111 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Bottom

iPhone OS 3.0(OUT NOW!) + iPhone 3GS(Late July?), Apple Store Italy sells 3G[S] UNLOCKED!

matkoi
post Jun 18 2009, 01:20 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(thaisxs @ Jun 18 2009, 01:18 PM)
sry for the noob question how u reset to factory setting using itunes ? under which section ? i want to reset too
Well just open your itunes. Go to your iphone section. You can see the restore option on the Summary page.

Added on June 18, 2009, 1:24 pm
QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 18 2009, 01:14 PM)
Thats weird. OK, your restoration is done over iTunes (I assume you mean this) or just a reset on the iPhone? If it is done via iTunes, I wonder why this is happening. Shouldn't it all be consistent? Unless you're not on iValue Plan or one of those iPhone plans.
My iphone is Singtel set. My maxis is a postpaid.So you're saying I must be on the iPhone plans to get the tethering option?

This post has been edited by matkoi: Jun 18 2009, 01:24 PM
LizStephenie
post Jun 18 2009, 01:26 PM

310 posts

i just updated my iphone3g to the OS 3.0...
then i found out that i cant force my apps to quit by pressing the home button for more than 6 secs...
anybody having this problem or its just me?
lemonie
post Jun 18 2009, 01:27 PM

110 posts

must i have the latest version of itunes to upgrade to 3.0? please ans me asap

thaisxs
post Jun 18 2009, 01:30 PM

gay master
686 posts

QUOTE(lemonie @ Jun 18 2009, 01:27 PM)
yes u nid itunes 8.2 to upgrade 3.0. if u upgraded ur iphone to 3.0 n plug into a itunes that below 8.1 it will said the iPhone OS3.0 require itunes 8.2 to works.
davidgary73
post Jun 18 2009, 01:31 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(LizStephenie @ Jun 18 2009, 01:26 PM)
i just updated my iphone3g to the OS 3.0...
then i found out that i cant force my apps to quit by pressing the home button for more than 6 secs...
anybody having this problem or its just me?
Read this thread for more info: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1061070

QUOTE(lemonie @ Jun 18 2009, 01:27 PM)
Read this please as answers has been provided: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/984406
thaisxs
post Jun 18 2009, 01:33 PM

gay master
686 posts

QUOTE(matkoi @ Jun 18 2009, 01:20 PM)
Well just open your itunes. Go to your iphone section. You can see the restore option on the Summary page.

My iphone is Singtel set. My maxis is a postpaid.So you're saying I must be on the iPhone plans to get the tethering option?
bro matkoi i got the tethering option after i restore back to factory setting.

This post has been edited by thaisxs: Jun 18 2009, 01:34 PM
matkoi
post Jun 18 2009, 01:35 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(thaisxs @ Jun 18 2009, 01:33 PM)
bro matkoi i got the tethering option after i restore back to factory setting.
U restore using itunes or the iphone?
thaisxs
post Jun 18 2009, 01:38 PM

gay master
686 posts

QUOTE(matkoi @ Jun 18 2009, 01:35 PM)
U restore using itunes or the iphone?
restore using itunes. wonder did maxis do some dirty trick to avoid non maxis iPhone to use tethering ?
matkoi
post Jun 18 2009, 01:39 PM

102 posts

Did restore using the backup option or set everthing like new again.
arshad
post Jun 18 2009, 01:40 PM

Blessed
1,527 posts

Can i directly updated my iphone from JB iphone? D:
davidmak
post Jun 18 2009, 01:41 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(thaisxs @ Jun 18 2009, 01:18 PM)
sry for the noob question how u reset to factory setting using itunes ? under which section ? i want to reset too

edited : found it =x
There are two ways, one is to do a full reset from iPhone itself via the settings page and the appropriate sub-settings. Then sync with iTunes and set up as a new device. OR you use iTunes to do a restore. It will download the iPhone software, if not done already and then re-flash the phone. Then you set up again as a new device. Otherwise, you can have it sync with a backup copy done earlier.

QUOTE(matkoi @ Jun 18 2009, 01:20 PM)

I'm not sure if you really need iPhone plans to have tethering but it would make sense if this is the case. After all, you don't want expensive bills every month. I used around 45MB+ this month and the appropriate charges was around RM2xx. Then it was deducted since I have the iValue plans.

So those with iValue plans having 1GB, 2GB, 3GB, etc... now it make sense to have those plans since tethering is now an option.

sHin0bi
post Jun 18 2009, 01:53 PM

360 posts

What I dun understand is... to tether on iPhone your telco must have contract with Apple?

Ok...Nokia has tethering also right? via USB

Tethering = phone as modem right?

Coz 1.52pm and i just had Big Mac... wo...
davidmak
post Jun 18 2009, 02:02 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(sHin0bi @ Jun 18 2009, 01:53 PM)
What I dun understand is... to tether on iPhone your telco must have contract with Apple?

Ok...Nokia has tethering also right? via USB

Tethering = phone as modem right?

Coz 1.52pm and i just had Big Mac... wo...
No. Apple has already given its blessings to iPhone tethering with the release of iPhone OS v3.0 and as announced in WWDC 2009. However, the implementation is up to its telco to decide - whether to allow tethering straight from your plans or a tethering plan to be signed up separately. One way to tell is whether your telco has advertised the tethering feature. If it does, then tethering is offered. Next is to check with your telco what it takes to use tethering.

As for other phones, yes a lot of phones already have tethering in the form of internet connection sharing. It is not a problem in Malaysia because our phones are not locked as a result of bla bla bla policies. Tethering is allowed also I believe.
sHin0bi
post Jun 18 2009, 02:06 PM

360 posts

so its celcom is the reason being why the celcom iphone users cant tether.

If let's say i call them. i doubt they are going to entertain me. due to the word "iPhone" or they ask me to buy a new plan.

well let me call and see. will be back after the break
davidmak
post Jun 18 2009, 02:08 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(sHin0bi @ Jun 18 2009, 02:06 PM)
so its celcom is the reason being why the celcom iphone users cant tether.

If let's say i call them. i doubt they are going to entertain me. due to the word "iPhone" or they ask me to buy a new plan.

well let me call and see. will be back after the break
Either that or you can check out some utility to generate yourself a carrier file? I believe one of the posts in here has discussed about that.
Snuffykl
post Jun 18 2009, 02:09 PM

**emolified**
835 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jun 18 2009, 10:44 AM)
Thanks mate. I just need another person to reconfirm the settings works for DIGI.

Btw, Apple have posted the iPhone User Guide. Do download it: http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/iPhone_User_Guide.pdf

I have posted the iPhone User Guide here as well: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1061070
DG bro i can verify it works for me 2 smile.gif
geo-milano
post Jun 18 2009, 02:14 PM

237 posts

Anyone try use DG to tether ?
neekun
post Jun 18 2009, 02:14 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

To Digi users, in addition to the following:

Settings | General | Network | Cellular Data Network

APN: digimms
APN name: mms
APN password: mms
MMSproxy : 203.92.128.160
MMSC: http://mms.digi.com.my/servlets/mms

Is there any value entered for MMS Max Message Size and MMS UA Prof URL?
arshad
post Jun 18 2009, 02:18 PM

Blessed
1,527 posts

My friend said free upgrade to 3.0 at maxis tower? Is it true? xD
xyfix
post Jun 18 2009, 02:18 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Jun 18 2009, 02:14 PM)
To Digi users, in addition to the following:

Settings | General | Network | Cellular Data Network

APN: digimms
APN name: mms
APN password: mms
MMSproxy : 203.92.128.160
MMSC: http://mms.digi.com.my/servlets/mms

Is there any value entered for MMS Max Message Size and MMS UA Prof URL?
I've tested the MMS on iPhone 3G 3.0, work fine, just need to enable Data Roaming at Settings > General > Network > Data Roaming > On. Anybody know how to enable tethering on DiGi? There's no Internet Tethering menu in the Network submenu.

111 Pages « < 82 83 84 85 86 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:10 PM