Folding Bicycle like...........Dahon?, Any Idea..??? Please contribute.. Thx

gilbertlhl
post May 17 2013, 11:34 AM

386 posts

Hi, Im newbie here. just wonder where can i join a foldie bike club or activity in Penang Or Butterworth.
Or any group i can join for some activity.

TQ.
gilbertlhl
post May 17 2013, 11:19 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ May 17 2013, 03:32 PM)
between hummer 20' and oyama skyline which one will be the best choice? need input here.
leaned towards oyama right now as it was more to roadie while hummer was offroader which i have my old 26 mtb already. cant really touch the eco c7 due to the owner not allowed to do so she love how it is whistling.gif .
I own a Hummer 20'. Its totally different feel with ur 26mtb. I love the feel of riding it.. compare with other 20' folder bike. Hummer give more sporty feel else other might give more leisure feel..

after u get ur gear tuning right. u will love this bike..

Even all the component its an entry level(not sure can upgrade or not), if u get it right, it be all right.

many ppl love the look of hummer.. I fall in love on the first sign too..

Just my opinion... tongue.gif
gilbertlhl
post May 19 2013, 08:36 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ May 17 2013, 11:34 PM)
Bro... this is the 1.5k hummer??  biggrin.gif
This is my Hummer... icon_idea.gif
gilbertlhl
post May 19 2013, 04:13 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Apr 4 2013, 11:57 PM)
u can go have a look at a real montague bike then a cheapo hummer to compare if the frame
quality is the same or on par...
I think the frame is the same with montague, just the part all is entry level only... hopefully next time can upgrade...

gilbertlhl
post May 19 2013, 09:57 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ May 19 2013, 08:54 PM)
this is wit granny gear as well...  rclxms.gif
so 24 speed??? biggrin.gif
20' Hummer only come with 21 speed shimano tourney tz... and combo brake and shifter.. sweat.gif

gilbertlhl
post May 19 2013, 11:16 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ May 19 2013, 10:02 PM)
good la.. many wans more speed, esp the granny gear... plus got 20' wheels wor.. more than enough to pedal like dog in water....  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif

if this bike can tahan lasak, can thrash around off road will be good.... biggrin.gif
I love the granny gear also when uphill or when tire n need some rest then granny gear will help alot..

The gear is more then enough for me(for now).. What i think should upgrade is the wheelset.. i feel the wheel hub is not very good..

Do u think what can i do with the hub? any recommend?

I never try off road, but i try on non Tar road. It perform better then on Tar road(just what i feel)...

gilbertlhl
post May 19 2013, 11:36 PM

386 posts

Maybe just change to slimer and lighter tyre. the ride will improve more(some1 told me this, i not sure true or not)...
gilbertlhl
post May 20 2013, 07:52 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ May 19 2013, 11:45 PM)
depends on whether u wana ride more on the road or off, road...
the big tyre now will absorb bumps etc....
Haha.. Thank u. U give me an idea. Mayb i can spare another set of wheel for road ride... thumbup.gif

How much u think it will cost me for another set of wheel?
gilbertlhl
post May 20 2013, 09:57 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ May 20 2013, 09:45 AM)
yup bro the feel is there, test ride it..  i think all can upgrade just that the wheel part is a bit susah.. but then end up with the oyama skyline.. due to roadie setup and i will ride more on tarmac.. also due to the bling bling that came with it tekro brake lever, novatex hub for rear.. but wifey hate it! eco 7 is the best (hummer came 2nd due to diff shifters installed)! oyama with the tyre size, she can feel every bump and bang, saddle too small, different geometri than eco 7... bla bla bla the list go on...  thumbup.gif
Congrate with ur oyama skyline thumbup.gif This is very nice bike.

Im just a newbie, dun really understand about how to ungrade bike..

Can tell me more about u are saying: wheel part is a bit susah??

TQ. notworthy.gif
gilbertlhl
post May 20 2013, 12:54 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ May 20 2013, 10:22 AM)
Check the number of spokes. If there are 32 spokes, changing the hubs is easy as most mountain bike hubs are 32 holes. If it is 28 like Dahons, then a bit hard to source. There are 28 hole hubs but needs to be hunted. As for the width, my wife's Eco C7 fork can be widen to fit in a normal width hub. I did that to install a quick release.

The most expensive part of a folding bike other than the frame/fork is the wheelset. Also check if the original hub is a freewheel or a cassette type. If it is an 8 speed, then it is usually the cassette type and changing it is easy.  icon_rolleyes.gif
I think my is 36 spokes. Its there such thing as 36 spokes?
gilbertlhl
post May 20 2013, 03:20 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(mbax @ May 20 2013, 03:12 PM)
yup there is.. just like 28...
Mean hard to find? sweat.gif
gilbertlhl
post May 21 2013, 01:54 PM

386 posts

wow... Just finish reading all..

Very informative forum. learn lot..

Any Penang or Butterworth Foldie owner?? can ride together? rclxms.gif
gilbertlhl
post May 28 2013, 09:24 PM

386 posts

My Hummer... tongue.gif

Just to share...

gilbertlhl
post May 28 2013, 09:50 PM

386 posts

More photo....
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
gilbertlhl
post May 28 2013, 10:45 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ May 28 2013, 10:30 PM)
good one bro!!  thumbup.gif

but u d botol there hor... the mouth piece will get dirt leh...  sweat.gif
The botol not put there, i just come back from ride then the botol stil there...
gilbertlhl
post Jun 16 2013, 11:18 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jun 16 2013, 10:15 PM)
bro gilbertlhlcroomaniac care to comment, thx..  biggrin.gif
I think the main different between them is the part like gear, hub, tire, handlebar...
Real Hummer All part its branded Part..

All the part the China Hummer give is just an entry level. But after good fine tune, its will be good to run(But i believe all the expensive bike or all the branded part also need fine tune.. correct me if im wrong...smile.gif

After fine turn, the gear shift smooth, brake no problem(if got problem change the brake pad)..
but the handle grip(not very comfort for long ride, will change it soon..)
Other part, i think after spoil only upgrade to better quality...

I try few bike below 1k. I still prefer hummer, cos when u ride, u can feel the bike is very strong and firm and Not easy tire...
This Hummer did not give me China Bike feel. If u try before China Bike then u know what i mean..smile.gif

I try Raleigh Ugo also, But i still like this Hummer...
My wife, that Don't know anything about bike, also can say this bike is better then Other China bike n also other bike that below 1k. include xds(its feel like that bike not firm enough.)
U go try then u will know.

China Hummer come with many type:

For 20' Come with 6 speed and 7 speed(my advice take shimano 7 speed type, better part...)

For 26' Come with 6,7,8 speed(My advice take Shimano 8 Speed, cos it will come with adjustable Fox, Shimano acera gear and better Hub and better disk brake also... and also next time want to upgrade to 9 or 10 speed easier and cheaper, correct me if im wrong)

I don't understand what is no good u hear from other??
and from where u hear the China Hummer is very bad( i guess that must be from the Hummer leader...)

Hope this can help.. sweat.gif

gilbertlhl
post Jun 16 2013, 11:20 PM

386 posts

Just to add some info:

The front Gear is 3 speed. mean it come with granny gear also.... tongue.gif
gilbertlhl
post Jun 17 2013, 07:46 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(storm04 @ Jun 17 2013, 06:26 AM)
wat should we look at if we want to change the tyre?
and besides d price of d tyres what else will be in d costs n roughly how much?

actually I'm having a minor issue with d gear (first time riding bike woth gears... hu hu 20+yrs ago was paddling a beloved bmx....)
twice already d chain dropped out when I paddled uphill n both times it happened when I chg gears from 2-6 to 1-6 ... sad.gif
wat happened? I assumed something I did wrong. help pls?
There is no problem with ur java fit. Its just need some fine tune/adjust the gear(correct me if im wrong).

U may try this.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wQncKmddahk

If still can not then bring to bike shop where u bring..
gilbertlhl
post Jun 21 2013, 11:30 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Jun 21 2013, 08:26 PM)
I dont see why cant?

Maybe i'll go and try 1 round and report back here? 😊
Off road no problem, i try with my 20" hummer d...smile.gif

Ori and not ori its just the part different only...smile.gif

Ori they giv better n expensive part...smile.gif

Not ori cheap cos they giv entry level part...smile.gif

As long as u feel good n meet ur budget that is most important...smile.gif

Bike Body is the most important, Part can be upgrade later...smile.gif

Correct me if im wrong... notworthy.gif
gilbertlhl
post Jun 24 2013, 07:26 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 22 2013, 02:10 PM)
It is hard to give judgement if we don't know the components installed. Sometimes they get cheap components ( tiew lau forr ) especially the SRAM X4.s or the Shimano Tourneys. An upgrade from 7 speed to 8 speed can easily be over 600 bucks or an upgrade from 8 speed to 16 speed, etc.etc. You need to know the components given. Difference in wheelset prices can sometimes cost the whole bike! rclxub.gif

You probably got inferior components installed and the shop can sell you cheaply. Eg. There's one shop who sells the Dahon Speed P8 with Kenda tyres instead of the original Schwalbe's which can cost a difference of 150 bucks! Then if the sells you RM100 cheaper, you think you got a bargain!  tongue.gif Some takes out the original rear carrier which sells for 200 bucks in Rodalink. The frame/fork is just a part of the full bike!
Totally agree with u.. some time ppl just judge it by the name, ori or not ori.... sweat.gif

0.0651sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:55 PM