medical / critical illness insurance enquiry
Lusmays
Mar 28 2010, 08:00 PM
Yes HH...a is true,
It depends on your needs, risk tolerance and budget.
Some tips:
Go to your nearest hospitals and ask them the Hasle-Free Insurer (Insurance Company) especially on admission and claim, surely they'll share with u the best deal.
Then, get 2nd opinion from friends, family etc
But, don't drag too long. There are 3 type of people who want to buy insurance:
1. They have UNDERSTANDING, AWARENESS & KNOWLEDGE about it. 2. They have GOAL in life ~ maybe for emergency case. 3. They faced the IMPACT / CRISIS
The 3rd one ~ can't take it forever. Too deep analysis will paralyze your decision. Don't put you into risk of people type 3.
weikian
Mar 28 2010, 08:00 PM

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Mar 28 2010, 02:07 PM) is great eastern good? im planning to get ILP with great eastern, but my option is still open. Normally its not about the insurance companies but about the agent that will service you.
storm88
Mar 28 2010, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(weikian @ Mar 28 2010, 09:00 PM) Normally its not about the insurance companies but about the agent that will service you. hey i agree this deeply
Pebbie
Mar 29 2010, 12:06 AM
thank you
extrememech
Mar 29 2010, 12:32 AM
sorry if i ask stupid question... does any insurance company that sell medical card offer cash bonus after end of premium date ? Means like u pay for 20 yrs then maybe u get back the sum premium insured?
chew_ronnie
Mar 29 2010, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(extrememech @ Mar 29 2010, 12:32 AM) sorry if i ask stupid question... does any insurance company that sell medical card offer cash bonus after end of premium date ? Means like u pay for 20 yrs then maybe u get back the sum premium insured? Can if you attach a medical card to investment linked policy of a traditional life policy. But returns not guaranteed.
Aeon_Clock
Mar 29 2010, 01:32 AM
QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Mar 24 2010, 03:24 PM) Discussion PointsLet's see spesific cases, claim procedure etc. 1. What's the waiting period like for other cards? For pru, 1 month accident only, 2-3 month pay first (even if you have the medical card) claim later and 120 days spesific illness. 2. Your experience in using the medical cards. Any problem encountered? Who solves your problem? 3. Cost you / your client actually paid, regardless of what's written in the policy. Lastly, 4. If you're an agent, how confident are you that your insurer will honor what is said? 1. I have AIA MC - the insurance agent was very experienced (20 years in the business, etc). He explained when applying that there is 1 month 'waiting period' for accident and 4 months for serious/major illness. Other than that, nothing. Probably have to pay first like any other medical card...I haven't heard of medical cards where u dun have to pay anything at all. btw, I heard Great Eastern medical card only takes 1 hour to approve if you need to be admitted into the hospital. Is this true? This post has been edited by Aeon_Clock: Mar 29 2010, 01:33 AM
mfitri77
Mar 29 2010, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Mar 29 2010, 01:32 AM) 1. I have AIA MC - the insurance agent was very experienced (20 years in the business, etc). He explained when applying that there is 1 month 'waiting period' for accident and 4 months for serious/major illness. Other than that, nothing. Probably have to pay first like any other medical card...I haven't heard of medical cards where u dun have to pay anything at all. btw, I heard Great Eastern medical card only takes 1 hour to approve if you need to be admitted into the hospital. Is this true? Depends on your mileage also. Your luck plays a part here. I got a case where personally had to come down to the hospital to see whats going on. Admit 1pm, until 7pm GL not out. Emergency op slated at 8.00pm. Turns out GL already issued, but Hospital didn't receive fax.
Lusmays
Mar 29 2010, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(extrememech @ Mar 29 2010, 12:32 AM) sorry if i ask stupid question... does any insurance company that sell medical card offer cash bonus after end of premium date ? Means like u pay for 20 yrs then maybe u get back the sum premium insured? Yes chew_ronnie is right...if you attach to Investment Linked then you'll get some return but its not guaranteed. However, if its from PRU i.e PRUHEALTH 200, you don't use it at all for 20 yrs, then you can get NCB (No Claim Bonus) RM300 on yearly basis. So, you can get RM6,000 for 20 yrs period (Guaranteed) + your linked investment value (Non-Guaranteed). The idea is PRU pays you when you're sick and reward you if you're healthy.
mfitri77
Mar 29 2010, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(Lusmays @ Mar 29 2010, 10:37 AM) Yes chew_ronnie is right...if you attach to Investment Linked then you'll get some return but its not guaranteed. However, if its from PRU i.e PRUHEALTH 200, you don't use it at all for 20 yrs, then you can get NCB (No Claim Bonus) RM300 on yearly basis. So, you can get RM6,000 for 20 yrs period (Guaranteed) + your linked investment value (Non-Guaranteed). The idea is PRU pays you when you're sick and reward you if you're healthy. I'd rather they took out the co-insurance than giving out NCB. First, the NCB most people would afford is the PL100, which pays about 100 a month. The Rm6,000 looks good until you figure out that they already charged you the amount in your premium already. You don't claim, Pru lose nothing by giving you the money, in your Investment account (where they will charge fund management fees). And thats until age 70. Try until age 80 and see the charges go through the roof. Co-insurance for outpatient now 20% with max RM2,000. That applies to kidney dialisis and cancer treatment. This post has been edited by mfitri77: Mar 29 2010, 10:49 AM
Aeon_Clock
Mar 29 2010, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Mar 29 2010, 10:09 AM) Depends on your mileage also. Your luck plays a part here. I got a case where personally had to come down to the hospital to see whats going on. Admit 1pm, until 7pm GL not out. Emergency op slated at 8.00pm. Turns out GL already issued, but Hospital didn't receive fax.  sorry...dun understand the mileage term...
mfitri77
Mar 29 2010, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Mar 29 2010, 10:57 AM) sorry...dun understand the mileage term... It means that different people may have different experiences. When you submit a medical card to the Hospital, the hospital will ask you to pay minimal deposit between Rm200 to Rm500 while they contact your insurer to get a Guarantee Letter (GL). The issuance of Guarantee Letter is where most problem occur, and sometimes it can take a day just to get the GL in order. It depends on how swamped they are with claims, so some people get early, some people get late.
babyphie
Mar 29 2010, 11:16 AM
hi everybody
i'm looking 4 a med card at da moment.
Age= 30 Gender = Female Occupation - Office worker
Most important to cover ladies disease e.g breast cancer etc
any suggestion fr expert here?
HHalphaomega
Mar 29 2010, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Mar 29 2010, 01:32 AM) 1. I have AIA MC - the insurance agent was very experienced (20 years in the business, etc). He explained when applying that there is 1 month 'waiting period' for accident and 4 months for serious/major illness. Other than that, nothing. Probably have to pay first like any other medical card...I haven't heard of medical cards where u dun have to pay anything at all. btw, I heard Great Eastern medical card only takes 1 hour to approve if you need to be admitted into the hospital. Is this true? It depends there are both cashless and non-cashless medical cards out there. It depends on which plan you're subscribed to. Most cards only charge you a co-insurance of 10% which again would be limited either by RM500, RM1000 or RM2000 etc. Yes Great Eastern would process your GL quickly provided all info from the panel hospital has been furnished by the hospital. Apart from that, there's this usual fax issues with hospitals as well their rather inaction staffs. I'm sure this applies to other insurers' as well.
storm88
Mar 29 2010, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(HHalphaomega @ Mar 29 2010, 01:34 PM) It depends there are both cashless and non-cashless medical cards out there. It depends on which plan you're subscribed to. Most cards only charge you a co-insurance of 10% which again would be limited either by RM500, RM1000 or RM2000 etc. Yes Great Eastern would process your GL quickly provided all info from the panel hospital has been furnished by the hospital. Apart from that, there's this usual fax issues with hospitals as well their rather inaction staffs. I'm sure this applies to other insurers' as well. imo, from what i heard from ex-GE holicy holders, they claimed they were able to admited to hospital "han han dei" need to wait 2 hours so i think Tag time should be around 1.5 hours to 2
chew_ronnie
Mar 29 2010, 05:08 PM
QUOTE(storm88 @ Mar 29 2010, 04:57 PM) imo, from what i heard from ex-GE holicy holders, they claimed they were able to admited to hospital "han han dei" need to wait 2 hours so i think Tag time should be around 1.5 hours to 2 It very much depends on how fast the doctors can provide the report to the 3rd party (medical card regulator like Asia Assistance Network), and for Asia Assistance to issue a GL, the leed time shud be normally between half and hour. So basically the agents play the role to speed up both parties. This is applicable for most insurance companies in M'sia.
mr_hustla
Mar 29 2010, 05:55 PM

hi all
is it true that if we have medical card, and we claim during the first year, the insurance company have the rights to refuse our renewal for the second year? although it already stated in the brochure that the company cannot refuse policy renewal.
chew_ronnie
Mar 29 2010, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(mr_hustla @ Mar 29 2010, 05:55 PM) hi all is it true that if we have medical card, and we claim during the first year, the insurance company have the rights to refuse our renewal for the second year? although it already stated in the brochure that the company cannot refuse policy renewal. That depends on the med card you buy. You shud get a card with Guaranteed Renewable Feature - meaning the insurer must renew your med card regardless of how much you have claimed unless at the point of renewal, the insurer decide to withdraw the product from the market (but this is prior to 90 days written notice to the policyholders) Hope this will help.
storm88
Mar 29 2010, 06:09 PM
a simple way to classify if a medical card is "guarantee renewable" or not
Most Life insurance company Do guarantee renewal under T&C, whilst MOST General insurance company, or plain medical company. They are most likely not guarantee. The most common one is ikhlas (which many malay got this plan)
mfitri77
Mar 29 2010, 11:10 PM
Bank Negara has already instructed the insurance company to state in plain bahasa melayu/english/mandarin the salient points of the policy, even before you bought it. Its your right to read through, so read.
Because there are plus and minuses for every insurance company. Having guaranteed renewal, but unlimited co-insurance, what for? Your medical plan should cure your headache, no add to it.
The best way to know whats best for you is to imagine a scenario in which you have to be admitted to the hospital. Ask yourself :-
1. Where would I most likely be warded (panel or not)?
2. How much must I pay when I am warded (deposit, co-insurance, upfront payment). What happens if I have to upgrade the room beyond my capacity? (Co-insurance)
3. What is the waiting period (30 days accident, 120 days spesific Illness, pay-first periods)?
4. How much am I likely to pay when I come out (co-insurance).
5. Other points, like guaranteed renewal, outpatient treatment, cancer & dialysis etc.
Find one that pleases you the most.
This post has been edited by mfitri77: Mar 29 2010, 11:12 PM