[GUIDE] iPhone Purchase Guide, Your road to iPhone Ownership

yezhacolic
post Jun 5 2010, 12:13 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Jun 5 2010, 01:48 AM)
i just sold my 3g for getting a 3gs. is that really big differences between 3g and 3gs ? what about the camera ? does 3GS's 3.2mp with Auto focus can take a Near Object image ? thanks.
Yea 3gs has auto focus with 3.2mp. You can compare da phones in this sos cili link
yezhacolic
post Jun 5 2010, 06:23 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Jun 5 2010, 04:20 PM)
thanks yezhacolic for the link. smile.gif

Added on June 5, 2010, 4:28 pmoh. that just a specification comparison, any real photo comparison ? i meant 3GS compare with 3G in term of the camera quality. smile.gif
Maybe u can find the pictures by 3g & 3gs HERE. But then u have manually compare the quality yourself.
yezhacolic
post Jun 7 2010, 10:30 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(jameschee @ Jun 7 2010, 03:36 PM)
i will be going to the states(ohio) end of the month for business trip.
i would wanna buy an iphone 3gs, any procedure i have to do before i can really use it here in kl?
maybe a step by step will help, because its either this or buy from maxis/digi.
i have only heard of bringin back here, unlock with software then can use dy.
iphone sifu pls advice me. thanks
Answers to your questions available @ stickies.
IMO, i would suggest u to get set directly from Maxis/ Digi.
You might ask why:
1) local warranty
2) greater value if u take their package
3) official unlock set (does not requires unlock)

hope it helps. Cheerio
yezhacolic
post Jun 8 2010, 02:06 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(hannie @ Jun 8 2010, 01:51 PM)
hi guys, i have a iphone 2g which i bought in 07, means to say its a software unlocked ones. sometime last yr i upgraded the firmware to 2.2.1 via pwnage.

but i wanna whether i could do a Official Unlock to the phone? so i can just update the firmware without caution, easier ma.

did a google search n found some users did a official unlock with their carrier outside US.

http://modmyi.com/forums/iphone-news/68185...k-possible.html
http://theappleblog.com/2009/08/20/apples-...hone-3g-unlock/

well, theirs' are iphone 3g tho.

so just wanna know whether i can bring it in to maxis to help me official unlock the phone? already did a quick search in forums here no luck so far.

Yes it is software unlock ones. I dont think you can made it to official unlock phone.
Further, i2g has been discontinued for so long. Who is going to do for ya? Unless u might wanna consider local hardware technician.
yezhacolic
post Jun 8 2010, 03:03 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(moviefans25 @ Jun 8 2010, 03:01 PM)
Hey... do you guys think the iphone 4G will be available in our country in July 2010? coz according to the official announcement from Apple, 18 countries will have the new phone in July... and by September 2010, 88 countries will have the new phone.

Source: http://www.hovied.com/site-news/2010/2010-...d-07061799.html

So are we falls in July or September? or even later then the date?
Answer is in bold my brader. Should be in September or later than that. Hopefully in September. biggrin.gif
yezhacolic
post Jun 16 2010, 05:57 AM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(Sri @ Jun 16 2010, 01:19 AM)
guys, I tried to get a cousin to get me the iphone4 but it seems like even the non-commitment phone at $599 , cant be purchased coz they are askin us to pay monthly data plan rate... can some1 tell me a way to get this phone pls... other then i have to get it from UK....
Anything about iPhone 4 you can get thru from this tread : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1381121
There are many more countries available 24th onwards other than UK. Pay a visit to apple webby.
yezhacolic
post Jun 20 2010, 11:07 AM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

@ akira

fraud in progress. Better call off the deal. You aint want to "donate" the $ to unknown stranger rite?
yezhacolic
post Jun 20 2010, 06:18 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(jigzopuzzle @ Jun 20 2010, 03:41 PM)
hey guys, what is the current retail price for iphone 3gs 16gb in malaysia?
You can check on maxis/digi website (if you which to sign contract). Or else you you visit your nearest local handphone shop and ask for the best price.
yezhacolic
post Jun 22 2010, 11:17 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Jun 22 2010, 10:25 PM)
wanna ask is celcom usable on iphone?
Ofcourse usable bro. Why not.
yezhacolic
post Jun 23 2010, 07:06 AM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Jun 23 2010, 01:42 AM)
oic..so all i have to do is unlock it right?
Depends whether your iPhone is official unlocked ones or locked one.
yezhacolic
post Jun 23 2010, 04:47 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(emkay_2020 @ Jun 23 2010, 04:30 PM)

Would like to ask whether Maxis set or Sing Iphone Set is Better ?

Both are the same dude. What take into account is just their warranty. Try imagine you staying in Kedah and if anything wrong you need to claim @ SG. shocking.gif
yezhacolic
post Jun 24 2010, 08:27 AM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(arjenayai @ Jun 24 2010, 03:31 AM)
Hi all, i'm new here. May i know, if i bought an iPhone 3GS in Japan, can i unlocked it and use it here? Thanks!
You can unlock only in near future. For now, cant be unlocked yet.
yezhacolic
post Jun 24 2010, 10:24 AM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(emkay_2020 @ Jun 24 2010, 10:18 AM)

Need advice. Which one is cheaper take Maxis Plan for Iphone or without plan ?
If you bind with contract somehow will be cheaper. Would recommend Digi rather than Maxis. Maxis well known as blood sucker. Try check their webby for more info. biggrin.gif
yezhacolic
post Jun 25 2010, 10:51 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(chocobee @ Jun 25 2010, 12:06 PM)

Need advise here. My brother going to US end of this month. Is it easy to purchase iphone 3gs from US apple store if you not US citizen?

Many thanks.
There is a place called market place in US and many handphone shops in shopping malls. Can just buy directly and free of contract.
yezhacolic
post Jun 26 2010, 11:34 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(emkay_2020 @ Jun 26 2010, 10:35 PM)
Need urgent advise here , i got offer to buy used iphone 3g SINGTEL and MAXIS set .

Which 1 is preferable to buy and both units no more warranty?
Since no warranty, take a cheaper price one. Both are same official unlocked.
yezhacolic
post Jun 27 2010, 11:53 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(sophiagoh @ Jun 27 2010, 11:50 PM)
ordered iphone 3gs from a forumer..he mention it's a new set..but how can i determine this as i saw in 1st page it written usage data can be reset..pls help me..TQ
Ask him for the serial number. And you check it thru apple warranty shelve. You can see the expiry date there.
yezhacolic
post Jun 29 2010, 08:02 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(ayoi84 @ Jun 29 2010, 04:38 PM)
hye
newbie here
need advise..
im gonna buy iphone from seller (mudah.my)
the seller told me the set from US and unlocked..
the question are..

1. how to check the phone is original / fake (china)
2. what different between 3GS / 3G / 2G
3. what different between local set / US set

Added on June 29, 2010, 4:41 pm

can anyone explain me IMEI blocked?
1. If you are asking me, the outlook of china iphone and original iphone are totally different. The touch screen isnt really sensitive, even the weight.. but if you are not familiar enough in iphone, you will need to do more research.. Do not get conned..

2. 3Gs and 3G have the same outlook.. only 3Gs has built in compass and video recorder.. 2G has different outlook, you can identify it easier.. Please google.. smile.gif

3. Local set is official unlock, you can update firmware anytime you want, but it's more expensive.. US set is locked set, means it locked to particular carrier.. You need to unlock it in order to use it in malaysia..

IMEI blocked is referred to refurbished set..

p/s: All your question already in pinned thread.. spend more time to read/you can google it yourself..
yezhacolic
post Jun 30 2010, 04:37 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(emkay_2020 @ Jun 30 2010, 04:11 PM)
Need to ask if Iphone At&t isit unlocked or locked set?
Locked set.
yezhacolic
post Jun 30 2010, 05:34 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(ayoi84 @ Jun 30 2010, 04:46 PM)
can anyone explain me about this?
This tread, post no.2
Section A : iPhone Basics & The Difference Between Unlocked Vs Locked Units

yezhacolic
post Jun 30 2010, 08:33 PM

iPhone specialist
2,574 posts

QUOTE(myalison @ Jun 30 2010, 08:12 PM)
From the first page, it stated that iPhone 3GS part number should start with MC.
What does it mean when an iPhone 3GS part number starts with MB? Is that a 3G or 3GS.
Thanks in advance.
MB = iphone 3g
MC = iphone 3gs

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0485sec    1.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:10 AM