WTF?! Wasted lah this Dahon Jetstream!!
Folding Bicycle like...........Dahon?, Any Idea..??? Please contribute.. Thx
Aug 2 2013, 10:32 AM
4,808 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
WTF?! Wasted lah this Dahon Jetstream!!
Aug 2 2013, 11:12 AM
4,587 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Golden Meadow |
QUOTE(theotheryun @ Aug 2 2013, 05:11 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 5.knog blinder 2 road rear light - MYR 179 (before 5% discount) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i got mine from joo ngan sons at uptown for 238 ... did i got wrongly charged? but the price on the package is 258 |
Aug 2 2013, 12:16 PM
28 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(earl-ku @ Aug 2 2013, 11:12 AM) Bro i have seen this more than once edy, and most are saying the knogg blinder 2 rear blinker is 179 ... Well, you can just check the prices at Vans urban bicycles or call them up to ask for pricing..i got mine from joo ngan sons at uptown for 238 ... did i got wrongly charged? but the price on the package is 258 I got my knog blinder 2 headlights for 229 less 5% as vans may be the distributor? don't know for sure. |
Aug 2 2013, 01:07 PM
4,587 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Golden Meadow |
QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 2 2013, 12:16 PM) Well, you can just check the prices at Vans urban bicycles or call them up to ask for pricing.. no 258 is the rear ... I got my knog blinder 2 headlights for 229 less 5% as vans may be the distributor? don't know for sure. and 170 is for front ... this is from joo ngan |
Aug 2 2013, 02:49 PM
4,808 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Aug 2 2013, 03:02 PM
386 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Aug 2 2013, 03:03 PM
Aug 2 2013, 03:43 PM
598 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Aug 2 2013, 03:03 PM) 2 more photo... from This Dahon Folder bike... Post the link here pls... thx. This bike was like kena abused already... Want to know how d owner use the bike... |
Aug 2 2013, 05:11 PM
Yes, looks like someone really give it a good bashing up and destroyed the bike..
Aug 2 2013, 05:31 PM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Aug 2 2013, 08:59 AM) Breaking News... Just to share... People always tell me center fold is not so good or strong.. But i not understand what they say.. Now i understand, this is what they mean... Aisay man, don't be too quick to judge - especially when you lifted a picture from the internet.. You only got half the story.. [attachmentid=3566181][attachmentid=3566182][attachmentid=3566183] This is not a local owner, but infact, a friend of mine from the Dahon Forums. The photos shown was actually a 2008 Dahon Jetstream XP - full story here: DebCar's website It appears that the XP was taken on trails, hard-ridden before it was completely broken down. It was used for jumps, and was also heavily modified for offroad rides. Sam |
Aug 3 2013, 07:41 AM
QUOTE(samosaurus @ Aug 2 2013, 05:31 PM) Aisay man, don't be too quick to judge - especially when you lifted a picture from the internet.. You only got half the story.. Thank Sam.. U have us a full story... This is not a local owner, but infact, a friend of mine from the Dahon Forums. The photos shown was actually a 2008 Dahon Jetstream XP - full story here: DebCar's website It appears that the XP was taken on trails, hard-ridden before it was completely broken down. It was used for jumps, and was also heavily modified for offroad rides. Sam |
Aug 3 2013, 07:48 AM
This is where i read n see this photo..
http://cforum1.cari.com.my/forum.php?mod=v...ge%3D1&page=251 |
Aug 3 2013, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Aug 3 2013, 07:41 AM) No problems dude..Carrie, the owner of the 2008 JXP has a wealth of information on the bike. Infact, it was a happy ending when he managed to get a new frame for the Dahon. It was completely retro-fitted. I found it amazing that he had built a new Kilo fork based on CAD design. If there's a definite reference on riding a Dahon Jetstream on the trail, DebCar's site would the the ultimate resource. In relation to what you saw, a large percentage of the Jetstreams here in Malaysia are garage queens. They are kept by collectors rather than ridden on the road & trail. Posting a picture of the broken XP and saying that its a "tragedy" without ever finding out the real story is just plain misleading. Very irresponsible. Sam This post has been edited by samosaurus: Aug 3 2013, 10:15 AM |
Aug 3 2013, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(samosaurus @ Aug 3 2013, 10:13 AM) No problems dude.. Dahon so good.. I think my next bike will go for Dahon d.. If they got model like mini folder road bike better... Carrie, the owner of the 2008 JXP has a wealth of information on the bike. Infact, it was a happy ending when he managed to get a new frame for the Dahon. It was completely retro-fitted. I found it amazing that he had built a new Kilo fork based on CAD design. If there's a definite reference on riding a Dahon Jetstream on the trail, DebCar's site would the the ultimate resource. In relation to what you saw, a large percentage of the Jetstreams here in Malaysia are garage queens. They are kept by collectors rather than ridden on the road & trail. Posting a picture of the broken XP and saying that its a "tragedy" without ever finding out the real story is just plain misleading. Very irresponsible. Sam |
Aug 3 2013, 10:39 AM
Not entirely.
Before the Dahon family split, there were issues about getting parts and replacement frames (recalls and warranty) out. You get better stuff with Tern now, but unfortunately, Josh, the brains behind Tern bicycles had no intention to build an offroad folding bike. Dahon (Just regained their rights to use this trademark) has some issues with quality. You just don't get all the good stuff that comes with the bikes like before (I'd say the "Golden age" for Dahon bikes was from the mid 90s - 2011) where quality components are used. Today's Dahon are a far cry when what they used to be. To answer your question about a mini-Velo, nope, Dahon doesn't produce them. You would have better luck with companies like Tyrell from Japan where a mini bike would set you off by RM8K at the minimum.. Sam |
Aug 3 2013, 08:49 PM
Wow, so nice! Bike lanes ... to be shared with cars.
Can we see this in Selangor as well? Just a distant pipe dream i guess, as we have millions of cars in Klang valley, no way lah, i think. http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2013...ung-Bungah.aspx |
Aug 3 2013, 09:19 PM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(samosaurus @ Aug 3 2013, 10:39 AM) Not entirely. What about d Dash P18? I use that by the way..Before the Dahon family split, there were issues about getting parts and replacement frames (recalls and warranty) out. You get better stuff with Tern now, but unfortunately, Josh, the brains behind Tern bicycles had no intention to build an offroad folding bike. Dahon (Just regained their rights to use this trademark) has some issues with quality. You just don't get all the good stuff that comes with the bikes like before (I'd say the "Golden age" for Dahon bikes was from the mid 90s - 2011) where quality components are used. Today's Dahon are a far cry when what they used to be. To answer your question about a mini-Velo, nope, Dahon doesn't produce them. You would have better luck with companies like Tyrell from Japan where a mini bike would set you off by RM8K at the minimum.. Sam |
Aug 3 2013, 09:23 PM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 3 2013, 08:49 PM) Wow, so nice! Bike lanes ... to be shared with cars. Yup, thx to efforts from G-Club and other bike clubs in Penang. They hv annual CFAL (Cycling For A Lane) rides to bring more awareness for cycling. When visiting Heritage Sites, you can see lotsa cyclists. Some even renting bikes as rental prices is pretty low (from RM10/day-Chin Leong, Armenian St). It also helps that certain places have no car zone on specific days.Can we see this in Selangor as well? Just a distant pipe dream i guess, as we have millions of cars in Klang valley, no way lah, i think. http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2013...ung-Bungah.aspx |
Aug 3 2013, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(Arcarius @ Aug 3 2013, 09:19 PM) The Dash P18 is one of the "hottest" selling folding bikes in the Klang Valley.If you have one made in 2011, that would be a keeper as its one of the best built bikes around. Components were decent, they used Schwalbe Kojak tires. I nearly bought a Dash X-20 which was selling at RM5.8K at the time, but opted out because I didn't want a folding mini-Velo. The present Dash P18, well, you just can't compare it with the first production-run.. Sam |
Aug 4 2013, 12:14 PM
What did I spend on my bike? Just the major ones below...
- Cateye wireless computer 160 - Biologic PostRack 143 - Knog Road 2 headlight - 217 - knog blinder 1 rear - 77 - tern carry on bag - 80 - kali helmet - 140 - selle royal dardo saddle - 105 - lezyne mini pump - 90 - kinetix pro wheelset - 1250 - shimano 9 spd cassette - 120 - mks ezy pedals - 230 - stow bag - 75 - misc (locks, chain lube, brake pads, tubes, spoke wrench, floor pump, tyre levers, puncture repair kits, rear wheel lift up support stand, big apples, mudguards, more tubes, bottle cage, daiso RM5 items-lots, .... etc) On the look out /wish list: - gps - phone holder - handlebar bag or front luggage rack |
| Change to: | 0.0310sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:48 AM |