How many of you here are medical students, and where are you all studying now?
Life Sciences [List] Private Medical Universities in Malaysia, *MD / MBBS / MBBChBAO (Update-17/11/14)*
Mar 7 2011, 06:03 PM
2,214 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
How many of you here are medical students, and where are you all studying now?
Mar 7 2011, 09:57 PM
9 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
hi all, juz got some questions wanna ask about..
Is it hard for me to study pharmacy if i didn't have any biology basic? And is Mahsa good for pharmacy course? Thanks for replying |
Mar 7 2011, 11:14 PM
12,293 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
this is a medical school thread........go ask in the pharmacy thread........
Mar 11 2011, 08:53 AM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
QUOTE Friday March 11, 2011 Liow: Students can study anywhere after changes to Medical Act By LOH FOON FONG, FLORENCE A. SAMY and ISABELLE LAI newsdesk@thestar.com.my KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysian students will be able to study medicine in any institution in the world when amendments are made to the Medical Act 1971. However, they will now have to sit for a licensing examination before being registered with the Malaysian Medical Council (MMC). Among the amendments to the Act involves abolishing the Second Schedule, which lists the 375 recognised medical institutions from 34 countries now, said Health Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai. When the schedule is scrapped, medical students will be free to study in any institution of their choice — but would first need to obtain the “No Objection” certificate from the Ministry of Higher Education. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Mar 11 2011, 09:24 AM |
Mar 11 2011, 09:20 AM
i wonder if they are not jumping from the frying pan into the fire...........
i have doubts about this noc (didn't seem to work before), and doubts about the fairness of this exam..... will it be another clp?......... |
Mar 11 2011, 09:46 AM
4,518 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 11 2011, 09:20 AM) i wonder if they are not jumping from the frying pan into the fire........... I have my doubts on the transparency part as well. I think the NOC will be given based on the existing list of med colleges as approved; all others will be on a case by case basis ( who you know and...! ).i have doubts about this noc (didn't seem to work before), and doubts about the fairness of this exam..... will it be another clp?......... The sad thing would be more parents will enrol their children into dubious medical colleges overseas and when they graduate and did not make it in the competency exams will swear and curse at the gomen for putting them heavily in debt. The local medical colleges will be the biggest beneficiary of this new change as they are not subjected to the competency exam. Note that Perdana University has an agreement with the gomen to take up at least half of the available seats with JPA scholars AND AT DISCOUNTED RATES. Is this really what John Hopkins is about? |
Mar 11 2011, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(cckkpr @ Mar 11 2011, 09:46 AM) Note that Perdana University has an agreement with the gomen to take up at least half of the available seats with JPA scholars AND AT DISCOUNTED RATES. Is this really what John Hopkins is about? many of the mushrooming nursing colleges exist purely because of gov. funding of students to these places.... based on yesterday's press, at 1mil for jh 4 year graduate course, and 800k for rcsi 5 year undergraduate course, wholly in msia, i see few local private takers......and fewer foreigners..... for that kind of money, just go direct to these countries.....or imu-pms...... unless, it is easy go get entry.......which will make a mockery of all the stated vows of high standards by jh......but i suspect it will happen, just as it did for monash msia......the cut off intake is significantly LOWER than monash clayton...... the recognition of these degrees by the parent country, and elsewhere remains unknown......but following current trends, likely NOT recognised by most countries.....including Spore..... end of the day, it's businessman trying to make money......at the expense of the medical profession, and healthcare system...... i have doubts if this project will even take off.... |
Mar 11 2011, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 11 2011, 10:20 AM) it will not be a viable project without some taxpayers money........ They are starting the first intake in Sept of this year in some refurbished lots.many of the mushrooming nursing colleges exist purely because of gov. funding of students to these places.... based on yesterday's press, at 1mil for jh 4 year graduate course, and 800k for rcsi 5 year undergraduate course, wholly in msia, i see few local private takers......and fewer foreigners..... for that kind of money, just go direct to these countries.....or imu-pms...... unless, it is easy go get entry.......which will make a mockery of all the stated vows of high standards by jh......but i suspect it will happen, just as it did for monash msia......the cut off intake is significantly LOWER than monash clayton...... the recognition of these degrees by the parent country, and elsewhere remains unknown......but following current trends, likely NOT recognised by most countries.....including Spore..... end of the day, it's businessman trying to make money......at the expense of the medical profession, and healthcare system...... i have doubts if this project will even take off.... |
Mar 11 2011, 10:56 AM
without a teaching hospital....
and really, you cannot train doctors in msian type private hospitals.....seriously...... |
Mar 11 2011, 11:05 AM
The runners need the cash promises asap. With the low-cost structure currently adopted, not wrong to assume that any excess of fees over what is charged by IMU/Monash will have to go to the runners.
They do not want to be caught in another "crooked" fiasco! |
Mar 11 2011, 12:28 PM
15,856 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Zion |
I guess pharmacist will play a big role in clearing up the mess caused by the incompetent graduates from these places. Especially checking drug usage and dosage wise...........
Mar 11 2011, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 11 2011, 12:28 PM) I guess pharmacist will play a big role in clearing up the mess caused by the incompetent graduates from these places. Especially checking drug usage and dosage wise........... When a pharmacist asked me to reconfirm the prescription with the Specialist, the Specialist told me to tell the Pharmacist to "Shut Up" and just follow what is written.I walk back and told the Pharmacist, "The Doctor said it is correct." I am a poor messenger and cant even convey a "clear message"! Sometimes....... |
Mar 11 2011, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 11 2011, 12:28 PM) I guess pharmacist will play a big role in clearing up the mess caused by the incompetent graduates from these places. Especially checking drug usage and dosage wise........... no, the pharmacist will not........prescription errors is a small part of the 'mess'.......it purely relates to handwriting problems, and dosage discrepancies.....the pharmacist cannot, and is not trained to, correct diagnosis and treatment errors........ doctoring involves much much more than prescriptions and medications..... |
Mar 12 2011, 12:26 AM
2,527 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Im a Medical Officer in /K. I'm here to lepak. |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 11 2011, 04:33 PM) no, the pharmacist will not........ ... by the way.prescription errors is a small part of the 'mess'.......it purely relates to handwriting problems, and dosage discrepancies.....the pharmacist cannot, and is not trained to, correct diagnosis and treatment errors........ doctoring involves much much more than prescriptions and medications..... DG of Health changed already~ QUOTE Dr Hasan is new Health DG, takes over from Dr Ismail Merican KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Dr Hasan Abdul Rahman has been appointed as the new Health Director-General effective Friday. He was the Deputy DG of Public Health and takes over from Tan Sri Dr Ismail Merican, whose tenure ended on March 4, Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Sidek Hassan said Friday in a press statement. Dr Hasan, 55, holds a master's degree in public health and a bachelor's degree in medicine, both from Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM). He was the ministry's disease control division director between 2007 and 2009 and Pahang Health Director from 2004 to 2007. Dr Hasan is an active member in the country's medical fraternity, among others, as the member of the infection and antibiotic control committee and a member of the National Council for Occupational Safety and Health executive committee, the statement said. - Bernama |
Mar 12 2011, 11:23 PM
150 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
i just wanna say about the licensing exam thingy is so teruk. they say that a lot of resources needed to evaluate those overseas programmes (like russia) but they don't realise a lot of resources also needed to do this licensing exam.
just only recognise those goodgood uni la. what's the big deal about derecognising let's say maybe those moscow and prague. rather than kids being sent overseas (jpa or whatev) and then all the drama about quotas and no meritocracy and about some refusing to come back, why not gomen just use that money (at least 1 mil per head) to advance the higher-ed here itself. |
Mar 13 2011, 12:46 AM
please note that this proposal (and it is proposed only, at this point) is a political decision, and has NOTHING to do with ensuring standards of doctors..........
if it were just to ensure standards, they should just drop dubious med schools and only recognise the world standard ones (look at singapore's list).....and they should pay more attention to local med schools, both public and private..........many students, and med schools are anything but world class........... however, politically, de-recognising the popular/cheap/easy med schools in russia/eastern europe/indinesia/egypt/jordan/china/bangladesh etc will be political suicide.........so obviously not an option........ |
Mar 13 2011, 02:18 AM
582 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: everywhere |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 13 2011, 01:46 AM) please note that this proposal (and it is proposed only, at this point) is a political decision, and has NOTHING to do with ensuring standards of doctors.......... Iagree that, this is a political decision but it is not purely about politics and I believe this move will contribute to ensuring the standards of doctors provided the exam is fair....if it were just to ensure standards, they should just drop dubious med schools and only recognise the world standard ones (look at singapore's list).....and they should pay more attention to local med schools, both public and private..........many students, and med schools are anything but world class........... however, politically, de-recognising the popular/cheap/easy med schools in russia/eastern europe/indinesia/egypt/jordan/china/bangladesh etc will be political suicide.........so obviously not an option........ |
Mar 13 2011, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(MBBS siang @ Mar 13 2011, 02:18 AM) Iagree that, this is a political decision but it is not purely about politics and I believe this move will contribute to ensuring the standards of doctors provided the exam is fair.... in which case, ALL doctors including locally trained ones should have to sit fore the exam as well.........like the usmle and steps exams in the usa........where all medical students and graduates have to sit, both in and out of the usa.....have to fair and transparent....(unfortunately, qualities NOT acceptable in the msian system)....... if the clp exam is an example, it WILL be used as a political tool to 'engineer' the correct ratios of racial distribution of doctors..... let's not kid ourselves.....it's all about quotas, nothing to do with standards.......if they are really concerned about standards, they would have picked the BEST students into ipta med schools, not create an alternate easy pathway for a select group into ipta....... |
Mar 13 2011, 02:26 PM
2,067 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(DireAnguish5678 @ Mar 12 2011, 11:23 PM) just only recognise those goodgood uni la. what's the big deal about derecognising let's say maybe those moscow and prague. rather than kids being sent overseas (jpa or whatev) and then all the drama about quotas and no meritocracy and about some refusing to come back, why not gomen just use that money (at least 1 mil per head) to advance the higher-ed here itself. Were you just born yesterday?No Malaysian government, regardless of which side of the political fence they stand, will deregister any medical school currently on the Second Schedule of the Medical Act. They did that with one medical school in 2005, and the wailing, and gnashing of teeth became a political liability. It was one of the factors which led to the downfall of MIC in March 2008. It is simple as that. Not when so many voters have children in these fleabag places. |
Mar 13 2011, 02:46 PM
582 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: everywhere |
QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 13 2011, 02:59 PM) in which case, ALL doctors including locally trained ones should have to sit fore the exam as well.........like the usmle and steps exams in the usa........where all medical students and graduates have to sit, both in and out of the usa..... True. If it is all about quotas...then my god....poor patients including you and me in future will suffer more.....the only thing we can do now is to pray that all medical graduates can be at least a competent doctor(it is naive but better then nothing)...And hope all the medical students(including me) who were so lucky have the chance that made you now a "private medical students" please always put your future patients as priority and put in as much effort as possible to be a good doctor in the future.....have to fair and transparent....(unfortunately, qualities NOT acceptable in the msian system)....... if the clp exam is an example, it WILL be used as a political tool to 'engineer' the correct ratios of racial distribution of doctors..... let's not kid ourselves.....it's all about quotas, nothing to do with standards.......if they are really concerned about standards, they would have picked the BEST students into ipta med schools, not create an alternate easy pathway for a select group into ipta....... |
| Change to: | 0.0344sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:46 PM |