i donno weather u all heard a brand janssen b4?this brand also not bad...
i use its cleaner..thums up will not make the skin too dry...
Facial Skin Care, discussions, recommendations and reviews
Feb 2 2010, 10:05 AM
9 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
i donno weather u all heard a brand janssen b4?this brand also not bad...
i use its cleaner..thums up will not make the skin too dry... |
Feb 2 2010, 11:40 AM
1,507 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
QUOTE(jonny4 @ Feb 2 2010, 09:20 AM) Good to hear u got Diacneal. aha.. well im actually not frequently exposed to direct sunlight.. im basically in-doors most of the day and will lurk around during the night lol..The lady's advice is not very good. U should actually use moisturizer after applying because it is very strong and can dry out/irritate some skins. After applying Diacneal, wait 30mins before applying moisturizer. Diacneal is not a moisturizer. U should also start using it 2-3 nights once and see if your skin can tolerate. Then slowly work your way up to once a night. In the day a good sunscreen should be applied if u are exposed to direct sunlight a lot because Diacneal makes your skin extra photosensitive. Without a use of a sunscreen, all the goodness Diacneal brings to your skin will go to waste and will make things worse for your skin. After a week of using Diacneal, I can see improvement in texture and tone on areas of my face that is less prone to acne. While the ares with acne have suffered a "purge" and I am currently experiencing a moderate breakout. But it is manageable and not a big problem for me. So jind, u might suffer form a breakout too when using Diacneal for the first time during the first few weeks. Hope u can tahan and persevere. This is the stage a lot of ppl give up and say that Diacneal is not working for them. Give a a month or two and u will see the improvement. Well in my case that's what i am hoping for aw man breakout is bad.. actually i had few pimples come out since i started using the Eucerin cleanser and tee tree oil pimple cream a week ago, so i don't know whether it's making my face worse or is it just the effect of the breakout.. now i don't know whether i should continue using the Eucerin cleanser or not.. i don't think im going to continue using the tee tree since ive got the Diacneal.. ![]() This post has been edited by jind86: Feb 2 2010, 11:42 AM |
Feb 2 2010, 11:51 AM
1,974 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Gotham City |
Skin purging usually happens when u change to new products. It's no biggie but if the breakouts don't subside and keep reoccurring for a month then u might need to discontinue use.
Added on February 2, 2010, 11:56 am QUOTE(OdynVovk @ Feb 2 2010, 11:46 AM) has anyone here actually tried the cavemen regime ? no soaps. just water. it works pretty well for me. well maybe because im already 21 and have gone through the phase of breakouts. If we were still living in prehistoric times then the "cavemen regime" would be very suitable. Nowadays we live in an environment full of pollution and increased amounts of UVA/UVB. I certainly doubt the "caveman regime" is feasible for your skin in the long run. But different strokes for different folks, so continue with that regime if it works for you.This post has been edited by jonny4: Feb 2 2010, 11:56 AM |
Feb 2 2010, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(OdynVovk @ Feb 2 2010, 01:14 PM) washing your face with all that chemical isnt gonna undo the damage done by UVA/UBV rays. In third world countries or in places where people do not have access to the billion dollar skincare industry their skin stil looks fine granted they dont spend hours and hours in the sun. (sun damage is greatest cause of skin aging) Have you also noticed that prior to the " anti acne skincare" explosion , acne was not that big of a problem amongst the population. Ok. That's fine with me. well i found that alot of acne products or just skin products in general can aggravate or worsen the condition of your skin. and how is all that product gonna help u in the long run. did u just come back from the future to tell us that those who are using all that skincare product have better skin than those who don't ? well then again, as u said, different strokes, different folks. just google caveman regimen and read about it. most if not all who have tried, ended up with better skin. You stick to H2O and I'll stick to my chemicals But just to be very very clear with you and to anyone reading this post....I cannot time travel. Seriously I can't But I do wish I can. This post has been edited by jonny4: Feb 2 2010, 02:31 PM |
Feb 2 2010, 03:15 PM
22 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(jonny4 @ Jan 26 2010, 04:38 PM) treatment from the professional skin centre, for eg http://www.menskincentre.com.my/ |
Feb 2 2010, 03:26 PM
4,662 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Pandan Indah |
QUOTE(OdynVovk @ Feb 2 2010, 01:14 PM) washing your face with all that chemical isnt gonna undo the damage done by UVA/UBV rays. In third world countries or in places where people do not have access to the billion dollar skincare industry their skin stil looks fine granted they dont spend hours and hours in the sun. (sun damage is greatest cause of skin aging) Have you also noticed that prior to the " anti acne skincare" explosion , acne was not that big of a problem amongst the population. the funny thing is if thats true, many people would have discovered it sooner and those companies would have went bankrupt. well i found that alot of acne products or just skin products in general can aggravate or worsen the condition of your skin. and how is all that product gonna help u in the long run. did u just come back from the future to tell us that those who are using all that skincare product have better skin than those who don't ? well then again, as u said, different strokes, different folks. just google caveman regimen and read about it. most if not all who have tried, ended up with better skin. and how can water wash away oil on face? now thats an interesting miracle. |
Feb 2 2010, 03:50 PM
Feb 2 2010, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(jind86 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:50 PM) only after using it once yesterday i realized it makes the face a little oily soon after application.. Same thing with me too. That's y best to apply it only at night. I noticed that when I started to apply it last week on existing pimples, they went away really fast (1-2 nights) but without the excessive drying like panoxyl and Retin A. I don't think the oily effect made me breakout more.will keep updated on the progress.. This post has been edited by jonny4: Feb 2 2010, 03:55 PM |
Feb 2 2010, 03:58 PM
QUOTE(jonny4 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:54 PM) Same thing with me too. That's y best to apply it only at night. I noticed that when I started to apply it last week on existing pimples, they went away really fast (1-2 nights) but without the excessive drying like panoxyl and Retin A. I don't think the oily effect made me breakout more. so what are the products you're currently using alongside Diacneal?lol i still don't know my skin type.. |
Feb 2 2010, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(jind86 @ Feb 2 2010, 03:58 PM) so what are the products you're currently using alongside Diacneal? Cleanser: Biotherm Homme T Pur Intense Purifying Scruffying Facial Cleanser and Lab Series Power Wash (finishing soon). lol i still don't know my skin type.. Toner/Astringent: Biotherm Homme T-Pur Intense Matifying Pore Retightening Lotion Moisturizer: Biotherm Homme T-Pur Intense S.O.S Corrective Anti-Imperfection Moistuirising Concentrate (day) Clinique M Gel Lotion (night) Sunscreen: Neutrogena Ultra Sheer waterlight lotion SPF50+ PAA+++ (I don't use this everyday). Scrub: Lab Series Invigorating Face Scrub (2x a week) Mask: Lab Series Purifying Clay Mask (2x a week). Post Shave: Biotherm Homme Aquatic Lotion (i prefer using toner n moisturizer as aftershave nowadays). I'm very disciplined and use the products without fail. I even managed to cleanse, tone, moisturize and apply acne med while half drunk at 3am in the morning after a heavy drinking session LOL. Just drop by any skin care counter and they will help u figure out your skin type. But better go a few counters to get 2nd or 3rd opinion. Just don't kena psycho by the consultants and end up purchasing their product...this happened to my gf. This post has been edited by jonny4: Feb 2 2010, 04:16 PM |
Feb 2 2010, 09:03 PM
wow thats alot of products..
i'm reading the avene pamphlet and it says that the glycolic acid in diacneal has a "peel-like" effect.. what exactly does that mean? --- btw lets just say i have a pimple and it ends up "bursting" itself.. what do i do then? do i pinch out the remaining pus or? |
Feb 2 2010, 09:22 PM
QUOTE(jind86 @ Feb 2 2010, 09:03 PM) wow thats alot of products.. The peel like effect really depends on your skin. If it is sensitive then u will really see it. On my skin I hardly get any redness or extreme dryness. But glycolic is a chemical peel so u wont really feel it happening, u will just see the effects the next morning. This site will give a clearer picture http://www.glycolic-skincare.com/faq.phpi'm reading the avene pamphlet and it says that the glycolic acid in diacneal has a "peel-like" effect.. what exactly does that mean? --- btw lets just say i have a pimple and it ends up "bursting" itself.. what do i do then? do i pinch out the remaining pus or? I'm not a dermatologist don't take my word fully. What i normally do is i will saturate a cotton pad/ball with astringent/toner and use it to get rid of the remaining pus. Then i use either my biotherm aftershave or moisturizer and apply over the broken skin with a cotton pad. I apply pressure in order to get the bleeding to stop faster. This works for me but only for small pimples, if u kena those huge 10sen coin size ones, u should not touch it at all as it can lead to deep scarring. Added on February 9, 2010, 9:51 pmjind, How is Diacneal working for your skin ? Has the dryness or skin "purge" started yet ? This post has been edited by jonny4: Feb 9 2010, 09:51 PM |
Feb 10 2010, 02:45 AM
869 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: @wherealltherichlurks |
jonny 4, can u recc me some skin care counter? where to find them? so far i only know lab series at pavillion parkson and clinique somewhere in pavillion also. but i've never get the chance to get advice from them ~.~
sry for the trouble ~.~ |
Feb 10 2010, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(morning06 @ Feb 10 2010, 02:45 AM) jonny 4, can u recc me some skin care counter? where to find them? so far i only know lab series at pavillion parkson and clinique somewhere in pavillion also. but i've never get the chance to get advice from them ~.~ Just head to the cosmetics and fragrances section of any department store and u will find all the counters there. There aren't any counters other than Lab Series specially for men. Most of the SAs at these counters (eg. Clarins, Biotherm n Clinique) should be able to help u. But honestly I dislike going to these counters for advice because these SAs will give advise that is not accurate and only want to sell products. Do remember that these SAs no matter how professional they look are not trained dermatologists. So do not take their advise 100%.sry for the trouble ~.~ |
Feb 10 2010, 09:29 AM
1,269 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Jonny4,
Do you know how good aesop are? |
Feb 10 2010, 09:40 AM
Feb 10 2010, 09:46 AM
1,269 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Feb 10 2010, 10:27 AM
84 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
One of the main reason why acne happens is because of the food we eat.
You dont see people in third world country suffer from acne as much as we do because they eat natural food. For us, manufactured food are everywhere and that is one of the main causes for acne. Hot dogs, french fries, potato chips, soft drinks, instant noodles etc. Really gotta throw that all away from your diet. And research also found out that acne did not exist in the pass until technology came in. |
Feb 10 2010, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(Sellery @ Feb 10 2010, 10:27 AM) One of the main reason why acne happens is because of the food we eat. Do u have any kind of empirical evidence to support your statement about acne not existing in the past ? If u do pls provide it so we can all share it. Your statement is quite vague because what do u mean by past ? How far back in the past are we talking about here ?You dont see people in third world country suffer from acne as much as we do because they eat natural food. For us, manufactured food are everywhere and that is one of the main causes for acne. Hot dogs, french fries, potato chips, soft drinks, instant noodles etc. Really gotta throw that all away from your diet. And research also found out that acne did not exist in the pass until technology came in. |
Feb 10 2010, 11:05 AM
869 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: @wherealltherichlurks |
QUOTE(jonny4 @ Feb 10 2010, 08:39 AM) Just head to the cosmetics and fragrances section of any department store and u will find all the counters there. There aren't any counters other than Lab Series specially for men. Most of the SAs at these counters (eg. Clarins, Biotherm n Clinique) should be able to help u. But honestly I dislike going to these counters for advice because these SAs will give advise that is not accurate and only want to sell products. Do remember that these SAs no matter how professional they look are not trained dermatologists. So do not take their advise 100%. hmm... coz i dunno whether my face is oily or dry? i really dun like asking them coz i know they will push product >.< what will you suggest if i have blackhead on nose and i wanted to clean those and minimize my pores? i assume my T-zone is oily coz my nose part and forehead will get oily after half day? |
| Change to: | 0.0199sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:21 AM |