in the UK (for urgent reasons that i cannot disclose, no further questions on this please). however, i'm on a tight budget and i'm unable to consider the more expensive choices such as Nottingham's or IMU's twinning programmes. at the moment i have reduced my scope to 3 options, which are the Taylor-Cardiff programme (which is likely to be dropped from this list because i haven't found out how much the tuition fees cost and i believe it's going to be as exorbitant as Notts and IMU), the SEGi-Sunderland programme and USCI's BPharm programme.

is a good idea to consider Taylor's and SEGi's programmes which are relatively new... or is it a risky move? are the lecturers and facilities there good? i have checked out several other threads, but the opinions on the matter seem to be inconsistent and confusing, so it would be great if someone could provide an unbiased point of view. also, how do i find out whether these programmes are fully accredited?

the University of Sunderland isn't ranked very highly and pharmacists are no longer on the UK occupation shortage list... which means it will be much harder to obtain a working visa and remain in the UK, am i right? so is it worth it to go for SEGi's twinning programme just because i MIGHT have a chance to TRY getting a job in the UK? or is it better for me to save money and go for USCI's much more reputable course (that's the impression i've gotten), and postpone my plans to leave? is it much more difficult to leave later, since i'll have to go through a conversion course (that may not guarantee a job anyway)?

or are there other pathways that i can consider?
any advice is much appreciated!
forgive me if i've repeated some frequently asked questions... i'm an SPM leaver who has just begun searching and all this new information has left me disoriented and a little panicky...
As much as Taylor's would be new in Pharmacy, I think they would still have the quality in education. I agree that Taylor's fees will be pricey but there are scholarships and loans available to apply.

If you still think that you can't afford to spend so much. Then I heard UCSI is quite good for Pharmacy. Not sure about the fees though.

This post has been edited by nialjq: Feb 10 2012, 04:41 PM
zstan
post Feb 10 2012, 04:47 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(nialjq @ Feb 10 2012, 04:06 PM)
issit really that bad? Is monash hard to get in? Are they very strict about your results?

Added on February 10, 2012, 4:41 pm

As much as Taylor's would be new in Pharmacy, I think they would still have the quality in education. I agree that Taylor's fees will be pricey but there are scholarships and loans available to apply.

If you still think that you can't afford to spend so much. Then I heard UCSI is quite good for Pharmacy. Not sure about the fees though.
It's not that hard to get in if you have the results and IELTS grade... but yes they are rather strict with the results as of now...

Taylor's pharmacy program should be ok considering they priced away one to two top lecturer from Monash as well as UCSI...
jerk
post Feb 10 2012, 07:40 PM

1,039 posts

@(bro)

which uni are you going?

cckkpr
post Feb 10 2012, 08:21 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 10 2012, 04:47 PM)
It's not that hard to get in if you have the results and IELTS grade... but yes they are rather strict with the results as of now...

Taylor's pharmacy program should be ok considering they priced away one to two top lecturer from Monash as well as UCSI...
Getting some good lecturers doesn't guarantee a good program, if not business will be just a breeze. Other factors like facilities, policies, research, access n collaboration, updates, reputation n longer term prospects are equally, if not, more important. It is also vital that it is commercially viable for longer term sustainability.
zstan
post Feb 10 2012, 10:10 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 10 2012, 08:21 PM)
Getting some good lecturers doesn't guarantee a good program, if not business will be just a breeze. Other factors like facilities, policies, research, access n collaboration, updates, reputation n longer term prospects are equally, if not, more important. It is also vital that it is commercially viable for longer term sustainability.
Well the problem in Malaysia is good lecturers are hard to come by especially local ones. And these lecturers already have research papers at their belt though it may be not so significant compared to those from London School of Pharmacy.

Facilities wise I think Taylor's would definitely be able to afford to get new equipments though their journal accessibility will not be as good as Monash's but if they are willing to spend, why not?

I am just comparing Taylor's with the likes of our local IPTS. So please don't bring top 50 universities in the world in this argument.
cckkpr
post Feb 10 2012, 11:46 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 10 2012, 10:10 PM)
Well the problem in Malaysia is good lecturers are hard to come by especially local ones. And these lecturers already have research papers at their belt though it may be not so significant compared to those from London School of Pharmacy.

Facilities wise I think Taylor's would definitely be able to afford to get new equipments though their journal accessibility will not be as good as Monash's but if they are willing to spend, why not?

I am just comparing Taylor's with the likes of our local IPTS. So please don't bring top 50 universities in the world in this argument.
I din quote top 50. With Clayton's backing n unable to provide a far better program, might as well close shop or look for a new dean.
zstan
post Feb 10 2012, 11:57 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 10 2012, 11:46 PM)
I din quote top 50. With Clayton's backing n unable to provide a far better program, might as well close shop or look for a new dean.
What Clayton are we talking about? I thought Taylor's is offering their own program? O.O
cckkpr
post Feb 11 2012, 08:38 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 10 2012, 11:57 PM)
What Clayton are we talking about? I thought Taylor's is offering their own program? O.O
I am referring to Monash! Basically, what I am saying is despite losing some good lecturers, the quality will not be affected. Checks and balances are put in place and with the syllabus, it won't be far off. The loss of a CEO will not affect the business direction if you have a strong board of directors. The board dictates the policies n the CEO merely implements.
zstan
post Feb 11 2012, 10:53 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 11 2012, 08:38 AM)
I am referring to Monash! Basically, what I am saying is despite losing some good lecturers, the quality will not be affected. Checks and balances are put in place and with the syllabus, it won't be far off. The loss of a CEO will not affect the business direction if you have a strong board of directors. The board dictates the policies n the CEO merely implements.
Oh I think I was not specific enough. The lecturer was from the science school, not pharmacy school. tongue.gif
cckkpr
post Feb 11 2012, 10:58 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 11 2012, 10:53 AM)
Oh I think I was not specific enough. The lecturer was from the science school, not pharmacy school.  tongue.gif
You will still get your monies worth!
zstan
post Feb 11 2012, 12:24 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 11 2012, 10:58 AM)
You will still get your monies worth!
Hopefully. By the way, the pharmacy school for Monash is at Parkville Not Clayton.
cruelfacex
post Feb 13 2012, 05:42 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(knowledge_seeker @ Jan 20 2012, 02:17 PM)
Public universities & IPTS need cgpa 3.8 & above. I only got 3.68 for my diploma. That is the problem why I dont apply locally. Even my senior got 3.75 not accepted to study in UiTM.
u from which U? uitm is accepting diploma grads with 3.5 cgpa sweat.gif
vivacioushun
post Feb 13 2012, 06:42 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(cruelfacex @ Feb 13 2012, 05:42 PM)
u from which U? uitm is accepting diploma grads with 3.5 cgpa  sweat.gif
3.5+ with interview for diploma grads i guess but that was for last year intake, im not sure bout this year though.
zstan
post Feb 14 2012, 02:00 PM

15,856 posts

Looks like what pharmy stated is true after all laugh.gif

http://www.scribd.com/doc/81479707/MyPSA-V...ices-Department

PRP's can be trained at private sector starting from July this year liao.. and many other stuffs..
zstan
post Feb 15 2012, 04:19 PM

15,856 posts

monash's intake grew to 40. may increase in the next few days.
cckkpr
post Feb 15 2012, 04:46 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 15 2012, 04:19 PM)
Sad for those that were rejected earlier and good for these "last minutes" who may or may not have better results than those earlier ones.

Nothing to argue as these performed better at the "interviews", would be the reply.

With autonomy given to local IPTAs now, expect more "mess" with this being one of the selection criteria. Academic excellence will never guarantee a place AND MCA will still have a role to play!
zstan
post Feb 15 2012, 07:34 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Feb 15 2012, 04:46 PM)
Sad for those that were rejected earlier and good for these "last minutes" who may or may not have better results than those earlier ones.

Nothing to argue as these performed better at the "interviews", would be the reply.

With autonomy given to local IPTAs now, expect more "mess" with this being one of the selection criteria. Academic excellence will never guarantee a place AND MCA will still have a role to play!
Err.. i don't think it has anything with last minutes or not... today is the last day of acceptance after all... many are just weighing their options right to the last minute i guess...
zeng
post Feb 15 2012, 08:18 PM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 15 2012, 04:19 PM)

Is it a case of 50 or more offers has been made by Monash Msia to those who meet the 'high' requirement ?

So actually there are more qualified applicants compared to available places ? smile.gif

134 Pages « < 124 125 126 127 128 > » Top

0.0380sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:35 PM