wanna ask tht if my iphone's warranty how long?i signed contract for 12months with optus so tht means only got 12months?
[GUIDE] iPhone Purchase Guide, Your road to iPhone Ownership
Feb 22 2009, 08:26 AM
13,782 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: stress & confuse world |
wanna ask tht if my iphone's warranty how long?i signed contract for 12months with optus so tht means only got 12months?
Feb 22 2009, 10:54 AM
4,903 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 22 2009, 08:26 AM) wanna ask tht if my iphone's warranty how long?i signed contract for 12months with optus so tht means only got 12months? https://selfsolve.apple.com/GetWarranty.do |
Feb 22 2009, 11:04 AM
52 posts Joined: May 2006 |
my friend is coming back NZ in march and he got me a white iphone 3g. from what i read in the forums, NZ sets are fully unlocked version so, it's should be very easy to activate my iphone. just a matter of inserting my celcom sim, open itunes and connect my iphone. is that right?
anyone interested to get one? hehehe... i could ask my friend to get another 2 or so (provided can pass thru customs la) but of course must charge a bit extra for the effort lah... |
Feb 23 2009, 10:37 PM
26 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
thanks for all the info here. I have a rather "peculiar" case. Hope all you si fu can help me out.
I have a friend who wants to send me a used iPhone 2G from china. But they said it's not possible to send used mobile phones from china to malaysia. then i called up UPS they said that I have to check with SIRIM to get an AP for the pone? Questions: 1) Can I just dont declare it as phone and declare as gift and wrap it "securely"? What are the chances of getting discovered and what are the penalties? 2) What is AP? Is it hard to get? Long procedures? And what is the costs like? Thanks in advance. |
Feb 23 2009, 10:43 PM
6,497 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
SIRIM is going to charge u around rm250 for telco device.... and as for ur 1st question... do on your own risk....
Feb 26 2009, 01:35 AM
38 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(Maverick Wil @ Dec 11 2008, 12:54 AM) Section 'B' : Identifying An Unlocked & Locked Unit: hi, im new here. kudos to the very imformative posts!1) How To Determine Which is Which? Identifying an iPhone 2G is simple. Just spot the unique silver+black design of the back casing from the following photo: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Determining an officially unlocked iPhone 3G requires a bit more work but is no rocket science. You just have to figure out which country the iPhone is from. Apple maintains an updated list here that you can refer to. The iPhones which do not have a tick under 'Locked to carrier' are the ones you are looking for. You will be shown how to cross reference and verify the part numbers in Section 4 of this guide. For your reference, the list of officially unlocked iPhone 3Gs are available from the following countries: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 2) Quick Trivia Quick trivia for you. You should have at least visited the official Apple iPhone page which was recommended of you earlier. If not, go now. Ok, so the first thing Apple tells you is "Twice as Fast, Half the Price". Being the typical Malaysian, you must have already done some quick calculations. Half the Price?! US$199 ONLY?! Well hang on a minute. US$199 sounds like a sweet deal but it doesn't factor in the carrier costs. One main reason why the iPhone 3G is locked in the first place is because it is meant to be bound to a (usually 2 year minimum) network carrier contract. If you add up all the costs of the contract, the iPhone itself as well as the transportation, processing and markup charges, you will end up with the average prices found in the market for an unofficially unlocked iPhone 3G. I'll leave it to you to do the math. one question regarding "The iPhones which do not have a tick under 'Locked to carrier' are the ones you are looking for. " Where do we find 'Locked to carrier'? |
Feb 26 2009, 01:41 AM
4,903 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(c28 @ Feb 26 2009, 01:35 AM) hi, im new here. kudos to the very imformative posts! It's in the same quote highlighted in red "here". Anyway, here's the site. one question regarding "The iPhones which do not have a tick under 'Locked to carrier' are the ones you are looking for. " Where do we find 'Locked to carrier'? http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1937 This post has been edited by davidgary73: Feb 26 2009, 01:43 AM |
Feb 26 2009, 11:35 AM
38 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Feb 26 2009, 01:41 AM) It's in the same quote highlighted in red "here". Anyway, here's the site. ohh.. my bad. i thought its a function or something to check in the phone before buying. Thankshttp://support.apple.com/kb/HT1937 |
Feb 26 2009, 05:21 PM
26 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Mar 1 2009, 04:11 PM
5 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Bandar Baru Bangi |
so if i buy an iphone 3g from hong kong can i just use the phone without any modification?
i want to buy an iphone 3g 16gb,where u suggest for me to buy? |
Mar 1 2009, 04:47 PM
2,729 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Gotham City |
QUOTE(nazar @ Mar 1 2009, 04:11 PM) so if i buy an iphone 3g from hong kong can i just use the phone without any modification? yup, from HK u get an OTB unlocked i3g...no modification u mite say...i want to buy an iphone 3g 16gb,where u suggest for me to buy? place to buy...u can always look in our very own GS.... otherwise...SG is a good place... |
Mar 1 2009, 09:10 PM
839 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
i thought that i can get my 3G version from HK, but failed, can't find any shop that sells one w/o contract. then lately when over to melbourne, heard that in Oz we can buy outright, but also spam. i wanna ask how about from USA? coz my relative is going to USA prob on may. anyone tried? and also is 3G version now able to unlock and JB? sorry for asking coz i m out of this iphone forum for quite sometime.
eh, if its ok, wanna check 3G GPS, i think it needs internet connection to use rite? thanks..... |
Mar 2 2009, 01:58 AM
2,729 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Gotham City |
QUOTE(uniquexme @ Mar 1 2009, 09:10 PM) i thought that i can get my 3G version from HK, but failed, can't find any shop that sells one w/o contract. then lately when over to melbourne, heard that in Oz we can buy outright, but also spam. i wanna ask how about from USA? coz my relative is going to USA prob on may. anyone tried? and also is 3G version now able to unlock and JB? sorry for asking coz i m out of this iphone forum for quite sometime. u can get it frm usa, but u'll need sm1 with a ssn num...eh, if its ok, wanna check 3G GPS, i think it needs internet connection to use rite? thanks..... basically a citizen of the states...sorta... u'll be able to JB n unlock as long as u r on fw 2.2 for now... but its best to get it frm here or spore, tats my personal take gps wud require 3b but thr r certain ways to avoid tat too... |
Mar 2 2009, 09:06 AM
hmm, how come all like that leh? must be citizen of that country? hmm, then no chance of buying liao.
Mar 2 2009, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(uniquexme @ Mar 2 2009, 09:06 AM) hmm, how come all like that leh? must be citizen of that country? hmm, then no chance of buying liao. buy over here lah... lots of forumers are selling.... search at the garage sales at the handphones section....anyways.... australia iphone is unlock by network..., u have to pay some fees to unlock it.... |
Mar 2 2009, 10:23 AM
1,606 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Car Junk |
just came back from HK ... a lot of shops that sell without contract.. no problem at all ... HK$5400 for 8GB and HK$6200 for 16GB ... and the person has confirmed that all store will be selling the same price as these stocks comes directly from APPLE therefore price are very well "controlled" ..
i has double confirmed with another shop and that shop also quote the exact same price. |
Mar 2 2009, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(uniquexme @ Mar 1 2009, 09:10 PM) i thought that i can get my 3G version from HK, but failed, can't find any shop that sells one w/o contract. then lately when over to melbourne, heard that in Oz we can buy outright, but also spam. i wanna ask how about from USA? coz my relative is going to USA prob on may. anyone tried? and also is 3G version now able to unlock and JB? sorry for asking coz i m out of this iphone forum for quite sometime. wonder why he cant seem to find hk shop selling the unlock iphone 3g?eh, if its ok, wanna check 3G GPS, i think it needs internet connection to use rite? thanks..... Added on March 2, 2009, 10:28 am QUOTE(Choongster @ Mar 2 2009, 10:23 AM) just came back from HK ... a lot of shops that sell without contract.. no problem at all ... HK$5400 for 8GB and HK$6200 for 16GB ... and the person has confirmed that all store will be selling the same price as these stocks comes directly from APPLE therefore price are very well "controlled" .. This post has been edited by g3n0c|d3: Mar 2 2009, 10:28 AMi has double confirmed with another shop and that shop also quote the exact same price. |
Mar 2 2009, 10:55 AM
yah lor, choongster, may i ask which shop sells w/o contract? i have searched all over, and only "HK 3G" is selling, must have contact, the rest of the shops such as orange, 12free, sunday, etc all dun sell leh.
Mar 2 2009, 02:10 PM
1,606 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Car Junk |
i got one name card here... erm .. SUNTEK COMPANY in tsim sha shui area..
to be exact is HaiPhong road.. |
Mar 2 2009, 02:12 PM
3,239 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Sydney, NSW |
QUOTE(Choongster @ Mar 2 2009, 10:23 AM) just came back from HK ... a lot of shops that sell without contract.. no problem at all ... HK$5400 for 8GB and HK$6200 for 16GB ... and the person has confirmed that all store will be selling the same price as these stocks comes directly from APPLE therefore price are very well "controlled" .. so how much does both models cost after converted to RM?i has double confirmed with another shop and that shop also quote the exact same price. |
| Change to: | 0.3734sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:49 AM |