~~Budget Earphones/Headphones~~, Ear-/Headphones for the tight wallets

chingwooi
post Jun 22 2009, 03:51 PM

~Doctor Wannabe~
5,124 posts

QUOTE(hirari @ Jun 22 2009, 02:03 PM)
Sounds pretty much the same with SoundMagic PL20. Not easy to get a good seal with that one imo.
True. I find that some iems you really have to work at it in order to get a good seal. Others may come quite naturally.
The JBL Reference 220 didn't gv me much trouble putting it on coz it's worn with the normal style, the Sennheiser IE8 is the one that you'll find hardest to get a gd seal, Sometimes when you're able to get a perfect seal, try to look at a mirror and you'll find that you're wearing it in a very awkward way xD
hirari
post Jun 22 2009, 05:26 PM

1,281 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Jun 22 2009, 03:51 PM)
The JBL Reference 220 didn't gv me much trouble putting it on coz it's worn with the normal style, the Sennheiser IE8 is the one that you'll find hardest to get a gd seal, Sometimes when you're able to get a perfect seal, try to look at a mirror and you'll find that you're wearing it in a very awkward way xD
For my PL20 i usually use the mid-size eartips. But everytime i put it into my ears, i always feel like the right-side didn't give as good of a seal as the left-side.

And no matter how much i try to twist and turn it, i still feel the same. Then i would just give up and leave it as it is and it feels really awkward.

However i don't have any such problem with my other iems tho.

Enigmatic
post Jun 22 2009, 05:32 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(hirari @ Jun 22 2009, 05:26 PM)
For my PL20 i usually use the mid-size eartips. But everytime i put it into my ears, i always feel like the right-side didn't give as good of a seal as the left-side.

And no matter how much i try to twist and turn it, i still feel the same. Then i would just give up and leave it as it is and it feels really awkward.

However i don't have any such problem with my other iems tho.
I find that to happen quite abit with some brands of IEMs (especially those with generally lower QC, not pointing out names, but generally China made ones)

Try to request for an exchange if that happens. Swap the sleeve from right to left and see if its the sleeve causing problems or just the IEM's tip causing the problem. I believe the seller will allow an exchange if the IEM's causing the problem. smile.gif Do remember as IEMs extend into the ears, even the tiniest out-of-range built, if not detected during QC will already cause discomfort while wearing it.
The Apprentice
post Jun 22 2009, 05:39 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jun 22 2009, 05:32 PM)
I find that to happen quite abit with some brands of IEMs (especially those with generally lower QC, not pointing out names, but generally China made ones)

Try to request for an exchange if that happens. Swap the sleeve from right to left and see if its the sleeve causing problems or just the IEM's tip causing the problem. I believe the seller will allow an exchange if the IEM's causing the problem. smile.gif Do remember as IEMs extend into the ears, even the tiniest out-of-range built, if not detected during QC will already cause discomfort while wearing it.
Can exchange like that?
Can please comment @ http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1048903&hl=
hirari
post Jun 22 2009, 06:26 PM

1,281 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jun 22 2009, 05:32 PM)
Thanks for the advise. smile.gif

Another thing that i notice regarding the problem with my PL20 is that when i used sleeves from a different iem (i.e Sony), the problem seem to be gone and i feel no discomfort.

Even so, is the possibility of the iem built being out-of-range could still be present?
Enigmatic
post Jun 22 2009, 06:30 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(The Apprentice @ Jun 22 2009, 05:39 PM)
Can exchange like that?
Can please comment @ http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1048903&hl=
Hehe. I am in no position to give you any real advise on that, best if you can talk with the seller and come out with a best compromise for the both of you.

Good luck! smile.gif

QUOTE(hirari @ Jun 22 2009, 06:26 PM)
Thanks for the advise. smile.gif

Another thing that i notice regarding the problem with my PL20 is that when i used sleeves from a different iem (i.e Sony), the problem seem to be gone and i feel no discomfort.

Even so, is the possibility of the iem built being out-of-range could still be present?
Try swapping the positions of the sleeves to see if the sleeves are giving problems or the IEM itself is giving problems first. smile.gif Still abit vague to conclude right here.

Well, if other sleeves *might* have provided better seal/sound quality without the problem, maybe thats a calling from God so that you'll change your stock sleeves to other sleeves! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Jun 22 2009, 06:32 PM
hirari
post Jun 22 2009, 09:12 PM

1,281 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jun 22 2009, 06:30 PM)
Try swapping the positions of the sleeves to see if the sleeves are giving problems or the IEM itself is giving problems first. smile.gif Still abit vague to conclude right here.

Well, if other sleeves *might* have provided better seal/sound quality without the problem, maybe thats a calling from God so that you'll change your stock sleeves to other sleeves! biggrin.gif
Oh sry, forgot to mention it earlier. i did try swapping the positions of the sleeves and the problem still occurs. The right-side still feels weird. So i dismiss the thought of problematic sleeves.

You're probably right. Maybe it's just a way of God telling me to go custom. lol
KepalaRadio
post Jun 24 2009, 04:42 PM

389 posts

Meh, went to Moderno today because i needed new headphones.

Anyways i was considering either the Plantronic 376 (RM195) or the Steelseries 4H (RM199). Which one would be better in terms of sound quality?

Also, are there are other recommends for headphones of that price range?
hirari
post Jun 24 2009, 05:11 PM

1,281 posts

QUOTE(KepalaRadio @ Jun 24 2009, 04:42 PM)
Meh, went to Moderno today because i needed new headphones.

Anyways i was considering either the Plantronic 376 (RM195) or the Steelseries 4H (RM199). Which one would be better in terms of sound quality?

Also, are there are other recommends for headphones of that price range?
Both of them are gaming headsets right? So i'm not really sure about the sound quality.

But if you really care about sound quality that much, i suggest you go for Audio Technica ATH-M30.

It has good reviews and considered to be;
the best price performance value all-rounder balanced cans

Akabane@DrJackel is selling it at Bulk section for RM220, last i check.

This post has been edited by hirari: Jun 24 2009, 05:12 PM
TSkillz23
post Jun 25 2009, 11:18 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Oh..Audio technica bump! haha..AT is recognized for the good audio quality...

Or you could go Senn's way..I think HD 202 is a good way to start..tongue.gif only 150rm I think? Or HD 201 for RM100 only...Really good bang for buck there...

Senns are known for their premium quality..haha..There you go..

I used EP 630 for gaming though..hahaha..I like the isolation, and the *bang bang* when I play CS. :POh..Audio technica bump! haha..AT is recognized for the good audio quality...

Or you could go Senn's way..I think HD 202 is a good way to start..tongue.gif only 150rm I think? Or HD 201 for RM100 only...Really good bang for buck there...

Senns are known for their premium quality..haha..There you go..

I used EP 630 for gaming though..hahaha..I like the isolation, and the *bang bang* when I play CS. tongue.gif

edited: EP 630..

Added on July 3, 2009, 9:38 amI just tried my friend's JVC HARX 700...Very nice...

Added on July 3, 2009, 9:40 amIt's closed headphone, sounds very warm, bass is tight, however, compared to my HD 555..I think I still prefer HD 555..Cuz it's more comfortable and the airy soundstage is just amazing..

This post has been edited by killz23: Jul 3 2009, 09:40 AM
The Apprentice
post Jul 9 2009, 02:36 PM

501 posts

Can please comment more on PK3 and PL11? Thanks.

QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Jun 20 2009, 06:45 AM)
Well, I don't have my Atrios yet, but I chose it based on a lot of feedback saying that it has good quality bass without sacrificing too much clarity unlike most bassy IEMs. I'm not too worried, because I already own two cheap earphones, the PK3 and PL-11 that has thumping bass and good clarity. Surely the USD200 Atrios can't sound any worse than both of them biggrin.gif
Darkchaser
post Jul 9 2009, 03:33 PM

522 posts

Well.....IMO

PK3 - Good amount of bass but lacking in clarity. I had to EQ Treble Booster to get a clearer sound. Frankly, the one and only time I've ever used Treble Boost. E5 amp doesn't do much, bass boost just muddies up the bass even more.

PL11 - Slightly less bass but much better clarity. Great synergy with E5 amp - bass boost on. A good overall IEM with better bass than average.
The Apprentice
post Jul 9 2009, 05:35 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Jul 9 2009, 03:33 PM)
Well.....IMO

PK3 - Good amount of bass but lacking in clarity. I had to EQ Treble Booster to get a clearer sound. Frankly, the one and only time I've ever used Treble Boost. E5 amp doesn't do much, bass boost just muddies up the bass even more.

PL11 - Slightly less bass but much better clarity. Great synergy with E5 amp - bass boost on. A good overall IEM with better bass than average.
Wow... nicely compared. My E5 hiss when reaches 50% volumn ... but @ 50% cannot feel its power ... better dun amp ... dilemma.
Darkchaser
post Jul 9 2009, 05:46 PM

522 posts

If the E5 doesn't give much improvement, just don't use it. Since I got my Atrio, I have preferred NOT using the E5. Yes, the crappy iPod headphone out sounds almost as good as line out -> E5.

Admittedly, there is a slight improvement in clarity, but not enough to justify the hassle of carrying an amp around smile.gif
TSkillz23
post Jul 13 2009, 01:13 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Exactly.. I don't like the synergy between E5 and my headphones..Well, now I lost the amp, everything sounds better. hahaha..
busyman
post Jul 18 2009, 01:39 PM

1,465 posts

hi everyone..

i'm planning to get a good earphone tat below 100..

must be comfortable when wearing.
bcz i will wear it for a few hours(study + listening to mp3)..

any suggestion?
TSkillz23
post Jul 18 2009, 03:15 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

IEMs or over-head headphone?

I wana ask 1 question guys:

HD 555 vs AD700, any suggestions?
hirari
post Jul 18 2009, 03:17 PM

1,281 posts

QUOTE(busyman @ Jul 18 2009, 01:39 PM)
hi everyone..

i'm planning to get a good earphone tat below 100..

must be comfortable when wearing.
bcz i will wear it for a few hours(study + listening to mp3)..

any suggestion?
SoundMAGIC?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/976470
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/969214
TSkillz23
post Jul 18 2009, 03:56 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

That's the safest bet..Soundmagic..haha..
hirari
post Jul 18 2009, 03:59 PM

1,281 posts

QUOTE(killz23 @ Jul 18 2009, 03:56 PM)
That's the safest bet..Soundmagic..haha..
Yea lol

btw, there's a couple of comparison between HD 555 and AD700 at head-fi if you look around.

53 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:21 AM