[GUIDE] iPhone Purchase Guide, Your road to iPhone Ownership
skty
Sep 23 2010, 06:47 PM
To every pro here, I would like to ask, if I COD with a seller for a iPhone 4 16Gb SG set and he say he doesn't bring back the resit/invoice, can I still claim warranty if I don't have the resit?
Plus, how would I check his purchased date from the phone product serial number? And how I know its a SG set.
Thanks for the help!
nokia2003
Sep 23 2010, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(skty @ Sep 23 2010, 06:47 PM) To every pro here, I would like to ask, if I COD with a seller for a iPhone 4 16Gb SG set and he say he doesn't bring back the resit/invoice, can I still claim warranty if I don't have the resit? Plus, how would I check his purchased date from the phone product serial number? And how I know its a SG set. Thanks for the help! i cannot answer the first and last question. but for the purchase/activation date, you can check it from here
frega
Sep 23 2010, 08:44 PM
Um... can we just buy an iPhone4 from digi / maxis without a plan starting tomorrow?
I really do not want to commit 2 years =/
henry930821
Sep 23 2010, 08:58 PM

As per title, how much does an IPhone 3GS cost now? Is there any other way to get it in KL/PJ other than the Maxis and Digi stores?
yezhacolic
Sep 23 2010, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(frega @ Sep 23 2010, 08:44 PM) Um... can we just buy an iPhone4 from digi / maxis without a plan starting tomorrow? I really do not want to commit 2 years =/ Dont think that soon, havent hear anything from both. QUOTE(henry930821 @ Sep 23 2010, 08:58 PM) As per title, how much does an IPhone 3GS cost now? Is there any other way to get it in KL/PJ other than the Maxis and Digi stores? You can buy thru forumers. You have to manually compare the price here : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showforu...=Apple%20iPhone
rstusa
Sep 23 2010, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(frega @ Sep 23 2010, 09:44 PM) Um... can we just buy an iPhone4 from digi / maxis without a plan starting tomorrow? I really do not want to commit 2 years =/ Sure can't, if you don't want their plan, what they going to earn? I suggest you go for apple store in sg, hk and ca. So far I saw ca is the cheapest set if you convert back ringgit.
dvlzplayground
Sep 24 2010, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(rstusa @ Sep 23 2010, 11:17 PM) Sure can't, if you don't want their plan, what they going to earn? I suggest you go for apple store in sg, hk and ca. So far I saw ca is the cheapest set if you convert back ringgit. you're forgetting that maxis DID have a choice for outright purchase. they dont have it now but maybe soon n cmon la...if they sell at the RRP price...u think all that money goes to apple? of course maxis will earn a bit
rstusa
Sep 24 2010, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Sep 24 2010, 01:10 AM) you're forgetting that maxis DID have a choice for outright purchase. they dont have it now but maybe soon n cmon la...if they sell at the RRP price...u think all that money goes to apple? of course maxis will earn a bit  They did sell the 3gs with RRP price last time?
dvlzplayground
Sep 24 2010, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(rstusa @ Sep 24 2010, 09:11 AM) They did sell the 3gs with RRP price last time? yes. 2490 for 16gb and 2990 for 32gb. it's the hotlink plan, which is not under a contract. they did give 500mb/month free data as an initiative for u to stick with maxis though. hoping it'll be the same this time. that's the plan i want
tinkerbel
Sep 24 2010, 01:55 PM
Fanaddict!
@dvlzplayground Ur in luck. They do have the plans available for sale; except now the 16GB is RM2290 and the 32GB is RM2690. U will still get the 500MB data free
ExHolyAngel
Sep 24 2010, 11:43 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 24 2010, 01:55 PM) @dvlzplayground Ur in luck. They do have the plans available for sale; except now the 16GB is RM2290 and the 32GB is RM2690. U will still get the 500MB data free  rm 2290 and rm 2690 without monthly contract ? very acceptable !!
dvlzplayground
Sep 25 2010, 12:49 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Sep 24 2010, 01:55 PM) @dvlzplayground Ur in luck. They do have the plans available for sale; except now the 16GB is RM2290 and the 32GB is RM2690. U will still get the 500MB data free  thx for the very very very good news hehehe! why aren't they revealing this yet?  not sure if this has been asked before, but can i still subscribe to the mobile internet (the 500mb rm58/rm68 for postpaid/prepaid respectively) when i almost reach the free 500mb limit?
Joey87
Sep 25 2010, 01:34 AM
The guide at the front page is very very useful indeed, to test my new iphone 4. Everything works fine, i'm very happy now~ Except that the edges of my screen protector doesn't stick nicely...>.< Trying to make it stick...grrr~
PRINZE
Sep 25 2010, 04:45 AM
hi, just wanna some clarification on maxis iphone plan.. for example previous iphone 3gs..
let say ivalue1 which is rm100 monthly, we'll get: 333 mins free call - maxis to maxis 100 sms free - maxis to maxis call rate - 0.15/min
rm100 is monthly plan.. so let say we only call 200 mins to maxis network, then we call another 100 min to other operators like digi and celcom, does it mean:
rm100 + (100min X rm0.15) = rm115 monthly payment? (forget about data downloads and tax)
if calculation above is true, then digi shd b more value.... any current user can feedback?
rstusa
Sep 25 2010, 08:14 AM
I calculated the cost of iPhone 4 16GB for duration 24 months for this 2 plans and I found that Maxis is cheaper.
MAXIS iValue 1 -------------------- DIGI iDiGi 88 Monthly Fee RM100 ---------------- Monthly Fee RM58 (After Auto Billing) Free local calls 333 min ----------- Free local calls 200 min Free data 1 GB --------------------- Free data 1 GB Free SMS* 200 SMS --------------- Free SMS 200 SMS Free MMS* 20 MMS ---------------- Free MMS 20 MMS Call rates 15 sen/min ------------- Call rates 15 sen/min SMS rates 10 sen/SMS ------------ SMS rates 10 sen/SMS
If you can notice, the only different is free local calls which Maxis has 133 min more than Digi.
133 min x RM0.15/min = RM19.95
Now for Maxis we save up RM19.95
Maxis RM100 - RM19.95 = RM80.05
Now the different between Maxis & Digi is RM22.05 (Maxis RM80.05 - Digi RM58)
Until this way, Digi still worth than Maxis which the different monthly fee is RM22.05
RM22.05 x 24 months = RM529.20
If compare both, you save RM529.20 in 24 months for the Digi, but for Digi, you have to pay upfront cost RM2090 for the iPhone 4 16GB.
RM2090 - RM529.20 = RM1560.80 the final cost for Digi iPhone 4 16GB.
As a result, MAXIS iValue 1 you only need to afford RM1390 (don't calculate the upfront RM400 which will return to you in 5 months) but DIGI iDiGi 88 have to pay more RM170.80 (RM1560.80 - RM1390).
Correct me if I'm wrong.
This post has been edited by rstusa: Sep 25 2010, 08:21 AM
glenn_mew
Sep 26 2010, 12:21 AM
So ... any ideas of how to get a new 3GS?
3GS 16GB and 32GB. not the 8GB
Should have left over stock somewhere right?
keeting89
Sep 26 2010, 12:41 AM
digi stil have the offer mar.. go subcribe the 3gs plan lo
Added on September 26, 2010, 12:42 amdigi stil have the offer mar.. go subcribe the 3gs plan lo
This post has been edited by keeting89: Sep 26 2010, 12:42 AM
PHI_1.618
Sep 26 2010, 12:50 AM
I saw Maxis still selling it....
frega
Sep 26 2010, 07:35 AM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Sep 25 2010, 12:49 AM) thx for the very very very good news hehehe! why aren't they revealing this yet?  not sure if this has been asked before, but can i still subscribe to the mobile internet (the 500mb rm58/rm68 for postpaid/prepaid respectively) when i almost reach the free 500mb limit? i'm excited too about prepaid options, gonna wait till Monday to visit a Maxis center, so to avoid the whole queueing thing. im sorry but queueing is so... singapore. we're better than that (not really since we got it later than them, but at least its not all about queueing here). This post has been edited by frega: Sep 26 2010, 07:39 AM
malayneum
Sep 27 2010, 12:37 PM
im new here. can someone explain me the iphone 4 package? where does it say can get RM990 for 24 month contract?