54 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

All Things Jasper (Xbox360), No Discussion on Modded Console please

S4PH
post Dec 10 2008, 11:30 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

imagine at sg wang there will start printing 150watt stickers on the falcons powerbrick and sell at jasper price.huhuhuh this kinda info not stong enuf to spot a jasper need more hard proof to be a jasper
Roland San
post Dec 11 2008, 12:17 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(hezda @ Dec 10 2008, 07:02 PM)
So you are saying that there are Jasper units in the first batch of the 60GB model then...?  Anyway, what I'm trying to say is that there are SOME sellers claim that their 360s are all Jasper unit which cannot be confirmed at all unless they remove the heatsink to verify it. This is an irresponsible method of selling your console because there is no definite answer on how to verify your unit unless it comes with a 150w adapter which almost guarantee that it is a jasper unit.
It is equally as irresponsible to claim there are no definitive answers while there actually are.

The first few Jaspers to show up in the wild didn't even have HDDs. They were arcades, with built-in 256MB of flash mem.

Right now there are some sellers claiming they have Jaspers and have been advertising Jasper units and the proof they have is a lot number and a manufacturing date, as well as some venting holes on the PSU. Now, lot number and manufacturing date are very inconclusive, as there are multiple teams and multiple production lines, and Jasper was rolled out on one line first, not all at once. moddage's Jasper date of 28-10-08 and lot number of 083X is proven, but there could well be earlier Jaspers, and other lines may only have begun production much later.

Bottom line is that this is a transitional period, there is no definitive and conclusive evidence that a Jasper is a Jasper based on mfg date or lot number or brick wattage alone. However, since Jaspers are the only ones that can use 150w bricks, that is a good indicator. The thing is, you want to identify a Jasper based on evidence on the console itself, not a power brick. Only then can you be truly sure.

The DEFINITIVE way to verify your console:

1) split pin female connector on the rear of console. This is compatible with the 150w male plug.
2) 12.1A displayed on rear of console.
3) reports of being able to see the Jasper sticker through the rear vent holes. Moddage's Jasper clearly has a sticker on the board near the fans saying, well, "Jasper".
HaszAhmad
post Dec 11 2008, 12:39 AM

12K Porn Fan Club
1,821 posts

So in short, theres no conclusive way to determine a jasper, unless of course u can open the box...oh well..

..I guess better wait a while and confirm a jasper unit is on the market.

But i did (well was convinced) by shopkeepers, jaspers are the current christmas bundles with 2 original games..costing 16++.

But then again, who knows if it aint even a jasper.
hezda
post Dec 11 2008, 12:49 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(Roland San @ Dec 11 2008, 12:17 AM)
It is equally as irresponsible to claim there are no definitive answers while there actually are.

The first few Jaspers to show up in the wild didn't even have HDDs. They were arcades, with built-in 256MB of flash mem.

Right now there are some sellers claiming they have Jaspers and have been advertising Jasper units and the proof they have is a lot number and a manufacturing date, as well as some venting holes on the PSU. Now, lot number and manufacturing date are very inconclusive, as there are multiple teams and multiple production lines, and Jasper was rolled out on one line first, not all at once. moddage's Jasper date of 28-10-08 and lot number of 083X is proven, but there could well be earlier Jaspers, and other lines may only have begun production much later.

Bottom line is that this is a transitional period, there is no definitive and conclusive evidence that a Jasper is a Jasper based on mfg date or lot number or brick wattage alone. However, since Jaspers are the only ones that can use 150w bricks, that is a good indicator. The thing is, you want to identify a Jasper based on evidence on the console itself, not a power brick. Only then can you be truly sure.

The DEFINITIVE way to verify your console:

1) split pin female connector on the rear of console. This is compatible with the 150w male plug.
2) 12.1A displayed on rear of console.
3) reports of being able to see the Jasper sticker through the rear vent holes. Moddage's Jasper clearly has a sticker on the board near the fans saying, well, "Jasper".
As I have mentioned, 150w power adapter as a proven source of identifying a jasper. I think this alone should be sufficient to identify one. So, seller should indicate their evidence of proving a jasper console by not just putting in "JASPER UNIT" in bold red color letters but with solid info.

Anyway, thanks for your useful information. So for now, I'll just wait for Falcon to disappear from the market before I get my hands on a "guarantee" jasper.
Roland San
post Dec 11 2008, 02:26 AM

262 posts

QUOTE(hezda @ Dec 11 2008, 12:49 AM)
As I have mentioned, 150w power adapter as a proven source of identifying a jasper. I think this alone should be sufficient to identify one.
While this is so, there are instances of Jaspers with 175w bricks on the market. So while looking at a 150w brick will prove a Jasper that came boxed with it is a Jasper, it will not prove every Jasper is a Jasper.

In this transitional period, there will be many people flogging off so-called Jaspers and claiming all sorts of stuff. Caveat emptor, ensure that ALL the tell-tale signs on the console itself match the proven indicators. People have been able to view the 12.1A without opening the box, by manipulating the cardboard opening to show a bit more of what's inside. As is stands that is probably the best way to identify a Jasper without opening the box.
S4PH
post Dec 11 2008, 04:50 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

Theres 1 seller here at LYN(Quite a reputable shop,but im not saying who),claimed to me he has a jasper unit about 4 months back,he says the new 60gb version is jasper unit so i was quite interested and din have much info on jasper boards rolling out by end of this year,luckily i din buy.dem u mad.gif
HaszAhmad
post Dec 11 2008, 06:16 AM

12K Porn Fan Club
1,821 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Dec 11 2008, 04:50 AM)
Theres 1 seller here at LYN(Quite a reputable shop,but im not saying who),claimed to me he has a jasper unit about 4 months back,he says the new 60gb version is jasper unit so i was quite interested and din have much info on jasper boards rolling out by end of this year,luckily i din buy.dem u  mad.gif
i think we can both ask him, what power brick he's using..150 or not...since im also interested, but pretty sceptical icon_question.gif
ffrulz
post Dec 11 2008, 09:46 AM

Over the hills and far away.
995 posts

Actually if you can't open the box, you still can determine whether the unit is a Jasper or not. There's a small cutout hole which you can spot the barcode for the console. Just move the console to the right and look at the power ratings. 12.1Amps and you're good to go.

But for those that can open the box, I'm talking about people who are buying the pre-modded boxes. Yeah, just look at the connector. It's the most noticeable way to tell apart.

Anyway, Anandtech has a new article about Jasper with power consumption measurement. Not really a drastic reduction as compared with the transition of Zephyr to Falcon but still a 15 - 20W reduction during gaming is still good.

http://www.anandtech.com/gadgets/showdoc.aspx?i=3472&p=5

However, one thing that got me wondering is on Page 1 of the article. The author writes about the plague of failing Nvidia GPUs (The notebook 8 series) and how it could be related to the Xenos as well. So, if this is correct to some extent, then maybe this is why people who did the GPU replacement still has the Red Rings Syndrome. It's not the connection to the motherboard that is the problem but in fact the problem lies with the GPU die to GPU Substrate connection.

http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/gadget...sper/layers.jpg

Let's hope that MS swapped for the newer solders in Jasper yeah?
S4PH
post Dec 11 2008, 11:03 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(ffrulz @ Dec 11 2008, 09:46 AM)
Actually if you can't open the box, you still can determine whether the unit is a Jasper or not. There's a small cutout hole which you can spot the barcode for the console. Just move the console to the right and look at the power ratings. 12.1Amps and you're good to go.

But for those that can open the box, I'm talking about people who are buying the pre-modded boxes. Yeah, just look at the connector. It's the most noticeable way to tell apart.

Anyway, Anandtech has a new article about Jasper with power consumption measurement. Not really a drastic reduction as compared with the transition of Zephyr to Falcon but still a 15 - 20W reduction during gaming is still good.

http://www.anandtech.com/gadgets/showdoc.aspx?i=3472&p=5
However, one thing that got me wondering is on Page 1 of the article. The author writes about the plague of failing Nvidia GPUs (The notebook 8 series) and how it could be related to the Xenos as well. So, if this is correct to some extent, then maybe this is why people who did the GPU replacement still has the Red Rings Syndrome. It's not the connection to the motherboard that is the problem but in fact the problem lies with the GPU die to GPU Substrate connection.

http://images.anandtech.com/reviews/gadget...sper/layers.jpg

Let's hope that MS swapped for the newer solders in Jasper yeah?
all comes down to 1 issue cooling,and 1more thing that ms dont make quality mobos for their consoles.If u have ripped open ur 360 just see how close is the drive to the gpu,a pentium 100MHZ has better cooling than this ATI chip.Passive cooling vs direct cooling,im nt a ps3 fanboy but just c ps3 cooling the cpu and gpu is cooled by a connecting heatpipe and is connected to a massive heatsink+massive fan im sure ms is solving the heat issues with a smaller die but how much temp can they reduce with that much headrrom for the gpu to breathe.Anyway whatever said even the falcon is quite tough im sure jasper is tougher.Saving money for a jasper soon.
Roland San
post Dec 11 2008, 12:41 PM

262 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Dec 11 2008, 04:50 AM)
Theres 1 seller here at LYN(Quite a reputable shop,but im not saying who),claimed to me he has a jasper unit about 4 months back,he says the new 60gb version is jasper unit so i was quite interested and din have much info on jasper boards rolling out by end of this year,luckily i din buy.dem u  mad.gif
Good thing, too. I was looking at a thread here that claimed to be selling Jaspers for the past few months, then saw what was recently posted:

QUOTE(PENANGKIA81 @ Dec 7 2008, 07:32 PM)
'

now still falcon for arcade set

wait for end of this month which have built in flash internal amd 150w adaptor that is jasper,hehe nelson told me yesterday!
I'd be cut if I had gotten a fakey Jasper, tbh.
navigator
post Dec 11 2008, 01:01 PM

375 posts

to me it seems like it's not the GPU heated up that caused the 3RRoD.

The 3RRoD is just identifed as General hardware error which can be related to everything in the system....

What I'm going to discuss about is the broken GPU soldering...

As we know PC's GPU will also become very hot when fully loaded and sometimes up to 95C and they never seems cooked....or AFAIK they're not.....

For me it looks like somehow the material they used, be it circuit board, GPU casing or the soldering itself is not heat tolerant.... and I'm don't understrand why the material is not changed till now..... PS3 or Wii will also overheat but they never suffer from broken solder joint.......

So, basically reducing the thermal junction problem between GPU/CPU core casing and mainboard seems more promising to eliminate the broken soldering problem....

How? haha, conclusion back to square....use a better heat solution OR A/C blast which might risk condensation to suck as much heat as possible from the cores.....you cannot dissipate heat on mainboard as quick as the CPU/GPU core even with a very good heatsink

This is why M$ will never solve the problem unless they change the material used OR design a core with no excessive heat dissipation....something like Transmeta Crusoe processor or Intel Atom processor

S4PH
post Dec 11 2008, 01:24 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Dec 11 2008, 01:01 PM)
to me it seems like it's not the GPU heated up that caused the 3RRoD.

The 3RRoD is just identifed as General hardware error which can be related to everything in the system....

What I'm going to discuss about is the broken GPU soldering...

As we know PC's GPU will also become very hot when fully loaded and sometimes up to 95C and they never seems cooked....or AFAIK they're not.....

For me it looks like somehow the material they used, be it circuit board, GPU casing or the soldering itself is not heat tolerant.... and I'm don't understrand why the material is not changed till now..... PS3 or Wii will also overheat but they never suffer from broken solder joint.......

So, basically reducing the thermal junction problem between GPU/CPU core casing and mainboard seems more promising to eliminate the broken soldering problem....

How? haha, conclusion back to square....use a better heat solution OR A/C blast which might risk condensation to suck as much heat as possible from the cores.....you cannot dissipate heat on mainboard as quick as the CPU/GPU core even with a very good heatsink

This is why M$ will never solve the problem unless they change the material used OR design a core with no excessive heat dissipation....something like Transmeta Crusoe processor or Intel Atom processor
lets hope for the best jasper is our only hope for now la
chickenducksoup
post Dec 11 2008, 01:51 PM

I'm so GAY
1,298 posts

anything can caused RROD.
HDD,dvd-rom,but mostly is GPU heat.

i still wonder now ppl. searching for jesper,this is a good time seller increase the price.

but do bare in mind,if the RROD thing still occur,mean useless to get a jesper.

but it will reduse the % to get RROD for sure...!?who know?
and when will the RROD occur ?

This post has been edited by chickenducksoup: Dec 11 2008, 01:53 PM
HaszAhmad
post Dec 11 2008, 02:55 PM

12K Porn Fan Club
1,821 posts

yeah yeah, time to save for a jasper perhaps (unless u wanna take a risk buying the falcon chipset since its fallen below 13++ barier).

Unless someone buys the "claimed jasper unit" in LYN and shares with us the hardware packaging and details of inside the box

OR...

The seller opens up the packaging goods to display the hardware details,....

Then perhaps we(and especially I) can all clamour for the jasper set..since its proven a "jasper" unit.

As long as we can take precautions eg cooling, placement on the jasper units, i think we can all minimise the ratio for the machine to kena 3RRoD thumbup.gif
hikaru_x
post Dec 11 2008, 03:35 PM

161 posts

cut n paste from Engadget.com:

Inside an Xbox 360 Jasper: Ben Heck dissects the mythical console, then tells you how to find one

The Xbox 360 box has a hole at the top of it where the bar code of the console is visible. Clerks usually scan this when you buy one. What you need to do it look at the lower left corner of this box. If you peer closely you can make out at least half of the voltage/amperage rating of the unit. The # of amps used by the 12 volt rail is the key to determining which console it is. The photos below show this in detail.

14.2 amps equals a Falcon unit (65nm CPU, 90nm GPU). Please keep in mind there's nothing wrong with having one of these, I play mine a lot and it's fine. You might not be able to see the whole voltage listing just through the peep-hole, but you should at least be able to see if a 14.2A or 12.1A is just to the left of the "5V".

12.1 amps equals a Jasper unit (65nm CPU, 65nm GPU). This voltage rating is also listed above the power input, but of course you can't see that when it's in the box.

There has been a lot of discussion about lot #'s, power supply ratings, and things of that nature being used to find Jaspers. I have found those to be unreliable. For instance, this Jasper was lot #0842X. However at Circuit City today I saw a 0843X Arcade unit, but it was 14.2 amps.

Also this particular Jasper came with a 175W power supply (like the Falcons used). They are probably trying to use up all the older PSU's and thus it was packed with the unit. Keep in mind that even if this Xbox only needs 150W it's not a issue to power it with a 175W supply, just like people who put 700W PSU's in their PC's for no apparent reason.

Above we see the power port of the Jasper 360. Note how it has a slit in the middle of the top plastic bar. The plugs on the PSU's are designed in a way to be forwards not backwards compatible. That is, an original 203W PSU will fit in any Xbox 360, but because of these 'keying", a new 150W PSU will only fit in an Jasper. Likewise a Falcon PSU will fit in a Jasper but not vice-versa.

full article:
http://www.engadget.com/2008/12/10/inside-...ythical-consol/
DjiNn
post Dec 11 2008, 04:56 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

Once my batch of jasper arrive I let you guys know here lo.

no need to headache when its coming down or etc etc.
oni76
post Dec 11 2008, 05:14 PM

32 posts

a jasper power connector followed by falcon

[attachmentid=711073]

[attachmentid=711074]

oni76
post Dec 11 2008, 05:28 PM

32 posts

further physical jasper power inlet identification

dont let cheapo sticker fooled u

[attachmentid=711093]
DjiNn
post Dec 11 2008, 05:49 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(oni76 @ Dec 11 2008, 05:28 PM)
further  physical jasper power inlet identification

dont let cheapo sticker fooled u

[attachmentid=711093]
too bad, this involves you to open up the box in order to check.

which is really hard for shopping mall like walmart for example sweat.gif
cannavaro
post Dec 11 2008, 05:55 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

So I guess there will be loads of unwanted Falcon sets from now. laugh.gif
Useful for RMA.

54 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0194sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:03 AM