Folding Bicycle like...........Dahon?, Any Idea..??? Please contribute.. Thx

samosaurus
post Apr 4 2013, 03:27 PM

Hahahah!!!! How did this photo end up here?

Sam
samosaurus
post Apr 4 2013, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Apr 4 2013, 04:11 PM)
Oh, bro sam, pinjam just to show d guys here the gt folding bikes.  biggrin.gif
Hahaha!!!! Okay, those girls don't ride their GTs anymore.. BTW, that's my wife with her Red Dahon Curve D3. This picture was taken years ago..

Sam

This post has been edited by samosaurus: Apr 4 2013, 05:48 PM
samosaurus
post Apr 4 2013, 05:58 PM

Hahahah!!!!!

I was looking to by some Lego Technic sets here and found this thread..

Lots of serious folding bike owners here! Some fellas are also active on Facebook groups.. notworthy.gif

Sam
samosaurus
post Apr 5 2013, 05:56 PM

QUOTE(H2D @ Apr 4 2013, 11:35 PM)
Dahon 30 years limited edition, will this be in msia...??  biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=3377775] [attachmentid=3377777] [attachmentid=3377778] [attachmentid=3377779]

[attachmentid=3377780]  [attachmentid=3377781]  [attachmentid=3377782]  [attachmentid=3377783]

[attachmentid=3377785]  [attachmentid=3377788]  [attachmentid=3377790]  [attachmentid=3377791]

[attachmentid=3377792]  [attachmentid=3377793]  [attachmentid=3377794]  [attachmentid=3377795]
Most unlikely....

The 30th Anniversary edition Dahons were made in Bulgaria for the Japan market. All kena sapu by Japanese Dahon enthusiasts. And you are looking at a pricetag of RM25K for a piece of the limited-edition bikes...

Even the 30th Anniversary Replica (cheaper version) will not make it on the shelves here..

Sam
samosaurus
post Apr 8 2013, 05:35 PM

yea big market in jap... selling for 577,500 Yen

Well, most of these bikes are going to end up on a big display shelf somewhere..

Dahon, or Dr Hon, is going down the mass market, so, you will expect some low-end stuff coming in the years ahead..

My money is on Tern Bicycles..

Sam
samosaurus
post Apr 9 2013, 06:04 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Apr 8 2013, 06:57 PM)
Samosaurus, when your trip from Kuala Selangor to Teluk Intan is on, how many hours, in your opinion, it will take for an average rider to cycle?
Ah.... This one has to be postponed because of the elections la..

Based on experience, we are looking at 8 hours ride from Kuala Selangor - Teluk Intan with a few breaks in between.. So, basically, this is a light touring ride..

This ride was done last year: Kuala Selangor - Sekinchan...

Sekinchan beachfront..

The good makan..

Sam
samosaurus
post Jun 28 2013, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 25 2013, 03:44 PM)
In the order of preference !

No. 1  Dahon Speed P8 (although MU is a newer model, the savings can be used for accessories)
No. 2  Dahon MU P8 (another forummer just bought off the existing MU from the shop I mentioned)
          so you have to source from other shops. Rodalink have it.
No. 3  Louis Garneau LGS POP
No. 4  Mosso
No. 5  XDS, frankly I won't even consider it. I have seen many complaints but they attract because they give
          better components but the frame.....a bit sakit.

I have a few friends who even did off road riding on their foldies in FRIM and the Dahon frame can take it.  tongue.gif

thumbup.gif    thumbup.gif    thumbup.gif
Mmmmm... A photo of my buddies at their training ride..

Nice to see it here! thumbup.gif

Sam
samosaurus
post Jul 5 2013, 04:31 PM

is there any mini velo MTB? Full sub?

Yes there is. What is "full-sub"??? For underwater rides?

This is the SpeeOne SOR full-suspension Trail minivelo... Pricetag is roughly about RM10.5, one sample bike is available for public viewing at SPV bikes in Subang Jaya www.spvbicycles.com

The rear suspension and carbon chainstays.. Very unique to SpeedOne designs...

The frame design..

If you want to see the bike, give Sunny Siew a call at 03 - 5611 9218.

Sam
samosaurus
post Aug 2 2013, 05:31 PM

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Aug 2 2013, 08:59 AM)
Breaking News... Just to share... People always tell me center fold is not so good or strong.. But i not understand what they say.. Now i understand, this is what they mean...
[attachmentid=3566181][attachmentid=3566182][attachmentid=3566183]
Aisay man, don't be too quick to judge - especially when you lifted a picture from the internet.. You only got half the story..

This is not a local owner, but infact, a friend of mine from the Dahon Forums.

The photos shown was actually a 2008 Dahon Jetstream XP - full story here: DebCar's website

It appears that the XP was taken on trails, hard-ridden before it was completely broken down. It was used for jumps, and was also heavily modified for offroad rides.

Sam
samosaurus
post Aug 3 2013, 10:13 AM

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Aug 3 2013, 07:41 AM)
Thank Sam.. U have us a full story... rclxms.gif
No problems dude..

Carrie, the owner of the 2008 JXP has a wealth of information on the bike. Infact, it was a happy ending when he managed to get a new frame for the Dahon. It was completely retro-fitted. I found it amazing that he had built a new Kilo fork based on CAD design.

If there's a definite reference on riding a Dahon Jetstream on the trail, DebCar's site would the the ultimate resource.

In relation to what you saw, a large percentage of the Jetstreams here in Malaysia are garage queens. They are kept by collectors rather than ridden on the road & trail.

Posting a picture of the broken XP and saying that its a "tragedy" without ever finding out the real story is just plain misleading. Very irresponsible.

Sam

This post has been edited by samosaurus: Aug 3 2013, 10:15 AM
samosaurus
post Aug 3 2013, 10:39 AM

Not entirely.

Before the Dahon family split, there were issues about getting parts and replacement frames (recalls and warranty) out. You get better stuff with Tern now, but unfortunately, Josh, the brains behind Tern bicycles had no intention to build an offroad folding bike.

Dahon (Just regained their rights to use this trademark) has some issues with quality. You just don't get all the good stuff that comes with the bikes like before (I'd say the "Golden age" for Dahon bikes was from the mid 90s - 2011) where quality components are used. Today's Dahon are a far cry when what they used to be.

To answer your question about a mini-Velo, nope, Dahon doesn't produce them. You would have better luck with companies like Tyrell from Japan where a mini bike would set you off by RM8K at the minimum..

Sam
samosaurus
post Aug 3 2013, 11:10 PM

QUOTE(Arcarius @ Aug 3 2013, 09:19 PM)
What about d Dash P18? I use that by the way..
The Dash P18 is one of the "hottest" selling folding bikes in the Klang Valley.

If you have one made in 2011, that would be a keeper as its one of the best built bikes around. Components were decent, they used Schwalbe Kojak tires. I nearly bought a Dash X-20 which was selling at RM5.8K at the time, but opted out because I didn't want a folding mini-Velo.

The present Dash P18, well, you just can't compare it with the first production-run..

Sam
samosaurus
post Aug 9 2013, 05:12 PM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 8 2013, 04:56 PM)
Seems colour of dahon getting more and more Erm funky? Doesn't look good to me.

Btw, if I up my budget to rm2000, shoukd I get a Tern D8 or Dahon Speed 8? Is Dahon speed P8 spec have been change? Do the bike still come woth Schwable Big Apple? What have been change for new P8?

Almost all my fren recommended Speed P8.
Dude,

If you have RM800 (RM2.8K) more to spare (can wait till the sale-season for better discounts), I would recommend you the Tern Link P9 (Now, made in Thailand).

This is a better ride. Handles really well and its all you need for leisure rides and can be rigged for bikepacking and touring..

The Tern Link P9

As for the Dahon Speed P8, well, I must say that the quality has gone to the dogs! You get inferior components and some cheapass tires instead of the original Schwalbe Big Apple. If you can find any "old" Speed P8 (manufactured from 2008 - 2011), that would be the bike to go for!

My 2008 Speed P8, rigged for touring..

Tern Link P9 and 2011 Dahon Speed P8

What amazes me is the fact that Tern consistently improves their products..

Tern's Link D7i with Shimano Nexus 7, 7-speed internal hub gear..

Dahon Jetstream P8 & Tern Link D7i

Sam thumbup.gif
samosaurus
post Aug 9 2013, 11:03 PM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 9 2013, 10:03 PM)
Sam,

Very nice indeed for link P9. In fact I tested
P9 and found it superb. Just that rm2.8k is over killing. My initial budget is rm1.5k.

If I couldn't find 2011 Speed 8 perharps I should just get Tern D8. Where and how much is the cheapest D8 available? Is GW, Rodalink or Van Urban a good place to get Terns?
IIRC there is a Red 2012 Speed P8 in Rodalink Bangsar. Last bike in the shop..

If I were you, I wait for a while till I can meet my budget quota and get the Link P9... Hhahaha!

Sam
samosaurus
post Aug 11 2013, 01:48 PM

QUOTE(budgee @ Aug 10 2013, 12:38 AM)
Checking the Link P9 specs on Tern's website.  It is almost similar components to the Verge P18 except for the transmission, RD and FD and Crank.  The other difference is the P9's tyres with Schwalbe Marathon supreme vs the P18's Kojaks.    Wa, P9 is slightly lighter than P18, I guess due to the extra smaller gear in the crank.

I almost bought this P9 when one of the shops had changed the standard Kinetix wheelset to 20" Wheelsport wheelset and priced the bike at RM4,000.  This made it lighter and faster.

With the standard wheels it was about RM2,900 before discount.

If I couldn't get the P18, I would have got this bike as I could not wait till next for the new stock to arrive.  Just itching to ride all over Klang valley.

One more thing about these Terns is the Physis handlepost.  Not all Terns have this.  But with the Physis design, when pedalling I can pull hard on the handlebar to provide a much higher degree of acceleration power than if I were just depend on my legs alone.  So on some bikes the handlebars will sort of give way and seem like its going to break if you pull too hard.  This feature is important as this is available on bigger road bikes that allows you to use both your legs and body / arms strength to propel forward.  ... means you can keep up with bigger road bikes as well as reach your destination faster with less effort.  smile.gif

Since I started riding in early June, I have lost 2 kg...  I still have to lose another 2 kg so that my tummy does not show so much  smile.gif
A lot of Singaporeans have heavily modified their Link P9. With so much money spent, its just better to put the money on a Verge X10. Its all there in a neat package.

Agreed on the physis handlebar. I am using the latest physis 3D with the VRO syntace steering system.. Very firm and solid in terms of handling..

With my colleague Kevin, who is also The Star cycling team's captain..

The captain leading the way..

At the end of a 10km hill course in Hulu Langat..

My bike with the Physis 3D and VRO syntace steering system..

Sam
samosaurus
post Aug 12 2013, 09:19 AM

The top bike is a Dahon Vitesse P18 (no longer in production), bottom two are the Visc P18s..

Sam
samosaurus
post Aug 12 2013, 12:47 PM

if compare Visc P18 with tern p18... which one better ? hehe

How deep is your pocket?

There are QC issues with the Visc P18, components are inferior. Some cyclists have broken their rear derailleur climbing Genting Sempah, so, Le Run had issued them with new and improved RDs. Apart from the 'garang' look, the Visc is one of those bikes you can either admire or ignore.

Tern P18? Which one la? You mean Verge P18 ka? This is a best-seller and to be honest, great value for money because of its award-winning frame design.

QUOTE(surfsmurf @ Aug 12 2013, 11:45 AM)
can anyone share with me the pros n cons of a Brompton and Birdy ?
Brompton, folds very compact. Very pleasing aesthetics. But very mahal and some of its crucial components and parts are made from plastic. Not as tough as other brand's folding bikes. But people who cycle them would say its a classy ride..

Birdy, hahah! Nice bike to ride, got full suspension, entry level bike is around RM3.7K, the best of the lot is around RM6.9K, some heavily modded models can chalk up as much as RM13K. Folding really sucks, heavy and all the joints are old school.

This one belongs to Fei Lee from GW Cycles, agent for Pacific Cycle bikes including Birdy, IF and Reach.. Take note of the color-plus front and rear suspension upgrade, control tech carbon rims and that limited-edition goose poop green colour..

Sam
samosaurus
post Aug 12 2013, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(surfsmurf @ Aug 12 2013, 02:36 PM)
should I consider bike Friday ?
Fuah... You have expensive taste ah! rclxms.gif

Bike Fridays are built to last. They may not appeal to the younger set as their designs are rather "classic" and contemporary.

Each bike are made to order and you can consider them as semi-custom built.

The man responsible for BF in Malaysia is Dr And Ng of My Family Cycles Services. (He is based in Bandar Utama, music teacher and public health practitioner).

Basically, there at least five models on sale here: Tikit, New World Tourist, Pocket Rocket, Tandem and the Pocket Llama.

Pricing ranges from RM3,800 - RM9,000 depending on what you want to put on the bike.

The bikes are with a lifetime warranty and My Family Cycle Services would back that up.

As for volume per say, Bike Fridays are a rarity here in Malaysia compared to Singapore and Thailand.

Sam
samosaurus
post Aug 13 2013, 10:19 AM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 13 2013, 08:37 AM)
I would rather choose Brompton if I have tat kind of money to burn  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hahahah!!! rclxms.gif Spend wisely, ride safe! And always wear your helmet!

Sam thumbup.gif
samosaurus
post Aug 13 2013, 10:22 AM

QUOTE(Robyn @ Aug 13 2013, 10:16 AM)
guyz i'm wondering how much to upgrade tern D8 8 speed to 10 speed ? i'm in the dilemma of either getting p9 or D8 :-(

Because the price tag for D8 really attractive and almost 1k different, not much the upgraded of P9 parts really worth of 1k  ?
Hmmm... I don't see the logic..

Ride the bike, don't be a slave to the bike with upgrades and modifications..

Spare the "crappy" gripshifter, the Tern Link P9 has everything that is made to perform. Consider it as an investment for long-term enjoyment.. brows.gif

Sam wink.gif

0.0629sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:34 PM