58 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Life Sciences [List] Private Medical Universities in Malaysia, *MD / MBBS / MBBChBAO (Update-17/11/14)*

TSCyberSetan
post Sep 5 2010, 06:40 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

Here is an interesting news:

59 p'sula docs for Sabah to ease shortage

Published on: Sunday, September 05, 2010

Kota Kinabalu: Fifty-nine medical doctors from the peninsula are being despatched to Sabah in batches to meet the State's demand.

State Health Director, Dr Mohd Yusof Ibrahim, said about 20 are now serving in the various health clinics and hospitals throughout Sabah.

"More are coming in. By the end of the year, we will have 59 additional doctors. Just be patient. The future for Sabah is good in terms of provision of health services.

"We (State Health Department) are working hard for the people of Sabah.

It is projected that Malaysia will have enough doctors by the year 2015.

"In fact, for Sabah, by next year, we should be reasonably all right, given that 100 to 200 doctors will have graduated by December this year.

Things will be better from next year," he told Daily Express when met at his office at Rumah Persekutuan Kota Kinabalu.

According to Dr Mohd Yusof, the Government's target for next year is to have a minimum of six doctors serving in each district hospital.

"Right now, we have a minimum of only three doctors, which will be a thing of the past when our medical schools churn out more doctors in the years to come."

He said from next year, the 25 medical schools in the country (public and private sectors), including Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS), are capable of producing some 4,000 to 5,000 doctors a year (with the qualification of Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery or MBBS in short).

"In fact, the Melaka Manipal Medical College, a Malaysian private medical college, is planning to set up a branch here," he added.

In the meantime, Dr Mohd Yusof said, the Government is seriously considering hiring expatriate specialist doctors as a "stop-gap" measure.

Meanwhile, he said he had just attended a conference to deliberate on the number of required doctors and specialists for all medical disciplines as the country approaches the realisation of Vision 2020 as a developed nation.

"We have to get ready. We spent three days discussing and coming up with the figures, which are necessary to meet the requirements of being a developed nation. We (in Sabah) have also put up our figures."

Source: http://www.dailyexpress.com.my/news.cfm?NewsID=74480

You guys see the situation in Sabah district hospitals? 3 doctors per DISTRICT HOSPITAL !! A HOSPITAL for an entire district having only THREE doctors !! That is very much true the last time I checked in my mother's hometown district (Sipitang). Even the Hospital's director is busy involved with the daily clinic duties (OPD)~

Another thing, MMMC in Sabah - ? interesting~

new name for the branch perhaps could be: Kota Kinabalu Manipal Medical College (KKMMC) laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by CyberSetan: Sep 5 2010, 08:02 PM
DarkNite
post Sep 6 2010, 08:11 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

After 50 years, still have shortage of doctors?!?!?! sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
limeuu
post Sep 6 2010, 09:01 AM

12,295 posts

the shortage is not dire now......the problem from now on will be maldistribution rather than real shortage.........up to 80% of houseman posted to borneo appeal against the posting.....and surprisingly many of them were successful......
zstan
post Sep 6 2010, 09:35 AM

15,856 posts

2015 there will be enough doctors..2020 there will be oversupply of doctors...

good news to sabahans then! thumbup.gif
kane_WWE_07
post Sep 6 2010, 11:27 AM

86 posts

I want to be doctor to work in rural areas to help Malaysia grow!
limeuu
post Sep 6 2010, 05:12 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 6 2010, 09:35 AM)
2015 there will be enough doctors..2020 there will be oversupply of doctors...

good news to sabahans then! thumbup.gif
no, it may still not be......

even in advanced countries with ratios of 1:400, there is maldistribution, and rural areas remains underserved...........just think oz......
cckkpr
post Sep 6 2010, 05:35 PM

4,518 posts

There will always be a shortage of doctors no matter what is being said.

Issues of migration, going downsouth, population increase and a revision to doctor:population ratio.

Tell me which profession is in oversupply now. Only unemployable graduates are in oversupply.
zstan
post Sep 6 2010, 05:39 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Sep 6 2010, 05:35 PM)
There will always be a shortage of doctors no matter what is being said.

Issues of migration, going downsouth, population increase and a revision to doctor:population ratio.

Tell me which profession is in oversupply now. Only unemployable graduates are in oversupply.
the exact words should be oversupplying of housemen...

unless there is an increase in GH..these people won have anymore places left to train...
TSCyberSetan
post Sep 6 2010, 06:59 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Sep 6 2010, 05:35 PM)
There will always be a shortage of doctors no matter what is being said...
Maldistributiion... focus on maldistribution.....
onelove89
post Sep 6 2010, 07:17 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

haha, the reason why I plan to go back is to serve my community in swak. Hmm, I don't get why so many doctors are so reluctant to go to East Malaysia. I mean have they even been there?? I bet they still think that we still live on trees or something. =P no offense but a few no-brainers actually asked me that question. =/
zstan
post Sep 6 2010, 07:24 PM

15,856 posts

because the facilities there are quite bad if u had read some articles...

dun even have proper lighting or water in some areas.. =/
TSCyberSetan
post Sep 6 2010, 07:24 PM

-KNowLEdGe BRiNGs FEaR-
2,527 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 6 2010, 07:17 PM)
...I bet they still think that we still live on trees or something. =P no offense but a few no-brainers actually asked me that question. =/
...and another thing, some of the 'no-brainers' even asked me how ulat sagu taste like? and do the people still wear cawat or not? i mean... wtf?

Still... I will be laughing my As*-off if these no-brainers are sent to rural Sabah/Sarawak later to compensate for the 'maldistribution'~ laugh.gif
DarkNite
post Sep 6 2010, 07:49 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(kane_WWE_07 @ Sep 6 2010, 11:27 AM)
I want to be doctor to work in rural areas to help Malaysia grow!
Same old tag line used for interview aje!
onelove89
post Sep 6 2010, 08:47 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 6 2010, 07:24 PM)
because the facilities there are quite bad if u had read some articles...

dun even have proper lighting or water in some areas.. =/
When you think of it, why do we have crappy facilities? Why are there places with no electricity / water? why, are our roads 10x more bumpier than those in w.msia? funding issue? fund distribution? I'm not here to brag about some inequalities that we face, but yes. there are some remote places with poor lighting and water supply.

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Sep 6 2010, 07:24 PM)
...and another thing, some of the 'no-brainers' even asked me how ulat sagu taste like? and do the people still wear cawat or not? i mean... wtf?

Still... I will be laughing my As*-off if these no-brainers are sent to rural Sabah/Sarawak later to compensate for the 'maldistribution'~  laugh.gif
well, seriously, what's so bad to be sent to rural areas of sabah/swak? I mean, initially you bragged about your passion on saving lives. and now they become so stereotypical about where they are working. Do you get paid less? heck no, you'll get paid more in those places. Do you get lesser training? I doubt so. In rural aus, where one is in charge of the whole hospital, you'll be doing almost everything, by yourself. But correct me if I'm wrong. I'm just tying in the rural practice here and back in Malaysia. But similar situation in OZ like limeuu said. Everyone's reluctant to go to rural areas.
cckkpr
post Sep 6 2010, 09:27 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(CyberSetan @ Sep 6 2010, 06:59 PM)
Maldistributiion... focus on maldistribution.....
You will only be able to distribute fairly if you have competent doctors. I can safely say that of the 4,000 plus medic graduates a year, more than one third are "questionable" as to competency.
zstan
post Sep 6 2010, 09:33 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Sep 6 2010, 08:47 PM)
When you think of it, why do we have crappy facilities? Why are there places with no electricity / water? why, are our roads 10x more bumpier than those in w.msia? funding issue? fund distribution? I'm not here to brag about some inequalities that we face, but yes. there are some remote places with poor lighting and water supply.
well, seriously, what's so bad to be sent to rural areas of sabah/swak? I mean, initially you bragged about your passion on saving lives. and now they become so stereotypical about where they are working. Do you get paid less? heck no, you'll get paid more in those places. Do you get lesser training? I doubt so. In rural aus, where one is in charge of the whole hospital, you'll be doing almost everything, by yourself. But correct me if I'm wrong. I'm just tying in the rural practice here and back in Malaysia. But similar situation in OZ like limeuu said. Everyone's reluctant to go to rural areas.
politics bro..

politics...

20 overs for the same man to be CM is really toooo long.... doh.gif

the money is there.............but......... unsure.gif
kane_WWE_07
post Sep 6 2010, 11:26 PM

86 posts

Dont expect to get clean water in rural areas in East Msia compared to urban areas. Expect to drink water from rusty tank, rain water and river water. This is not a joke. I came from there and that is how they live. You can be 3 hours away from the nearest town.
DarkNite
post Sep 7 2010, 08:01 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 6 2010, 09:33 PM)
politics bro..

thumbup.gif
...but.... the rakyat are gullible and naive thus get screw left and right without any slightest signs of whimpering.
zstan
post Sep 7 2010, 09:18 AM

15,856 posts

true..

the money IS there...come on la..sarawak and sabah has soooo much natural resources..poor? i don't think so.
onelove89
post Sep 7 2010, 09:46 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(kane_WWE_07 @ Sep 6 2010, 11:26 PM)
Dont expect to get clean water in rural areas in East Msia compared to urban areas. Expect to drink water from rusty tank, rain water and river water. This is not a joke. I came from there and that is how they live. You can be 3 hours away from the nearest town.
can I know where do you live? as in which area/city

QUOTE(zstan @ Sep 7 2010, 09:18 AM)
true..

the money IS there...come on la..sarawak and sabah has soooo much natural resources..poor? i don't think so.
the resources are harvested. and the money is there, held by government. We have the resources. We harvest the resources. we don't HOLD the money that we got from the resources. In the end, what can we do?

btw, has segi started their MBBS course yet?

58 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0189sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:09 PM