[GUIDE] iPhone Purchase Guide, Your road to iPhone Ownership
tinkerbel
Oct 15 2009, 05:52 PM
Fanaddict!
@sugen, Since this one is a refurbished unit from the USA, I will not put down the codes in the front. I guess we now have to find another way to determine if the phone is unofficially unlocked; maybe we'll need to do a physical check?
PeeEl
Oct 15 2009, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 15 2009, 05:52 PM) @sugen, Since this one is a refurbished unit from the USA, I will not put down the codes in the front. I guess we now have to find another way to determine if the phone is unofficially unlocked; maybe we'll need to do a physical check? It is quite simple really....... All one needs to do is to log in to https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do , fill in the details and for the country space put in where you bought the iPhone from, example if SingTel, key in Singapore and Maxis it is still Singapore for 3G(as we got ours from there) and 3GS, Malaysia as we now have our own ID. Trust this would help the relevant people concerned.
tinkerbel
Oct 15 2009, 08:37 PM
Fanaddict!
@PeeEl, But that tells U the Warranty Coverage, it doesn't tell you whether your phone is locked or unlocked.
vexus
Oct 15 2009, 10:58 PM
thinking of getting an iphone from maxis due to better deal. Saw HTC hero android look cool. I wonder which one perform better.
PeeEl
Oct 16 2009, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 15 2009, 08:37 PM) @PeeEl, But that tells U the Warranty Coverage, it doesn't tell you whether your phone is locked or unlocked. I have stated in my post that, in the country space you key in where you bought the iPhone from. If it is Singapore or Malaysia(for 3GS) and when the Site recognizes and acknowledges the unit, it will mean that it is unlocked as these countries only sell unlocked sets(despite the unit bearing an US Part/Model no.) Trust this is clear now. Cheers.
tinkerbel
Oct 16 2009, 09:24 AM
Fanaddict!
@PeeEl, Oh! Thanks for the clarification.
@vexus, And what would you like to discuss? Your post doesn't seem to be v relevant IMHO.
frozzbyte
Oct 16 2009, 02:41 PM
I almost fell in love with HTC Hero with Sense UI. A review between 3Gs and HTC Hero really put me back into perspective. iPhone will always be on my heart.
SUSstinky
Oct 17 2009, 08:34 AM
QUOTE(vexus @ Oct 15 2009, 10:58 PM) thinking of getting an iphone from maxis due to better deal. Saw HTC hero android look cool. I wonder which one perform better. watch it in Youtube. there is a 1 vs 1 comparison.............For now iphone won due to smoother response and better application........But hero has high potential it seems.........
vexus
Oct 18 2009, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(stinky @ Oct 17 2009, 08:34 AM) watch it in Youtube. there is a 1 vs 1 comparison.............For now iphone won due to smoother response and better application........But hero has high potential it seems......... saw it before. At the mean time iphone soar. Android?? still got long long way to go for more improvement. Still thinking whether to get iphone a not or wait later. hehe This post has been edited by vexus: Oct 18 2009, 01:33 PM
Gill86_1114
Oct 22 2009, 04:10 PM
Any1 regret buyin 3gs?
tinkerbel
Oct 22 2009, 10:37 PM
Fanaddict!
@Gill86_1114, I've no idea what you're trying to get from your question. Thus far, it seems most buyers are happy with their purchases; just not so happy with paying for data services.
Also, ask urself what it is that U want in a phone; from there U should be able to gauge if the iPhone is suitable and worth ur $.
azrilyp
Oct 22 2009, 10:56 PM
i have no complaints of my 3GS coz wat i want in my phone is a phone that apart from making calls & smses, i can store some notes (like my credit card number or acct number) and photos, can play songs and video and games. i dun really need to read my emails at the moment. in fact, i dun surf on my iphone. i use my notebook for that.
currently i have bunch of mp3s, photos and videos on my iphone. as for apps, apart from games, i have
1) YM 2) M2u map 3) 1Malaysia - emergency numbers are very useful 4) MyEyes, PG Bridge for traffic updates
and some utilities which i find useful and its the best MP3 player i ever had. rite now, i'm waiting for TomTom for Malaysia to be release.
This post has been edited by azrilyp: Oct 22 2009, 10:56 PM
qq_bear
Oct 22 2009, 11:41 PM

3) Verify that your iPhone is genuinely unlocked To check if your iPhone 3G is legit and is not a fake factory unlock look up on the iPhone under (Settings). The items list you should have there is Airplane Mode, WiFi, Carrier and Fetch New Data. As for the fake unlock iPhone 3G units, the 'Carrier' item is missing. If it is missing, you have been conned and if for some reason you already paid for it and there is no turning back, do not proceed to upgrade your iPhone firmware to FW2.2 as it will render your phone useless. A bit more info on this here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/959711/+820Need some advice here. I just got my Ip 3gs from Maxis. but I noticed I only have Airplane Mode and Wifi in items list. I failed to locate Carrier and Fetch New Data. Does it mean my unit is not genuinely unlocked? Is the iphone headset jack originaly got cover or the hole just shown like that? Thanks!
PeeEl
Oct 22 2009, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(qq_bear @ Oct 22 2009, 11:41 PM) 3) Verify that your iPhone is genuinely unlocked To check if your iPhone 3G is legit and is not a fake factory unlock look up on the iPhone under (Settings). The items list you should have there is Airplane Mode, WiFi, Carrier and Fetch New Data. As for the fake unlock iPhone 3G units, the 'Carrier' item is missing. If it is missing, you have been conned and if for some reason you already paid for it and there is no turning back, do not proceed to upgrade your iPhone firmware to FW2.2 as it will render your phone useless. A bit more info on this here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/959711/+820Need some advice here. I just got my Ip 3gs from Maxis. but I noticed I only have Airplane Mode and Wifi in items list. I failed to locate Carrier and Fetch New Data. Does it mean my unit is not genuinely unlocked? Is the iphone headset jack originaly got cover or the hole just shown like that? Thanks! First off, Maxis sets are officially unlocked. Only when you put a SIM card in, will you see the Carrier appear. Likewise, only when you activate services like IM, facebook, etc., will you see 'Notifications'. Fetch New Data is in the second page, under 'Mail, Contacts, Calendars'. There is no cover for the headset jack.
qq_bear
Oct 23 2009, 05:13 AM

Thanks a lot for the explanation. Really appreciate that. QUOTE(PeeEl @ Oct 22 2009, 11:53 PM) First off, Maxis sets are officially unlocked. Only when you put a SIM card in, will you see the Carrier appear. Likewise, only when you activate services like IM, facebook, etc., will you see 'Notifications'. Fetch New Data is in the second page, under 'Mail, Contacts, Calendars'. There is no cover for the headset jack.
clawhammer
Oct 23 2009, 01:55 PM
///M
I thought Maxis sets are not 100% unlock because if you use other operator SIM on it, you can't use Edge/3G correctly? This is what I remember when I got my 3G long time ago but not sure if it has been changed now?
tinkerbel
Oct 23 2009, 02:50 PM
Fanaddict!
@clawhammer, Maxis sets have always been officially unlocked. Data service not working proper is cause d settings are set for maxis network n u'll need to tweak it if using other telcos
ryan_giggs
Oct 24 2009, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(Gill86_1114 @ Oct 22 2009, 04:10 PM) NO REGRET MAN!! BEST SMART PHONE!  WORTH THE MONEY!
Gill86_1114
Oct 26 2009, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 22 2009, 10:37 PM) @Gill86_1114, I've no idea what you're trying to get from your question. Thus far, it seems most buyers are happy with their purchases; just not so happy with paying for data services. Also, ask urself what it is that U want in a phone; from there U should be able to gauge if the iPhone is suitable and worth ur $. Thanks a lot..... I decide 2 book it by end of this month....  Added on October 26, 2009, 2:33 pmQUOTE(ryan_giggs @ Oct 24 2009, 04:18 PM) NO REGRET MAN!! BEST SMART PHONE!  WORTH THE MONEY!  YO... wat kind of package did u sign up 4 ur iphone? n how long did u wait 4 ur phone? This post has been edited by Gill86_1114: Oct 26 2009, 02:33 PM
tabs
Oct 27 2009, 09:36 AM
iphone is a worth thing that i ever have it.. even thought is quiet expensive if different with other brand such nokia. but it is more then a worth.. haha.. personal opinion