90 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Bottom

|| The Official Thread for iPhone 3G Malaysia ||, Officially available by Maxis (Unlocked)

TSteikwing
post Jun 9 2009, 12:42 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(boringpig @ Jun 9 2009, 12:34 PM)
Do excuse for my low-understanding of plans like these..
Appreciate if someone can help me understand this..

Example:
iData Plan 3 (for iPhone 3G 8GB)
Monthly Fee - RM99
Data - 3GB

Contract Period - 12 Months
Savings on Phone - RM550
iPhone Price - RM1990

To my understanding..
I have an existing plan with Maxis (Value 80) and I guess I'm qualified to subscribe for this iData Plan which is only for data usage..

So, I will be bound to a 12 months contract with Maxis by signing up for this iData Plan 3 and paying RM99/month (which is not inclusive of the data/voice usage that I've made). Then I'll have to pay RM1990 for the iPhone.

Is that correct? tongue.gif
yes. correct. monthly commitment will be RM80 (Value 80) + RM99 (iData) and paying RM1990 for iPhone 3G 8GB.
boringpig
post Jun 9 2009, 12:55 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jun 9 2009, 12:42 PM)
yes. correct. monthly commitment will be RM80 (Value 80) + RM99 (iData) and paying RM1990 for iPhone 3G 8GB.
Thanks!
If that's the case, it's better to take this plan instead of change to a new iValue plan then..
Correct me if I'm wrong..

By the way, do you guys think a 3GB data usage is sufficient.. for once-in-a-while facebooking and minimum browsing?

This post has been edited by boringpig: Jun 9 2009, 12:56 PM
Mr. Green
post Jun 9 2009, 01:19 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(boringpig @ Jun 9 2009, 12:55 PM)
Thanks!
If that's the case, it's better to take this plan instead of change to a new iValue plan then..

By the way, do you guys think a 3GB data usage is sufficient.. for once-in-a-while facebooking and minimum browsing?
In my opinion, it should be more than enough. smile.gif
Unless you always download music/apps through the appstore.
davidmak
post Jun 9 2009, 02:02 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(boringpig @ Jun 9 2009, 12:55 PM)
Thanks!

Whooa 3G is definitely more more than enough. Provided you're not tethering. Most of the apps on iPhone like Facebook, etc are very efficient in data usage. I can FB the entire day and still only use a few MBs. With 3GB probably you can do VOIP calls to other iPhone users and a lot of youtube. Youtube over iPhone is efficient too cause it only download the lower bitrate of video feeds (lower quality).

I think your plan is good enough. But in my opinion RM99 can buy you a full fledged personal mobile internet.
doomx
post Jun 9 2009, 02:43 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

so here is the news of apple cutting its iphone price :

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...158&sec=apworld

do u think it will have any price change from maxis?
boringpig
post Jun 9 2009, 03:05 PM

1,344 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 9 2009, 02:02 PM)
Whooa 3G is definitely more more than enough. Provided you're not tethering. Most of the apps on iPhone like Facebook, etc are very efficient in data usage. I can FB the entire day and still only use a few MBs. With 3GB probably you can do VOIP calls to other iPhone users and a lot of youtube. Youtube over iPhone is efficient too cause it only download the lower bitrate of video feeds (lower quality).

I think your plan is good enough. But in my opinion RM99 can buy you a full fledged personal mobile internet.
ya.. cos maxis unlimited data usage is RM99 as well..
but u have to sign up for the data plan for iPhone to get the phone.. >"<

Added on June 9, 2009, 4:58 pmhmm.. i just got a call from Maxis..
they are still discussing when to launch the iPhone 3G with firmware 3.0..

This post has been edited by boringpig: Jun 9 2009, 04:58 PM
DikkieD
post Jun 9 2009, 05:09 PM

296 posts

I am wondering too whether to iPhone will drop in prices here in M'sia. Think Maxis is kinda well prices, but hopefully they go down a knotch in the next two/three months.

Besides, there's no official statement of Maxis regarding the 3GS?
SUSMike3300
post Jun 9 2009, 05:11 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(NoN@me @ Jun 9 2009, 12:41 PM)
just bought iphone prepaid plan on saturday frm maxis...  now thn tell me launch of new iphone... still gt so many new function...decrease of price some more.... FIRE
You're being greedy right here, actually both are performing the same OS 3.0 features.
NoN@me
post Jun 9 2009, 05:20 PM

426 posts

no la actually is abit angry bout the price only haha....but maxis haven decrease its price also la... decrease half leh the price

This post has been edited by NoN@me: Jun 9 2009, 05:25 PM
prasys
post Jun 9 2009, 05:37 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

$99 in states is with contract and you're not able to swap the sim. For Maxis if they sell it at RM 1,000 its not worth it. Thats why you don't see any cheap phones because our law prohibits a teleco to lock a phone , otherwise we'll be enjoying cheap phones

Maxis would certainly cut prices to get more people to upgrade or buy the low-end phone

Anyway those who bought iPhone 3G from Maxis , its still worth it. Its not a major upgrade (like from 2G to 3G , its just some minor touches here and there)

Added on June 9, 2009, 5:38 pm$99 in states is with contract and you're not able to swap the sim. For Maxis if they sell it at RM 1,000 its not worth it. Thats why you don't see any cheap phones because our law prohibits a teleco to lock a phone , otherwise we'll be enjoying cheap phones

Maxis would certainly cut prices to get more people to upgrade or buy the low-end phone

Anyway those who bought iPhone 3G from Maxis , its still worth it. Its not a major upgrade (like from 2G to 3G , its just some minor touches here and there)

This post has been edited by prasys: Jun 9 2009, 05:38 PM
DE.si.MON
post Jun 9 2009, 05:58 PM

771 posts

if no reduce in price the most maxis can do is bring in the [S] model with faster processing.
shortleg88
post Jun 9 2009, 06:19 PM

Francoise Boufhal yummy!
1,756 posts

Did Maxis took out their iValue 80 plan? I remember seeing a RM80 plan per month but now I check it seems it's gone. RM100 plan seems too much for me as my monthly expenses only about RM50
dattebayo
post Jun 9 2009, 06:59 PM

5,366 posts

i dun think maxis will so fast bring in the 3G S here, they baru launched the iPhone 3G woot. sleep.gif

wait at least early next year is what I guess
Mr. Green
post Jun 9 2009, 07:32 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 9 2009, 06:59 PM)
i dun think maxis will so fast bring in the 3G S here, they baru launched the iPhone 3G woot. sleep.gif

wait at least early next year is what I guess

Maybe in July.
Show-Time
post Jun 9 2009, 11:27 PM

333 posts

It's already 3G when Maxis launched it, so it shouldn't be 2G trade-in.
vui_msia
post Jun 10 2009, 12:54 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Show-Time @ Jun 9 2009, 11:27 PM)
It's already 3G when Maxis launched it, so it shouldn't be 2G trade-in.
er.. Please dont forget iPhone 3G is consider new phone in Msia, it just officially launched in march '09

somemore maxis already has the trade-in advertisement way before WWDC 2009, you think they will ask you to trade-in your old iPhone 3G with the maxis newly launched iphone 3G? it doesn't make sense, isnt it?

glamour
post Jun 10 2009, 04:18 AM

Under Cover Police
425 posts

i wan the 3gs ....but tie with 2 years contract....
can trade in my iphone 3g?
davidmak
post Jun 10 2009, 10:55 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(vui_msia @ Jun 9 2009, 10:03 PM)
isn't it iphone 2g trade-in for RM1050 ?  blink.gif
Its actually meant for those old iPhones (be it 2G or 3G). With that trade-in you get the current iPhone 3G. No mention of 3G[S]. Also its up to RM1200 (some said its 1050). But on most occasion, the trade-in value is well below those rates. Probably the only time you get that RM1200 trade-in is when you walk in and get an iPhone 3G only to turn back and trade-it-in for another iPhone 3G. I know it sounds stupid but thats the best I can think off.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Jun 10 2009, 10:56 AM
davidgary73
post Jun 10 2009, 12:56 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Here are the break down on the trade in price:

*Need to signup a contract.

2G 8GB to 3G 8/16GB is only: RM 390
2G 16GB to 3G 16GB is only: RM 430

Example: A 2 year iValue plan at RM 1910, with the trade in price of your phone for only RM 390, your full payment will be RM 1580.

3G 8GB to 3G 8/16GB is only: RM 900
3G 16GB to 3G 16GB is only: RM 1200

Example: A 2 year iValue plan which is RM 1910, with the trade in price of your phone for only RM 900, your full payment will be RM 1010.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Jun 10 2009, 01:01 PM
bunvirus
post Jun 10 2009, 01:31 PM

3,054 posts

the new idata plans from maxis.. got 1 says "no contract"..
so now we can buy iphone without attach to Maxis?

90 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:14 AM