Folding Bicycle like...........Dahon?, Any Idea..??? Please contribute.. Thx

earl-ku
post Jul 9 2013, 12:04 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 8 2013, 11:26 PM)
there is an optimum position for saddle fore/aft,
kenot simply push too much to the front or back...
google to find out....  biggrin.gif

go watch this...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xP-jyIbPQ6g

This post has been edited by earl-ku: Jul 9 2013, 12:04 AM
madman20
post Jul 9 2013, 08:38 AM

The S.PIG
2,775 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 8 2013, 11:26 PM)
there is an optimum position for saddle fore/aft,
kenot simply push too much to the front or back...
google to find out....  biggrin.gif

Will try to re-adjust this evening after work laugh.gif

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jul 9 2013, 12:04 AM)
Watch after work..don't want to eat up my data quota laugh.gif
etigge
post Jul 9 2013, 08:42 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Jul 8 2013, 11:55 PM)
Hi May i ask what u mean by: The Deore rear derailleur. Have to be careful of the long cage though when riding on the 52T by 32T.??

Cos i plan to change my chainring from 42T to 50T or 52T.. any advice?

TQ.
Those mountain bike's long cage derailleurs when extended to accommodate the chain is almost touching the rims and also the clearance from the ground is quite near. Since the setting is used only on extreme low gear (for hill climbing) the speed is not going to be fast, so it is quite OK.

As in your case, the change of the chain ring does not really affect the RD but you have to make sure the chain is long enough as the diameter of the 52T chain ring is bigger.

Long Cage

Short Cage

theotheryun
post Jul 9 2013, 02:44 PM

QUOTE(budgee @ Jul 8 2013, 11:08 PM)
You are so right, in the matters of the butt.

At first, I did not adjust the position of the saddle and just went for a long ride on the new bike.
After a while, I had a painful ass which took some time to go away.

The next time, I carefully checked how I could adjust the position of the saddle and found that I could turn the seat post 180 degrees  to turn it around so that the saddle can be positioned as near to the handlebars as possible.
I had to take out the saddle, turn it around and screw it on again as it was facing backwards.

But when I tried a short ride, it just felt so much more comfortable than the almost crouching position of the new bike without adjustment.  Now I felt like my weight was more on the "meat" of the butt rather than the two lower bones under my butt, if you get what I mean.

This improved position helped but it did not completely removed the soreness after a long ride.
So I had two options:  1) change the saddle to something more comfortable or 2) buy padded pants.

As the padded pants were not cheap, I decided to look at another saddle and found what is a godsend gift for relieving painful butts, a Royal Gel saddle from MBShop....  Selle Royal brand.  This was easily the most valuable buy for my bike and it did not cost too much, surprisingly as it was made in Italy.

Now I could enjoy long rides comfortably.
ah, de sadle issue
well
when i first got on my bike i oso got same problems
got pain evriwhere
back, butt, thighs, calfs, arms, neck and "lil' bro" oso pain rclxub.gif
just naturally, i curse evriting on de bike
hard sadle,lack of gearings (7 speeds), narrow tyres, stupid long reach n low dropbar, stupid suspension doesnt do aniting...bleh...bleh...bleh...n so on
hell i wanna change evriting
but after two weeks or someting
no pain ady
without changin aniting
so my conclusion is myb it is my body dat is not used to cycling
or myb its just me

and also when i do my last cincai touring
i tot im gonna get pain whole body after doing 100somting km
suprisingly i didnt icon_rolleyes.gif
later dat night i can still cycle aroun jalan2 cari makan around alor star town
hehe
only one thing tho
cuz so cincai cycling with jeans
my kangkang got blister (only notice when i take shower at hotel)
n my underwear got one big hole
fortunately just one underwear casualties.phew

so dats y my bike still standard stock (apart from de rear brake tongue.gif)
de kenda kwest kinda want to botak ady
gotta change later before raya hopefully
so i can do myb litle touring dis raya
hehe
i tink my bike can take 1.95
before dis i eyeing de schwalbe big aple
but then after i read samo's blog
im considering of maxxis dth
i dono
myb afte i change ill report back to yall
now is to find dat dth
hmmm hmm.gif
gotta ask samo
hehe

cheers
jackiewong
post Jul 9 2013, 03:58 PM

368 posts

Bro check this out.. this foldable mountain bike is really cheap!.. so tempting.. if i have yet to get my volcano.. i will be buying this for sure.. sad.gif

Foldable mountain bike
madman20
post Jul 9 2013, 05:23 PM

The S.PIG
2,775 posts

QUOTE(jackiewong @ Jul 9 2013, 03:58 PM)
Bro check this out.. this foldable mountain bike is really cheap!.. so tempting.. if i have yet to get my volcano.. i will be buying this for sure..  sad.gif

Foldable mountain bike
Waaa..really cheap indeed! But not sure on the spec..I rookie in the bicycle world laugh.gif If I waited I would've gotten this instead of my Hummer Replica laugh.gif
etigge
post Jul 9 2013, 07:32 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(theotheryun @ Jul 9 2013, 02:44 PM)
ah, de sadle issue
well
when i first got on my bike i oso got same problems
got pain evriwhere
back, butt, thighs, calfs, arms, neck and "lil' bro" oso pain rclxub.gif
just naturally, i curse evriting on de bike
hard sadle,lack of gearings (7 speeds), narrow tyres, stupid long reach n low dropbar, stupid suspension doesnt do aniting...bleh...bleh...bleh...n so on
hell i wanna change evriting
but after two weeks or someting
no pain ady
without changin aniting
so my conclusion is myb it is my body dat is not used to cycling
or myb its just me

and also when i do my last cincai touring
i tot im gonna get pain whole body after doing 100somting km
suprisingly i didnt  icon_rolleyes.gif
later dat night i can still cycle aroun jalan2 cari makan around alor star town
hehe
only one thing tho
cuz so cincai cycling with jeans
my kangkang got blister (only notice when i take shower at hotel)
n my underwear got one big hole
fortunately just one underwear casualties.phew

so dats y my bike still standard stock (apart from de rear brake tongue.gif)
de kenda kwest kinda want to botak ady
gotta change later before raya hopefully
so i can do myb litle touring dis raya
hehe
i tink my bike can take 1.95
before dis i eyeing de schwalbe big aple
but then after i read samo's blog
im considering of maxxis dth
i dono
myb afte i change ill report back to yall
now is to find dat dth
hmmm  hmm.gif
gotta ask samo
hehe

cheers
Hohoho tongue.gif I can tell you the Maxxis DTH is good thumbup.gif By the way, the ECO 7 that Samo saw was mine. Then again our Mr. Samo has 6 foldies! 2 jet streams that was shodded with the Maxxis now and he uses the Jetstream if there's an offroad route. Others he and wife use their new Terns. Don't know about the Speed P8 and the MU 16 inch. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Jul 9 2013, 07:33 PM
theotheryun
post Jul 9 2013, 08:48 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Jul 9 2013, 07:32 PM)
Hohoho  tongue.gif  I can tell you the Maxxis DTH is good  thumbup.gif  By the way, the ECO 7 that Samo saw was mine.  Then again our Mr. Samo has 6 foldies! 2 jet streams that was shodded with the Maxxis now and he uses the Jetstream  if there's an offroad route. Others he and wife use their new Terns. Don't know about the Speed P8 and the MU 16 inch.  icon_rolleyes.gif
i see
haha
dis dth sure is contagious tongue.gif
i ask samo ady
n i called de shop
unfortunately they dont do postage
have to come to shop
can only come on my offday
whic is on monday
aiseh
anyway
its bcuz i tink dis dth suits my riding style
road/street/a bit offroads when needed
n at 1.95 its just nice
having no reflextive nahh i can live with dat
dth is dat good eh?
cant find them in bbs
hell nex monday is too long cry.gif

Arcarius
post Jul 9 2013, 09:37 PM

QUOTE(gilbertlhl @ Jul 8 2013, 11:10 PM)
Just wonder how is the ride to Mengkuang Dam? Start from where? and how long would it take? I like to try this road also but don't know how to go..
Yup, I'm staying Seberang Jaya. Just last Sunday, my wife and myself parked my car at jetty, took our bikes across on d ferry and cycled to Straits Quay to attend MITM travel fair. Bought trip to Taiwan on 3rd Nov with Lye Peng.. smile.gif Dropped over at sis place in Fettes Park and had dinner at Pang Hainan seafood (d buttered tiger prawns is to die for). Then it rained, they had to drop us and our bikes at the ferry. Left mainland at 4pm, reached home at 12.30midnite. Round trip <30km but we covered about 14km only due to the rain.

The track I use is thru Jln Kumbang Semang (paddy fields) to Kubang Semang town and use new flyover (good uphill) to Mengkuang Dam. From my house at Tmn Seri Arowana to Mengkuang Dam and back is about 35-40km. If u pusing2 Mengkuang dam, it takes more. Vehicles (inc buses and trucks) r more tolerant than anywhere else in Penang.

Gilbert, do u stay on mainland? If so, wanna join trip organized by Kelab Berbasikal Butterworth? It's on 15th Sept and can register at Eng Hong. Uncle recommended me the ride. The recent Heritage night ride also recommended by him. We registered for Cycling For A Lane 5 (CFAL5) on 8th of Sept also but it's 82+km against Road+Mountain Bikes. So, now training for that goal.. If not we KO!
earl-ku
post Jul 9 2013, 10:36 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

does those bicycle chain cleaner works?

dx.com selling bout 11USD each ...

http://dx.com/p/bicycle-chain-cleaning-machine-blue-82194
H2D
post Jul 9 2013, 10:39 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jul 9 2013, 10:36 PM)
does those bicycle chain cleaner works?

dx.com selling bout 11USD each ...

http://dx.com/p/bicycle-chain-cleaning-machine-blue-82194
this thing is very mulah bro... check bbs first....
i get from taobao lagi mulah... but i haven't used it yet... tongue.gif biggrin.gif
earl-ku
post Jul 9 2013, 10:42 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 9 2013, 10:39 PM)
this thing is very mulah bro...  check bbs first....
i get from taobao lagi mulah... but i haven't used it yet...  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
taobao manyak susah bro ... taktau baca
etigge
post Jul 9 2013, 10:55 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jul 9 2013, 10:42 PM)
Try their english version. Also very susah to order. Their English description is out of this world. You punch in hubs and no results but punch in 'flower drum', at least a few hubs appear. Have to really crack your head to find things you want. tongue.gif
http://www.yoybuy.com/en/
H2D
post Jul 9 2013, 11:08 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jul 9 2013, 10:42 PM)
bbs selling RM 30 wor... last time i tot is cheaper....
forget about taobao if tatau baca... cos susah to order..... biggrin.gif
earl-ku
post Jul 9 2013, 11:16 PM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jul 9 2013, 10:55 PM)
Try their english version. Also very susah to order. Their English description is out of this world. You punch in hubs and no results but punch in 'flower drum', at least a few hubs appear. Have to really crack your head to find things you want.    tongue.gif 
http://www.yoybuy.com/en/
hahahahaha i think they just use direct translation ...

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 9 2013, 11:08 PM)
bbs selling RM 30 wor... last time i tot is cheaper....
forget about taobao if tatau baca... cos susah to order..... biggrin.gif
lemme go find

how do u use them? just spray with degreaser and run through the chain? wd-40 is degreaser rite...
budgee
post Jul 9 2013, 11:25 PM

28 posts

Heh, heh, Today was a very very wet morning. I had bought a rain coat which is actually some plastic long pants and plastic jacket with a hood. So with the rain not stopping, I just slowly cycled to work... not bad, not bad, I quite like cycling in the rain... its cool but if you start sweating, then the plastic rain wear will be a sauna, so I just take it very very easy and slow...

Would you cycle in the Rain??

This post has been edited by budgee: Jul 9 2013, 11:30 PM
H2D
post Jul 10 2013, 12:01 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jul 9 2013, 11:16 PM)
how do u use them? just spray with degreaser and run through the chain? wd-40 is degreaser rite...
no wd-40 is not a degreaser.
i haven't used the chain cleaner yet.

i think u better read reviews online before purchase the thing,
cos some said that the device will make things worst.

search in youtube got many videos. biggrin.gif
earl-ku
post Jul 10 2013, 01:07 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Jul 10 2013, 12:01 AM)
no wd-40 is not a degreaser.
i haven't used the chain cleaner yet.

i think u better read reviews online before purchase the thing,
cos some said that the device will make things worst.

search in youtube got many videos.  biggrin.gif
i read a lot of them said wd-40 is safe to use else use kerosene ...

earl-ku
post Jul 10 2013, 01:10 AM

Chlorophiliac
4,587 posts

while we are this topic, look at this dude and his elaborate chain cleaning...

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/chainclean.html
H2D
post Jul 10 2013, 01:33 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Jul 10 2013, 01:10 AM)
while we are this topic, look at this dude and his elaborate chain cleaning...

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/chainclean.html
sheldon brown is the site to go when u wana learn about bicycles... biggrin.gif

130 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.2104sec    1.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:59 PM