Facial Skin Care, discussions, recommendations and reviews

Sellery
post Feb 10 2010, 11:13 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Feb 10 2010, 10:48 AM)
Do u have any kind of empirical evidence to support your statement about acne not existing in the past ? If u do pls provide it so we can all share it. Your statement is quite vague because what do u mean by past ? How far back in the past are we talking about here ?
i have read it before somewhere and i believe its very true....
I am not exactly sure how far back but i believe its before electrical powered machine existed

People last time are also much healthier as they do everything manually instead of using machines therefore allowing them to exercise more often.
rockets
post Feb 10 2010, 11:45 AM

No Recoil
509 posts

QUOTE(morning06 @ Feb 10 2010, 11:05 AM)
hmm... coz i dunno whether my face is oily or dry? i really dun like asking them coz i know they will push product >.< what will you suggest if i have blackhead on nose and i wanted to clean those and minimize my pores? i assume my T-zone is oily coz my nose part and forehead will get oily after half day?
if only your t-zone is oily then your skin type is "combination". if whole face oily then skin type is "oily".
Daymon
post Feb 10 2010, 11:49 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Feb 10 2010, 10:48 AM)
Do u have any kind of empirical evidence to support your statement about acne not existing in the past ? If u do pls provide it so we can all share it. Your statement is quite vague because what do u mean by past ? How far back in the past are we talking about here ?
Yea, i personally think acne is due to the dirt, hygiene, air pollution, etc.
morning06
post Feb 10 2010, 11:50 AM

869 posts

hmmm my t-zone is extra oily other part sometime get oily if i never wash for too long ~.~
Daymon
post Feb 10 2010, 11:52 AM

399 posts

depends on the weather as well? my face get completely oil under hot sun in just few hours of time.

This post has been edited by Daymon: Feb 10 2010, 11:55 AM
jonny4
post Feb 10 2010, 11:57 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(morning06 @ Feb 10 2010, 11:05 AM)
hmm... coz i dunno whether my face is oily or dry? i really dun like asking them coz i know they will push product >.< what will you suggest if i have blackhead on nose and i wanted to clean those and minimize my pores? i assume my T-zone is oily coz my nose part and forehead will get oily after half day?
I suggest u try going to any of the Clinique counters and get the SA determine what kind of skin u have. The Clinique SAs can be quite arrogant (especially the older ones) and have this "I know more than u so u shut up n listen". Me and my gf kena few times edi. But they seem to know their stuff. The friendliest and most helpful one is Sally from the Jusco 1U Clinique counter...she doesn't aggressively push products too. There's this really cute and friendly clinique SA at Isetan Gardens..i think her name is May iirc.
Sellery
post Feb 10 2010, 12:00 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(Daymon @ Feb 10 2010, 11:49 AM)
Yea, i personally think acne is due to the dirt, hygiene, air pollution, etc.
Acne is caused by bacterias. Air has bacterias therefore it sticks to your face. What you eat is important as some vitamins increases your skin's health. Furthermore some food causes your skin to produce more oil. Therefore if you have an oily face bacterias stick easily on your face and the oil on your face creates a suitable environment for them to grow. What you eat is really important . I personally cant drink milk as it is super oily and the effect can be seen the next day if i drink milk. although i love milk sigh... sad.gif
jonny4
post Feb 10 2010, 12:10 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(Sellery @ Feb 10 2010, 11:13 AM)
i have read it before somewhere and i believe its very true....
I am not exactly sure how far back but i believe its before electrical powered machine existed

People last time are also much healthier as they do everything manually instead of using machines therefore allowing them to exercise more often.
I did a brief search and i found this article http://health.top54u.com/post/The-History-of-Acne.aspx

It's not really accurate to say acne did not exist in the past.

It's a common misconception that people in the past (again the term "people last time" is vague) were healthier. I did some reading about human anthropology in the past but I do not have the time to give the article links but this wikipedia article does shed some light about human life expectancy http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Life_expectancy
As u can see from the chart, the average life expectancy during pre technology times was between 20-30 yrs old. Contemporary life expectancy is 66.58. Of course this is a very brief example and there are many variations.
People in medieval times faced many kinds of illnesses, famine and war. Acne was the least of their worries especially for the average peasant or someone in the lower echelons of social hierarchy.

Added on February 10, 2010, 12:14 pm
QUOTE(morning06 @ Feb 10 2010, 11:50 AM)
hmmm my t-zone  is extra oily other part sometime get oily if i never wash for too long ~.~
from your description I think you have combination skin but on the oilier side. Quite typical for guys because of the weather. my skin is around the same type too. Very sien wan...especially right after stepping out of an air cond environment into the hot outside weather...oil overload on the face man. haha

This post has been edited by jonny4: Feb 10 2010, 12:14 PM
Putraskyline
post Feb 10 2010, 05:54 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Feb 10 2010, 11:57 AM)
I suggest u try going to any of the Clinique counters and get the SA determine what kind of skin u have. The Clinique SAs can be quite arrogant (especially the older ones) and have this "I know more than u so u shut up n listen". Me and my gf kena few times edi. But they seem to know their stuff. The friendliest and most helpful one is Sally from the Jusco 1U Clinique counter...she doesn't aggressively push products too. There's this really cute and friendly clinique SA at Isetan Gardens..i think her name is May iirc.
Wow...You even memorize their name. For me, Parkson KLCC counter are great. They put all their product on my face and let me walk-walk around KLCC to feel the different. Both Clinique and Biotherm are good.
morning06
post Feb 10 2010, 09:18 PM

869 posts

today went to pav biotherm and lab series; biotherm put a machine stick on my face den told me my face is quite ok just a bit oily and she recc me the oil control moist

and lab series guy gimme some try on and told me its ok to cont using my prev cleanser just add in a oil control moist will do

never go to clinique coz lab series already rub something on lol maybe next time

This post has been edited by morning06: Feb 10 2010, 09:24 PM
jonny4
post Feb 10 2010, 09:52 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(morning06 @ Feb 10 2010, 09:18 PM)
today went to pav biotherm and lab series; biotherm put a machine stick on my face den told me my face is quite ok just a bit oily and she recc me the oil control moist

and lab series guy gimme some try on and told me its ok to cont using my prev cleanser just add in a oil control moist will do

never go to clinique coz lab series already rub something on lol maybe next time
Good to hear man...

I have a small mini size Biotherm oil control moisturizer and it's quite good and smells really nice too. But alcohol level is quite high and oil control is only above average for me. Is it the T Pur Intense moisturizer she recommend ? I am also using biothem t pur moisturizer but the SOS anti imperfection one.

But do note that all these oil control moisturizers are not 100% effective in controlling oil especially in our kind of weather. Few hours can control la but if whole day no way. Quite expensive too these oil control stuff...RM140 iirc for the Lab Series one.
morning06
post Feb 10 2010, 10:14 PM

869 posts

ya she recc me the t pur series but i forgot which one... i think if not mistaken is the black cap one? rm130? and for lab series the price for the oil control moist is also rm130 ~.~

now i dunno which brand t get haha coz i heard lab series is very harsh on skin plus biotherm have member card LOL
jonny4
post Feb 10 2010, 11:11 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(morning06 @ Feb 10 2010, 10:14 PM)
ya she recc me the t pur series but i forgot which one... i think if not mistaken is the black cap one? rm130? and for lab series the price for the oil control moist is also rm130 ~.~

now i dunno which brand t get haha coz i heard lab series is very harsh on skin plus biotherm have member card LOL
The black cap one is the regular oil control moisturizer http://bit.ly/5S0Mwv
price is rm130 for 75ml. The lab series is rm130 for 50ml..haha..u get 25ml more with biotherm.

I have used quite a few Lab Series stuff and I find their products rather basic compared to Biotherm. I do not think LS stuff is harsh. Both brabds should be ok...important thing is to get something suitable 4 your skin type.
morning06
post Feb 11 2010, 01:09 AM

869 posts

hmmm cant really figure what to get coz the lab series guy say i can cont using my prev product coz my face seems ok except that i need to add in a moist

biotherm told me to get moist also and if want take a package it would be the t pur products (cleanser,toner,moist) den when i ask her bout black head, she show me something tat can make the black/white head softer so i can squeeze them out easier; and tats the only way to get rid of it and i still have to go to beautician to properly get all of them out ~.~

LS do give me some scrub and cleanser sample... u think biotherm have sample vf them? i kinda like the LS cleanser ^^feel like trying biotherm cleanser bfore i decide
jonny4
post Feb 11 2010, 10:44 AM

1,974 posts

Which Lab Series cleanser and scrub sample did u get ? Multi Action Face Wash or Mild Foaming Face Wash ? I used both before from samples and didn't like either one. I bought the Oil Control Face Wash and Power Wash before. My fav is the Power Wash.

You don't have to get the whole T Pur set at once...I bought all 3 T Pur products individually in a space of 2 months. The cleanser is my favourite in the T Pur range as it works really well for me. I am not sure if Biotherm gives samples. Usually they will give samples only when u buy something and that depends on the price of them product u buy. When I bought my T Pur toner (RM86) all I got were 2x1ml moisturizer samples. Then when I bought the more expensive moisturizer (RM140) they gave me a full 3 piece mini set (cleanser 20ml, toner 30ml and moisturizer 20ml).

Maybe u can try cheaper alternatives like clay mask and scrub from brands like Neutrogena and Eucerin before buying something expensive. If the cheaper brands work for u even better rite. haha.
HW-Racer
post Feb 11 2010, 05:11 PM

729 posts

any good recommended facial centre for men...(preferably with sweet beautician... brows.gif ) in PJ/Seri Petaling/Sunway/Subang/Puchong
area...thanks
clap_clap
post Feb 13 2010, 10:49 PM

im 17 yo , got pimple ,scar and blackheads , and i got oily face and using clinelle 3 steps , but dosent seem any improvement, any recommend ??? icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by clap_clap: Feb 13 2010, 10:54 PM
jonny4
post Feb 13 2010, 11:02 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(clap_clap @ Feb 13 2010, 10:49 PM)
im 17 yo , got pimple ,scar and blackheads , and i got oily face and using clinelle 3 steps , but dosent seem any improvement, any recommend ???  icon_question.gif
At your age best to keep it simple as acne and pimples is just part and parcel of teenage life. Sometimes its best not to overstimulate d skin. But if things get worse try consulting a dermatologist. The famous acne thread in LYN is quite good...I suggest u follow it. But no matter wat treatment u use, remember to use sunscreen if not ur pimple scars will get harder and harder to fade away. I'm paying the price now for my lack of knowledge about acne medications and importance of sunscreen when I was your age.
IntegraTypeR
post Feb 13 2010, 11:04 PM

Guitar alien
736 posts

Using Loreal For Men series.
clap_clap
post Feb 13 2010, 11:17 PM

QUOTE(jonny4 @ Feb 13 2010, 11:02 PM)
At your age best to keep it simple as acne and pimples is just part and parcel of teenage life. Sometimes its best not to overstimulate d skin. But if things get worse try consulting a dermatologist. The famous acne thread in LYN is quite good...I suggest u follow it. But no matter wat treatment u use, remember to use sunscreen if not ur pimple scars will get harder and harder to fade away. I'm paying the price now for my lack of knowledge about acne medications and importance of sunscreen when I was your age.
any recommend product ?? hope can give me the outlet too , thanks ~ , btw , the scar is quite worse , the pimple still ok and blackheads abit , btw , what u mean LYN , sorry , i'm new , nw trying to do some research , =x

This post has been edited by clap_clap: Feb 13 2010, 11:22 PM

114 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0187sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:58 PM