Life Sciences [List] Private Medical Universities in Malaysia, *MD / MBBS / MBBChBAO (Update-17/11/14)*

haya
post Jan 26 2010, 12:31 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

STPM results come out in April, Med school in Australia starts in Feb, that's almost 8 months to get some work and earn some money in Malaysia (pathetic as it is) before a chance to go and study in Australia.

3A's would probably give you a shot at the 2nd tier public medical schools (I know someone with 3A's in STPM doing UMS' MD), which is essentially a scholarship (where else can you get a medical degree for ~RM1300 a semester/RM20,000 all in) anyway!
haya
post Oct 17 2010, 08:07 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 17 2010, 06:35 PM)
who 'recognition' means nothing........

in any case, it is not 'recognition' but just registration with who....which means they acknowledge the existence of that med school.......
Yet somehow, I know, somewhere out there, there is a parent/agent/relative/con-man who will use that article to fleece entice people to enter AIMST because "even WHO recognises it".

Yes, it took the WHO 9 years to acknowledge the existence of AIMST as a medical school.

Ignorance is bliss indeed.

Its chancellor, Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu, said the university received the recognition letter on Thursday, which stated that AIMST University was now listed as one of WHO’s recognised universities.

He said the recognition would also enable the university’s MBBS graduates to pursue studies overseas at a higher level.

Like they couldn't previously? Very nicely done Bernama.

This post has been edited by haya: Oct 17 2010, 08:10 PM
haya
post Mar 6 2011, 04:31 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(tqeh @ Mar 5 2011, 04:27 PM)
kononnya freezing new med schools, lmao
At the time of the announcement of the freeze, there were about 5 pending medical school licences. Expect to see another 4 of them in the next 8-12 months.

Don't be so quick to judge when you have a plank jutting out of your eye.
haya
post Mar 13 2011, 02:26 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(DireAnguish5678 @ Mar 12 2011, 11:23 PM)
just only recognise those goodgood uni la. what's the big deal about derecognising let's say maybe those moscow and prague. rather than kids being sent overseas (jpa or whatev) and then all the drama about quotas and no meritocracy and about some refusing to come back, why not gomen just use that money (at least 1 mil per head) to advance the higher-ed here itself.
Were you just born yesterday?

No Malaysian government, regardless of which side of the political fence they stand, will deregister any medical school currently on the Second Schedule of the Medical Act.

They did that with one medical school in 2005, and the wailing, and gnashing of teeth became a political liability. It was one of the factors which led to the downfall of MIC in March 2008.

It is simple as that. Not when so many voters have children in these fleabag places.
haya
post May 27 2011, 07:17 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ May 27 2011, 12:13 AM)
Regarding the 5-years freeze... That doesn't mean that no students will be allowed to do medicine for 5-years...

It means that there will be no more NEW medical colleges/Universities open in the next 5-years.
I find it VERY disturbing that people who can't understand the simple idea of a 5 year freeze on the establishment of new medical schools wanting to be a medical student.

Its not rocket science, and the media coverage on it has been quite clear. Yet the number of posts by people who go "what does 5 years medical course freeze means" in this subforum makes me worry how low can we go.
haya
post Jan 22 2012, 04:03 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(shadowspirit @ Jan 21 2012, 02:44 PM)
Hye all,i am new to this forum

i got 1 question..

what i notice,for example if malaysian they can ask for loan from PTPTN or MARA,but how about PR malaysian? Pemastautin Tetap Malaysia (red ic).can anyone give me some info about this?
That's a really odd question for this thread, but the short answer is: no.

http://www.ptptn.gov.my/c/portal/layout?p_l_id=PUB.1.19

The only right Malaysian PR's have is not to be detained by RELA during immigration raids.
haya
post Dec 16 2012, 08:57 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(grumpyorang @ Oct 29 2012, 07:26 AM)
Ridiculous. What happened to the "freezing" of medical schools?
There is.

We have been through this:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry42156959

I dunno, isnt it supposed to look like something is being done to address this "issue"?

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry38492063

The freeze is there. All these new medical schools were granted licenses BEFORE the freeze.

0.0389sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:42 AM