53 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

ATI Radeon HD 4890 RV790 Launches April 6, ETA: first-second week of APRIL.

_707027_
post Apr 2 2009, 08:34 AM

1,104 posts

QUOTE(gto87 @ Apr 2 2009, 02:07 AM)
Hurm.. I tried to overclock HD4890 to 1GHz but I can only reach 970/1170 and it's pretty stable since I can play GRID, COD4 and HAWX for 3 hours straight. Never tried with Crysis....... yet~

Edit: with the fan running at 100%, I can play for 3 hours straight with and the load temp is just around 63-66c
        with the fan running at 90%, 3 hours straight, load temp = 72c
wow..100% fan speed..
at 50% is already loud for me laugh.gif
anyway, such a good load temp u got.
not reaching 80c.
piumiu
post Apr 2 2009, 09:06 AM

I see you.
3,174 posts

Bought 1 yesterday. Proud owner of it. Havent plug in to the PC yet.
Got as well a 850 single rail PSU. Want to CF this card later on.
cstkl1
post Apr 2 2009, 09:10 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Apr 2 2009, 12:02 AM)
BTW with your definition of retarded, you're retarded too.
Only on par my ****ing ass.
dude
toms uses only this games
assasin creed
cod 4
crysis
ut3

so game dependent

anyways got two cards and testing now..
driver still immature and the cards are hotter and slower than my gtx285
waiting for new driver but so far on my gaming requirement which is very high it is currently slow
from what i see no diff than a gtx260 oc which i tested previously.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Apr 2 2009, 09:11 AM
gto87
post Apr 2 2009, 09:34 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 2 2009, 09:10 AM)
dude
toms uses only this games
assasin creed
cod 4
crysis
ut3

so game dependent

anyways got two cards and testing now..
driver still immature and the cards are hotter and slower than my gtx285
waiting for new driver but so far on my gaming requirement which is very high it is currently slow
from what i see no diff than a gtx260 oc which i tested previously.
Bro cstkl, since you are an expert in this field, just wanna ask how far you overclocked it?
ezzydamvp
post Apr 2 2009, 09:43 AM

Jedi Mind Trick
719 posts

cant wait bro cstkl give some reviews on it...if its true that 4890 is no different the gtx260+ oc dats good news to know hehe.
Ryeeson
post Apr 2 2009, 09:44 AM

Head Hunter
901 posts

Guys, i wanted to know how much PSU power i needed to CF a 4870X2 and a 4870?

cstkl1
post Apr 2 2009, 09:45 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(gto87 @ Apr 2 2009, 09:34 AM)
Bro cstkl, since you are an expert in this field, just wanna ask how far you overclocked it?
fan set max
overclock via cc atm.

riva tuner is buggy with vista 64.

the reason i was curious with the hd4890 is actually the burst speed on mem

if u guys actually had hd4000 series.. u would know that overclocking the core doesnt give that much of a boost compared to mem.

but for some reason the hd4890 does..

ezzydamvp
post Apr 2 2009, 09:45 AM

Jedi Mind Trick
719 posts

QUOTE(Ryeeson @ Apr 2 2009, 09:44 AM)
Guys, i wanted to know how much PSU power i needed to CF a 4870X2 and a 4870?
for 4870X2 need at least 750watt psu....for single 4870 550watt true power cukup2 mkn

This post has been edited by ezzydamvp: Apr 2 2009, 09:49 AM
Ryeeson
post Apr 2 2009, 09:58 AM

Head Hunter
901 posts

QUOTE(ezzydamvp @ Apr 2 2009, 09:45 AM)
for 4870X2 need at least 750watt psu....for single 4870 550watt true power cukup2 mkn
haya... i see... huhu

My PSU only 650W. haa i guest its enough for 4870 CF la.

gto87
post Apr 2 2009, 10:17 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 2 2009, 09:45 AM)
fan set max
overclock via cc atm.

riva tuner is buggy with vista 64.

the reason i was curious with the hd4890 is actually the burst speed on mem

if u guys actually had hd4000 series.. u would know that overclocking the core doesnt give that much of a boost compared to mem.

but for some reason the hd4890 does..
Me also having the same problem with Riva tuner but I'm using Vista 32. So end up using CC to OC it.

Right now I'm trying to push it to 970/1180 and testing its stability. Still trying. Maybe will post the result after this.

Curious to know your overclocking result and your review about this card's performance.

storm88
post Apr 2 2009, 11:42 AM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

jus pushed the core to 900
have increment of score of 500 +/-

This post has been edited by storm88: Apr 2 2009, 11:42 AM
tech3910
post Apr 2 2009, 12:52 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

to people who bought the 4890, wat driver did dey include in the package? 9.3?
blindbox
post Apr 2 2009, 01:10 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

NDA lifted as of 12 am GMT -8.

Late 1 hour, I got classes just now lol. Bad day, got bad results cry.gif . Not exams yet though. Haiz uni life is a bit tough.. took me 3 months to adjust(and with it I got bad results also, haha). Enough of me,

here are the reviews!

http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon-hd-4890-review-test/
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/radeon-hd-4890,2262.html
http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/article.html...W50aHVzaWFzdA==
HardOCP also includes GTX275.
Too bad anandtech hasn't have their reviews out yet.

And for comparisons with GTX275....

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforc...x-275,2266.html
http://www.guru3d.com/article/geforce-gtx-275-review-test/1

Anyone has any idea WHY guru3d changed their colour schemes? It's so ugly. Damn it give me a rainbow please.

This post has been edited by blindbox: Apr 2 2009, 01:43 PM
metsatsu
post Apr 2 2009, 01:41 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Apr 2 2009, 01:10 PM)

Late 1 hour, I got classes just now lol. Bad day, got bad results cry.gif . Not exams yet though. Haiz uni life is a bit tough.. took me 3 months to adjust(and with it I got bad results also, haha). Enough of me,

here are the reviews!

Anyone has any idea WHY guru3d changed their colour schemes? It's so ugly. Damn it give me a rainbow please.
finally, plenty of good reviews that we can refer to thumbup.gif
nazseha
post Apr 2 2009, 01:42 PM

Ownez with DualShock 3.
2,231 posts

Juz read the review....Wat a hype saying tat 4890 is on par with GTX285...even GTX275 can smoke the HD4890(based on Guru3d.com Game Review).... doh.gif

btw,wat can i said both 4890 and GTX275 is totally on par.. laugh.gif
blindbox
post Apr 2 2009, 01:43 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

Oh btw, hardocp's review also contains GTX275 comparison. I haven't read it when I posted the sites.
TSzhen^wei
post Apr 2 2009, 01:47 PM

4,057 posts

i saw the gtx 275 price. higher than hd4890. if hd4890 below RM1k. stil worth to buy actualy.
rsangel
post Apr 2 2009, 02:35 PM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

QUOTE(blindbox @ Apr 2 2009, 01:10 PM)

here are the reviews!

HardOCP also includes GTX275.

thxs for the reviews links bro, save alot of time smile.gif
RangerRed
post Apr 2 2009, 02:41 PM

2,083 posts

http://www.gamestar.de/hardware/tests/graf...on_hd_4890.html
X.E.D
post Apr 2 2009, 03:51 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

FiringSquad review shows a much better case for the 4890.
http://firingsquad.com/hardware/ati_radeon...eforce_gtx_275/

Besides 2 isolated cases (CoD4 driver issues I think, and STALKER Clear Sky where 10.1 actually uses more processing so it's slower), the 4890 is mostly on par with the 280, and in some games beats the 285.

Meh I don't think in any case the RM300 extra for the 285 is worth it. This card sells at 950 in Thundermatch, and the OCing to 1Ghz (at least 900-950) deal is sweet enough to justify the RM100+ extra on top of the 4870 1GB.

So the 4890 IMHO is a great deal if you're looking for a GTX 285-ish card that will handle the majority of games now and upcoming at a HD resolution. For the RM300 (more like 400 actually) saved from the 285, keep it for a water cooling system so you get 1.1-1.2Ghz (need to use softmod volts I think).

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Apr 2 2009, 03:58 PM

53 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:34 PM