how do you enable tethering on your iphone?I've upgraded to 3.0.I'm using maxis but the option is not in the network setting.
iPhone OS 3.0(OUT NOW!) + iPhone 3GS(Late July?), Apple Store Italy sells 3G[S] UNLOCKED!
Jun 18 2009, 11:50 AM
102 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Kota Damansara |
how do you enable tethering on your iphone?I've upgraded to 3.0.I'm using maxis but the option is not in the network setting.
Jun 18 2009, 12:11 PM
do i need to call maxis to enable the tethering option or someting? or maybe because I'm using the Singtel set.
Jun 18 2009, 12:24 PM
Jun 18 2009, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 18 2009, 12:24 PM) go to setting>general>international and change the region format to singapore, then it will say the day in english, i myself also want to use english for that, My carrier is Maxis 5.0. So 5.0 version does not support tethering?Added on June 18, 2009, 12:26 pm@matkoi, i believe who have the maxis 4.0 in their carrier support have the option, anyway for those who use maxis and their MMS and tethering works, what carrier name list in your setting>general>about> in a carrier section in about "thingy".. mine was maxis 4.0. This post has been edited by matkoi: Jun 18 2009, 12:30 PM |
Jun 18 2009, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 18 2009, 12:36 PM) i myself dont know how i got 4.0 but i think it was automatically update when i restore my iphone yesterday night, i still trying to send mms but it seems it can't work for the time being, i think it is because my place( i actually in my hometown) dont have stable line to send MMS. i do have the USB tethering and camera icon on my message app but still can't send any mms. will try it today when i go out. Sorry mine was Maxis 5.0. the 3.0 is the iphone firmware version.I've read it wrongly. My mms works fine. But I don't have the tethering option to turn on.try to press update in itunes maybe it will prompt update or carrier setting etc. p/s: i do have tethering option but don't have cellular network setting to set the APN,password etc. i think it was just like bro DG mention in pinned topic that for maxis, the setting merely by default. |
Jun 18 2009, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 18 2009, 12:43 PM) haha, ya lor, i nvr realise that, I don't know how I got it. Yes I got the cellular data network option. Just no tethering option to turn on.oh, how you get the 5.0 on your phone? do you have the cellular data network option on your network? yesterday i hit the restore button not update button, i think maybe maxis will send new carrier update and maybe we can update it our self, or maybe someone can share their info on how to enable tethering and mms on iphone later, i hope so... |
Jun 18 2009, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 18 2009, 12:51 PM) last time when i use firmware 2.2.1 i use the maxis setting ipcc posted from forum here, it was maxis 5.0. but i think when i restore my iphone to 3.0 and after that the carrier change to maxis 4.0, i believe it was automatic update on the iphone... i do have backup my iphone before restore but im not sure if i backup my iphone it will also backup my carrier setting. Yes I also used the custom carrier logo with the ipcc posted here. Maybe that's how I got Maxis 5.0. Anyhow I'm restoring my iphone to factory default setting right and will try to upgrade again.what carrier version on your iphone then.? |
Jun 18 2009, 01:10 PM
Hmm I just did a Restore to factory default on my iphone. My Maxis Carrier now is 4.0. But still no tethering option available but my mms still working.
Jun 18 2009, 01:14 PM
No I reset it using Itunes. My custom logo gone already.
Jun 18 2009, 01:19 PM
Well my main concern is to get the tethering option on my iphone which I don't have right now. Since I already restored my carrier to 4.0.
Jun 18 2009, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(thaisxs @ Jun 18 2009, 01:18 PM) sry for the noob question how u reset to factory setting using itunes ? under which section ? i want to reset too Well just open your itunes. Go to your iphone section. You can see the restore option on the Summary page.Added on June 18, 2009, 1:24 pm QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 18 2009, 01:14 PM) Thats weird. OK, your restoration is done over iTunes (I assume you mean this) or just a reset on the iPhone? If it is done via iTunes, I wonder why this is happening. Shouldn't it all be consistent? Unless you're not on iValue Plan or one of those iPhone plans. My iphone is Singtel set. My maxis is a postpaid.So you're saying I must be on the iPhone plans to get the tethering option?This post has been edited by matkoi: Jun 18 2009, 01:24 PM |
Jun 18 2009, 01:35 PM
Jun 18 2009, 01:39 PM
Did restore using the backup option or set everthing like new again.
| Change to: | 0.0437sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:50 PM |