If it's a new batch, chances are the phones will come with FW3.1
skittlesz07
post Oct 9 2009, 04:55 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 9 2009, 10:05 AM)
@skittlesz07,
If it's a new batch, chances are the phones will come with FW3.1
then still im not luckylah........ cry.gif what's the cons of ver3.1???
tinkerbel
post Oct 9 2009, 06:20 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@skittlesz07,
You can't jail break as yet?
skittlesz07
post Oct 9 2009, 07:33 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 9 2009, 06:20 PM)
@skittlesz07,
You can't jail break as yet?
either than that.....??? i heard the battery issues with 3.1 is quite problematic??? cry.gif

tinkerbel
post Oct 9 2009, 09:04 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@skittlesz07,
I've not had much battery issues; on an average day, it'll last me till i get home but I charge it when i'm in the office and have a car charger just in case *grins* The only time the phone batt died on me was when I was expecting it to wake me up for an important function; I was late cause the batt died and the alarm didn't go off sad.gif
skittlesz07
post Oct 9 2009, 09:10 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 9 2009, 09:04 PM)
@skittlesz07,
I've not had much battery issues; on an average day, it'll last me till i get home but I charge it when i'm in the office and have a car charger just in case *grins*  The only time the phone batt died on me was when I was expecting it to wake me up for an important function; I was late cause the batt died and the alarm didn't go off sad.gif
hopefully this battery problem is not of an issue when i got the phone........... sad.gif and hopefully the problem will be rectify soon........but i've saw somewhere that the new firm 3.1.2 is out.........does it rectify the battery issues??
nokia2003
post Oct 9 2009, 09:33 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(skittlesz07 @ Oct 9 2009, 09:10 PM)
hopefully this battery problem is not of an issue when i got the phone........... sad.gif  and hopefully the problem will be rectify soon........but i've saw somewhere that the new firm 3.1.2 is out.........does it rectify the battery issues??
3.1.2 has only been released, like what? just give it a little more time before we can even assess its battery life.

anyway, if the iPhone's battery life, does concern you a lot, you should consider purchasing an external battery pack.

a few suggestions:

1. Kensington Mini Battery Pack for iPhone/iPod <- i'm using this personally.

2. mophie Juice Pack Air for iPhone 3G

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Oct 9 2009, 09:34 PM
skittlesz07
post Oct 9 2009, 10:41 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 9 2009, 09:33 PM)
3.1.2 has only been released, like what? just give it a little more time before we can even assess its battery life.

anyway, if the iPhone's battery life, does concern you a lot, you should consider purchasing an external battery pack.

a few suggestions:

1. Kensington Mini Battery Pack for iPhone/iPod <- i'm using this personally.

2. mophie Juice Pack Air for iPhone 3G
u guys have been really helpful......... notworthy.gif now i would just have to wait for my phone and hopefully there's no big problem that occurs with it.....but if i do so then i'll know where to turn to...thanx a lot guys notworthy.gif
tinkerbel
post Oct 9 2009, 10:51 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@skittlesz07,
Worry about the problems when it comes; don't start worrying about it now - just enjoy the experience of an iPhone.
Terence573
post Oct 10 2009, 11:11 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

umm new to iphone here.

does tat mean buying an officially unlocked iphone 3gs aka Maxis set will
be better than the locked ones?
means tat other telco like celcom,digi etc can use their line as well?
use HSDPA speed as well?
nokia2003
post Oct 10 2009, 11:23 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ Oct 10 2009, 11:11 PM)
umm new to iphone here.

does tat mean buying an officially unlocked iphone 3gs aka Maxis set will
be better than the locked ones?

means tat other telco like celcom,digi etc can use their line as well?
use HSDPA speed as well?

yes. as a matter of fact, the "goodness" of officially unlocked units is amplified multiple times.

yes.
Terence573
post Oct 10 2009, 11:39 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 11 2009, 12:23 AM)

yes. as a matter of fact, the "goodness" of officially unlocked units is amplified multiple times.

yes.
oh hoh thanks for the reply.

as i read from the 1st post suggested buying 2g the best option or suffer pain in the ass for the locked ones.

indeed a good news.Might get a 3gs. icon_idea.gif
Pennywise
post Oct 13 2009, 12:49 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 6 2009, 08:32 PM)
@Pennywise,
Like I said, USD199 is definitely not the outright purchase price smile.gif  Ah well, it does look like Msia is one of the cheaper alternatives for the iPhone.  Australia sets are getting expensive with the high forex; was at the $ changer earlier and apparently AUD is now 3.05 *gulp*
I am so sad right now. My friends told me that we can still get them from the US at cheaps, yes? Will you be able to advise where? If can find, will ask my friend's wife (SIA air stewardess) to get it for me.

Added on October 13, 2009, 12:53 amCheapest available in MY is 2k+ in lelong / ebay.com.my. Better go direct for Maxis, right?

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Oct 13 2009, 12:53 AM
teikwing
post Oct 13 2009, 08:33 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 13 2009, 12:49 AM)
I am so sad right now. My friends told me that we can still get them from the US at cheaps, yes? Will you be able to advise where? If can find, will ask my friend's wife (SIA air stewardess) to get it for me.

Added on October 13, 2009, 12:53 amCheapest available in MY is 2k+ in lelong / ebay.com.my. Better go direct for Maxis, right?
just get an officially-unlocked set from Maxis, for a peace of mind on warranty & unlocked. Maxis offering is still by far the most affordable in the region. it's worth it in the long run. you're advised not to get a locked set from the States where there's trouble to unlock it everytime a new firmware is released.
Pennywise
post Oct 13 2009, 08:35 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Oct 13 2009, 08:33 AM)
just get an officially-unlocked set from Maxis, for a peace of mind on warranty & unlocked. Maxis offering is still by far the most affordable in the region. it's worth it in the long run. you're advised not to get a locked set from the States where there's trouble to unlock it everytime a new firmware is released.
True true but I am so absorbed by others who can buy the phone for USD$199, sign with a telco and ciao from the States cause I am near here now. Sheessh..
tinkerbel
post Oct 13 2009, 10:46 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Pennywise,
How are U going to make the purchase, sign a contract with the telco and ciao, unless you intend to fulfill the contract; in which case the cost of the phone may even be higher than what you're going to be paying for an officially unlocked Maxis model
Pennywise
post Oct 13 2009, 10:59 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 13 2009, 10:46 AM)
@Pennywise,
How are U going to make the purchase, sign a contract with the telco and ciao, unless you intend to fulfill the contract; in which case the cost of the phone may even be higher than what you're going to be paying for an officially unlocked Maxis model
You're right. I should give it up and sign with Maxis when I return. Sheeshh.. smile.gif
Thanks everyone for the advise!
tinkerbel
post Oct 13 2009, 11:53 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Pennywise,
Depending on when you're going to return, perhaps you'll like to consider waiting till the 2010 model is out tongue.gif If you're going to be returning soon, perhaps get a friend or someone to go make a booking for U - the wait time is currently about 45 days.
nokia2003
post Oct 13 2009, 12:10 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 13 2009, 11:53 AM)
@Pennywise,
Depending on when you're going to return, perhaps you'll like to consider waiting till the 2010 model is out tongue.gif  If you're going to be returning soon, perhaps get a friend or someone to go make a booking for U - the wait time is currently about 45 days.
or since you have a friend in the airline industry, you can try settling down for an australian bound iPhone.

they are unlocked officially (from the box) and outright (do not require any contract)

especially beneficial if you do not have any plans to be on the maxis cellular network.
tinkerbel
post Oct 13 2009, 01:30 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@nokia2003,
But that option is a costlier option. AUD1129 x 3.05 = RM3.4k+

129 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled