NVIDIA GRAPHIC CARD FANS CLUB V2, Discussion All about Nvidia Graphic Card
arct
Jun 19 2009, 11:29 AM
new 186.18 doesnt give me ambient occlusion. summore after gaming my resolution is fcuked up. plus with 186.18 driver whenever i adjust ntune, no whenever i go in the "performance" tab my comp will bsod. im switching back to 185 drivers.
crazy_rose
Jun 19 2009, 04:25 PM

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 19 2009, 02:45 AM) its common problem for nvidia gc with 185.85 driver.the AA will only work above C8x some say the latest beta driver will solve the prob i see i tried the new 186 driver and its still the same... but aparantly it fixed my prototype cutscene crash problem...
Xehanort
Jun 19 2009, 04:32 PM
i dun dare try update driver my mobo doesn't have integrated graphic card, uninstall old nvidia driver would make the screen become extremely ugly & hurt eyes besides tat, last time after i updated driver Devil May Cry 4 will screen freeze sometimes during gameplay now after i reformat whole pc, no more problems i wait for u guys result & comment
igor87
Jun 19 2009, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(igor87 @ Jun 17 2009, 01:10 AM) Hi there, Anyone here running 2 GTX285s in SLI? Any compatibility issues with any games I need to know about? And drivers wise, how often do you update it? Anyone?
owikh84
Jun 19 2009, 07:57 PM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(igor87 @ Jun 19 2009, 07:11 PM) cstkl1 had them SLIed b4.
Terence573
Jun 19 2009, 09:33 PM
Tried the new 186 driver...no sli profile for prototype. what manual settings the best?
Xehanort
Jun 19 2009, 11:29 PM
i skip it & wait till the next driver adds street fighter 4 profile
skylinegtr34rule4life
Jun 20 2009, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 18 2009, 04:07 PM) those switching frm "naked" coolers card to this will have the same feeling when they hold it 1st time  i felt that the first time when i switch 2 x1950pro from 8500gt last time  still a nekkid card but the custom fan made it so huge and heavy  don't know how the latest feeling will be when i switch 2 GTX from ATI
soul_screamer
Jun 20 2009, 12:13 AM

QUOTE(igor87 @ Jun 19 2009, 07:11 PM) so far i have no prob what games give u a problem?
ZeneticX
Jun 20 2009, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Jun 20 2009, 12:00 AM) i felt that the first time when i switch 2 x1950pro from 8500gt last time  still a nekkid card but the custom fan made it so huge and heavy  don't know how the latest feeling will be when i switch 2 GTX from ATI  haha.i switched frm dis  to dis  imagine
igor87
Jun 20 2009, 01:20 AM
QUOTE(soul_screamer @ Jun 20 2009, 12:13 AM) so far i have no prob what games give u a problem? I don't have the cards yet. Contemplating whether to get 2 x MSi GTX285 SuperPipe OC, or 3 x Sapphire 4890 Vapor-X. Do you suffer any micro-stutters in any games? I mean like, even if you get high FPS (which obviously you will), does if feel like it lags a little?
Xehanort
Jun 20 2009, 06:19 AM
QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jun 20 2009, 01:14 AM) haha.i switched frm dis » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i switch from Asus 8500gt to Palit GTX 260  similar to u This post has been edited by Xehanort: Jun 20 2009, 06:19 AM
kianweic
Jun 20 2009, 10:04 AM
I switched from Zotac Geforce 8800GT to Palit GTX285 earlier this year.
Had to replace the GPU cooler with 3rd party coolers, didn't really like the stock coolers.
arct
Jun 20 2009, 11:02 AM
switched from 8600gt to gtx285 too  was looking for your particular 3rd party cooler and seems like there's only one in malaysia. the gpu is blocking and heating up my case airflow. making my northbridge and southbridge and proc temp goes very high, especially during gaming, my whole room is affected and feels like sauna. btw bro kianweic, have you tried out the latest nvidia driver? does the ambient occlusion work for you? it doesnt work for me tho.
kianweic
Jun 20 2009, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(arct @ Jun 20 2009, 11:02 AM) switched from 8600gt to gtx285 too  was looking for your particular 3rd party cooler and seems like there's only one in malaysia. the gpu is blocking and heating up my case airflow. making my northbridge and southbridge and proc temp goes very high, especially during gaming, my whole room is affected and feels like sauna. btw bro kianweic, have you tried out the latest nvidia driver? does the ambient occlusion work for you? it doesnt work for me tho. Nah, I have yet to try the new drivers. Been busy working and working out. I usually play games on the weekend. Earlier today, I managed to replace my Zalman GPU cooler with Xigmatek Battle Axe for my dad's Zotac Geforce 8800GT. Check it out in the Xigmatek thread. My post with regards to Xigmatek BattleAxe GPU coolerThis post has been edited by kianweic: Jun 20 2009, 01:28 PM
ZeneticX
Jun 20 2009, 04:41 PM
currently the only available 3rd party cooler for gtx series (except 295) is the ac accelero xtreme gtx oni.and its not cheap + quite huge oso
igor87
Jun 20 2009, 05:19 PM
How much higher can you guys overclock the cards with the 3rd party GPU coolers, as compared to the reference cooling?
And it's massive! Absolutely no SLI setups will be allowed with it installed. To me that's a huge deal breaker. I'd rather go for cards with manufacturer improved cooling, like MSi's SuperPipe technology. Better cooling (though not as good as the 3rd party add-on), with SLI capabilities.
ianho
Jun 20 2009, 05:24 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(igor87 @ Jun 20 2009, 05:19 PM) How much higher can you guys overclock the cards with the 3rd party GPU coolers, as compared to the reference cooling? And it's massive! Absolutely no SLI setups will be allowed with it installed. To me that's a huge deal breaker. I'd rather go for cards with manufacturer improved cooling, like MSi's SuperPipe technology. Better cooling (though not as good as the 3rd party add-on), with SLI capabilities. I was using big huge Thermalright HR03 on my 8800GTX SLI no probs mar. Can even choose to put the radiator on top or under the cards. I was so sad to remove them for 3 way SLI.  Superb coolers they were.
igor87
Jun 20 2009, 05:35 PM
Are the huge 3rd party GPU coolers necessary though? I mean for moderate overclocking and gaming. I'm hoping Sapphire's Vapor-X cooling will be enough for my 3 card setup
ZeneticX
Jun 20 2009, 05:37 PM
sapphire's vapor-x is good but wait,i though sapphire only make ati cards ?