Grooming Goldfish - Ranchus/Orandas etc, Sharing tips for grooming goldfish

TSkent kt
post Sep 9 2007, 12:35 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Sep 8 2007, 05:49 PM)
i also don know what type.. just small 1 cause just for 2 goldfish... ya the water should use clean water rite? i don dare use paip water..
I use overnight paip water, add some nutrafin water conditioner that all. As long as you get a clear and clean water from the filter it is a good filter. Don't change the whole tank of water unless you got a problem with water quality.
rubicube
post Sep 11 2007, 01:01 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(kent kt @ Sep 9 2007, 12:35 PM)
I use overnight paip water, add some nutrafin water conditioner that all. As long as you get a clear and clean water from the filter it is a good filter. Don't change the whole tank of water unless you got a problem with water quality.
I use Nutrafin, Biozyme formula50, Salt stress reliever, and a few drops of LIFE bearer (gill flukes, body flukes, fish lice-parasite killer) after each 'refill'.

BTW how do we calculate/convert gallons to litres?
TSkent kt
post Sep 11 2007, 02:46 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(rubicube @ Sep 11 2007, 01:01 PM)
I use Nutrafin, Biozyme formula50, Salt stress reliever, and a few drops of LIFE bearer (gill flukes, body flukes, fish lice-parasite killer) after each 'refill'.

BTW how do we calculate/convert gallons to litres?
I think you can check this website for a convertion calculator.
http://www.goldfishinfo.com
yawhong
post Sep 12 2007, 08:13 AM

ordentlichen Kerl
949 posts

QUOTE(kent kt @ Sep 9 2007, 12:35 PM)
ya.. now i really careful d, but how you know the water got problem or not?
TSkent kt
post Sep 12 2007, 10:09 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Sep 12 2007, 08:13 AM)
ya.. now i really careful d, but how you know the water got problem or not?
Hahaha..i'm also don't know if the water got problem, but one thing i know is the goldfish will tell you, so if your goldfish stop swimming or makan etc. look around your goldfish body if you can find any parasite on the goldfish body.

A healthy goldfish is very active and will swim around looking for food for the whole day, sometime water temperature will also make the goldfish stop swimming around, must check everything if your goldfish stop swimming etc.
goldfries
post Sep 12 2007, 10:12 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Sep 8 2007, 05:49 PM)
i also don know what type.. just small 1 cause just for 2 goldfish... ya the water should use clean water rite? i don dare use paip water..
the problem with us human is we count by quantity.

did you know that 2 goldfish produces a lot of waste? go by total body mass, not by # of fish in the tank.

1 small goldfish is like ~9 guppies already.
rubicube
post Sep 12 2007, 12:45 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(kent kt @ Sep 11 2007, 02:46 PM)
I think you can check this website for a convertion calculator.
http://www.goldfishinfo.com
OK got it (however from another web page- the one you posted is very good as well, very informative..tks)

1 gallon is 3.8 ltrs

As for my 4(L)X2(W)X1(D) is equivalent to 50gallons x 3.8 = 190ltrs

Since i fill up my tank 11in deep instead of 12in (1ft) = 45gallons x 3.8 = 171ltrs

This is to help me to put the exact amount conditioners etc. needed!
TSkent kt
post Sep 12 2007, 02:47 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(rubicube @ Sep 12 2007, 12:45 PM)
OK got it (however from another web page- the one you posted is very good as well, very informative..tks)

1 gallon is 3.8 ltrs

As for my 4(L)X2(W)X1(D) is equivalent to 50gallons x 3.8 = 190ltrs

Since i fill up my tank 11in deep instead of 12in (1ft) = 45gallons x 3.8 = 171ltrs

This is to help me to put the exact amount conditioners etc. needed!
How is your goldfish? Are setting up a new tank?
yawhong
post Sep 13 2007, 10:12 AM

ordentlichen Kerl
949 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 12 2007, 10:12 AM)
the problem with us human is we count by quantity.

did you know that 2 goldfish produces a lot of waste? go by total body mass, not by # of fish in the tank.

1 small goldfish is like ~9 guppies already.
really? erm than i should consider a new aquarium dy... cry.gif
rubicube
post Sep 13 2007, 01:03 PM

164 posts

QUOTE(kent kt @ Sep 12 2007, 02:47 PM)
How is your goldfish? Are setting up a new tank?
Not at the moment. Still have 7 goldfish!

i just did a 80% clean up last Sunday. The pebbles at the bed are clean now. Most reddish faeces has been pump out.

This is my 1st time doing a major overhaul to my planted tank since starting 9mths ago!
TSkent kt
post Sep 13 2007, 03:29 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Sep 13 2007, 10:12 AM)
really? erm than i should consider a new aquarium dy...  cry.gif
I use a 20gallons for one goldfish rule. So my four feet tank can keep six goldfish only lo because of goldfish body shape the stomach is small very compact, so food will be digest very fast also lo.

What size of tank you use now? For goldfish go bigger tank.
Namgor2006
post Sep 14 2007, 08:26 PM

397 posts

i have a question.....
the gold fish--> ranchu, which is usually bought back very small in size.....
how big can they grow??
TSkent kt
post Sep 15 2007, 10:35 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(Namgor2006 @ Sep 14 2007, 08:26 PM)
i have a question.....
the gold fish--> ranchu, which is usually bought back very small in size.....
how big can they grow??
You can check at this website:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ranchu
http://www.youtube.com and search for Ranchu
zeist
post Sep 15 2007, 04:04 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

What is the proper way to rare gold fish? Me, my relatives and friends all of us used to rare gold fishes, after few months all dead. sweat.gif
TSkent kt
post Sep 16 2007, 09:51 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 15 2007, 04:04 PM)
What is the proper way to rare gold fish? Me, my relatives and friends all of us used to rare gold fishes, after few months all dead.  sweat.gif
1) Must know how to choose good healthy goldfish from the shop if not later will face with sick goldfish.

2) The tank must be properly set up before buying a goldfish, one week or two week earlier.

3) Cycling the tank the Most Important thing, if not proper cycling you will face with high ammonia and nitrate level this will kill your goldfish.

4) Each goldfish need 20 gallons of water, so must use big tank.

5) Good fish food that will not cloud the water.

6) Goldfish tank need a powerful filter to clean the water.

7) Weekly maintenance 25% water change.
zeist
post Sep 16 2007, 10:48 AM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(kent kt @ Sep 16 2007, 09:51 AM)
1) Must know how to choose good healthy goldfish from the shop if not later will face with sick goldfish.

2) The tank must be properly set up before buying a goldfish, one week or two week earlier.

3) Cycling the tank the Most Important thing, if not proper cycling you will face with high ammonia and nitrate level this will kill your goldfish.

4) Each goldfish need 20 gallons of water, so must use big tank.

5) Good fish food that will not cloud the water.

6) Goldfish tank need a powerful filter to clean the water.

7) Weekly maintenance 25% water change.
Thanks for the great advice, but how do I choose a good healthy goldfish? Different color? unsure.gif
TSkent kt
post Sep 16 2007, 10:57 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 16 2007, 10:48 AM)
Thanks for the great advice, but how do I choose a good healthy goldfish? Different color?  unsure.gif
Haha, to choose a good healthy goldfish need experience, by looking at the body look for injury,any spot,any sticking thing on the body. Mostly healthy goldfish will swim around happily.
zeist
post Sep 16 2007, 02:09 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(kent kt @ Sep 16 2007, 10:57 AM)
Haha, to choose a good healthy goldfish need experience, by looking at the body look for injury,any spot,any sticking thing on the body. Mostly healthy goldfish will swim around happily.
But most of the time I see gold fish stay at one corner floating only. tongue.gif

You pick the fat one or...?

How long can gold fishes live? Can't be 5 years right? Let me guess, 3 years at most?
TSkent kt
post Sep 17 2007, 09:08 AM

101 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Sep 16 2007, 02:09 PM)
But most of the time I see gold fish stay at one corner floating only.  tongue.gif

You pick the fat one or...?

How long can gold fishes live? Can't be 5 years right? Let me guess, 3 years at most?
Goldfish can live longer than that if proper enviroment is achieve, there is a lot of sign shown by goldfish floating like not enough O2, dirty water etc.
zeist
post Sep 17 2007, 11:53 AM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

QUOTE(kent kt @ Sep 17 2007, 09:08 AM)
Goldfish can live longer than that if proper enviroment is achieve, there is a lot of sign shown by goldfish floating like not enough O2, dirty water etc.
I see, so far I only come across 3 different colors of gold fishes, orange, white + red, and black. I heard gold fish got something to do with feng shui or luck too, something like Arowana. What do you think? Is this true? icon_idea.gif

20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:38 AM