Life Sciences The PHARMACY Thread, everything you need to know/ask
zstan
Sep 20 2012, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(Ringo starr @ Sep 20 2012, 12:45 AM) Well Im not fussy about what type of masters. perhaps a one year or 2 year masters program from melbourne australia. I see many universities there offering 1 year or 2 year programs. Also what are the chances if i intend to do practice or sit for any examination yet at my home country (malaysia) instead directly head to oz to continue studies. thanks again zstan... u mean right after graduation? then you will have to undergo one year pupilage and get registered. QUOTE(anggaPra @ Sep 20 2012, 11:23 AM) my mom who's going to pay for university so i don't have much choice..  just accept it and put my hard work on it.. sometimes life can be quite unfair lor.. all the best to you then  you could still change her if u can convince her why food science is the course for you. having said that, do you know the expectations of food science?
anggaPra
Sep 22 2012, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 20 2012, 09:52 PM) u mean right after graduation? then you will have to undergo one year pupilage and get registered. all the best to you then  you could still change her if u can convince her why food science is the course for you. having said that, do you know the expectations of food science? she actually wants me to become a doctor or dentist or should i say a 'respected' job, well at least in her mind.. but the universities fees is blardy expensive for those courses and the cheaper and closest course to her demand is to do pharmacy besides the salary is quite good.. for this, i couldn't convince her for me to do food science because a nutritionist earns lesser and it's not a popular job.. maybe this sounds a bit naive but i actually really want to become a nutritionist despite of its low salary.. i don't want to live in luxury.. just want to study and do job that i'm interested in.. but i really have no choice lar..my mom expects more from me and i got to learn to be interested in pharmacy no matter what..
zstan
Sep 23 2012, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(anggaPra @ Sep 22 2012, 05:01 PM) she actually wants me to become a doctor or dentist or should i say a 'respected' job, well at least in her mind.. but the universities fees is blardy expensive for those courses and the cheaper and closest course to her demand is to do pharmacy besides the salary is quite good.. for this, i couldn't convince her for me to do food science because a nutritionist earns lesser and it's not a popular job.. maybe this sounds a bit naive but i actually really want to become a nutritionist despite of its low salary.. i don't want to live in luxury.. just want to study and do job that i'm interested in.. but i really have no choice lar..my mom expects more from me and i got to learn to be interested in pharmacy no matter what..  well..during some time during the degree you may find it very hard to continue if its not your interest at all..anyway all the best to you
anggaPra
Sep 24 2012, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 23 2012, 07:34 PM) well..during some time during the degree you may find it very hard to continue if its not your interest at all..anyway all the best to you  well, after reading all the pharmacy threads in lyn and doing research about it i think i'm interested in pharmacy now  but i realize it's not going to be easy to complete this course
zstan
Sep 24 2012, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(anggaPra @ Sep 24 2012, 04:14 PM) well, after reading all the pharmacy threads in lyn and doing research about it i think i'm interested in pharmacy now  but i realize it's not going to be easy to complete this course trust me. the pharmacy threads and the lecturers and whatever research you are doing will never tell you the whole story. there's still lots of surprises awaiting.
anggaPra
Sep 24 2012, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 24 2012, 05:56 PM) trust me. the pharmacy threads and the lecturers and whatever research you are doing will never tell you the whole story. there's still lots of surprises awaiting.  you're making me scared liao
hvforever
Sep 25 2012, 06:17 PM
Which one is the best for BPharm, MSU, AIMST or SEGi? In terms of quality education and reasonable fees?
jerk
Sep 25 2012, 06:24 PM
@Ringo starr
why do you want to take up postgraduate in australia?
if you are interested, most university do offer exemptions towards some of their units for diploma holder like you so you might end up doing only 3 years for their bpharm.
zstan
Sep 25 2012, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(hvforever @ Sep 25 2012, 06:17 PM) Which one is the best for BPharm, MSU, AIMST or SEGi? In terms of quality education and reasonable fees? there is no 'best'... all have their pros and cons..Segi being the most expensive if you are referring to the sunderland program..
hvforever
Sep 26 2012, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 25 2012, 11:19 PM) there is no 'best'... all have their pros and cons..Segi being the most expensive if you are referring to the sunderland program.. ok..so how about AIMST?
zstan
Sep 26 2012, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(hvforever @ Sep 26 2012, 11:19 PM) ok..so how about AIMST?  should be okay i guess. but you have to go through their foundation to secure a space.
LoveMeNot
Sep 27 2012, 12:47 AM
Just something to add on.
If you guys intend to follow this route and do it over here in Malaysia:
Diploma in Pharmacy ---> Bachelor in Pharmacy
Do it only if (1) you are pretty sure that you can achieve CGPA of 3.8 above (2) you have a min of 5Bs in SPM. Else, forget about even doing the diploma - unless you're not gonna do your BSc anymore.
TSbaoz
Sep 27 2012, 08:25 PM
Ok, time to close up. Thank you all for the contributions.  v2 here. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2526438This post has been edited by baoz: Sep 27 2012, 08:25 PM