86 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Bottom

Travel Outdoor activities, hiking & camping, treking, rock climbing & more xtreme act

ozak
post Aug 21 2015, 11:18 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Aug 19 2015, 01:35 PM)
There is two camp site as i know ..

Camp Lolo and Camp pacat ..
Camp lolo near water source (cold stream).. about 5~6km from the Pangsoon ranger station (gunung nuang main entrance)
Camp pacat open space with no water source .. around 7.5km .. altitude 1000m from sea level ..
That look better. At least have a place to rest and continue next day for the not so fit people.

I still unable to find a group that are moderate and for beginner to hike and camp. Very much like to join but worried my fitness not up to those extreme group. sweat.gif
90Boyz
post Aug 21 2015, 02:40 PM

UTMB !!
3,730 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 21 2015, 11:18 AM)
That look better. At least have a place to rest and continue next day for the not so fit people.

I still unable to find a group that are moderate and for beginner to hike and camp. Very much like to join but worried my fitness not up to those extreme group.  sweat.gif
Let me intro you to a fb group on hiking and camping, hope you find some same interest companion to go with ..

Malaysia Hiking & Camping

Sky.Live
post Aug 25 2015, 02:56 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Aug 19 2015, 11:55 AM)
1) Hike up to the peak for average person is 6hours, down will be less than 6hours. A light weight backpack can stuff in some food and drinks  (I know some one can hike up and down that less than 4hrs ..  brows.gif  brows.gif  )

2)I think Ace Hardware those energizer headlight is good enough .. if not mistaken was around RM40 ++

3)No need , the path to the peak is very obvious .. plus there's alot of the sign board put up as well.

4)Broga hill and Gunung Tok Wan the terrain is good enough for normal running shoe but in Nuang you need a pair of grippy shoe and hiking pole just incase a day before encounter heavy rain and become muddy.
I think if you take 6 hours to go up, you are going to take more time than that come down
Sky.Live
post Aug 25 2015, 02:56 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Aug 19 2015, 01:35 PM)
There is two camp site as i know ..

Camp Lolo and Camp pacat ..
Camp lolo near water source (cold stream).. about 5~6km from the Pangsoon ranger station (gunung nuang main entrance)
Camp pacat open space with no water source .. around 7.5km .. altitude 1000m from sea level ..
pacat ada air.. saja we never go before.. a bit off trail for 20 minutes i heard
90Boyz
post Aug 25 2015, 03:01 PM

UTMB !!
3,730 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 25 2015, 02:56 PM)
I think if you take 6 hours to go up, you are going to take more time than that come down
Subject that how well the legs can cope the violent downhill ... laugh.gif laugh.gif
ozak
post Aug 25 2015, 03:08 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Aug 21 2015, 02:40 PM)
Let me intro you to a fb group on hiking and camping, hope you find some same interest companion to go with ..

Malaysia Hiking & Camping
Thanks. I have join that group sometime.

I see many activity they post. Every weekend got hiking. But in the event, doesn't look many. Where they join the event?

When I see those gunung, gunung hiking aday, I chicken out. sad.gif I worried not that fit to join and slow them down.
90Boyz
post Aug 25 2015, 04:07 PM

UTMB !!
3,730 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 25 2015, 03:08 PM)

I see many activity they post. Every weekend got hiking.  But in the event, doesn't look many. Where they join the event?

When I see those gunung, gunung hiking aday, I chicken out. sad.gif  I worried not that fit to join and slow them down.
Just tell them you are newbie, do they accept newbie come along or else open a tread asking for accompany for newbie or first time, don't be shy .. im sure there's a lot of people would like to help you out .. laugh.gif
Sky.Live
post Aug 25 2015, 10:41 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

just ask, no harm asking..

Bila ada hilang, boleh aku join?
biginner sini, sila tunjuk ajar
Rainshower
post Aug 26 2015, 01:54 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 25 2015, 03:08 PM)

I see many activity they post. Every weekend got hiking.  But in the event, doesn't look many. Where they join the event?

When I see those gunung, gunung hiking aday, I chicken out. sad.gif  I worried not that fit to join and slow them down.
Another great place to find hiking activities is using meetup, you can give it a try. I'm too recently just started, and most of the hikers are very friendly, thus there is no need to chicken out, all you need is stepping out your first step. Fitness can be trained, choose those easy hike to evaluate how well you do first.

Usually if those hiking require experienced hiker, it will be mentioned, otherwise beginner should be doing just fine.
ozak
post Aug 26 2015, 10:13 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(90Boyz @ Aug 25 2015, 04:07 PM)
Just tell them you are newbie, do they accept newbie come along or else open a tread asking for accompany for newbie or first time, don't be shy ..  im sure there's a lot of people would like to help you out ..  laugh.gif
QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Aug 25 2015, 10:41 PM)
just ask, no harm asking..

Bila ada hilang, boleh aku join?
biginner sini, sila tunjuk ajar
Thanks for your encouragement. I will try. Since I m a bit free on weekend now, very much like to activate back my outdoor interest. All my kaki either married no time and no life already. sad.gif

ozak
post Aug 26 2015, 10:18 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Rainshower @ Aug 26 2015, 01:54 AM)
Another great place to find hiking activities is using meetup, you can give it a try. I'm too recently just started, and most of the hikers are very friendly, thus there is no need to chicken out, all you need is stepping out your first step. Fitness can be trained, choose those easy hike to evaluate how well you do first.

Usually if those hiking require experienced hiker, it will be mentioned, otherwise beginner should be doing just fine.
Thanks to remind me. I do have meetup activity occasionally. But never cross in my mind have those camp and hiking meetup. Quite sometime never check in there.
Sky.Live
post Aug 27 2015, 01:56 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Find 90Boyz to go hiking, he is a good guide, always care for me
ZeBW
post Oct 15 2015, 02:02 PM

40 posts

Hi all,

I am considering to start an eCommerce site particularly to sell outdoor gears related items in Malaysia. Some examples are like REI.com and Backcountry.

Hence, I would like to get your view on such idea and your thoughts on such on the following:
  • What are your current pain-points when it comes to shopping on such outdoor gears around in KL for your adventures in and out of the country?
  • Would you prefer to shop online for such items considering the fact that they are genuine, has warranty and cheaper than offline stores?
  • What are your thoughts on the current offline/brick-and-mortar outdoor stores around in KL?
Thank you for your feedback!

This post has been edited by ZeBW: Oct 15 2015, 02:02 PM
jess7
post Oct 15 2015, 04:29 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(ZeBW @ Oct 15 2015, 02:02 PM)
Hi all,

I am considering to start an eCommerce site particularly to sell outdoor gears related items in Malaysia. Some examples are like REI.com and Backcountry.

Hence, I would like to get your view on such idea and your thoughts on such on the following:

• What are your current pain-points when it comes to shopping on such outdoor gears around in KL for your adventures in and out of the country?
  • Would you prefer to shop online for such items considering the fact that they are genuine, has warranty and cheaper than offline stores?
  • What are your thoughts on the current offline/brick-and-mortar outdoor stores around in KL?
1. The pain: i have to go from shop to shop just to get a few items because one shop does not sell all that i need, some is just crazily overpriced.

2. YES, PLEASE.

3. I think they are great as they kinda specialise in a few stuff and they can share their customer or personal experience with you when you are shopping. Other than that, my hands kinda gatal wanna hold the product before buying tongue.gif

I would definitely love to buy from a reputable online shop from the comfort of my home, and if it is really, REALLY like Rei, I would be super glad!
ozak
post Oct 15 2015, 07:36 PM

17,025 posts

Hi all,

Huh, get from REI? Not expensive meh?

Most of my gear get from REI. tongue.gif I shop REI since 16yrs ago. Either online or go to their shop.

Prefer shop at store. Shopping online for certain thing which have detail information.

The pain is not much choice here. But understand it since the market here not big.
ZeBW
post Oct 16 2015, 02:02 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(jess7 @ Oct 15 2015, 04:29 PM)
1. The pain: i have to go from shop to shop just to get a few items because one shop does not sell all that i need, some is just crazily overpriced.

2. YES, PLEASE.

3. I think they are great as they kinda specialise in a few stuff and they can share their customer or personal experience with you when you are shopping. Other than that, my hands kinda gatal wanna hold the product before buying  tongue.gif
I would definitely love to buy from a reputable online shop from the comfort of my home, and if it is really, REALLY like Rei, I would be super glad!
QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 15 2015, 07:36 PM)
Huh, get from REI? Not expensive meh?

Most of my gear get from REI.  tongue.gif  I shop REI since 16yrs ago. Either online or go to their shop.

Prefer shop at store. Shopping online for certain thing which have detail information.

The pain is not much choice here. But understand it since the market here not big.
Thanks y'all for your response! I have PMed you guys to follow up! =)
ic3aaron
post Oct 16 2015, 09:50 PM

25 posts

Hi all,

1. Driving and parking. And difficulty in comparing items from shop to shop, some are very far away from each other.
2. Yes please, but will only be convinced if photo/video of the item taken is very detailed. Sometimes what we see isn't what we get rclxub.gif
3. The best thing is we can check and 'feel' the items before purchasing them. Can test them on and see whether they look nice or are they comfortable. But the bad thing is shops usually have limited selection, and not one outlet has all.
sawadikap
post Oct 17 2015, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(ic3aaron @ Oct 16 2015, 08:50 PM)
1. Driving and parking. And difficulty in comparing items from shop to shop, some are very far away from each other.
2. Yes please, but will only be convinced if photo/video of the item taken is very detailed. Sometimes what we see isn't what we get  rclxub.gif
3. The best thing is we can check and 'feel' the items before purchasing them. Can test them on and see whether they look nice or are they comfortable. But the bad thing is shops usually have limited selection, and not one outlet has all.
There are actually quite a lot of big shop in kl for outdoor gear. But of course la, cannot compare to 1st world. We got to understand MY is small market.

Outdoor gear here range have improve a lot compare many yrs ago. We now afford to get expensive brand. But I hope more local gear improve and quality. Local gear are more understand our jungle situation.
ZeBW
post Oct 19 2015, 11:22 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(ic3aaron @ Oct 16 2015, 09:50 PM)
2. Yes please, but will only be convinced if photo/video of the item taken is very detailed. Sometimes what we see isn't what we get  rclxub.gif
Thank you so much for your response!

QUOTE(sawadikap @ Oct 17 2015, 10:52 AM)
There are actually quite a lot of big shop in kl for outdoor gear. But of course la, cannot compare to 1st world. We got to understand MY is small market.

Outdoor gear here range have improve a lot compare many yrs ago. We now afford to get expensive brand. But I hope more local gear improve and quality. Local gear are more understand our jungle situation.
Hi Sawadikap, I understand where you are coming from with regards on locality, however, do bear in mind too that nowadays, our people are more adventurous than before! They would go hike and explore regionally or even to other continents to appreciate mother nature and what she has to offer to us! But of course, our country itself is blessed with so many wonderful hiking and other outdoor activity which we can be part of =)
slackware07
post Oct 20 2015, 02:00 PM

55 posts

Anyone going mt. Kinabalu on 18-20 Nov 2015?

86 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Top

0.0354sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:32 PM