161 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Wanna buy New Camera? Undecided which to choose?V2, ASK HERE! Dont create a thread elsewhere

viruz019
post Jan 17 2009, 02:01 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Jan 17 2009, 12:06 AM)
If you want the camera with the best performance-to-price ratio, then you're looking at the Sony A200. If you're looking at availability of lenses, Sony does have a wide variety of lenses to suit most shooting styles, but, Canon and Nikon does have the advantage of having a wider range of lenses.
but i heard tat sony isnt tat good? and im just a beginner..not goin to be "hardcore" photographer..so u tink a200 wud be the best for my budget?
rachlsyee
post Jan 17 2009, 02:27 PM

44 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : PnS
Budget: <1300
Your Location: KL
Preferable brand : Canon / Sony / Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do : Leisure n Travel
Any specific models in mind? : IXUS 980 IS or IXUS 870 IS
Any specific features u want? : Acceptable video recording quality as well

At the moment, can't really decide 980 or 870 since I don't seems to know that much difference between the two models. Does anyone knows how much they are sellin for IXUS 980 IS in KL now? Currently abroad so can't check the price. Will be grateful if some recent buyer can advice.

Thank you.

This post has been edited by rachlsyee: Jan 17 2009, 02:28 PM
TheWandererX
post Jan 17 2009, 04:26 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Jan 17 2009, 02:01 PM)
but i heard tat sony isnt tat good? and im just a beginner..not goin to be "hardcore" photographer..so u tink a200 wud be the best for my budget?
Entirely up to you if you prefer Sony.

Sony is a new entry in the DSLR market so it's performance may not be up to par with Canon or Nikon. Choose wisely because once you make your choice it is really hard to jump ship. It will cost you a bomb if you want to - you might even end up eating grass for the rest of your life...
viruz019
post Jan 17 2009, 04:30 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

hi wandererx..thx for the tips..im nw tinkin if D60 wud be a better choice or Sony..i have read reviews..some agree tat sony is btter bt some agree tat d60 is better..nw havin a big confusion..
malayneum
post Jan 17 2009, 05:38 PM

penjaga kontrak sosial
2,041 posts

Type of camera/lens/accesories : i dont know
Budget: RM2K+-
Preferable brand : i dont know
Type of photography u want to do : im interested to do black and white pictures. photographing buildings, people, scenery. i wanna something thats very amateur, but looks very artsy. i dont need sharp bright or vivid color producing since i prefer to black and white.
Any specific models in mind? : A200, because its cheap?
Any specific features u want? : i dont know. very noob. but interested to capture photographs since i walk a lot, see places alot, see people alot, dont wanna miss them, plus i plan to go backpacking to all countries in this region. also must be able to take photograph from moving train or cars, is it called steadyshot?

This post has been edited by malayneum: Jan 17 2009, 05:39 PM
biscut_87
post Jan 17 2009, 05:43 PM

This may sound silly but is Pentax available here?
TheWandererX
post Jan 17 2009, 06:19 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Jan 17 2009, 04:30 PM)
hi wandererx..thx for the tips..im nw tinkin if D60 wud be a better choice or Sony..i have read reviews..some agree tat sony is btter bt some agree tat d60 is better..nw havin a big confusion..
It really is up to you. The answer is subjective - some people might say Nikon is better, and some may say Sony is.

QUOTE(malayneum @ Jan 17 2009, 05:38 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  i dont know
Budget: RM2K+-
Your Location:   KL
Preferable brand : i dont know
Type of photography u want to do : im interested to do black and white pictures. photographing buildings, people, scenery. i wanna something thats very amateur, but looks very artsy. i dont need sharp bright or vivid color producing since i prefer to black and white.
Any specific models in mind? :  A200, because its cheap?
Any specific features u want? :  i dont know. very noob. but interested to capture photographs since i walk a lot, see places alot, see people alot, dont wanna miss them, plus i plan to go backpacking to all countries in this region. also must be able to take photograph from moving train or cars, is it called steadyshot?
You have a few choices:

The Sony a200, the Nikon D60 or the Canon EOS-1000D.

It depends on you, as per to viruz's post.. All these cameras work superbly for their range.

QUOTE(biscut_87 @ Jan 17 2009, 05:43 PM)
This may sound silly but is Pentax available here?
Yes, and if you go out, there is a thread for Pentax cameras. (If I'm not wrong)
viruz019
post Jan 17 2009, 07:11 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

wandererx..i wnana ask one thing..is live view reli tat important? cause if it is for beginner and for macro/outdoor shots..then i might as well jz get the sony a300..
TheWandererX
post Jan 17 2009, 11:34 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Jan 17 2009, 07:11 PM)
wandererx..i wnana ask one thing..is live view reli tat important? cause if it is for beginner and for macro/outdoor shots..then i might as well jz get the sony a300..
Live View isn't THAT important... unless you go to concerts where you stand up a lot and get blocked by tall people. Unpractical, a selling gimmick to me.

I use the VF (viewfinder) every time I take a shot. I trust my eyes most.

Apologies for the late reply.
viruz019
post Jan 17 2009, 11:44 PM

iSeeStars
1,518 posts

ooo..ok then ..so kick out the idea on a300 n now back to d60 and a200 twin lens kit..i tink im sticking with the a200..cause it has 2 lens kit..the lens and camera has AF built in..n cheaper wise i tink =X
TheWandererX
post Jan 17 2009, 11:56 PM

1,862 posts

No problems. Enjoy your camera smile.gif
gyzhelee
post Jan 18 2009, 03:09 AM

Validating

Type of camera/lens/accesories :DSLR
Budget: RM2K-RM3K
Your Location: Selangor
Preferable brand : Canon or Nikon
Type of photography u want to do : Macro shots, night shots, landscape, portrait.
Any specific models in mind? : EOS 1000D, 450D(not familiar with nikon's model)
Any specific features u want? Image stabilisation

After checking all the replies in this thread, I have came across a few Nikon's model but I need recommendations.
My friend suggested me to get the Canon one because of the IS that comes along with the kit lens.
He said it's more worthy. I'm not very sure though.
What do you guys recommend for entry level? I'm planning to invest more on the lens/accessories to the body.
Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by gyzhelee: Jan 18 2009, 03:11 AM
! Love Money
post Jan 18 2009, 05:17 AM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(rachlsyee @ Jan 17 2009, 02:27 PM)
Type of camera/lens/accesories :  PnS
Budget: <1300
Preferable brand : Canon / Sony / Panasonic
Type of photography u want to do : Leisure n Travel
Any specific models in mind? : IXUS 980 IS or IXUS 870 IS
Any specific features u want? : Acceptable video recording quality as well

At the moment, can't really decide 980 or 870 since I don't seems to know that much difference between the two models. Does anyone knows how much they are sellin for IXUS 980 IS in KL now? Currently abroad so can't check the price. Will be grateful if some recent buyer can advice.

Thank you.
ok. i am using the old 860 IS...
there is i point that i wanna remind u is that r u really need to capture a really wide view? then 870IS suits u bcoz it has wider angle than 980IS (28mm vs 35mm) u should compare both on the spot by the time u decided to buy... spend time to think and dun regret later... cheers

Added on January 18, 2009, 5:22 am
QUOTE(gyzhelee @ Jan 18 2009, 03:09 AM)
Type of photography u want to do : Macro shots, night shots,  landscape, portrait.

After checking all the replies in this thread, I have came across a few Nikon's model but I need recommendations.
My friend suggested me to get the Canon one because of the IS that comes along with the kit lens.
What do you guys recommend for entry level? I'm planning to invest more on the lens/accessories to the body.
Thanks in advance.
each brand has it own fans base... i also using canon DSLR and a canon supporter but nikon also has its own advantage... just buy wat u want and further more it is ur money...
between these 2 i would suggest 450D...

This post has been edited by ! Love Money: Jan 18 2009, 05:22 AM
TheWandererX
post Jan 18 2009, 09:38 AM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(gyzhelee @ Jan 18 2009, 03:09 AM)
Type of photography u want to do : Macro shots, night shots,  landscape, portrait.

Thanks in advance.
Invest more? Then get the 1000D, save the extra money for another lens.

Basically, the price for the 450D has just inflated - making it not worth your money, so just stick with the entry-level 1000D first, then play around with the lenses until you feel the urge to upgrade.

If you do upgrade your body, upgrade to a 50D/40D. You'll kill your pocket if you were to upgrade from 1000D-450D-50D.
malayneum
post Jan 18 2009, 04:00 PM

penjaga kontrak sosial
2,041 posts

is it ok to buy DSLR if i never plan to upgrade or change the lens?
robindebean
post Jan 18 2009, 04:01 PM

484 posts

should i buy D90 or wait after cny...any new model coming out?
what is the current price
joyyy
post Jan 18 2009, 04:19 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(malayneum @ Jan 18 2009, 04:00 PM)
is it ok to buy DSLR if i never plan to upgrade or change the lens?
Sure. Why not? But I bet you anything that you'll feel limited by the kit lens after a while.
malayneum
post Jan 18 2009, 04:34 PM

penjaga kontrak sosial
2,041 posts

QUOTE(joyyy @ Jan 18 2009, 04:19 PM)
Sure. Why not? But I bet you anything that you'll feel limited by the kit lens after a while.
by that rationale, wouldnt it be better for me to get top of the line PnS instead?
TheWandererX
post Jan 18 2009, 05:25 PM

1,862 posts

QUOTE(malayneum @ Jan 18 2009, 04:34 PM)
by that rationale, wouldnt it be better for me to get top of the line PnS instead?
Top of the line PnS? You'll get fed up of the quality after a while.

My advice - is to get a setup similar to mine. Portrait lens, wide-angle walkaround, telephoto zoom, and a flash for low light. Every aspect of photography (except macro) is possible with this setup.
joyyy
post Jan 18 2009, 06:10 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(malayneum @ Jan 18 2009, 04:34 PM)
You're not wrong at all. smile.gif
Or, if you like the DSLR-ish design, you could try looking at superzooms.

161 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:22 AM