Life Sciences The PHARMACY Thread, everything you need to know/ask

cckkpr
post Jul 28 2010, 06:18 PM

4,515 posts

Would SG recognise the Pharm and MBBS programs of Monash Sunway in the near future?
cckkpr
post Jul 28 2010, 09:10 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 28 2010, 07:00 PM)
time will tell. Mostly will recognise MBBS first if it would happen. the pharmacy course haven produced their first graduates yet.
Being self accreditation on courses may speed up the process, hopefully.
cckkpr
post Jul 28 2010, 09:18 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 28 2010, 09:12 PM)
hahaha...speaking on behalf of your relative? icon_idea.gif
Spot on!

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Jul 28 2010, 09:22 PM
cckkpr
post Aug 5 2010, 08:33 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(sandrateoh @ Aug 5 2010, 08:05 PM)
Btw,i plan to do my A level as private candidates,do u guys think that this can work out?will it be very tough?besides self study,i will find tutor for A level to teach me the subject lor..cos i m had wated 3 years for dip.pharm d,so now if wan to do a level,register as private candidates is the fastest way for pre-u lo..any idea???thanks..
After making one mistake, avoid another mistake going forward.

Why not do full time. Need not be A levels, what abt sam or mufy.
cckkpr
post Apr 20 2011, 05:46 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(lsenn @ Apr 18 2011, 09:33 PM)
i juz wana ask tat did the monash and imu accept foundation in science qualification??
You can opt for Ausmat or SAM if you do not want to do A levels. One year course, not so tough but will struggle a bit in Uni.
cckkpr
post Aug 30 2011, 03:32 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 30 2011, 03:24 PM)
Yes you have to wait...there are no other intakes for Monash..
If there are still places, they would still consider, dont they?

Provided the STPM results are out before end of February.
cckkpr
post Oct 7 2011, 05:31 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 6 2011, 05:44 PM)
with current production levels, there will be a surplus of pharmacists soon, in tandem with surplus of doctors....the compulsory service for doctors may also be reduced, or even abolished within the next few years....
The Sun newspaper quoted him saying that the reduction in compulsory service is to ENCOURAGE more students to take up pharmacy to increase the numbers to meet the demand!
cckkpr
post Jan 6 2012, 08:39 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 6 2012, 04:01 PM)
This interviews conducted only started this year so technically there's no seniors who are able to guide you.
They have interviews now? What's up. Last year, they took in some without straight As so the interview now is to justify such selection.

cckkpr
post Jan 6 2012, 10:59 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 6 2012, 08:47 PM)
monash msia is no different from the other ipts.....they have to fill places, justify the programmes and salaries, and they have NO access to csp (commonwealth funding of students in oz) to choose the best students.....reality in msia is, availability of money is more important than ability of talents....nobody with less than atar 99 gets in csp medical places in clayton.....and they take in people with atar 93 in msia campus......
Don't these high atar achievers apply to UK for med where choices are better, costs cheaper rather than oz? PR?
cckkpr
post Feb 9 2012, 10:29 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 4 2012, 12:30 AM)
Monash's intake for this year dropped a lot. Apparently many people couldnt make the grade.... Either their pre u results or ielts can't make it... Of course competition from other places makes things more difficult as well..
I thought there are only 50 places and the final numbers should be close to that with "last minutes".
cckkpr
post Feb 10 2012, 08:21 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 10 2012, 04:47 PM)
It's not that hard to get in if you have the results and IELTS grade... but yes they are rather strict with the results as of now...

Taylor's pharmacy program should be ok considering they priced away one to two top lecturer from Monash as well as UCSI...
Getting some good lecturers doesn't guarantee a good program, if not business will be just a breeze. Other factors like facilities, policies, research, access n collaboration, updates, reputation n longer term prospects are equally, if not, more important. It is also vital that it is commercially viable for longer term sustainability.
cckkpr
post Feb 10 2012, 11:46 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 10 2012, 10:10 PM)
Well the problem in Malaysia is good lecturers are hard to come by especially local ones. And these lecturers already have research papers at their belt though it may be not so significant compared to those from London School of Pharmacy.

Facilities wise I think Taylor's would definitely be able to afford to get new equipments though their journal accessibility will not be as good as Monash's but if they are willing to spend, why not?

I am just comparing Taylor's with the likes of our local IPTS. So please don't bring top 50 universities in the world in this argument.
I din quote top 50. With Clayton's backing n unable to provide a far better program, might as well close shop or look for a new dean.
cckkpr
post Feb 11 2012, 08:38 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 10 2012, 11:57 PM)
What Clayton are we talking about? I thought Taylor's is offering their own program? O.O
I am referring to Monash! Basically, what I am saying is despite losing some good lecturers, the quality will not be affected. Checks and balances are put in place and with the syllabus, it won't be far off. The loss of a CEO will not affect the business direction if you have a strong board of directors. The board dictates the policies n the CEO merely implements.
cckkpr
post Feb 11 2012, 10:58 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 11 2012, 10:53 AM)
Oh I think I was not specific enough. The lecturer was from the science school, not pharmacy school.  tongue.gif
You will still get your monies worth!
cckkpr
post Feb 15 2012, 04:46 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 15 2012, 04:19 PM)
monash's intake grew to 40. may increase in the next few days.
Sad for those that were rejected earlier and good for these "last minutes" who may or may not have better results than those earlier ones.

Nothing to argue as these performed better at the "interviews", would be the reply.

With autonomy given to local IPTAs now, expect more "mess" with this being one of the selection criteria. Academic excellence will never guarantee a place AND MCA will still have a role to play!
cckkpr
post Feb 15 2012, 09:14 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Feb 15 2012, 08:18 PM)
Is it a case of 50 or more offers has been made by Monash Msia to those who meet the 'high' requirement ?

So actually there are more qualified applicants compared to available places ? smile.gif
Not likely to be more offers. If all accept, quota breached, action will be taken.

Added on February 15, 2012, 9:20 pm
QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 15 2012, 07:34 PM)
Err.. i don't think it has anything with last minutes or not... today is the last day of acceptance after all... many are just weighing their options right to the last minute i guess...
Offers for med still given out one two days ago. Maybe pharmacy cautious for time being.

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Feb 15 2012, 09:20 PM

0.0291sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:35 PM