if few hundred bucks difference, might as well get one from maxis. then no need to care about locked or unlock issue.
[GUIDE] iPhone Purchase Guide, Your road to iPhone Ownership
Dec 16 2009, 11:08 AM
22 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
if few hundred bucks difference, might as well get one from maxis. then no need to care about locked or unlock issue.
Dec 16 2009, 05:03 PM
3,612 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(arjunawong @ Dec 16 2009, 11:08 AM) if few hundred bucks difference, might as well get one from maxis. then no need to care about locked or unlock issue. If the difference of buying a unit say from HK which by the way is also officially unlocked, is a few hundred ringgit, I would, seeing that the iPhone is unlike other HPs which normally is quite durable and problem free. But, mind you, only if you get from other countries which sell the officially unlocked sets, not the locked ones. |
Dec 19 2009, 10:43 PM
6,660 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Palace of sexology |
hey
back from mobile fair, carrefour hussien onn. i saw iphone lookalike real iphone selling at rm899 some booth selling rm1099. I'm amaze, coz it look so real and identical with the real iphone. The seller told me it's rejected iphone from factory. I wonder how true is it. |
Dec 20 2009, 02:48 AM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@vexus,
I don't believe Apple will sell rejects; those could be the China duplicates; don't get it ! |
Dec 20 2009, 09:32 AM
6,660 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Palace of sexology |
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 20 2009, 02:48 AM) the phone also can install iphone software. The only defect on the phone is red dot on the lcd screen. Most of the phone having lcd defect. It's touch sensitive screen. |
Dec 20 2009, 01:10 PM
@vexus,
And how long will the phone last before u need a new replacement? I personally wouldn't encourage anyone to get it but if you want to get one, go ahead |
Dec 20 2009, 02:05 PM
3,239 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Sydney, NSW |
QUOTE(vexus @ Dec 19 2009, 10:43 PM) hey should be another clone from China. never trust these so-called 'rejected' sets.back from mobile fair, carrefour hussien onn. i saw iphone lookalike real iphone selling at rm899 some booth selling rm1099. I'm amaze, coz it look so real and identical with the real iphone. The seller told me it's rejected iphone from factory. I wonder how true is it. |
Dec 22 2009, 12:38 PM
459 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Mee Bandung Muor |
I recently bougt a maxis unit iPhone with a warranty card. I heard that I cannot send the unit for warranty claim w/out the real maxis owner? Is that correct? Does this violate any law if it's true?
Dec 22 2009, 09:27 PM
@kucau,
U dont' need the actual owner; just bring in the Maxis Service Card with U. |
Dec 22 2009, 10:13 PM
511 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: KL PJ |
Hi Guys~
I am going trade with a forumer in LYN for a iphone 3GS with unknown telco from unknown country. 1) Does anyone in LYN got the experience in How to Check the a REAL iPhone whether the iPhone is Official unlocked / Software unlocked by the seller himself? 2) I also heard that currently China FAKE iPhone already got 90+% similar to iPhone.. Does any seniors / Pro in LYN know how to prevent from getting a Fake iPhone while checking the phone during COD? Thousand thankx and appreciate your help~ from soo |
Dec 22 2009, 10:17 PM
132 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
hey i juz get my iphone 3gs today.. im a noobie with phones.. dont realli knw wat is jailbreak alll. so i collect at maxis centre today.. then the sales gal asked me do i want her to jailbreak for me? i was like hmm the name sounds fishy so i said NO! so i went home and on the phone.. wat i see is juz an itunes logo and the cabal on screen.. so i plug into itunes. there is only sumary tab. name iphone.. capacity and below all N/A.. so i restore it.. dennnn stil cant on.. need recharging! how long do i need to access to it?? i sold off my phone and i got no phone to use..
Dec 22 2009, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(crazyivan @ Dec 22 2009, 10:17 PM) hey i juz get my iphone 3gs today.. im a noobie with phones.. dont realli knw wat is jailbreak alll. so i collect at maxis centre today.. then the sales gal asked me do i want her to jailbreak for me? i was like hmm the name sounds fishy so i said NO! so i went home and on the phone.. wat i see is juz an itunes logo and the cabal on screen.. so i plug into itunes. there is only sumary tab. name iphone.. capacity and below all N/A.. so i restore it.. dennnn stil cant on.. need recharging! how long do i need to access to it?? i sold off my phone and i got no phone to use.. I strongly suggest you read the pinned threads otherwise possessing an iPhone and not knowing the 'ins and outs' is as good as having a Ferrari without a driving licence. |
Dec 22 2009, 11:02 PM
132 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
that maxis gal call me to jailbreak? why need to jailbreak when it is unlocked set?? T.T
Dec 22 2009, 11:29 PM
9,270 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Somewhere out there |
QUOTE(kc_soo @ Dec 22 2009, 10:13 PM) Hi Guys~ Not too sure about 1), but 2) is really simple. As long as you've held an original iPhone in your hands before, you'll be able to tell the diff between an original and a fake right away. If in doubt, just plug it into your computer, and the fake one won't be picked up by iTunes.I am going trade with a forumer in LYN for a iphone 3GS with unknown telco from unknown country. 1) Does anyone in LYN got the experience in How to Check the a REAL iPhone whether the iPhone is Official unlocked / Software unlocked by the seller himself? 2) I also heard that currently China FAKE iPhone already got 90+% similar to iPhone.. Does any seniors / Pro in LYN know how to prevent from getting a Fake iPhone while checking the phone during COD? Thousand thankx and appreciate your help~ from soo |
Dec 22 2009, 11:36 PM
2,197 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
no1 is quite simple too actually. just go to settings. and you will see the screen below. and on the screen if the third row says CARRIER means its officially unlocked and can take any sim. software unlocked will not have that option there.
![]() This post has been edited by llsphinxll: Dec 22 2009, 11:36 PM |
Dec 23 2009, 12:20 AM
2,169 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: PJ | Seoul |
huh?? so weird n kinda fishy.. hw can the maxis ppl ask their customer to JB the phone as they kno once they JB thn the warranty will be void. another trick from maxis again?? perhaps wanna trick those newbies into JB thn end up their warranty void.. less hassle for them..
well.. unlocked set oso can JB.. some ppl JB their phone so tat they can gain into the phone system.. QUOTE(crazyivan @ Dec 22 2009, 11:02 PM) Added on December 23, 2009, 12:22 amgt a ques here.. any1 hw kno the maxis warranty cover? if factory defect such as workmanship.. will it cover under the maxis warranty? it's one to one exchange or they will take bek the phone to refurbish?? This post has been edited by yvonnesoo: Dec 23 2009, 12:22 AM |
Dec 23 2009, 02:14 AM
511 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: KL PJ |
Wow~ thankx fyire and llsphinxll~ you 2 really help me alots~
btw~ is there any official unlocked iphone for US set? As i know there are some country like UK and AUS provide unlock service for iphone users with extra charges.. but i haven heard this service provided by US AT&T for their iphone right? And there is only 1 telco (AT&T) selling iphone in US right? Conclusion : If there is any US iphone appear in the Malaysia market and that must be software Unlocked or Hardware unlocked (modified sim card part) ~ correct? Is there any method to check the iphone originated from which country? Please correct me if i am wrong ~ from soo ************** What i have learn from previous replied: 1) check and feel the REAL iPhone before trade with others. 2) check the iphone "setting" part whether the "carrier" appear not. |
Dec 23 2009, 07:20 PM
26 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
Hi
I want to buy the iphone 3gs 16gb. At first i was planning on getting it from maxis but then i heard that i will have to wait 1-2 months (or even longer!). Plus a friend told me that once you jailbreak the phone, you cant claim the warranty anymore. Besides that i've been hearing a lot of bad things about the maxis post-paid plans (poor 3g coverage, bill runs up on its own etc) So now im planning on buying it from lowyat plaza.. I thought the price was 2500 but today my friend went there and asked...they said its 2500 for US phone (unlocked) but you need to go back to them for software updates....2700 for malaysian phone (can update yourself) so... 1) How do i find out the real price at lowyat? 2) whats the real deal with US vs Malaysian unlocked? 3) what do i do?! HELP!!! Id really appreciate some advise guy thanks |
Dec 23 2009, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(alpham84 @ Dec 23 2009, 07:20 PM) Hi There may be others who might be willing to spend some time and give you some insights but I suggest you read the pinned threads which would put you in good stead to make a good decision and make a correct purchase. It is imperative you do that if you do not want to blow more than 2 grand.I want to buy the iphone 3gs 16gb. At first i was planning on getting it from maxis but then i heard that i will have to wait 1-2 months (or even longer!). Plus a friend told me that once you jailbreak the phone, you cant claim the warranty anymore. Besides that i've been hearing a lot of bad things about the maxis post-paid plans (poor 3g coverage, bill runs up on its own etc) So now im planning on buying it from lowyat plaza.. I thought the price was 2500 but today my friend went there and asked...they said its 2500 for US phone (unlocked) but you need to go back to them for software updates....2700 for malaysian phone (can update yourself) so... 1) How do i find out the real price at lowyat? 2) whats the real deal with US vs Malaysian unlocked? 3) what do i do?! HELP!!! Id really appreciate some advise guy thanks |
Dec 23 2009, 08:40 PM
26 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(PeeEl @ Dec 23 2009, 07:53 PM) There may be others who might be willing to spend some time and give you some insights but I suggest you read the pinned threads which would put you in good stead to make a good decision and make a correct purchase. It is imperative you do that if you do not want to blow more than 2 grand. I did and the only relevant thing i found was with the officially unlocked phone (maxis i assume) you can use GSM simcard based carriers around the world......i dont travel much so i dont think this would apply to me |
| Change to: | 0.0201sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 11:43 PM |