Wireless Broadband Celcom Broadband Thread V4, 92/08 dissatisfaction -_-

OKLY
post Feb 19 2009, 12:02 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(de4thscythell @ Feb 18 2009, 09:36 PM)
Now that u guys mention it, it also hard for me to connect to 3G during the day  sad.gif  Night can only connect to GPRS  doh.gif
Maybe u should just downgrade to D68  smile.gif  Who knows, maybe later you got no choice and hav to use it  nod.gif
Just my 2 cents  sweat.gif
Well if downgrading to D68, I think it is better to get a friend who is currently using a 1mbps Streamyx and ask him/her to get the Home, Hop & Away plan so will only need to pay him/her RM20 every month. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Feb 19 2009, 12:22 AM

Rise and Shine
72,899 posts

QUOTE(mar_ware @ Feb 18 2009, 07:41 PM)
Lucky u. I just wish I have other options than Celcom BB. Currently waiting for DiGi... But so far no news wadsoeva... I think if the problems with slow upload are not solved soon, I will terminate Celcom for good in 2-3 months time. Download is too slow. Browsing is limited to light webpages. Uploading files and image is impossible. Pretty much have no purpose using Celcom BB. Apart from switching to GPRS and posting here and reading news... I might as well buy newspaper everyday  blink.gif
DiGi broadband will be launching this week.
More details here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/940231
But quite expensive and little places with coverage. sad.gif

QUOTE(de4thscythell @ Feb 18 2009, 08:34 PM)
That is wifi?  shocking.gif  drool.gif  I'm gonna transfer to MMU then  tongue.gif
Yes, WiFi. I showed you guys before the wired connection, can reach 70000+kbps.
Anyway, using WiFi to download series is much faster than using the labs.
Weird but true.

QUOTE(de4thscythell @ Feb 18 2009, 09:36 PM)
Maybe u should just downgrade to D68  smile.gif  Who knows, maybe later you got no choice and hav to use it  nod.gif
Just my 2 cents  sweat.gif
My apartment comes with free Internet connection but just that it is super slow and my housemates are subscribing to Streamyx combo. So, sometimes I'll use their connection for light surfing.

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Feb 19 2009, 12:02 AM)
Well if downgrading to D68, I think it is better to get a friend who is currently using a 1mbps Streamyx and ask him/her to get the Home, Hop & Away plan so will only need to pay him/her RM20 every month. biggrin.gif
Good suggestion. Gonna start hunting for my friends who are using 1Mbps package.
Streamyx Combo is not eligible right? sad.gif
OKLY
post Feb 19 2009, 12:46 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 19 2009, 12:22 AM)
Good suggestion. Gonna start hunting for my friends who are using 1Mbps package.
Streamyx Combo is not eligible right? sad.gif
Yup, either the RM88 or RM99 1mbps Streamyx user would be the best as they will still be using the same 1mbps and you'll just be paying the extra for the Celcom Broadband.
fruitie
post Feb 19 2009, 01:04 AM

Rise and Shine
72,899 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Feb 19 2009, 12:46 AM)
Yup, either the RM88 or RM99 1mbps Streamyx user would be the best as they will still be using the same 1mbps and you'll just be paying the extra for the Celcom Broadband.
Sadly. Most of them are using Streamyx Combo...
I think I have a relative with 1Mbps. hmm.gif
May I know what is the procedure? Does he need to come with me? Can I just get a copy of his photostatted I.C.?
realcheraz
post Feb 19 2009, 01:31 AM

452 posts

i heard digi drop it's first bombshell??
go ported now,gimme the resource brows.gif

This post has been edited by realcheraz: Feb 19 2009, 01:40 AM
fruitie
post Feb 19 2009, 01:45 AM

Rise and Shine
72,899 posts

QUOTE(realcheraz @ Feb 19 2009, 01:31 AM)
i heard digi drop it's first bombshell??
go ported now,gimme the resource brows.gif
I can see that you are a selfish person. smile.gif
Yes, you may download with full speed but that doesn't mean you won't be capped one day.
Plus, you are chasing everyone to other telcos so you can enjoy the full speed? Excuse me, you are not the sole Celcom broadband user in this whole Malaysia.
Sometimes arrogance and selfishness won't get you far.
mar_ware
post Feb 19 2009, 01:54 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Feb 19 2009, 12:22 AM)
DiGi broadband will be launching this week.
More details here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/940231
But quite expensive and little places with coverage. sad.gif
Yikes! RM 128 for first 6 months and RM158 for wadeva after that. And it comes with minimum 12-month contract! However, it has 10GB quota and up to 7.2Mbps connectivity. Data quota is definitely bigger, twice that of Celcom. But considering the price and having to be tied by contract, DiGi 3G definitely has a huge drawback. But maybe as time goes on, the price will get lower but the contract will undoubtedly stay no matter wad...

There is also one very huge trap in DiGi FAQ wherein after 10GB, the speed will be reduced to "a lower speed". To wad extent is not enclosed in anywhere. If they reduce to at least 384kbps, then it is definitely beta than Celcom. Beta wait till first few ppl try out and see how it goes. Also the throttling may not yet be enforced, a possible turn-on for DiGi 3G potential users.

Also if DiGi manages to give faster upload speed, it will be beta since using Celcom basically means no image or file upload... DiGi 3G slogan "Rediscover what broadband should be" is kinda mocking the other telcos. Which I think specifically referring to Celcom coz in Celcom webpage, it defines broadband as internet connection higher than 384kbps. But it limits the speed to 64/128kbps after 5GB. A huge contradiction! So Celcom BB is not exactly a broadband service, by Celcom's own definition tongue.gif

For now, DiGi is not quite competitive. I guess I have to wait for Streamyx... Or wadeva beta ISP... Till then gotta stick with Celcom, for I dun have any alternatives...

This post has been edited by mar_ware: Feb 19 2009, 02:01 AM
realcheraz
post Feb 19 2009, 01:54 AM

452 posts

i've been capped lor...since last week. gonna wait till 8/4,so who said i neva got capped?

btw, my house now got edge,just noticed it tonite..

Added on February 19, 2009, 1:58 ambut speed is slow...must b related to the sms i recv today on the upgrading works..

This post has been edited by realcheraz: Feb 19 2009, 01:58 AM
mar_ware
post Feb 19 2009, 02:07 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(realcheraz @ Feb 19 2009, 01:54 AM)
i've been capped lor...since last week. gonna wait till 8/4,so who said i neva got capped?

btw, my house now got edge,just noticed it tonite..

Added on February 19, 2009, 1:58 ambut speed is slow...must b related to the sms i recv today on the upgrading works..
Well, that's wad it takes to be Celcom user, mate. Capped speed is like a common flu around here. Comes and goes indefinitely. I just hate the upload speed for now... So far I have to carry my laptop to places with free wi-fi to upload my pics and files. Inconvenient!!! Celcom wasnt like this 4-6 months back. Back then it was bad. Now it is freaking worse. I guess that's wad happen when they congest the network. Fresh influx of customers every day but no additional bandwidth... Last time there were 2 DNS in my area so I never got any difficulties in connecting. Now only 1, sometimes takes 30 min just to get connected. Irritating but I am stuck wif Celcom so wad can I do...

This post has been edited by mar_ware: Feb 19 2009, 02:20 AM
OKLY
post Feb 19 2009, 02:10 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(mar_ware @ Feb 19 2009, 02:07 AM)
Well, that's wad it takes to be Celcom user, mate. Capped speed is like a common flu around here. Comes and goes indefinitely. I just hate the upload speed for now... So far I have to carry my laptop to places with free wi-fi to upload my pics and files. Inconvenient!!! Celcom wasnt like this 4-6 months back. Back then it was bad. Now it is freaking worse. I guess that's wad happen when they congest the network. Fresh influx of customers every day but no additional bandwidth...
Well wireless broadband services via 3G in Malaysia will never have a good upload speed.
fruitie
post Feb 19 2009, 02:11 AM

Rise and Shine
72,899 posts

Even when my speed isn't capped few weeks back, I find these two things are hell irritating:

1) Whenever I try to post something on LYN, it will lead to a blank page. I gotta refresh few times before it is successfully posted. sleep.gif

2) To upload images is a total pain. It makes me lazy to update my blog. Yeah, gonna blame Celcom broadband for that. sleep.gif

Needless to mention other factors, with only these two are enough to kill us, well at least me.

It wasn't like this day before I gone for my holidays in January; after I have gone back, things changed 180 degrees. doh.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Feb 19 2009, 02:14 AM
realcheraz
post Feb 19 2009, 02:14 AM

452 posts

i got no prob wit the capped thingy, but of course if it's not implemented,it would be better... tongue.gif my speed quite consistent even during capped period,not much issue while browsing or p2p...problem posting in LYN very2 rare..upload also ok,i even upload pics from my a350 to picasaweb succesfully even it's slow..
mar_ware
post Feb 19 2009, 02:25 AM

299 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Feb 19 2009, 02:10 AM)
Well wireless broadband services via 3G in Malaysia will never have a good upload speed.
Well I think 4-6 months back, there was no problem in uploading using Celcom. It was slow but never got problems (except the slowness problem tongue.gif ). Now, uploading image or file often got errors. Like 9.5 out of 10 attempts. Like winning a lucky draw if I can upload pic to my blog. I'm sure lots of ppl here noe how it feels tongue.gif
realcheraz
post Feb 19 2009, 02:39 AM

452 posts

i just upload a 3mb image to my picasa, check here..

http://picasaweb.google.com/realcheraz/The...205348175843554

Added on February 19, 2009, 2:46 amalso upload the same image to imageshack for testing purpose, here it is..
what i'm to say here, it also cud b bcoz of the blog server u guys hv been using..maybe some timeout setting or what so ever i'm not sure..but it cud b the reason. we hv to take it into consideration.. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by realcheraz: Feb 19 2009, 02:46 AM
Massa
post Feb 19 2009, 03:26 AM

Massaâ„¢
709 posts

mar_ware , ya I'm facing the same problem too.
digilife
post Feb 19 2009, 06:28 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

alternative isp

i was a former celcom user and now a U-Mobile user
rm68/mth for HSDPA speed, still not cap
latency (ping) is damn good on 1 bar of HSDPA signal

MX510
post Feb 19 2009, 09:57 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Heheh after quarelling with Celcom Stupid Telecentre they forward my complaint to NOC and looks like they are fixing their routing. I guess MCMC is pushing them to fix their fakaped routing

Got SMS for upgrades that happening to their network upgrade until 20 Feb 2009

Now they have to fix their core switch this also effects Streamyx routing last night and will continue today

Here is the screenshot for my speed today hehehe cool up to 3.6 Mbps

This post has been edited by MX510: Feb 19 2009, 10:11 AM
kopitiam
post Feb 19 2009, 10:18 AM

cookie monster
4,480 posts

uploading pics to facebook/friendster is a pain in the butt sleep.gif
OKLY
post Feb 19 2009, 10:19 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(kopitiam @ Feb 19 2009, 10:18 AM)
uploading pics to facebook/friendster is a pain in the butt sleep.gif
My friend who is on Maxis says that Celcom Broadband is still faster in terms of uploading to Facebook compared to Maxis.
de4thscythell
post Feb 19 2009, 10:25 AM

in progress
1,941 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ Feb 19 2009, 10:19 AM)
My friend who is on Maxis says that Celcom Broadband is still faster in terms of uploading to Facebook compared to Maxis.
Can't imagine there's much slower than this celcombb sweat.gif Dunno if we shud consider ourself lucky or not sweat.gif

124 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0316sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:57 PM