Your mb/mbp battery health/problem

nimrod323
post Dec 26 2008, 10:55 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(kenji82 @ Dec 26 2008, 10:33 AM)
Do you take out your battery when you are on AC Power?
i dont think theres a need to take out the battery,the macbook bypasses the battery when it uses AC.

kenji82
post Dec 26 2008, 11:43 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Dec 26 2008, 10:55 AM)
i dont think theres a need to take out the battery,the macbook bypasses the battery when it uses AC.
are you sure? I noticed that whenever i'm on AC my battery is charging....can anyone confirm this pls. Thanks
hapa
post Dec 26 2008, 11:45 AM

i kill u!!
828 posts

bro, are u sure? check ur magsafe indicator light..
green - nop, no charging
red - yes, charging
nimrod323
post Dec 26 2008, 11:50 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(kenji82 @ Dec 26 2008, 11:43 AM)
are you sure? I noticed that whenever i'm on AC my battery is charging....can anyone confirm this pls. Thanks
you can see teh battery indicator on the top panel,if its a lightning symbol means its charging if its a power cord symbol its using AC
kenji82
post Dec 26 2008, 12:08 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Dec 26 2008, 11:50 AM)
you can see teh battery indicator on the top panel,if its a lightning symbol means its charging if its a power cord symbol its using AC
if it is fully charge then its green....
ryley7
post Dec 26 2008, 12:11 PM

it's always advisable & in good care to take out your battery if you're using your laptop while it's plugged-in to a power source for a long period of time. from my own experience, there'll be a deterioration of your battery's health, which i observed using CoconutBattery, back when i was being careless with my macbook pro. initially with a 100% charge, it'll last about 4 - 4.5 hours. now it's more like 3 hours.

so don't be lazy guys smile.gif do what's best for your mac.
TSrx330
post Dec 26 2008, 12:14 PM

11,811 posts

my mbp only abt 3 hours .... not the promised 5 sad.gif
civic98
post Dec 26 2008, 01:21 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(ryley7 @ Dec 26 2008, 12:11 PM)
it's always advisable & in good care to take out your battery if you're using your laptop while it's plugged-in to a power source for a long period of time. from my own experience, there'll be a deterioration of your battery's health, which i observed using CoconutBattery, back when i was being careless with my macbook pro. initially with a 100% charge, it'll last about 4 - 4.5 hours. now it's more like 3 hours.

so don't be lazy guys smile.gif do what's best for your mac.
Come on, how many times does anyone has to repeat this, DONT TAKE OUT THE BATTERY, it does no good to your battery, it does no good to your Mac. Period. Anyone wants to question this, search and learn. Just leave the battery in, your Mac does not use the battery when connected to AC, and it is safer this way also, just imagine losing power and not having battery in the middle of processing something, ESPECIALLY when scanning your drive etc.

Basic battery care:-

1. Use it till empty before charging, not use charge use charge as you like;
2. Charge it till full whenever charging;
3. Leave it in when on AC, just use it up once a while (once a month or so);
4. When storing away your battery (not in use for long time), leave it at 40% charge, not full, not empty.

Anyone still not convinced, look at my battery health posted in this thread, 1st page.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 26 2008, 12:14 PM)
my mbp only abt 3 hours .... not the promised 5 sad.gif
Not promised, but it was rated, and depends very much on the use. Wifi, bluetooth etc.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 26 2008, 02:00 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(kenji82 @ Dec 26 2008, 10:33 AM)
Do you take out your battery when you are on AC Power?
QUOTE(nimrod323 @ Dec 26 2008, 10:55 AM)
Shouldn't remove the battery pack from MacBook/MacBook Pro when your using it because the charger doesn't charge the battery pack once it's full (green, 100%). Also, removing the battery pack and using it directly from the charger will cause your MacBook/MacBook Pro to run in lower performance mode due to the lack of power. You see, the MacBook/MacBook Pro draws power that can't be supplied through the charger itself so it requires help from the battery pack. Hope I've helped.
TSrx330
post Dec 26 2008, 02:03 PM

11,811 posts

im using wifi only, bluetooth is switch off
TechnoDude94
post Dec 26 2008, 02:49 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 26 2008, 02:03 PM)
im using wifi only, bluetooth is switch off
I use @ lowest brightness, Wi-Fi on, Bluetooth off @ MacBook (plastic, white) can get 4 hours easily but on continuous surfing with no flash webpages/resource intensive webpages.
TSrx330
post Dec 26 2008, 02:56 PM

11,811 posts

er... my brighness is at 2-3 petak only
TechnoDude94
post Dec 26 2008, 03:05 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 26 2008, 02:56 PM)
er... my brighness is at 2-3 petak only
My brightness is only filled up by 1 box. tongue.gif
TSrx330
post Dec 26 2008, 03:06 PM

11,811 posts

now i also fill up one box nia, test and see how
only advantage of my vaio is the 5 hour usage
TechnoDude94
post Dec 26 2008, 03:58 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 26 2008, 03:06 PM)
now i also fill up one box nia, test and see how
only advantage of my vaio is the 5 hour usage
Some "netbooks" got more than 6 hours. shocking.gif brows.gif
TSrx330
post Dec 26 2008, 04:14 PM

11,811 posts

yea, i heard my fren eeepc does tat, but for tat puny reso screen, n pariah processor, i dun think y not biggrin.gif
Shin1022
post Dec 27 2008, 05:01 PM

580 posts

anyone knows what happen to my battery icon on the top right where u can't choose the battery selection from better performance to better battery life option??

d_lai_309
post Dec 27 2008, 05:02 PM

376 posts

i do calibration once a week or sometimes once 2weeks depend on my usage.
my macbook black is 9months old and 23 cycles, battery life still in good condition.
also, dont take out the battery when u using it and on power cause it will reduce the performances.
sometimes my macbook show i got 8hrs if usage when i turn on but when u start using it...it gets to 4-5hrs.....
so pls do calibration once a while to let the battery "juice" flow...
Shin1022
post Dec 27 2008, 05:09 PM

580 posts

further information about my battery

d_lai_309
post Dec 27 2008, 05:21 PM

376 posts

same situation here..i think the new 10.5.6 update cause it...not sure