127 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Bottom

Credit Card Thread V6

inuyasha88
post Jun 10 2009, 03:23 PM

233 posts

well, I dont like the idea of spending over a certain amount a yr to attain CC.

except black card...

but those cards that can compare with black card... well, above plat card that is visible as i know of is HSBC premier card. need 200k always on the premier a/c or investment...

tinkerbel
post Jun 10 2009, 03:25 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@inuyasha88,
Honestly, there's no status in owning CCs. Look at the people who gets into trouble because of CC. Also, the HSBC Premier card is just a card; plus its design is not that great either tongue.gif

I don't limit the amount of $ I spend on my CC so as long as I have the $ to pay the bill at month end. So sometimes I can spend RM100 on it, and some other times, I may spend RM10000 on it. It's seasonal lah.
inuyasha88
post Jun 10 2009, 03:28 PM

233 posts

there is status, seriously.

having a card is better than not having a card.

having a card doesnt mean have to spend all the credit limit given.

smile.gif people need to be educated regarding spending using cc. most friends i know of never spend beyond their means...

well, i do get alot of rejected applications for cc while i worked in citibank last time... mostly those late payments or bankrupt people got rejected.

tinkerbel
post Jun 10 2009, 03:31 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@inuyasha88,
Er.. and what status are we talking about?! I've a colleague who probably can qualify for a Platinum Amex but he refuses one because he prefers everything to be transacted in cash.

As for me, I hold several Platinum cards but I don't feel very 'privileged'. Perhaps it's because I've never been rejected for any CC I applied for? *shrugs*

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Jun 10 2009, 03:31 PM
GHz
post Jun 10 2009, 03:34 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 10 2009, 03:10 PM)
@GHz,
hMmm.... I don't have a problem with the RM100k spending but I've a big problem on the RM200k income p/year tongue.gif
I have a problem spending RM100k per year and also get RM200k per year. blush.gif
inuyasha88
post Jun 10 2009, 03:35 PM

233 posts

plat is nothing... seriously,

anyone with credit limit above 20k can get plat easily.

but not everyone has 200k sitting in a bank... well, only rich people... and this rich people will be holding HSBC premier card, if they have 200k sitting there...

the amex plat = not laku anymore... black card or better known as centurion card is the card that reflect on the status...

in singapore or us you can have plat card with just 18k salary... same as gold or classic, there is no differentiation in having plat.

Added on June 10, 2009, 3:36 pm
QUOTE(GHz @ Jun 10 2009, 03:34 PM)
I have a problem spending RM100k per year and also get RM200k per year. blush.gif
if you working as purchaser in company, some company la, can use your own cc to pay for purchases, but big company will have company cc... or if you work as auditor, flying overseas every month got chance la, 100k is not a lot actually...

Added on June 10, 2009, 3:39 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 10 2009, 03:31 PM)
@inuyasha88,
Er.. and what status are we talking about?!  I've a colleague who probably can qualify for a Platinum Amex but he refuses one because he prefers everything to be transacted in cash.

As for me, I hold several Platinum cards but I don't feel very 'privileged'.  Perhaps it's because I've never been rejected for any CC I applied for? *shrugs*
According to Journal International, the average age of a Centurion cardholder is 49 years. 94% of primary cardholders are male and they have an average of 3.3 properties. Their average household income is €653,000 and their average total net worth is €4.5million. They have an average disposable monthly income of €8,800. Centurion Magazine has been published since 2001 and has a circulation in Europe and the Middle East of 44,100, in Asia of 13,900 and in Australia of 6,000.[5]

source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centurion_Card

This post has been edited by inuyasha88: Jun 10 2009, 03:39 PM
tinkerbel
post Jun 10 2009, 03:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@inuyasha88,
Ok, whatever U say but I still don't feel too privileged holding the HSBC Premier. It's got no benefits as far as I'm concerned.
inuyasha88
post Jun 10 2009, 03:44 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 10 2009, 03:40 PM)
@inuyasha88,
Ok, whatever U say but I still don't feel too privileged holding the HSBC Premier.  It's got no benefits as far as I'm concerned.
yup, for you it does not mean anything, but different people got different perception,

just like some people even compare about how much credit limit they got with their friends etc.

HSBC Premier benefits = HSBC plat + more, depends on if you are looking for those benefits...

for me i am using classic hsbc, more than enough for me... as i only shop in FOS for clothes... and paying bills...

P/S: i work in cc field before, so i know whats the majority thinks... especially those applying for cc... but for your case, your a rare breed, maybe you work in cc field before, so there is no difference to you, like as for me... but to some or most people, cc = status.

This post has been edited by inuyasha88: Jun 10 2009, 03:46 PM
Dannyl
post Jun 10 2009, 04:18 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Jun 10 2009, 01:51 PM)
Thanks a lot smile.gif

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 10 2009, 02:24 PM)
Alliance VISA Platinum rebates is only available for the 1st RM5k and no rebates will be given for retail use above RM5k. If you average out the tiers then the rebates are only 1.38%  Apart than that, it is about the same just like any other Plat cc product. Oh yeah, if you are into the card designs - perhaps it is the ugliest Plat cards around but best cash rebates!
I have to agree with you on that - this is the worst design I've ever seen on a credit card.

Good lord, Alliance sent me a Younique card as well! But the design is the default website one, not the picture which I uploaded... darn... I'm gonna cancel it since the Visa Platinum covers all the Younique benefits already.

I called Alliance and was told that there is no administration fee for international transactions.
tinkerbel
post Jun 10 2009, 04:22 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@inuyasha88
Thanks for the information on the Centurion card. I'm a cheapie when it comes to paying AF so I doubt I'll ever want a CC that requires huge sums of AF. Then again, who knows when I have disposable monthly income of €8,800 to spare biggrin.gif
inuyasha88
post Jun 10 2009, 05:24 PM

233 posts

Yup, the annual fee is the killer for centurion card, and its NOT waive-able. But I heard that once you got the card... all the hotels, restaurants etc will treat you differently biggrin.gif but, well... only for the rich biggrin.gif

In malaysia the highest credit limit i have seen so far is 500k o.O and so far, only 1 person got that, to my knowledge la biggrin.gif
MoneyChaser
post Jun 10 2009, 05:25 PM

386 posts

hello folks,

Iam gonna apply for my first credit card ever!!! :-)

which one provides the best deal, low intrest rates... more freebies.. points..
inuyasha88
post Jun 10 2009, 05:30 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(MoneyChaser @ Jun 10 2009, 05:25 PM)
hello folks,

Iam gonna apply for my first credit card ever!!! :-)

which one provides the best deal, low intrest rates... more freebies.. points..
Aeon credit card, bank rakyat has the lowest interest rates i think.

Freebies then go for citibank cc.

points go for HSBC or Hongleong.

Well, you should apply several banks in 1 go. Some will approve some will reject since this is your first application.

My suggestion is, Citibank, HSBC, SC, Maybank.

Citibank and HSBC (if use oversea very easy and recognizable, people wont double look at you)

Maybank is okay to use in malaysia.
hackqym
post Jun 10 2009, 05:38 PM

29 posts

i think less people appreciate the value and status of your cc unless you eat with dato' at hotel, lounge, and luxurious place including yourself & the bank recognize what type CC u are holding, the concept off all still same, u owe the bank and u have to pay back. The only differ is what medium or style u used the bank money. I have 8 cards but all classic, i will straight away cut into 2 if bank approved gold and plat. Among that 8 cards i hold, i separate for fuel, supermarket, BT, and can make ezi installment like affin and bsn (just call them after swipe to make and installment @ competetive rate). Guess what, every month i total up i just give bank less than RM100 for interest. Bank rugi oo making business with me

P/S Just acting like pakcik wearing kain pelikat with pagoda but drive a 5 series bmw brows.gif
inuyasha88
post Jun 10 2009, 05:42 PM

233 posts

hackqym, HSBC wanted to upgrade my card to gold, i said no. what for?

if i seriously looking for card, i will only go for premier hsbc card, as it shows that i have more than 200k sitting in the bank, hahaha.

but i still will keep my classic.
classic, gold and plat = no difference, although i cant get plat... but still no difference for me. having a plat shows u can earn a certain amount, which is higher than gold or classic, but doesnt mean you have that much money...

if you are seriously looking for status... go for those cards with certain conditions attached to it.
JamesPond
post Jun 10 2009, 06:08 PM

4,526 posts

what card higher then premier hsbc?
MilesAndMore
post Jun 10 2009, 06:16 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(inuyasha88 @ Jun 10 2009, 03:44 PM)
yup, for you it does not mean anything, but different people got different perception,

just like some people even compare about how much credit limit they got with their friends etc.

Some people just like to brag. Some REALLY rich people won't do so ...

HSBC Premier benefits = HSBC plat + more, depends on if you are looking for those benefits...

There is NOTHING GREAT with the Malaysia issued HSBC Premier. Seriously lacking of promotion. Unlike the HSBC Premier issued in Hong Kong, Taiwan and Macau, lots of promotion year round reserved exclusively for HSBC Premier cardholders only. I wondered if HSBC Malaysia is sleeping ... mad.gif

but to some or most people, cc = status.
I do agree that so many Malaysian still see credit card as a kind of status. I think this is due to the fact that many Malaysians still do not own a credit card. Malaysian credit card holders are very little compared to other developing nations, for instance, Taiwan. But once you've been holding Platinum credit card for a while, you won't feel special anymore as somehow you have get used to it.

QUOTE(inuyasha88 @ Jun 10 2009, 05:24 PM)
In malaysia the highest credit limit i have seen so far is 500k o.O and so far, only 1 person got that, to my knowledge la biggrin.gif
Eh, i have always under the impression that the highest credit limit for a Platinum card is only 300k maximum ? No ? Or you are talking about a VISA Infinite card holder ? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(inuyasha88 @ Jun 10 2009, 05:42 PM)
if i seriously looking for card, i will only go for premier hsbc card, as it shows that i have more than 200k sitting in the bank, hahaha.
I actually see that as a bad thing. Because this will tell everyone indirectly that you have AT LEAST 200k of deposit with HSBC or it could be more. The expose is simply too great.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 10 2009, 06:43 PM
jack7155
post Jun 10 2009, 06:30 PM

1,215 posts

Credit Card Cancellation Letter

[Your name]
[Your address]
[Date]

Dear Sir or Madam:

Please let this letter serve as notice that I am terminating my credit card account effective immediately. Please close the following account:

Credit Card Company: ____________
Account Number: ________________

Please send me written confirmation that my account has been closed. Also, please confirm that you have notified all appropriate credit card bureaus that this account was closed at my request.

Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.

Sincerely,
[Your Signature]

for cancellation, issit that i just fill up above letter and fax to the bank?
MilesAndMore
post Jun 10 2009, 06:44 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Jun 10 2009, 06:08 PM)
what card higher then premier hsbc?
HSBC Premier card is technically only a Platinum card. As the word "World" is printed on it, many people actually thought it as a World Mastercard but in reality, the Malaysian issued HSBC Premier is NOT a World Mastercard but a regular platinum card. As far as i am concerned, only USA, Australia, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan issued HSBC Premier credit card is a World Mastercard.

So basically any card that is ranked as higher than platinum has higher status than HSBC Premier Mastercard. For example, Standard Chartered VISA Infinite, RHB Bank VISA Infinite, CIMB World Mastercard, CIMB Enrich World Mastercard, Direct Access World Mastercard and MBF World Mastercard.

QUOTE(jack7155 @ Jun 10 2009, 06:30 PM)
for cancellation, issit that i just fill up above letter and fax to the bank?
Please type it yourself and then either mail it to your credit card HQ or fax directly to the bank.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 10 2009, 06:44 PM
JamesPond
post Jun 10 2009, 07:21 PM

4,526 posts

http://www.myklang.com/forum/malay-mail-25...5.html#pid58323

the max you pay is RM250

127 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0343sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled