Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V4
astria
Oct 13 2009, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(blitzy @ Oct 14 2009, 12:05 AM) Brand - Asus/Dell Budget - Around 2~2.5k(maybe can top up abit) Specs - Can run Adobe cs4(illust,photoshop,indesign,premier) maya and Lightwave smoothly. (for gaming can run TF2 ok liao) Size - 14~15'' im kinda like the dell studio 15. how long does it take from the online purchase to arrive at home? is there any dell store at LYP or KL area that i can purchase myself beside online or phone call? Studio 15 is good... worth the extra money... QUOTE(craw @ Oct 14 2009, 12:42 AM)  i want to buy a laptop but dono which model.... before this i used compaq presario v3000 but broke down after one year... so now i want to buy long lasting laptop my budget is around 2-k2.3k i am online gamers.... so i dono what model to choose from model below... 1-asus K50AB 2-acer aspire 4937G/4736G 3-dell studio 15(out range of budget) pls help me  : K50Ab
Loki[D.d.G]
Oct 13 2009, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(blitzy @ Oct 13 2009, 09:05 PM) im kinda like the dell studio 15. how long does it take from the online purchase to arrive at home? Approximately 1 to 2 weeks after your payment has been confirmed.
Azurika
Oct 13 2009, 11:51 PM
BenQ S57 vs Studio XPS 16 , what say u guys in reliability and performance ? I also read that XPS16 can be abit hot , any comments on this matter ? Thx
Fantasia
Oct 14 2009, 12:33 AM
since i'm sxps 16 user, let me comment on it... ya, u r right, it's a bit hot but is not a big deal for me as my previous laptop is compaq presario v3751au. i would say the heat is manageable. 1 thing that i already clarified a lot of times. the main source of the heat is from SOUTHBRIDGE which located underneath ur touchpad, NOT from PROCESSOR and GRAPHIC CARD. as for the performance i dont think i need to comment on that. the subwoofer is quite nice for a laptop. if u r basshead then i think u will like it.the dvd rom is extremely cool, in fact is my 1st time see this kind of dvd rom on a laptop. normally u need to press a button then wait for the trail to pop out but for sxps16, u just need to slightly push ur cd/dvd inside the rom and it will auto bring ur cd/dvd in. comfortable keyboard, quite quiet when u r typing and with back-lit, it looks so freaky cool. now let's talk about design and built. the design is nice, especially black but with 1 drawback, fingerprint collector( i clean my laptop once every 2 days).i would say it's 50% plastic and 50% aluminium. it has aluminium base and u can feel the metal most of the time.for me it's quite solid la..nearly forget about the screen.the screen also not bad and it's full hd. i will give 9/10 for this laptop. it definitely worth for ur money
craw
Oct 14 2009, 10:17 AM

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 13 2009, 10:06 PM) Studio 15 is good... worth the extra money... K50Ab  asus k50AB good if asus K50AB VS DELL studio 15 who will win???why?? whre can get asus K50AB at low yat?? need to order first or not??
astria
Oct 14 2009, 11:47 AM
wel, definitely Studio 15 is better...
Studio 15 vs K50Ab Intel vs AMD - Studio 15 wins HD4570 GDDR3 vs HD4570 DDR2 - Studio 15 wins 3hrs batt life vs 1.5-2hrs batt life - Studio 15 wins no numpad vs numpad - K50Ab wins 1yr on-site warranty service vs 2yrs int'l warranty - depends rm2699 vs rm2099 - K50Ab wins
john_jay2
Oct 14 2009, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(craw @ Oct 14 2009, 10:17 AM) asus k50AB good if asus K50AB VS DELL studio 15 who will win???why?? whre can get asus K50AB at low yat?? need to order first or not?? very hard to order k50ab now ... ~ kinda shortage .. ~
craw
Oct 14 2009, 12:35 PM

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Oct 14 2009, 11:51 AM) very hard to order k50ab now ... ~ kinda shortage .. ~ lol wht happen...... i want to buy this weekend
john_jay2
Oct 14 2009, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(craw @ Oct 14 2009, 12:35 PM) bcoz the asus shortage for this model .. ~
craw
Oct 14 2009, 01:17 PM

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Oct 14 2009, 01:14 PM) bcoz the asus shortage for this model .. ~ lol how bout k40AB?? is it ready stock?? if i wank K50AB badly, whre i can get??
lee_what2004
Oct 14 2009, 01:20 PM
*stare* ji--------
try your luck then ^^
craw
Oct 14 2009, 01:22 PM

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 14 2009, 01:20 PM) lol i live at joho ma.. hard to try go low yat frequently... btw when next pc fair???
lee_what2004
Oct 14 2009, 01:24 PM
*stare* ji--------
PC Fair 2009 (III) locations and venues are: 26-28 November 2009 Seri Manjung
27-29 November 2009 Kluang, Alor Star & Seremban
4-6 December 2009 KL, Penang & Melaka
11-13 December 2009 JB, Ipoh, Kota Kinabalu & Bintulu
tplcaik
Oct 14 2009, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Oct 14 2009, 12:33 AM) since i'm sxps 16 user, let me comment on it... ya, u r right, it's a bit hot but is not a big deal for me as my previous laptop is compaq presario v3751au. i would say the heat is manageable. 1 thing that i already clarified a lot of times. the main source of the heat is from SOUTHBRIDGE which located underneath ur touchpad, NOT from PROCESSOR and GRAPHIC CARD. as for the performance i dont think i need to comment on that. the subwoofer is quite nice for a laptop. if u r basshead then i think u will like it.the dvd rom is extremely cool, in fact is my 1st time see this kind of dvd rom on a laptop. normally u need to press a button then wait for the trail to pop out but for sxps16, u just need to slightly push ur cd/dvd inside the rom and it will auto bring ur cd/dvd in. comfortable keyboard, quite quiet when u r typing and with back-lit, it looks so freaky cool. now let's talk about design and built. the design is nice, especially black but with 1 drawback, fingerprint collector( i clean my laptop once every 2 days).i would say it's 50% plastic and 50% aluminium. it has aluminium base and u can feel the metal most of the time.for me it's quite solid la..nearly forget about the screen.the screen also not bad and it's full hd. i will give 9/10 for this laptop. it definitely worth for ur money  Ur HDD is 7200rpm or 5400rpm?
SheepMekk
Oct 14 2009, 06:06 PM
Hey can you guys convince me which one a better one for me.. I really want to try the Mac. But I'm always with Windows since I was young. I play games, like tf2, l4d, CoD4 and such. Is Macbook Pro 15" good for these games? Usually I would just do my assignment or internet browsing and music other than gaming. Another question would be, Dell Studio XPS 16 and Macbook Pro 15". Which would suit me more? Dell Studio XPS 16 gets heaty quite easily and often
lee_what2004
Oct 14 2009, 06:34 PM
*stare* ji--------
if you want to game, stick with windows
Loki[D.d.G]
Oct 14 2009, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(SheepMekk @ Oct 14 2009, 06:06 PM) Another question would be, Dell Studio XPS 16 and Macbook Pro 15". Which would suit me more? Bear in mind you will be paying a hefty premium for Mac's OS X. Good money that could have been otherwise spent on better laptop hardware.
astria
Oct 14 2009, 07:21 PM
i say Dell Studio 15 is already good enuf...
when comes to Mac, for the price u pay, u can get a much better spec laptop...
for eg, for the same performance, BenQ S42 is only slightly more than rm3k (rm3250 to be exact)...
john_jay2
Oct 14 2009, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(astria @ Oct 14 2009, 07:21 PM) i say Dell Studio 15 is already good enuf... when comes to Mac, for the price u pay, u can get a much better spec laptop... for eg, for the same performance, BenQ S42 is only slightly more than rm3k (rm3250 to be exact)... YEAH ... bcoz mac is like totally different product i can said so .. ~
Fantasia
Oct 14 2009, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(tplcaik @ Oct 14 2009, 04:43 PM) Ur HDD is 7200rpm or 5400rpm? 5400